Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 566 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notoriousBatman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    86
    Arkham fans can expect to really enjoy Origins, so long as they don't go into the game expecting to experience sweeping changes to the gameplay that made Asylum and City so great. Origins is a great game that can proudly stand outside of the shadow of its predecessors.
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    80
    Yes, most of the game seems like a copy of Arkham City, but that doesn't take away the overall high quality that comes from the lush world, the superb fighting system and the great characters WB Montreal created.
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    80
    Arkham Origins is essentially just more of the Batman you already know without a lot of new offerings. But despite some small problems the core gameplay, especially the Free Flow-system, is still a lot of fun.
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    78
    Next to Arkham City, Arkham Origins is a bit of a disappointment in its lack of new ideas and use of win buttons, making it the least interesting of the trilogy.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    75
    I actually enjoyed the story in Origins more than the wildly implausible (even by comic book standards) Arkham City, but my fun was constantly interrupted by bugs and questionable design decisions. While this is arguably still the third-best Batman game ever made, WB Games Montréal unfortunately dropped the high bar set by Rocksteady down a few notches.
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    70
    It's all there - fun and intuitive combat, challenging stealth gameplay and an engaging story - but Warner Bros. Montréal never truly hits Rocksteady's mark. At times the game feels rushed, empty and frankly, uninspired. It's an enjoyable title, to be sure, but it's nowhere near as good as its predecessors.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    In the absence of new elements, the tried-and-true free-flow combat and predator mechanics feel routine rather than inspired. Origins is worth experiencing for the way it sets the stage for the events of the other Arkham games, but it also resides squarely in their shadows.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 155
  2. Negative: 17 out of 155
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    The cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting theThe cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting the absurd blue/purple cape and briefs, their Batman design is a walking paradox.
    P.S. The grey belt is nice, keep that too.
    Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    My fav Arkham game by far. Best Story, keeps the same formula we all know and love, a bigger world, great gameplay and combat, we got accessMy fav Arkham game by far. Best Story, keeps the same formula we all know and love, a bigger world, great gameplay and combat, we got access to the batcave and batwing! The voice acting is terrific, the soundtrack is the best of all 3 games and it has freakin Deathstroke as a playable character!!! Don't listen to the negative biased reviews, this game is awesome. Sure it has it's problems with bugs and a few glitches but WB are working hard to address them all. So go out and buy this today! Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    9
    Batman: Arkham Origins isn't as good as Arkham City or Arkham Asylum.
    But it's still a hell of a good game!
    Brilliant Villains (Boss fights
    Batman: Arkham Origins isn't as good as Arkham City or Arkham Asylum.
    But it's still a hell of a good game!
    Brilliant Villains (Boss fights may be a bit uninspired but still fun!)
    Great Story, A roller-coaster of emotions.
    Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    I am very surprised by the low review on this game by critics and users alike. I loved this game, and I highly recommend it if you don't knowI am very surprised by the low review on this game by critics and users alike. I loved this game, and I highly recommend it if you don't know how Batman's story first started out or, you have played the other games. Arkham Origins brings back the free-flow combat we all know and love, and brings in several new enemies to fight. The combat worked very good, except for a few boss fights I found that I would get hit or grabbed when I either parried the move or jumped out of the way. There are also a few technical glitches that are noticeable throughout the game such as: enemies will spin around looking for you after you've knocked out one of their "friends", I had a few problems with enemies getting stuck in walls, sometimes when the game auto-saves the frame-rate will drop pretty low so I would just wait it out on top of a building or something, and last of all I had problems when I wanted to fast-travel to a location the sound would cut-out and the animations would freeze. But all in all these issues could easily be fixed by a patch. Now for the good stuff! This game isn't as good as Arkham City, but, that doesn't mean you shouldn't go pick it up and get suited up. The boss fights in this game are fantastic and bring you out of the normal fights with street thugs. I loved tracking down these bosses and fighting them, it may take a couple tries to beat them, however. The voice acting was very good in this game, I loved how you could interact with your butler, Alfred, and find out what his opinion was and get experience points for it too. He also gives you new tech to use against your foes in the game, like the concussion grenade. All proving useful against large groups of enemies or enemies you just want to sneak by. Arkham is bigger than ever and still looks as beautiful! I loved to sit up on a perch and look down at the city. Another big addition to the game are cut-scenes. And these cut-scenes are great! They are all made in CG, which makes them look very good. I recommend this game to anyone who's played any of the other games, wants to know Batman's beginning and past or if you're playing a Batman game for the first time, this actually would be the best game to start with, then Arkham Asylum and then Arkham City. But that's all just my opinion, the game deserves a solid 8/10 no doubt! Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2014
    8
    I loved this game. Once again, the Arkhham series has produced a game that makes you feel like you are really the Caped Crusader. Let me startI loved this game. Once again, the Arkhham series has produced a game that makes you feel like you are really the Caped Crusader. Let me start this review with I liked about the game, first and foremost, the story. Origins tells a compelling story of a younger Batman who tries to survive Christmas as 8 dangerous and professional assassins hired by Black Mask try their best to kill him for the bounty. But that's not all. Somewhere, The Joker is wrecking havoc on Gotham City and it's up to the Dark Knight to stop him. Now, the story, in my opinion, is one of the best Batman origins tales I've ever experienced even though the title is sort of a misnomer as it really doesn't have anything to with the origins of Arkham but the asylum is mentioned a lot of times and there are a few easter eggs which i won't spoil. The voice acting is stellar. No Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill but the voice actors doing Batman's and Joker's voices are incredible. You'd think they were younger versions of Kevin and Mark, that's how on point their voices and impressions are. Another thing I liked was how huge this world was, double the size of Arkham City and it's filled with things to do such as the main story missions, bunch of sidequests, challenges and puzzles for collectibles. Now these collectibles which are the Enigma packs (you know who he is) and although there are definitely plenty of them, they're not as difficult or as challenging to collect as it was in Arkham City which was a bit disappointing. Now there's the boss battles, those glorious boss battles. Definitely the best and most refined boss battles in the entire Arkham series. Nearly every boss battle was, in it's own way, unique and challenging. My personal favorite was the one with copperhead and my least favorite, in fact the laziest boss battle in the game was against Electrecutioner (no spoilers but it's pretty lame if you ask me).Finally, another part of the game I liked which many will debate on is the combat and stealth mechanics. I say it's debatable because a lot of people will complain on how it's just the same, exact combat system from previous installments while others will argue that if it ain't broke, don't fix it. Personally, I'm with the latter. The combat's still as solid as it was in the previous Arkham games. Admittedly a little shallow but for a Batman game, it's near perfect and the stealth segments are still as cool as ever.

