User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1770 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2017
    7
    Uno de los pocos juegos de disparos que me ha mantenido enganchado durante bastante tiempo.

    Una jugabilidad sobresaliente, gráficos punteros para su época, variedad de mapas, modos de juego... Sin duda su multiplicador es de lo mejor en este genero que te puede encontrar. Tiene carencias, desde luego, algunas de las expansiones fueron bastante malas, con mapas extremadamente grandes
    Uno de los pocos juegos de disparos que me ha mantenido enganchado durante bastante tiempo.

    Una jugabilidad sobresaliente, gráficos punteros para su época, variedad de mapas, modos de juego... Sin duda su multiplicador es de lo mejor en este genero que te puede encontrar. Tiene carencias, desde luego, algunas de las expansiones fueron bastante malas, con mapas extremadamente grandes para tan pocos jugadores en partida, desequilibrios en ciertos mapas, y demás.

    Añadir que el modo historia es un paseo para enseñar lo que puede hacer el motor gráfico y poco más, no esperéis una obra de Shakespeare o Cerbantes.

    A pesar de los fallos que puedan existir en esta entrega, es un juego muy recomendado en su faceta multijugador.
    Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2017
    7
    This is a good game in 2017... never played a battlefield game before only killzone2, rage and cod mw3. I have to say the single player experience is acceptable, the story and cutscenes are lame but the gameplay is fun and with enough variety. In the multiplayer experience it gives it's best and becomes fairly hard for me. The conquest mode is strange for me as i didn't get it's mechanicsThis is a good game in 2017... never played a battlefield game before only killzone2, rage and cod mw3. I have to say the single player experience is acceptable, the story and cutscenes are lame but the gameplay is fun and with enough variety. In the multiplayer experience it gives it's best and becomes fairly hard for me. The conquest mode is strange for me as i didn't get it's mechanics and a game seem to last waaay too long. I still remember the first far cry multiplayer as more fun. But this game makes things work for a more updated gameplay. It's mostly cahotic and fast paced, and I think that's good for this kind of game. Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2016
    10
    MY FAVORITE GAME OF ALL TIME.
    BF3 is a fun/ game changing fps, one of the best experience i have ever had on a video game, all the maps/dlc maps are fun as **** no words to describe the masterpiece that I think this game is.
    JUST BUY IT.
  4. Aug 16, 2016
    7
    Battlefield 3 is a first-person shooter video game developed by EA DICE and published by Electronic Arts.

    + Multiplayer
    + Sound Effects
    - Bad Story Campaign
  5. Aug 5, 2016
    7
    Battlefield 3 is a first-person shooter video game developed by EA DICE and published by Electronic Arts.

    + Multiplayer
    + Sound Effects
    - Bad Story Campaign
  6. Jun 7, 2016
    8
    A very good game with a great balance in the team deathmatch and other multiplayer modes.
    I preferred the server selection from the PS3 version from the Origin version for the PC.
    I liked this game more than BF4 on PC.
  7. May 14, 2016
    9
    Awesome multiplayer, campaign and graphics, fun and stable, loved the realistic looking, it needs some learning rather than reflexes on call of dutys, it's still been played on daily basis by lots of players more than bf4
  8. Apr 12, 2016
    10
    Battlefield 3 dejó el listón muy alto a sus entregas posteriores y es normal ya que fue probablemente el shooter más ambicioso hecho por DICE. Battlefield 3 llevó la palabra FPS a otro nivel y si una palabrá tiene que acompañar a BTF3 esa es Perfección. Este juego nos ofrecía una gran variedad de posibilidades a la hora de afrontar una partida multijugador, pudiendo elegir entre diferentesBattlefield 3 dejó el listón muy alto a sus entregas posteriores y es normal ya que fue probablemente el shooter más ambicioso hecho por DICE. Battlefield 3 llevó la palabra FPS a otro nivel y si una palabrá tiene que acompañar a BTF3 esa es Perfección. Este juego nos ofrecía una gran variedad de posibilidades a la hora de afrontar una partida multijugador, pudiendo elegir entre diferentes clases, las cuales tienen cada una su especialización y harán que podamos ayudar a nuestro equipo curando, reparando, surtiendo,... Podemos elegir entre ir al frente de la batalla como infanteria o utilizar vehículos que serán de gran ayuda a la hora de contrarrestar al bando enemigo. El juego incluye una gran variedad de modos de juegos, entre los que destacan Conquista y Asalto. Battlefield 3 hasta ahora es probablemente el mejor FPS multijugador que yo he podido jugar y que recomiendo jugar un numero elevado de horas para poder exprimir al máximo todo lo que ofrece, porque no es poco.
    Esta review está basada por completo en el multijugador.
    Expand
  9. Apr 9, 2016
    8
    Weak campaign which is very boring. But the multiplayer makes up with the realistic war with huge maps but still fastish pace with the vehicles overall. 86/100
  10. Feb 16, 2016
    8
    BATTLEFIELD 3 is a different experience in comparison to other shooters of the genre, in a good way. We have graphics that for the time were top-notch. The gameplay overall is fun and the controls easy to use (even in a vehicle).

