Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Oct 26, 2011
    93
    Battlefield fans hoping for the most polished entry in the series won't be disappointed by this massive sequel.
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    91
    A phenomenal multiplayer FPS with a polished campaign and smart co-op. Looks and sounds great, but - next to the PC - exposes the limits of the PS3 hardware. [Christmas 2011, p.90]
  3. Oct 31, 2011
    91
    Maybe Battlefield 3's off-line side is a little bit irregular, but the multiplayer mode is outright stunning. Those players looking for a game full of innovation will be disenchanted, however if you're looking for an amazing competitive on-line experience this is it.
  4. Oct 30, 2011
    91
    You won't find a better multiplayer experience.
  5. The nine multiplayer maps seem to be designed specifically to let players come up with their own creative strategies. Compared to COD, this gives the player a real sense of freedom. There is no such thing as a perfect strategy or a trotten path. [December 2011, p.74]
  6. Nov 5, 2011
    90
    The appeal of Battlefield 3 ultimately lies where it has for the entire series, which is some of the best multiplayer in existence. EA will probably be disappointed by poor reception to the single-player campaign, but the game as a whole is guaranteed to be popular so long as enough people can sink their teeth into Conquest or Rush.
  7. Nov 2, 2011
    90
    Battlefield 3 is not that greatest game but rather, it's a very good game and although the single player campaign is a little dull in terms of story, there are some stellar moments in it to help get you through to the finish line and actually make you crave more. This is where the multiplayer aspect comes into play, especially with its realistic warzones and elements of Hollywood to make it bigger than life. With co-op missions, leaderboards and some great vehicles, Battlefield 3 is a definite must have for any first person shooter fan!
  8. Oct 30, 2011
    90
    You don't want to miss this one. Once the patches roll in and clear up the issues we'll have something truly special here. I'm giving DICE the benefit of the doubt with some problems because I think they'll be cleared up in the not-too-distant future.
  9. Oct 29, 2011
    90
    DICE's latest shooter combines an extremely in-depth multiplayer experience with a fully fledged single player game. But the two brightest stars are the game's lighting and sound, which set new standards within the realistic FPS genre. Battlefield 3 is a Swedish war export we can be proud of.
  10. Oct 28, 2011
    90
    As a solo game, Battlefield 3 on consoles is even less the sum of its parts than the PC version, due to compromised visuals and a legion of technical issues, some of which might stand in the way of actually finishing the game. When Battlefield 3 does its damnedest to go toe-to-toe with Call of Duty are the times it stumbles the hardest. But when DICE is doing what it's always done best, Battlefield 3 is a uniquely mesmerizing multiplayer game with a seemingly endless number of ways to feel like a success.
  11. Oct 27, 2011
    90
    Speaking about its multiplayer side, Battlefield 3 is awesome. The competitive online play and the six intense co-op missions offer a great experience, far away from the disappointing beta code. The single player on the other hand proves to be weak, but not enough to ruin the complete package.
  12. Oct 26, 2011
    90
    There's a lot to love about this game, and not a lot to criticize. It's a wonderful experience that brings online and offline intensity to an entirely new level. DICE and EA did a great job with Battlefield 3 and I hope they continue this trend for the next game.
  13. Oct 26, 2011
    90
    All in all, I'm quite impressed. The good old Battlefield multi-player experience was supplemented with a pretty good single player campaign. The graphics and sound effects are truly stunning, as is the deep atmosphere. This is what players want from a shooter.
  14. Oct 25, 2011
    90
    Overall, Battlefield 3 is a winner. It just isn't quite the massive elite shooter that outstrips all other FPSs in every category. If you can deal with that, I'm sure you'll be happy.
  15. Oct 25, 2011
    90
    DICE's adoration of and expertise with the online experience permeates every aspect of its multiplayer. Regardless of the narrative missteps or the occasional glitches, Battlefield 3 offers an unforgettable, world-class multiplayer suite so fun that it more than makes up for the package's shortcomings.
  16. Dec 1, 2011
    88
    The less said about the ignorable single-player, the better. [Issue#212, p.84]
  17. Nov 3, 2011
    88
    With a powerful new engine, amazing graphics, and gameplay Battlefield 3 lives up to its much hyped anticipation. Boasting hours-and-hours of unlockables, you can be sure that you will be playing this game from sunset to sunrise without notice.
