Batman: Arkham Origins Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 603 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notoriousBatman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    86
    Arkham fans can expect to really enjoy Origins, so long as they don't go into the game expecting to experience sweeping changes to the gameplay that made Asylum and City so great. Origins is a great game that can proudly stand outside of the shadow of its predecessors.
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    80
    Yes, most of the game seems like a copy of Arkham City, but that doesn't take away the overall high quality that comes from the lush world, the superb fighting system and the great characters WB Montreal created.
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    80
    Arkham Origins is essentially just more of the Batman you already know without a lot of new offerings. But despite some small problems the core gameplay, especially the Free Flow-system, is still a lot of fun.
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    78
    Next to Arkham City, Arkham Origins is a bit of a disappointment in its lack of new ideas and use of win buttons, making it the least interesting of the trilogy.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    75
    I actually enjoyed the story in Origins more than the wildly implausible (even by comic book standards) Arkham City, but my fun was constantly interrupted by bugs and questionable design decisions. While this is arguably still the third-best Batman game ever made, WB Games Montréal unfortunately dropped the high bar set by Rocksteady down a few notches.
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    70
    It's all there - fun and intuitive combat, challenging stealth gameplay and an engaging story - but Warner Bros. Montréal never truly hits Rocksteady's mark. At times the game feels rushed, empty and frankly, uninspired. It's an enjoyable title, to be sure, but it's nowhere near as good as its predecessors.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    In the absence of new elements, the tried-and-true free-flow combat and predator mechanics feel routine rather than inspired. Origins is worth experiencing for the way it sets the stage for the events of the other Arkham games, but it also resides squarely in their shadows.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 161
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    The cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting theThe cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting the absurd blue/purple cape and briefs, their Batman design is a walking paradox.
    P.S. The grey belt is nice, keep that too.
    Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    I have to say I was worried about this game not been developed by Rocksteady but I was wrong this game is just as good as the first two gamesI have to say I was worried about this game not been developed by Rocksteady but I was wrong this game is just as good as the first two games the game looks great the city is vast enough the villains are cool the gadgets are top notch the boss fight are intense like the Deathstroke boss fight now that bastard was hard and I think the story is the best I've seen in an Arkham game like I said I was worried but now I played it I was surprised to see the standard was the same if you are a fan of the other games this is right up your ally best superhero game this year 10 out of 10 Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    My fav Arkham game by far. Best Story, keeps the same formula we all know and love, a bigger world, great gameplay and combat, we got accessMy fav Arkham game by far. Best Story, keeps the same formula we all know and love, a bigger world, great gameplay and combat, we got access to the batcave and batwing! The voice acting is terrific, the soundtrack is the best of all 3 games and it has freakin Deathstroke as a playable character!!! Don't listen to the negative biased reviews, this game is awesome. Sure it has it's problems with bugs and a few glitches but WB are working hard to address them all. So go out and buy this today! Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    I am very surprised by the low review on this game by critics and users alike. I loved this game, and I highly recommend it if you don't knowI am very surprised by the low review on this game by critics and users alike. I loved this game, and I highly recommend it if you don't know how Batman's story first started out or, you have played the other games. Arkham Origins brings back the free-flow combat we all know and love, and brings in several new enemies to fight. The combat worked very good, except for a few boss fights I found that I would get hit or grabbed when I either parried the move or jumped out of the way. There are also a few technical glitches that are noticeable throughout the game such as: enemies will spin around looking for you after you've knocked out one of their "friends", I had a few problems with enemies getting stuck in walls, sometimes when the game auto-saves the frame-rate will drop pretty low so I would just wait it out on top of a building or something, and last of all I had problems when I wanted to fast-travel to a location the sound would cut-out and the animations would freeze. But all in all these issues could easily be fixed by a patch. Now for the good stuff! This game isn't as good as Arkham City, but, that doesn't mean you shouldn't go pick it up and get suited up. The boss fights in this game are fantastic and bring you out of the normal fights with street thugs. I loved tracking down these bosses and fighting them, it may take a couple tries to beat them, however. The voice acting was very good in this game, I loved how you could interact with your butler, Alfred, and find out what his opinion was and get experience points for it too. He also gives you new tech to use against your foes in the game, like the concussion grenade. All proving useful against large groups of enemies or enemies you just want to sneak by. Arkham is bigger than ever and still looks as beautiful! I loved to sit up on a perch and look down at the city. Another big addition to the game are cut-scenes. And these cut-scenes are great! They are all made in CG, which makes them look very good. I recommend this game to anyone who's played any of the other games, wants to know Batman's beginning and past or if you're playing a Batman game for the first time, this actually would be the best game to start with, then Arkham Asylum and then Arkham City. But that's all just my opinion, the game deserves a solid 8/10 no doubt! Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    While not as amazing with Rocksteady's Arkham Asylum and City, WB Games Montreal still manages to create a great Batman game. The story isWhile not as amazing with Rocksteady's Arkham Asylum and City, WB Games Montreal still manages to create a great Batman game. The story is well-written and the boss fights are epic, especially with Deathstroke. Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2014
    7
    Arkham Origins is a pile of stale crumbs shed from the delicious two-layer cake that was Arkham Asylum and Arkham City. At times it's soArkham Origins is a pile of stale crumbs shed from the delicious two-layer cake that was Arkham Asylum and Arkham City. At times it's so stagnant and overly derivative that it feels like a mix-tape of AA and AC on shuffle. It's built from the severed limbs of two very good games and there's nothing particularly wrong with more-of-the-same but it contributes nothing to the Arkham lineage. How enjoyable it is will be inversely proportional to your expectations. Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    0
    Now that is a bad Batman game. I've played all the Arkham games and this was completely ruined the franchise. I know Rocksteady did not makeNow that is a bad Batman game. I've played all the Arkham games and this was completely ruined the franchise. I know Rocksteady did not make this one, but I am absolutely done with these games. The fighting is tiresome, boring, and unimaginative. Actually, that's how the whole game is. Expand

See all 161 User Reviews