    The campaign, while it could have had more intriguing characters, was a lot of fun. It was filled with huge moments like buildings tearing apart, earthqueakes,
    BATTLEFIELD 3 is a different experience in comparison to other shooters of the genre, in a good way. We have graphics that for the time were top-notch. The gameplay overall is fun and the controls easy to use (even in a vehicle).

    The campaign, while it could have had more intriguing characters, was a lot of fun. It was filled with huge moments like buildings tearing apart, earthqueakes, this game is huge in scale. It had some fun missions and all, but nothing that stands-out from other singleplayer FPS. I found it a bit short too.

    The co-op. I played it like twice, it was basically Spec Ops from MW2 but less entertaining. So that's an addition that didn't work out.

    But we all know why we play BATTLEFIELD, the multiplayer. And boy it is good. BATTLEFIELD 3's multiplayer it's a completely different experience in FPS multiplayer. It's extremely addictive and entertaining, you can call in 4 of your friends, form a squad and jump in a tank or a chopper and blow all the map up.
    One of the best multiplayer experiences I've ever played, it doesn't have a big amount of game modes but the ones it has are enough. Plus , the maps are huge and very fun to play at.

    One problem I have is that the game, at least for me, doesn't run that smooth in the PS3. I have seen how fast and paced it runs on PC, the engine is a bit lower in the PS3 so it may not run as good as on PC.

    The multiplayer is definitely a 10/10, the campaign around a 8/10, and the co-op just doesn't matter. But the gameplay is a little lower in PS3. Overall a good gaming experience to buy, maybe not at full price anymore, I think BATTLEFIELD 4 would be better but you can still get a good price along DLC.
    Expand
  11. Jan 6, 2016
    5
    The worst campaign I've ever played. Several scenes had me thinking about this review and how I would start by writing that sentence. It was a scripted linear shooting gallery on 'easy mode' and I only got gameover because of sudden unfair damage. Suddden unfair damage was the rule on 'hard' where I had to cancel progress, two chapters in.

    Multiplayer was still fairly active in december
    The worst campaign I've ever played. Several scenes had me thinking about this review and how I would start by writing that sentence. It was a scripted linear shooting gallery on 'easy mode' and I only got gameover because of sudden unfair damage. Suddden unfair damage was the rule on 'hard' where I had to cancel progress, two chapters in.

    Multiplayer was still fairly active in december 2015, possibly due to winter retreat/holidays. Still, only half of the game modes were consistent, and a few of the trophy-requiring modes were completely abandoned.