  18. Oct 29, 2011
    88
    Despite some annoying bugs, especially in the campaign, Battlefield 3 offers some amazing gameplay. A breathtaking singleplayer campaign alongside an epic multiplayer experience makes Battlefield 3 a must-buy.
  19. Oct 28, 2011
    88
    The console version of Battlefield 3 is what the fans expected, massive multiplayer battles perfectly designed by the guys at DICE. However the campaign doesn't deserve the same praises, too short and not challenging at all. Visually the game is definitevely top notch, but it suffers from polishing issues and recurring glitches.
  20. Nov 7, 2011
    86
    The short singleplayer campaign is disappointing, but we've come to expect that from the Battlefield franchise. Online this third iteration is still among the best shooters out there, even though we feel like DICE has made too much changes in an attempt to attract hardened Call of Duty fans.
  21. Nov 3, 2011
    85
    Battlefield 3 is a fine objective-based multiplayer shooter, but that's it. In all other respects, it comes up short.
  22. Oct 31, 2011
    85
    Sadly, Battlefield 3 is only capable of being the game it should be on a decent PC. As good as it is on the console (looks pretty good for a console game, and is technically pretty stable) - it is still a shadow of it's true self. We don't know if DICE actually favoured the PC as a platform over the consoles, but we feel they did try their best. Sadly, the ageing console hardware naturally limits what is possible.
  23. Oct 28, 2011
    85
    As you might expect, the PC version of Battlefield 3 still boasts better visuals and larger matches than its console counterparts, but competitive multiplayer on the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 is incredibly addictive, immersive, and exciting.
  24. 85
    For all the shortcomings in the single-player, and the triumphs in the multiplayer and co-op, DICE deserves a fair amount of credit for creating worthy competition to that other modern-shooter.
  25. Oct 26, 2011
    85
    Battlefield 3 is a great multiplayer game, despite the problems with the console version. However, if you are interested in the game for its single-player mode, we can't hardly recommend it. But if you are looking for a multiplayer game different from the others on consoles, this is a sure bet with many hours of fun.
  26. Oct 25, 2011
    83
    The game's issues are outweighed by the fact that no other game on the market plays like this.
  27. Feb 10, 2012
    80
    Hopefully EA reconsiders its approach to toppling Call Of Duty in the future, and allows its games to develop their own personality, rather than imitate something else.
  28. Despite its incredible competitive online play, we can't ignore the shortcomings of its campaign and Co-Op. [Jan 2012, p.66]
  29. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    Battlefield 3 ships an unbelievable mutliplayer with a short, unoriginal campaign.
  30. Those who don't bother with the solo campaign won't miss much. Indeed, the online experience in its different incarnations is so addictive and gratifying that it's almost enough to let the balance and technical issues slip. But only almost.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1676 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 600
  1. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game, it exceeds all my expectation. The game play is amazing, the best part is the online gaming and that is free. BF3This is an amazing game, it exceeds all my expectation. The game play is amazing, the best part is the online gaming and that is free. BF3 should do very well against MW Full Review »
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    5
    Wow, what a disappointment, I was looking forward to this game all year since battlefield 2 got me addicted and is my favorite online game.Wow, what a disappointment, I was looking forward to this game all year since battlefield 2 got me addicted and is my favorite online game. This review is only for the online play since I have not played the single player. Dice took the best and funnest shooter available and made almost every aspect of it worse and less fun. The menus all suck, it does not remember your favorite maps so every time you log on you have to re-select what mode and the map that you want to play. All of the weapons are harder ti aim or target, for instance the sniper rifle wanders so much that it is difficult to shoot anything that is not standing still or at short distance. While the maps seem different, most feel exactly the same, most are boring and are too cramped & tight, very few places to feel safe, this is why I don't like modern warfare games, every time you turn a corner there is someone waiting to kill you that you can't possibly know is there.Thanks for ruining my favorite game, I'll trade it in next week for Uncharted 3. Huge disappointment. period. Full Review »
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    People play this game hoping it to be like other shooters. But its not. The game itself has a great story that does a good job and submersingPeople play this game hoping it to be like other shooters. But its not. The game itself has a great story that does a good job and submersing you. The multiplayer is fun. You cant blame the game for problems that you provoke. Like dying or aiming terribly. If you look hard enough youll find small glitches like any other game but it stands out from its competition by providing something new. I rate this game a 10 because thats what it should deserve. Full Review »