Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aftermath takes place during the aftermath (duh!) of an earthquake and it shows. The four new maps are all fine, but our absolute favorite has to be Epicenter. Even the new Scavenge Mode is pretty good. [January 2013, p.94]
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    75
    Maybe the weakest DLC for Battlefield 3. A mixed pack of maps and irrelevant items with just one or two of them really indispensable.
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    60
    Only two of the four maps feel truly essential, the new game mode is more a frantic doodle than a fleshed-out idea, while the new weapon and vehicles are of negligible use beyond the shattered confines of Aftermath's dusty arenas.
  4. Dec 13, 2012
    60
    Aftermath does a lot of things wrong, but also gets some things right. In the end though, this is the weakest of the Battlefield 3 expansions so far and I really hope that DICE shapes up before the final expansion.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    I think this DLC is great! Actually I reckon it's the best one yet. I like all the maps pretty much equally, which is rare - there's always one or two I stay away from. And I like the scavenger game mode as well. I got tired of Armoured Kill pretty quickly, but these maps I suspect I'll be playing along side the normal maps for quite some time. Have no hesitation in recommending it. I just love how much fun this game has been right from the start. I still play it almost every day. Playing COD seems bland and boring compared to this game. I can't wait to see what BF4 is like - perhaps on a new console. Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    It feels like i just got a new game!. Im an ex COD player who switch to battlefield in bad company 2. Ive been playing bf3 since launch day and been loving everything about it. But to be honest i was kinda exceptical with this DLC i saw the trailers. Now that i have been playing it for a while i can say this is probably the best expansion that has ever been made for any shooter. Im loving it. Collapse
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    Personally i think its amazing. Its forward thinking and a well developed expansion. I plan on recommending this to everyone i know that plays Bf3 as THE expansion to get. As a note..see Mordorhq idiots..anyone can create a name on this website just as i did...and no this isnt Gustav either.. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    I like all BF3 expansion packs but if I was asked which one is the best so far I would say that Aftermath expansion pack is.This expansion pack is well worth $15. Visuals are beautiful t with jaw dropping massive structures, rubble all over the place that makes it hard to move and many small tight spaces that are great to hide. Maps are well balanced. There is a lot of intensive firefight in this expansion. Aftermath is true urban combat. New light vehicles are good addition. Heavy tanks are present but are not as effective as in open space environment so watch out. New "scavenger" game mode is cool. I have not tried crossbow yet but I got killed with it few times already so it is effective! Earthquake effect is cool but that is about it. Aftermath is awesome addition to already impressive selection of maps and game modes in BF3. Highly recommended. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    Aftermath is stunning. I am enjoying playing this expansion immensely. Its the complete package. Graphics, teamwork and amazing fps gameplay. i dont know what else to say but I LOVE IT! Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    Been playing BF3 since its release...and loving it. I have a few hundred hours into the game . Aftermath is hands down the best expansion DICE has released yet ! The maps are big and any relation to COD maps people are saying just isnt true. BF3 gives the player everything an fps game needs. Big maps, small ,maps..urban combat..tanks..jets.. helicopters..amazing graphics and stunning sound. Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    Back to Karkand was a fine made expansion bringing the best maps from BF2 , Close Quarter impressed me with its different pace and fast , adrenaline power and Armored Kill was a good pack , giving gamer's the BF style that distinguishes the franchise. Aftermath just like Close Quarter , is fresh and entertaining starting from Epicenter to the not so over the top Azadi Palace ( impressive map in scale and destruction ) .But the player here is not only the maps, but the new mode Scavenger. Scavenger mode consists of players starting a match without weapons ( Rifles),class specializations ( no medic packs, no support packs ) but only a secondary pistol, one team starts with all the flag captured and the other needs to rush as fast as they can . The struggle here is that you need to learn from every pistol and use everything at your disposal because there's nothing more to kill and encourages player to play in a more team based way, and of course, ammo is very limited in every weapon so that you need to swap,change very often unless you get killed again and respawn with nothing. In simple words Scavenger is like the classic Halo mode matches , you never had a class or anything, only the weapons you saw , and needed. The map pack also brings a interesting weapon called the X-bow ( that it is a crossbow ) almost everything in the assignments are based on the weapon , for example ill a quantity of enemies and you get a new type of arrow for it. So for anyone interested in Aftermath this is a good expansion in the franchise and fresh compared to the previous map-packs from BF3 and the whole BF franchise. Oh and there are earthquakes! Expand

See all 21 User Reviews