    Compared with Battlefield 4: Not as much graphical variation in BF3 but fully functional, BF3 maps feel more oldschool gameplay-focused, BF3 has smaller community and fewer active maps (I feel like I played 10 even with Premium), gameplay almost identical, BF3 has online coop which is abandoned, it's frustrating to load a gamemode and find it is empty so BF3 is mostly variations on deathmatch and rush and capture the flag and conquest and the same few maps.
    Expand
  12. Dec 27, 2015
    10
    This game has awesome single-player story. You lose your friends, you fight for your own life. You see what your enemies are capable of. I could not even imagine such a great game.
  13. Nov 27, 2015
    8
    Like most people I played the Battlefield: Bad Company games and wanted to see what the rest of the series was like. Well, first of all, Battlefield: Bad Company 1 and 2 are better games than this one. That being said, BF3 has some redeemable elements. Pros: Good action in the game, good multiplayer and some fun environments to wreak havoc on. Pretty good graphics. Cons: Campaign wasLike most people I played the Battlefield: Bad Company games and wanted to see what the rest of the series was like. Well, first of all, Battlefield: Bad Company 1 and 2 are better games than this one. That being said, BF3 has some redeemable elements. Pros: Good action in the game, good multiplayer and some fun environments to wreak havoc on. Pretty good graphics. Cons: Campaign was super short. I played it on Hard and beat it in 2 days. Also, the entire interrogation segments get a bit tedious. There's also no reason to play the campaign again, why didn't they include intel documents or any other pieces to collect? Overall a pretty fun game but better for a rental. Expand
  14. Nov 18, 2015
    8
    Overall a enjoyable game with some issues on multiplayer. Does make the ps3 freeze as other stated but did not happen to often. Single player campaign was enjoyable and graphics were top-notch. Would recommend this game to fans of fps or military games.
  15. Sep 20, 2015
    1
    First of all the gameplay is same as Modern Warfare 3 for example: When progressing on other mission you switch character.The A.I. is crap you can stand in front of the enemy and he won't shoot you.My favourite Battlefield is Hardline personally.I don't recomend it to anyone
  16. Jul 3, 2015
    9
    Battlefield 3 started out a bit buggy and laggy. But after a few patches, the game became close to excellent. Better than BFBC2, with improved multiplayer and a slightly better campaign. Though the campaign is still pretty mediocre and still nobody cares about the campaigns in Battlefield games.
    The multiplayer is amazing with a lot of maps and guns and stuff to use. I liked this game so
    Battlefield 3 started out a bit buggy and laggy. But after a few patches, the game became close to excellent. Better than BFBC2, with improved multiplayer and a slightly better campaign. Though the campaign is still pretty mediocre and still nobody cares about the campaigns in Battlefield games.
    The multiplayer is amazing with a lot of maps and guns and stuff to use. I liked this game so much that I actually bought the BF Premium, which gave me instant access to all the DLC's. And that money was well spent. BF3 was a multiplayer game where you could spend time enormously. Battlefield 3 just had the right feels. It is my favorite Battlefield game ever made.

