Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 483 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    86
    Arkham fans can expect to really enjoy Origins, so long as they don't go into the game expecting to experience sweeping changes to the gameplay that made Asylum and City so great. Origins is a great game that can proudly stand outside of the shadow of its predecessors.
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    80
    Yes, most of the game seems like a copy of Arkham City, but that doesn't take away the overall high quality that comes from the lush world, the superb fighting system and the great characters WB Montreal created.
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    80
    Arkham Origins is essentially just more of the Batman you already know without a lot of new offerings. But despite some small problems the core gameplay, especially the Free Flow-system, is still a lot of fun.
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    78
    Next to Arkham City, Arkham Origins is a bit of a disappointment in its lack of new ideas and use of win buttons, making it the least interesting of the trilogy.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    75
    I actually enjoyed the story in Origins more than the wildly implausible (even by comic book standards) Arkham City, but my fun was constantly interrupted by bugs and questionable design decisions. While this is arguably still the third-best Batman game ever made, WB Games Montréal unfortunately dropped the high bar set by Rocksteady down a few notches.
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    70
    It's all there - fun and intuitive combat, challenging stealth gameplay and an engaging story - but Warner Bros. Montréal never truly hits Rocksteady's mark. At times the game feels rushed, empty and frankly, uninspired. It's an enjoyable title, to be sure, but it's nowhere near as good as its predecessors.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    In the absence of new elements, the tried-and-true free-flow combat and predator mechanics feel routine rather than inspired. Origins is worth experiencing for the way it sets the stage for the events of the other Arkham games, but it also resides squarely in their shadows.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 140
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    The cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting the absurd blue/purple cape and briefs, their Batman design is a walking paradox.
    P.S. The grey belt is nice, keep that too.
    Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    Yet another fantastic entry in the Arkham series! Origins impressed me beyond my expectations and is without a doubt my favorite of the trilogy! The gameplay of its predecessors and most of it mechanics remain mostly the same ( the only exception being the shock gloves in combat ). Where Origins really shines is its story. It is engaging and kept me hooked and engaged from the moment i picked it up to the moment the end credits roll. There are many great twists and shocking moments throughout the story that I won't ruin for you, but trust me when I say that you won't see them coming! Origins also felt a lot more cinematic than its predecessors which is also a big plus! Long story short, Batman: Arkham Origins is an absolutely fantastic Batman game that continues the excellence that the series is known for! Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    My fav Arkham game by far. Best Story, keeps the same formula we all know and love, a bigger world, great gameplay and combat, we got access to the batcave and batwing! The voice acting is terrific, the soundtrack is the best of all 3 games and it has freakin Deathstroke as a playable character!!! Don't listen to the negative biased reviews, this game is awesome. Sure it has it's problems with bugs and a few glitches but WB are working hard to address them all. So go out and buy this today! Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    The Arkham series has always hit that sweet-spot that so many superhero games strive for. It brings the stealth of Batman while mixing it perfectly with masterful combat mechanics. While this doesn't do anything revolutionary in the series, it's a nice unexpected romp through Arkham to say the least. It has the best story in the series, and in my opinion the new voice actors fill their big shoes excellently. I just hope Rocksteady hits the brakes, and truly does something special for next time. I would hate to see this franchise become the next Assassin's Creed, with every consequent game leaving a "been there, done that" mentality.

    Pros:
    - New baddies to fight through (Some will even counter now)
    - Boss Battles are great. Need to critically think to get through them instead of just button mashing.
    - Brand spankin new gadgets to mess around with
    - Excellent story
    - New riddles
    - Tons of new content to keep any Bat busy for a while

    Cons:
    - Multiplayer feels like a shoe-horned, rather forgettable experience.
    - More of the same, not really a bad thing, but it plays exactly like Arkham City. If you got tired of the last game, you won't find anything to tickle your pickle here.
    Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2013
    8
    The story is fairly good. It starts out kind of rough and unfocused, but a significant plot twist a third into it really got me hooked and I couldn't put the game down! Combat is still awesome. The shock gloves are fun to use, and really help against armored, shielded, and stun baton enemies. I also really enjoyed the combat based boss fights. That's something I thought the other games kind of lacked in some areas. The boss fights would be a matter of spamming some gadget to stun them, and then pound away. If Mark Hamill stays in retirement and Troy Baker is left to voice the Joker, I think we are in great hands. Seriously, what a phenomenal actor. I'd say the low points in the game are its level design and story pacing. There were several points, especially in the beginning, where I didn't know what the hell was going on and why I needed to move forward. Arkham Asylum I think had the best single player narrative I've ever played. You were so immersed in the environment and what was happening. Asylum showed you the story. Origins just tells you. The city also feels pretty dull and empty. Why is it that the only people out in Gotham on Christmas Eve are thugs that all want to fight Batman? I was hoping the first Open-Gotham Batman game would be better in that department. The writing also has some weak points in the dialogue. I cringed a couple times, mostly during the Penguin stretch. His assistant is the most annoying female voice I've heard in my life. The game doesn't do much more than rehash all the awesome stuff from the first two games. There are some bugs and framerate drops too. I've noticed there is a glitch sometimes when you finish a fight with the Shock Gloves and you have to interrogate somebody they'll just stand there cowering in fear, the game doesn't prompt you to interrogate. So I had to reload from my last save and finish the fight without using Shock Gloves and that solved the problem. Nothing like that ever happened Arkham City. Another big no-no was when I went to read the story synopsis and the game said that was 90% complete when I was more like 75%. I got to read a couple hours into the future of the game, which really set the story back for me. All and all though, its a worthy title. If you loved the first two, this game is worth buying at full price. I tried one match of multiplayer and it was pretty cool, I'm probably going to play that a lot this week. 8/10 Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2014
    7
    A worthy and fun addition to the Arkham series. Playing as a younger, more reckless Batman is a real treat and playing through his first encounters with several supervillians is an engrossing journey of discovery. The acting and writing rise to the standard set by "Assylum" and "City" and the gameplay is familiar without being routine.

    The problems "Arkham Origins". Has are mostly technical. There are frame-rate issues with the game, and there are glitches that will break the flow, especially when ending a combat encounter. The game even crashed on me more than once during its autosave. As far as gameplay goes, the game is stingy with its grapple points, and that bogs down the navigation. Also, some of the achievements are blood-boilingly difficult to accomplish; the combat achievements being extremely tough and the stealth achievements difficult because the game won't give you the maps you need to fulfill them.

    But for everything the makers get wrong, they get three things right - and "Arkham Origins" is a good Batman game that will more than tide one over until Rocksteady returns to Gotham.
    Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    0
    Now that is a bad Batman game. I've played all the Arkham games and this was completely ruined the franchise. I know Rocksteady did not make this one, but I am absolutely done with these games. The fighting is tiresome, boring, and unimaginative. Actually, that's how the whole game is. Expand

See all 140 User Reviews