Batman: Arkham Origins Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 671 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notoriousBatman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    86
    Arkham fans can expect to really enjoy Origins, so long as they don't go into the game expecting to experience sweeping changes to the gameplay that made Asylum and City so great. Origins is a great game that can proudly stand outside of the shadow of its predecessors.
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    80
    Yes, most of the game seems like a copy of Arkham City, but that doesn't take away the overall high quality that comes from the lush world, the superb fighting system and the great characters WB Montreal created.
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    80
    Arkham Origins is essentially just more of the Batman you already know without a lot of new offerings. But despite some small problems the core gameplay, especially the Free Flow-system, is still a lot of fun.
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    78
    Next to Arkham City, Arkham Origins is a bit of a disappointment in its lack of new ideas and use of win buttons, making it the least interesting of the trilogy.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    75
    I actually enjoyed the story in Origins more than the wildly implausible (even by comic book standards) Arkham City, but my fun was constantly interrupted by bugs and questionable design decisions. While this is arguably still the third-best Batman game ever made, WB Games Montréal unfortunately dropped the high bar set by Rocksteady down a few notches.
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    70
    It's all there - fun and intuitive combat, challenging stealth gameplay and an engaging story - but Warner Bros. Montréal never truly hits Rocksteady's mark. At times the game feels rushed, empty and frankly, uninspired. It's an enjoyable title, to be sure, but it's nowhere near as good as its predecessors.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    In the absence of new elements, the tried-and-true free-flow combat and predator mechanics feel routine rather than inspired. Origins is worth experiencing for the way it sets the stage for the events of the other Arkham games, but it also resides squarely in their shadows.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 171
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    The cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting theThe cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting the absurd blue/purple cape and briefs, their Batman design is a walking paradox.
    P.S. The grey belt is nice, keep that too.
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Been playing for a while now. Yes all the blah blah about it not being as refined as the last one, but this story line is so much more inBeen playing for a while now. Yes all the blah blah about it not being as refined as the last one, but this story line is so much more in depth and involving in the villains...its become truly addicting and I can't stop playing. The music is also excellent like Arkham City, which I forgot to mention before. Loving this game and definitely recommend it. Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    Glad I didn't listen to the nitpickers. AO is more of the same, but when same is good, no reason to trash it. Clearly much has been re-used,Glad I didn't listen to the nitpickers. AO is more of the same, but when same is good, no reason to trash it. Clearly much has been re-used, but you get to be Batman once again. It's like getting back behind the wheel of your favorite car. Some of the styling has changed but the game oozes pure caped crusader with little touches that evoke all the previous lore: from the Animated Series all the way through the Dark Knight movies. Haven't even gotten through the first part of the map but I definitely expect that each of the many big pieces of Gotham will have its own boss to deal with. Very surprised that the new voice actor sounds just like a young version of Kevin Conroy--great casting. Occasional freeze here and there and some audio cuts out but overall a quality production. Didn't expect or want any total overhaul of the previous two games so it's not such a bad thing that Rocksteady let WB Montreal at their code. I had my doubts when I first heard of the new team, but they did a great job with their own piece of the Arkham story so this game definitely belongs in my collection with the others. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    I am very surprised by the low review on this game by critics and users alike. I loved this game, and I highly recommend it if you don't knowI am very surprised by the low review on this game by critics and users alike. I loved this game, and I highly recommend it if you don't know how Batman's story first started out or, you have played the other games. Arkham Origins brings back the free-flow combat we all know and love, and brings in several new enemies to fight. The combat worked very good, except for a few boss fights I found that I would get hit or grabbed when I either parried the move or jumped out of the way. There are also a few technical glitches that are noticeable throughout the game such as: enemies will spin around looking for you after you've knocked out one of their "friends", I had a few problems with enemies getting stuck in walls, sometimes when the game auto-saves the frame-rate will drop pretty low so I would just wait it out on top of a building or something, and last of all I had problems when I wanted to fast-travel to a location the sound would cut-out and the animations would freeze. But all in all these issues could easily be fixed by a patch. Now for the good stuff! This game isn't as good as Arkham City, but, that doesn't mean you shouldn't go pick it up and get suited up. The boss fights in this game are fantastic and bring you out of the normal fights with street thugs. I loved tracking down these bosses and fighting them, it may take a couple tries to beat them, however. The voice acting was very good in this game, I loved how you could interact with your butler, Alfred, and find out what his opinion was and get experience points for it too. He also gives you new tech to use against your foes in the game, like the concussion grenade. All proving useful against large groups of enemies or enemies you just want to sneak by. Arkham is bigger than ever and still looks as beautiful! I loved to sit up on a perch and look down at the city. Another big addition to the game are cut-scenes. And these cut-scenes are great! They are all made in CG, which makes them look very good. I recommend this game to anyone who's played any of the other games, wants to know Batman's beginning and past or if you're playing a Batman game for the first time, this actually would be the best game to start with, then Arkham Asylum and then Arkham City. But that's all just my opinion, the game deserves a solid 8/10 no doubt! Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    This is another excellent game in the Batman series. Its fun, creative, plenty of sides, puzzles, combat, storyline. It art is awesome, city,This is another excellent game in the Batman series. Its fun, creative, plenty of sides, puzzles, combat, storyline. It art is awesome, city, Batman, villians, weather all that.

    My only gripe would be that its relatively short compared to the other games storylines. This one seemed to play thru much, much faster. Theres still a lot of side things to do, such as the custom battles, predator encounters and the like, but the main storyline is just much too short and is over with in like 30hrs or less. That's very unacceptable. Custom battles, and challenges are nice and all, but they're not really all that involved once the central game is made. I still give the game a very good review because its still a very good game and theres WAY more bang for your buck here then soo many other titles and way more to do once your actual storyline is done. Theres a ton of badges, trophies and merits to acquire.
    Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2014
    7
    A worthy and fun addition to the Arkham series. Playing as a younger, more reckless Batman is a real treat and playing through his firstA worthy and fun addition to the Arkham series. Playing as a younger, more reckless Batman is a real treat and playing through his first encounters with several supervillians is an engrossing journey of discovery. The acting and writing rise to the standard set by "Assylum" and "City" and the gameplay is familiar without being routine.

    The problems "Arkham Origins". Has are mostly technical. There are frame-rate issues with the game, and there are glitches that will break the flow, especially when ending a combat encounter. The game even crashed on me more than once during its autosave. As far as gameplay goes, the game is stingy with its grapple points, and that bogs down the navigation. Also, some of the achievements are blood-boilingly difficult to accomplish; the combat achievements being extremely tough and the stealth achievements difficult because the game won't give you the maps you need to fulfill them.

    But for everything the makers get wrong, they get three things right - and "Arkham Origins" is a good Batman game that will more than tide one over until Rocksteady returns to Gotham.
    Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    0
    Now that is a bad Batman game. I've played all the Arkham games and this was completely ruined the franchise. I know Rocksteady did not makeNow that is a bad Batman game. I've played all the Arkham games and this was completely ruined the franchise. I know Rocksteady did not make this one, but I am absolutely done with these games. The fighting is tiresome, boring, and unimaginative. Actually, that's how the whole game is. Expand

See all 171 User Reviews