    (I played this shortly after it came out, I'm just now writing the review)
    Expand
  17. Feb 26, 2015
    8
    Game looks absolutely gorgeous! Guns and sound are amazing! Story was ok at most, I didn't really care for it, just the same Multiplayer is fun as always, fast paced and fun!
  18. Nov 23, 2014
    8
    This is probably the best Battlefield I've ever played. Impressive weapons, maps, vehicles, players, game modes, and graphics. If you want to see a good war simulator, just buy Battlefield 3
  19. Oct 23, 2014
    9
    A really fun game with a good character movement good graphics and good multiplayer. The multiplayer is really fun for you and your friends with a match being on average 20 minutes to 1 hour
  20. Aug 12, 2014
    8
    Extremely dull and short single player experience, even compared to the likes of competitor Call of Duty. The heart of the game is all in the online, which is great fun, if a little biased towards those who are competent in the vehicles.
  21. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    I can't stand this game's singleplayer campaign. However, the multiplayer is amazing. It's as simple as that. But if you have the option to get this on PC, by all means, go for it. On PS3 the max player count is 24 compared to the 64 on PC, which is definitely better given the sheer size of the maps in this game. It is still a great game on PS3 though.
  22. Jun 11, 2014
    8
    In retrospective, despite the fact that the game was marketed towards disgruntled Call of Duty fans, all the new features in BF3 that was supposed to attract them end up hurting this game instead. Unnecessary single-player co-op and an uninspired campaign with cookie-cutter gameplay to match. And this was after the campaigns in the Bad Company series!
    Thankfully, Battlefield 3 has an
    In retrospective, despite the fact that the game was marketed towards disgruntled Call of Duty fans, all the new features in BF3 that was supposed to attract them end up hurting this game instead. Unnecessary single-player co-op and an uninspired campaign with cookie-cutter gameplay to match. And this was after the campaigns in the Bad Company series!
    Thankfully, Battlefield 3 has an excuse for having crappy single player and superior multiplayer: the series been a multiplayer game since the beginning. Oh, and let's not forget the Online Pass, and all the **** on the PC version.
    You got off lucky, DICE; EA, on the other hand....
    Expand
  23. Jun 4, 2014
    6
    I want to say this game was overrated, but bottomline was the learning curve was just too darn steep for me. The destructable environments was fine and dandy, but at some point you realize it's just a gimmick when you're not even having fun with the multiplayer. Flying was a disaster, impossible to pick up the game and start flying for fun.. the maps are huge to the point where you can goI want to say this game was overrated, but bottomline was the learning curve was just too darn steep for me. The destructable environments was fine and dandy, but at some point you realize it's just a gimmick when you're not even having fun with the multiplayer. Flying was a disaster, impossible to pick up the game and start flying for fun.. the maps are huge to the point where you can go half an hour without finding someone. Graphics were good and so was the realistic gunplay, but there are so many fps multiplayer, why should I spend hours just to get the fundamental of the game down..and that doesn't even mean being good at the game.. Expand
  24. Feb 18, 2014
    0
    **** This game sucks cocks. Dice, you ****ing ballsuckers. Stop making games or make games which works well. Zero, **** you Dice/EA and Battle **** 3.
  25. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    Dont listen to the whining about EA, and buy the game. Such exhilarating multiplayer, it is an experience u cannot miss. It is a virtual battlefield. there are times when u will feel the adrenaline rush through ur body.
  26. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    I love the Battlefield franchise as this game was great. You had a great story that kept you into it the whole time. And now the only reason I gave it a 9 was because of the ending. No spoilers but I think it was really rushed but the multiplayer and rest of the story makes up for it. The multiplayer is what really makes BF3, BF3. So you got yourself a good game if you got BF3.
  27. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    It is a awesome game, butiful grapfix and a good story line.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    GOODBYE.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  28. Oct 16, 2013
    4
    I've always been a Battlefield fan and I really wanted to like this game, but I really felt this game sucks. The graphics on the console are a mixture of beauty and absolute dreadfulness at the same time. Objects look great close up and bad from a distance. Everything just blends in with each other making it a chore to see enemies. I also found every map included in the standard game toI've always been a Battlefield fan and I really wanted to like this game, but I really felt this game sucks. The graphics on the console are a mixture of beauty and absolute dreadfulness at the same time. Objects look great close up and bad from a distance. Everything just blends in with each other making it a chore to see enemies. I also found every map included in the standard game to be terrible. The progression/unlock system is also an absolute joke.

    I only paid $15 for my copy of BF3 and as low of amount of money that is, I'm actually disappointed in wasting it on this mess of a game.
    Expand
  29. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Son realmente absurdos los comentarios que descalifican al juego, tan solo porque "les cegaron las luces del arma del enemigo"; "que un sniper los ha matado después de correr 500 metros". Todo esto, en verdad, solo dicen lo malos jugadores que son éstas personas, y en vez de ocuparse a jugar, a mejorar sus habilidades, achacan sus torpezas a los demás. Hay un dicho popular anglosajón queSon realmente absurdos los comentarios que descalifican al juego, tan solo porque "les cegaron las luces del arma del enemigo"; "que un sniper los ha matado después de correr 500 metros". Todo esto, en verdad, solo dicen lo malos jugadores que son éstas personas, y en vez de ocuparse a jugar, a mejorar sus habilidades, achacan sus torpezas a los demás. Hay un dicho popular anglosajón que dice: "en vez de maldecir la oscuridad, prende una vela".

