Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 477 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    86
    Arkham fans can expect to really enjoy Origins, so long as they don't go into the game expecting to experience sweeping changes to the gameplay that made Asylum and City so great. Origins is a great game that can proudly stand outside of the shadow of its predecessors.
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    80
    Yes, most of the game seems like a copy of Arkham City, but that doesn't take away the overall high quality that comes from the lush world, the superb fighting system and the great characters WB Montreal created.
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    80
    Arkham Origins is essentially just more of the Batman you already know without a lot of new offerings. But despite some small problems the core gameplay, especially the Free Flow-system, is still a lot of fun.
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    78
    Next to Arkham City, Arkham Origins is a bit of a disappointment in its lack of new ideas and use of win buttons, making it the least interesting of the trilogy.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    75
    I actually enjoyed the story in Origins more than the wildly implausible (even by comic book standards) Arkham City, but my fun was constantly interrupted by bugs and questionable design decisions. While this is arguably still the third-best Batman game ever made, WB Games Montréal unfortunately dropped the high bar set by Rocksteady down a few notches.
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    70
    It's all there - fun and intuitive combat, challenging stealth gameplay and an engaging story - but Warner Bros. Montréal never truly hits Rocksteady's mark. At times the game feels rushed, empty and frankly, uninspired. It's an enjoyable title, to be sure, but it's nowhere near as good as its predecessors.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    In the absence of new elements, the tried-and-true free-flow combat and predator mechanics feel routine rather than inspired. Origins is worth experiencing for the way it sets the stage for the events of the other Arkham games, but it also resides squarely in their shadows.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 139
  1. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    Yet another fantastic entry in the Arkham series! Origins impressed me beyond my expectations and is without a doubt my favorite of the trilogy! The gameplay of its predecessors and most of it mechanics remain mostly the same ( the only exception being the shock gloves in combat ). Where Origins really shines is its story. It is engaging and kept me hooked and engaged from the moment i picked it up to the moment the end credits roll. There are many great twists and shocking moments throughout the story that I won't ruin for you, but trust me when I say that you won't see them coming! Origins also felt a lot more cinematic than its predecessors which is also a big plus! Long story short, Batman: Arkham Origins is an absolutely fantastic Batman game that continues the excellence that the series is known for! Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    My fav Arkham game by far. Best Story, keeps the same formula we all know and love, a bigger world, great gameplay and combat, we got access to the batcave and batwing! The voice acting is terrific, the soundtrack is the best of all 3 games and it has freakin Deathstroke as a playable character!!! Don't listen to the negative biased reviews, this game is awesome. Sure it has it's problems with bugs and a few glitches but WB are working hard to address them all. So go out and buy this today! Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    The cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting the absurd blue/purple cape and briefs, their Batman design is a walking paradox.
    P.S. The grey belt is nice, keep that too.
    Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    Great game, it starts slows but then it becomes as fun and as addictive as Arkham City was, while is not as good as City, is still an amazing game, filled with tons of things to do, and the combat and stealth remain extremely entertaining. Expand
  5. Feb 17, 2014
    8
    The Batman Arkham games are among my favorite of the last generation. So i was more than a little worried when Warner Bros announced that a different studio was making the next one without most of the original cast.

    Overall i think that the story is good and the voice actors do a fine job at portraying the characters. The gameplay on the other hand feels a bit off, the combat feels a bit more sluggish and i encountered more than a few bugs throughout the game that forced me to restart the checkpoint.

    As a Batman fan i was excited to see the introduction of some of best Batman villains in the Arkham series. I was a bit disappointed that some of the new characters are little more than boss fights while the overall story is yet again centered around the Joker. Besides that i still liked the story, especially the interactions with Alfred and Gordon.

    Overall this is a good game for Batman fans but i would advice people to wait for some patches because the bugs are quite immersion breaking
    Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2014
    7
    A worthy and fun addition to the Arkham series. Playing as a younger, more reckless Batman is a real treat and playing through his first encounters with several supervillians is an engrossing journey of discovery. The acting and writing rise to the standard set by "Assylum" and "City" and the gameplay is familiar without being routine.

    The problems "Arkham Origins". Has are mostly technical. There are frame-rate issues with the game, and there are glitches that will break the flow, especially when ending a combat encounter. The game even crashed on me more than once during its autosave. As far as gameplay goes, the game is stingy with its grapple points, and that bogs down the navigation. Also, some of the achievements are blood-boilingly difficult to accomplish; the combat achievements being extremely tough and the stealth achievements difficult because the game won't give you the maps you need to fulfill them.

    But for everything the makers get wrong, they get three things right - and "Arkham Origins" is a good Batman game that will more than tide one over until Rocksteady returns to Gotham.
    Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    0
    Now that is a bad Batman game. I've played all the Arkham games and this was completely ruined the franchise. I know Rocksteady did not make this one, but I am absolutely done with these games. The fighting is tiresome, boring, and unimaginative. Actually, that's how the whole game is. Expand

See all 139 User Reviews