Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1750 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Rocksteady Studios, Batman: Arkham City builds upon the intense, atmospheric foundation of Batman: Arkham Asylum, sending players soaring into Arkham City, the new maximum security "home" for all of Gotham City's thugs, gangsters and insane criminal masterminds. Set inside theDeveloped by Rocksteady Studios, Batman: Arkham City builds upon the intense, atmospheric foundation of Batman: Arkham Asylum, sending players soaring into Arkham City, the new maximum security "home" for all of Gotham City's thugs, gangsters and insane criminal masterminds. Set inside the heavily fortified walls of a sprawling district in the heart of Gotham City, this highly anticipated sequel introduces a brand-new story that draws together a new all-star cast of classic characters and murderous villains from the Batman universe, as well as a vast range of new and enhanced gameplay features to deliver the ultimate experience as the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Arkham City should be celebrated as a shining achievement for the action-adventure genre for its masterful execution. [Holiday 2011, p.70]
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    There's a real sense of progression to Arkham City in its gameplay, in its story, in the variety of its missions (the abundance of open world side-quests will keep you busy for a long, long time), and in the evolution of its pointy-eared protagonist, that really deserves to be commended.
  3. 100
    If there is one game you buy this year, make it Batman: Arkham City. Few other games released this year will reach this level of polish, variety, story quality, action, scale, and length.
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    95
    Rocksteady already proved that they're an amazing studio with Arkham Asylum, but with Arkham City they now belong to the Olympus of the Action/Adventure genre. This game is the ultimate superhero experience.
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    94
    We're sure you've already seen plenty of quotes and sound bites that announce Arkham City as the best superhero game ever made but such statements sell the game short: Batman's latest digital outing is probably one of the best games this year, if not the entire generation.
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    Even if there is still some reason to quibble here and there, Arkham City is undoubtedly the result of which we dreamed, rich and surprising in many ways. A feat which makes it a must-see title of 2011.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 390
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    I picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the bestI picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the best looking and action packed games I have played in a very long time. This game has it all and it really lives up to all of the hype that has been surrounding it. The detail is all here in each and every aspect and there is so much content I'm going to be at this one for a very long time. Due your self a HUGE favor and pick up this blockbuster right away and you can thank me later. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2014
    10
    Man, the best superhero action game i have played so far !!! sublime!!! go get it instead of shadow of mordor or wolfenstein new order,,, yuckMan, the best superhero action game i have played so far !!! sublime!!! go get it instead of shadow of mordor or wolfenstein new order,,, yuck man, those 2 smell **** .thanks Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    WOW. I am so impressed by this game. Story: 10/10. Very compelling, with twists and turns. As a huge fan of the realism bent taken by theWOW. I am so impressed by this game. Story: 10/10. Very compelling, with twists and turns. As a huge fan of the realism bent taken by the Nolan films, I am surprised by how much I love the comic book style story. You don't have to be a comic-book junkie to be engrossed in the narrative. What's even more surprising is that the freedom provided by the sand-box-esque gameplay does not ruin the game's pacing. I love Red Dead and wouldn't change a thing but the enjoyable freedom that game's open world provides does stifle the pacing of its story. It was a necessary trade off that I thought would extend to all games that gave you a sandbox with a compelling main story. However, with this game--whether it's because of the smaller size of the Arkham City or because the excellent score engenders a perpetual exigence--you always feel that sense of urgency even when you tangent from the main storyline. Bravo Rocksteady! UI: 11/10. This game does what I once thought impossible: it makes a challenging game accessible. Remember those badass nes games? Ninja Gaiden, Bionic Commando, Tyson's Punchout. I only beat Tyson once and could never beat those other grueling games. I'm not hardcore enough. No demon souls for me. There are some incredibly challenging sections in Arkham City (especially on the second play-through) but even though I had to die several times to overcome them, I was never discouraged. In fact, with each defeat I was actually encouraged, seeing what I did wrong immediately and eager to give it another go. That may be a normal paradigm for the hardcore demon souls playing crowd but I'm a difficulty-wuss (i play mostly for the story) and I loved every challenging inch of this game. What started as a facile button masher became an incredibly tactical stealth action thriller. I can't tout the game-play enough: you'll start simply mashing buttons but feel like an expert and yet you'll evolve into a truly cerebral tactician. RECOMMENDATION: buy now! You must play this game. I normally would never pay release-day-prices for a non-40+-RPG, usually waiting for a sub-40 dollar (US) price point but Arkham City is worth the full $65 price-tag (though by now it's surely dropped). Batman AC is my GOTY Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    Batman: Arkham City is the first game I ever owned that featured Batman... or any other superhero for that matter. And may I say this... theBatman: Arkham City is the first game I ever owned that featured Batman... or any other superhero for that matter. And may I say this... the game is absolutely phenomenal. Combat gameplay is smooth and slick, the simplicity of the controls is balanced by the hordes of enemies that you have to face, and the feeling of kicking the ass of a horde of enemies outnumbering you 10 to 1 in a minute is oh so satisfying. Movement is just about top notch. Batman in flight controls how I wanted and expected him to control (and remember, this is my first Batman game ever). Then the graphics... the graphics of Arkham City are superb. This game has very detailed textures and excellent lighting and shading. I think it has the best graphics of any game released year-to-date. Sound is equally as superb. As for replay value... New Game + and all the collectibles will keep me going for a long time. If you like action games, you owe it to yourself to at least try this one out. Expand
  5. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    A MUCH better game than Asylum. I always disliked Asylum because it felt so enclosed, and whilst the gameplay and plot were solid, I justA MUCH better game than Asylum. I always disliked Asylum because it felt so enclosed, and whilst the gameplay and plot were solid, I just detested traipsing across the asylum trying to find out where to go. The free roam Arkham City is a much better place to traverse, as there is always something to do, even after the main plot finishes. The gameplay has definitely improved and the plot is still well written if a little ridiculous. I'm not a big fan of Batman, but I still love this game. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2011
    9
    Batman Arkham City is everything it should have been and better. In 2009 Rocksteady set an amazing bar for action games and arguably set theBatman Arkham City is everything it should have been and better. In 2009 Rocksteady set an amazing bar for action games and arguably set the highest bar ever for superhero adaptations to games. Arkham City builds on the success of Arkham Asylum and againsets a bar that is higher than almost every action game to date. Arkham City has an expansive world that allows for plenty of side missions and an array of collectibles and secrets, the map is not too big but it's not too small either so arguably rocksteady have created a fantastic world to explore intricitly detailed and never dull. The presentaton and graphics in this game are fantastic some of the best seen, however occasionallycan be quite jaggedy here and there.

    The sound and voice acting in the game is impecceble, with the likes Mark Hamil reprising his role as the fantastically interpreted Joker. Although the Joker is certainly the stand out act the Dark knight himself and other voice acting within the game from various charaters more then meets it's intended target. Pros: Expansive Enviroment, Intricitely designed, new gadgets add variety, catwoman sections add further depth and variety, hand to hand combat mechanics unrivalled by any other game on the market, excellent voice acting and story telling mehtods

    Cons: Sometime getting around Arkham City can be a clunky, dull affair, Occasional Grpahical issues but not that noticable, Feels like some of the villans characters within the game were under developed

    Presentation: 10
    Graphics: 9
    Sound: 10
    Gameplay: 9
    Lasting appeal: 9
    Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2013
    0
    it was hyped very much and the game is not as expected from my side.................in my opinion just give the game ait was hyped very much and the game is not as expected from my side.................in my opinion just give the game a miss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand

See all 390 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.