    Por otro lado, es totalmente de imbéciles medir la tallas de los juegos, por otros juegos, acaso hay referentes. Así, si quieren jugar Call of Duty o Bioshock, allí están esas opciones para disfrutarlas; solo que, sencillamente, no se les puede calzar a estos juegos con el mismo zapato dada las diferencias con las que cada juego destaca. Es como si quisieras tratar a una nueva novia de la misma manera que a tu madre, o a tus anteriores novias.

    Personalmente, luego de jugar Turok y Golden Eye con consolas de generaciones viejas, y desde la aparición del playstation 1, me dejaron de interesar los juegos de disparos. De verdad, no tiene gran cosa correr, disparar y recargar, todo a ritmo frenético, o dependiendo del nivel de dificultad. Sencillamente con Battlefield 3 he renovado mis expectativas para los shooter; y lo que es más, me ha obligado a enseñarme cómo deben jugarse los shooter, desde procurar el sigilo hasta coordinar estrategias. La verdad es que el juego te obliga a mejorar, de lo contrario, no podrás obtener mejoras para vehículos y armas.

    Ciertamente me ha costado cerca de tres meses obtener cierto nivel, y así mejorar estadísticas, y más me ha costado acostumbrarme al realismo, la caída de la bala y la mira; pero, hoy por hoy, los momentos que uno puede disfrutar con éste juego son de los más memorables y divertidos que he tenido EN AÑOS.

    Lo que no soporto son a ciertos administradores de servidores, que hacen y deshacen equipos a su antojo; y que, en cuestión de detalles técnicos, de vez en cuando se me buguea obligándome, si no a recurrir al "suicidio" en medio del juego para engendrar, tener que apagar manualmente mi ps3. Tal vez si redujeran los servidores públicos para partidas. Y acerca de los bugs que experimento, tal vez si comprara las expansiones se resuelva...
    Expand
  30. Oct 5, 2013
    7
    Their are many amazing first person shooters but unfortunately this is not one of them. Dont get me wrong this is not a bad game by any means. The campaign is okay and has some really interesting plot points. The gameplay is amazing and very realistic. The multiplayer is solid but not for me. To tell you the truth i would rather have a Bad Company 3 than a Battlefield 3. HopefullyTheir are many amazing first person shooters but unfortunately this is not one of them. Dont get me wrong this is not a bad game by any means. The campaign is okay and has some really interesting plot points. The gameplay is amazing and very realistic. The multiplayer is solid but not for me. To tell you the truth i would rather have a Bad Company 3 than a Battlefield 3. Hopefully Battlefield 4 restores my faith in the numbered sequels. Expand
  31. Oct 3, 2013
    8
    Battlefield 3 has arguably has the greatest multiplayer experience of the past 10 years. I highly recommend it for someone who has online access, regardless of console. The only disappointing aspect in my mind was the single-player. It has compelling elements, stunning graphics, and top-notch voice acting; but the short campaign will leave solo players yearning for more.

    For Solo
    Battlefield 3 has arguably has the greatest multiplayer experience of the past 10 years. I highly recommend it for someone who has online access, regardless of console. The only disappointing aspect in my mind was the single-player. It has compelling elements, stunning graphics, and top-notch voice acting; but the short campaign will leave solo players yearning for more.

    For Solo Players?: Possibly

    For Multiplayer Players?: Highly recommended

    Since Battlefield 4 is coming up, this game price has dropped to 19.99$usd. It should now be a good pickup for players short on money.
    Expand
  32. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    A must have FPS game. It was the sequel to BF2 that we had all expected, and had significant changes that make it a true classic. This and Cod4 I find are just simply the best shooters nd both simply difficult to give less than 10! ten ten ten, and nothing less.
  33. Sep 8, 2013
    7
    This is my first Battlefield, and I'm quite impressed with the multiplayer. I love levelling up, love the graphics. I stay alive a lot longer than in Reach... Very addicting and fun.

