Batman: Arkham Origins Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 688 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notoriousBatman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Batman: Arkham Origins - Nowhere to Run Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    86
    Arkham fans can expect to really enjoy Origins, so long as they don't go into the game expecting to experience sweeping changes to the gameplay that made Asylum and City so great. Origins is a great game that can proudly stand outside of the shadow of its predecessors.
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    80
    Yes, most of the game seems like a copy of Arkham City, but that doesn't take away the overall high quality that comes from the lush world, the superb fighting system and the great characters WB Montreal created.
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    80
    Arkham Origins is essentially just more of the Batman you already know without a lot of new offerings. But despite some small problems the core gameplay, especially the Free Flow-system, is still a lot of fun.
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    78
    Next to Arkham City, Arkham Origins is a bit of a disappointment in its lack of new ideas and use of win buttons, making it the least interesting of the trilogy.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    75
    I actually enjoyed the story in Origins more than the wildly implausible (even by comic book standards) Arkham City, but my fun was constantly interrupted by bugs and questionable design decisions. While this is arguably still the third-best Batman game ever made, WB Games Montréal unfortunately dropped the high bar set by Rocksteady down a few notches.
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    70
    It's all there - fun and intuitive combat, challenging stealth gameplay and an engaging story - but Warner Bros. Montréal never truly hits Rocksteady's mark. At times the game feels rushed, empty and frankly, uninspired. It's an enjoyable title, to be sure, but it's nowhere near as good as its predecessors.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    In the absence of new elements, the tried-and-true free-flow combat and predator mechanics feel routine rather than inspired. Origins is worth experiencing for the way it sets the stage for the events of the other Arkham games, but it also resides squarely in their shadows.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 173
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    The cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting theThe cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting the absurd blue/purple cape and briefs, their Batman design is a walking paradox.
    P.S. The grey belt is nice, keep that too.
    Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ever since I finished playing Arkham City I couldn't wait for the third installment. The gameplay didn't feel any different, but that's okay. I realized that some of the gadgets had the same functions as the gadgets from Arkham City, for example: the glue grenade can do everything that the freeze blast can do and the remote claw is similar to the line launcher. For some reason they changed the aiming and throwing controls from L1/R1 to L2/R2, that was weird. I'm a little disappointed that Joker is the main villain again, but that didn't stop me from enjoying the story. The boss battles were great (especially Deathstroke). Bane in this game is a lot better from the previous games. So far my favorite challenge map is 100 to 1. Multiplayer mode is a great addition to the series (I love playing as Bane). Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    I absolutely have no idea of why biased critics like ign and gamespot are bashing the game when it improves upon its predecessors in manyI absolutely have no idea of why biased critics like ign and gamespot are bashing the game when it improves upon its predecessors in many aspects.The game is excellent sequel to arkham city and successfully builds upon its phenomenal combat and free roam system.The combo and cover system is as satisfying as ever especially when fighting the deadly ninjas.Like arkham city many collectable items can be found on the map which is big enough and the story is terrific and really make good use of the characters.Like every game it does has its shortcomings though,the city does feel empty(not crowded other than enemies on marked areas) and many of gadgets at BAT'S disposal really cant be put to good use following level design and some may feel that large chunk of the Origins map is a copy paste from Arkham city and borrows heavily from its gameplay and level mechanics instead of bringing new innovative ideas, but thats not necessarily a bad thing.Keeping in View,its being attempted by WarnerBros for the first time,this game is another beautiful addition in the beautiful series.Well done Warner Bros..thumbs up Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    The Arkham series has always hit that sweet-spot that so many superhero games strive for. It brings the stealth of Batman while mixing itThe Arkham series has always hit that sweet-spot that so many superhero games strive for. It brings the stealth of Batman while mixing it perfectly with masterful combat mechanics. While this doesn't do anything revolutionary in the series, it's a nice unexpected romp through Arkham to say the least. It has the best story in the series, and in my opinion the new voice actors fill their big shoes excellently. I just hope Rocksteady hits the brakes, and truly does something special for next time. I would hate to see this franchise become the next Assassin's Creed, with every consequent game leaving a "been there, done that" mentality.

    Pros:
    - New baddies to fight through (Some will even counter now)
    - Boss Battles are great. Need to critically think to get through them instead of just button mashing.
    - Brand spankin new gadgets to mess around with
    - Excellent story
    - New riddles
    - Tons of new content to keep any Bat busy for a while

    Cons:
    - Multiplayer feels like a shoe-horned, rather forgettable experience.
    - More of the same, not really a bad thing, but it plays exactly like Arkham City. If you got tired of the last game, you won't find anything to tickle your pickle here.
    Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    Firstly, this is a must buy game, especially for those who loved Asylum & City.
    I feel the visuals aren't quite as polished as Arkham
    Firstly, this is a must buy game, especially for those who loved Asylum & City.
    I feel the visuals aren't quite as polished as Arkham City,though I've not gone back to check.
    The Story is interesting enough to keep you playing and the skill trees are bigger but frustratingly some gadgets or moves require you to complete the challenge modes which are very fun but not something you want to be essential. I miss Robin, Nightwing & Catwoman from Arkham City in the challenge modes, I know this is a prequel game but Robin is in the Multiplayer so why not the Challenges? Maybe they'll DLC these characters. In the story, I find Batman has some problems grappling through the city, like theres not enough points or something. The overall single player feel is just like Arkham city so not much new there but it is definately worth getting. A respectable addition to the series but certainly doesn't take top spot.
    The Season Pass offers some extra costumes and missions for £15, I'd wait for it to be cheaper.

    get the game though!
    Expand
  6. Aug 12, 2014
    7
    Seems very much a copy + paste job from Arkham City, yet never hits the same high notes. Many of the same locale are used and feels way tooSeems very much a copy + paste job from Arkham City, yet never hits the same high notes. Many of the same locale are used and feels way too familiar. Seems unpolished with lots of bugs and glitches to be found. The main positives to be found are the easy but rewarding crime solving (new to the series) and another stellar narrative. Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    0
    Now that is a bad Batman game. I've played all the Arkham games and this was completely ruined the franchise. I know Rocksteady did not makeNow that is a bad Batman game. I've played all the Arkham games and this was completely ruined the franchise. I know Rocksteady did not make this one, but I am absolutely done with these games. The fighting is tiresome, boring, and unimaginative. Actually, that's how the whole game is. Expand

See all 173 User Reviews