    Now for the things I hated, the detective missions are forgettable because they have the same exact formula. Review a crime scene, get info from Alfred, beat the crap out of the suspect and you're done. Rinse and repeat. They could have done so much better. I mean you'd think the "World's Greatest Detective" would have a deep detective system that's engaging like maybe a bit LA Noire-ish mixed with elements from CSI but what you get are these mediocre and way too easy clue finding, goon beating side quests. I hope they do better in future installments. Another annoyance are the numerous bugs and glitches especially when you have to fast travel. This game froze like twice, both of them coming from the fast travel animation and when it doesn't freeze, the screen goes black for like 20 seconds and the audio is out of synch and this is post-patch btw. Also, there's this bug where Batman's costume goes back to the default costume whenever you restart and reload the game even if your last save had Batman wearing something completely different. I'd understand if this due to the bigger world but then again, there are games out there with much bigger worlds and a lot less bugs so this is an excusable. Thirdly, the story does a 180 or at least a 90. Without spoiling anything, the plot of Batman's assassins hunting him down for the bounty disappears towards the end of the story and you would pretty much forget that there was a bounty on his head in the first place. Like I said no spoilers but you would understand if you play it.

    Overall, Arkham origins is like The Dark Knight Rises movie. It's bigger and on a grander scale then it's predecessors but just a tad step down from the second one. I enjoyed Arkham Origins and it's my second favorite game from the Arkham trilogy, just above Asylum and behind City.

    P.S. I gave Asylum a higher score but because it's a 9 as an isolated game. I gave Origins an 8 as an isolated game. But if I were to review these 2 games based solely on comparison, I would give Asylum an 8 and Origins a 9 but no, I want to review them in isolation so those are the scores I came up with.
    Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    Average. Played through the trilogy before starting this one. Reeks of mediocrity and corner cutting. Graphics are amazing and looks great butAverage. Played through the trilogy before starting this one. Reeks of mediocrity and corner cutting. Graphics are amazing and looks great but scratch the surface and you've got one hell of a mediocre game. No innovation at all, and stuff that shouldn't even be available to Batman as per the timeline just casually available from the start. I'm a disappointed fan. Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    0
    Now that is a bad Batman game. I've played all the Arkham games and this was completely ruined the franchise. I know Rocksteady did not makeNow that is a bad Batman game. I've played all the Arkham games and this was completely ruined the franchise. I know Rocksteady did not make this one, but I am absolutely done with these games. The fighting is tiresome, boring, and unimaginative. Actually, that's how the whole game is. Expand

See all 155 User Reviews