Batman: Arkham Origins Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 604 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notoriousBatman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    86
    Arkham fans can expect to really enjoy Origins, so long as they don't go into the game expecting to experience sweeping changes to the gameplay that made Asylum and City so great. Origins is a great game that can proudly stand outside of the shadow of its predecessors.
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    80
    Yes, most of the game seems like a copy of Arkham City, but that doesn't take away the overall high quality that comes from the lush world, the superb fighting system and the great characters WB Montreal created.
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    80
    Arkham Origins is essentially just more of the Batman you already know without a lot of new offerings. But despite some small problems the core gameplay, especially the Free Flow-system, is still a lot of fun.
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    78
    Next to Arkham City, Arkham Origins is a bit of a disappointment in its lack of new ideas and use of win buttons, making it the least interesting of the trilogy.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    75
    I actually enjoyed the story in Origins more than the wildly implausible (even by comic book standards) Arkham City, but my fun was constantly interrupted by bugs and questionable design decisions. While this is arguably still the third-best Batman game ever made, WB Games Montréal unfortunately dropped the high bar set by Rocksteady down a few notches.
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    70
    It's all there - fun and intuitive combat, challenging stealth gameplay and an engaging story - but Warner Bros. Montréal never truly hits Rocksteady's mark. At times the game feels rushed, empty and frankly, uninspired. It's an enjoyable title, to be sure, but it's nowhere near as good as its predecessors.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    In the absence of new elements, the tried-and-true free-flow combat and predator mechanics feel routine rather than inspired. Origins is worth experiencing for the way it sets the stage for the events of the other Arkham games, but it also resides squarely in their shadows.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 162
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    The cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting theThe cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting the absurd blue/purple cape and briefs, their Batman design is a walking paradox.
    P.S. The grey belt is nice, keep that too.
    Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ever since I finished playing Arkham City I couldn't wait for the third installment. The gameplay didn't feel any different, but that's okay. I realized that some of the gadgets had the same functions as the gadgets from Arkham City, for example: the glue grenade can do everything that the freeze blast can do and the remote claw is similar to the line launcher. For some reason they changed the aiming and throwing controls from L1/R1 to L2/R2, that was weird. I'm a little disappointed that Joker is the main villain again, but that didn't stop me from enjoying the story. The boss battles were great (especially Deathstroke). Bane in this game is a lot better from the previous games. So far my favorite challenge map is 100 to 1. Multiplayer mode is a great addition to the series (I love playing as Bane). Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    Glad I didn't listen to the nitpickers. AO is more of the same, but when same is good, no reason to trash it. Clearly much has been re-used,Glad I didn't listen to the nitpickers. AO is more of the same, but when same is good, no reason to trash it. Clearly much has been re-used, but you get to be Batman once again. It's like getting back behind the wheel of your favorite car. Some of the styling has changed but the game oozes pure caped crusader with little touches that evoke all the previous lore: from the Animated Series all the way through the Dark Knight movies. Haven't even gotten through the first part of the map but I definitely expect that each of the many big pieces of Gotham will have its own boss to deal with. Very surprised that the new voice actor sounds just like a young version of Kevin Conroy--great casting. Occasional freeze here and there and some audio cuts out but overall a quality production. Didn't expect or want any total overhaul of the previous two games so it's not such a bad thing that Rocksteady let WB Montreal at their code. I had my doubts when I first heard of the new team, but they did a great job with their own piece of the Arkham story so this game definitely belongs in my collection with the others. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    Firstly, this is a must buy game, especially for those who loved Asylum & City.
    I feel the visuals aren't quite as polished as Arkham
    Firstly, this is a must buy game, especially for those who loved Asylum & City.
    I feel the visuals aren't quite as polished as Arkham City,though I've not gone back to check.
    The Story is interesting enough to keep you playing and the skill trees are bigger but frustratingly some gadgets or moves require you to complete the challenge modes which are very fun but not something you want to be essential. I miss Robin, Nightwing & Catwoman from Arkham City in the challenge modes, I know this is a prequel game but Robin is in the Multiplayer so why not the Challenges? Maybe they'll DLC these characters. In the story, I find Batman has some problems grappling through the city, like theres not enough points or something. The overall single player feel is just like Arkham city so not much new there but it is definately worth getting. A respectable addition to the series but certainly doesn't take top spot.
    The Season Pass offers some extra costumes and missions for £15, I'd wait for it to be cheaper.

    get the game though!
    Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    This is another excellent game in the Batman series. Its fun, creative, plenty of sides, puzzles, combat, storyline. It art is awesome, city,This is another excellent game in the Batman series. Its fun, creative, plenty of sides, puzzles, combat, storyline. It art is awesome, city, Batman, villians, weather all that.

    My only gripe would be that its relatively short compared to the other games storylines. This one seemed to play thru much, much faster. Theres still a lot of side things to do, such as the custom battles, predator encounters and the like, but the main storyline is just much too short and is over with in like 30hrs or less. That's very unacceptable. Custom battles, and challenges are nice and all, but they're not really all that involved once the central game is made. I still give the game a very good review because its still a very good game and theres WAY more bang for your buck here then soo many other titles and way more to do once your actual storyline is done. Theres a ton of badges, trophies and merits to acquire.
    Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    Average. Played through the trilogy before starting this one. Reeks of mediocrity and corner cutting. Graphics are amazing and looks great butAverage. Played through the trilogy before starting this one. Reeks of mediocrity and corner cutting. Graphics are amazing and looks great but scratch the surface and you've got one hell of a mediocre game. No innovation at all, and stuff that shouldn't even be available to Batman as per the timeline just casually available from the start. I'm a disappointed fan. Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    0
    Now that is a bad Batman game. I've played all the Arkham games and this was completely ruined the franchise. I know Rocksteady did not makeNow that is a bad Batman game. I've played all the Arkham games and this was completely ruined the franchise. I know Rocksteady did not make this one, but I am absolutely done with these games. The fighting is tiresome, boring, and unimaginative. Actually, that's how the whole game is. Expand

See all 162 User Reviews