    The single player campaign is too much in rails for my likes.
  34. Aug 17, 2013
    8
    8.4 out of 10 (rounded off to 8).

    With a sloppy campaign and very troublesome party-play, Battlefield 3 feels lacking. But that doesn't stop this from being a great game. The gameplay feels polished, visuals are amazing (although a bit too... blue), the destructible environments are mind-blowing and the multiplayer is great. Although, as touched upon in "troublesome party-play", it is
    8.4 out of 10 (rounded off to 8).

    With a sloppy campaign and very troublesome party-play, Battlefield 3 feels lacking. But that doesn't stop this from being a great game. The gameplay feels polished, visuals are amazing (although a bit too... blue), the destructible environments are mind-blowing and the multiplayer is great. Although, as touched upon in "troublesome party-play", it is very difficult and confusing trying to join and play with friends. It is also frustrating to not be able to mute individual players when you want to filter out the other people from your party.

    Other than such small issues, Battlefield 3 is a must have for FPS-enthusiasts.
    Expand
  35. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    was never into online first person shooters until I played this, a truly engaging game with stunning sound and graphics, only downfall is the 24 player match's on consoles compare to 64 players on pc, to get the full experience from this game I recommend playing on PC
  36. Aug 12, 2013
    4
    You must be a huge fan of Battlefield or hardcore multiplayer to enjoy this one. I didn't like the campaign mode at all. The game play sucks really. I played it on hard. and it was so annoying that when I day I need to start from the begining of the checkpiont. Which could be another 3-5 min of play.
    I also noticed at many occasions that enemies spawn suddenly in place or in closed rooms
    You must be a huge fan of Battlefield or hardcore multiplayer to enjoy this one. I didn't like the campaign mode at all. The game play sucks really. I played it on hard. and it was so annoying that when I day I need to start from the begining of the checkpiont. Which could be another 3-5 min of play.
    I also noticed at many occasions that enemies spawn suddenly in place or in closed rooms with no windows or doors. That really sucks big time. making you exposed from behind sometimes.
    Squad mates aren't really helpful most of the time. They are there for firing sound effect.
    Poor gameplay. I give it 4 though
    Expand
  37. Jul 31, 2013
    8
    Battlefield 3 is one of the most realistic games ever made. A must buy for any FPS fan. Bad company 2 was a really great game, but this is just even better. A must buy.
  38. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    Battlefield is half phenomenal, half mediocre and forgettable. The first thing you will notice immediately is the graphical intensity. BF3 is a stunning game when you play in full HD. The way the game plays is a step away from most fps games as well. If you're near an explosion, not only will you receive the run-of-the-mill ringing noise, but your vision will blur, and you will actuallyBattlefield is half phenomenal, half mediocre and forgettable. The first thing you will notice immediately is the graphical intensity. BF3 is a stunning game when you play in full HD. The way the game plays is a step away from most fps games as well. If you're near an explosion, not only will you receive the run-of-the-mill ringing noise, but your vision will blur, and you will actually become disoriented, instead of just a white flash and a ring. This realism extends to every aspect of the game, from tanks' shells causing large explosions as well as a large kick-up of dirt, obscuring sight. Guns all sound nice and beefy, and will dynamically change depending on your location, being muffled if you are far away or behind a barrier (an excellent touch). Oh, and I forgot to mention, LENS FLARE EVERYWHERE!!
    Campaign mode, however, is dull, filled with a decent story idea, but characters don't intrigue the player, and there are so many russian stereotypes that you might have a slight accent by the end, if you decide to play all the way to the end. Mission design is also uncreative and boring, doing nothing to keep you hooked. You can save your time and skip it.It won't prepare you for the lunacy that is the multiplayer mode.
    Multiplayer is where BF3 really shines. Maps are massive, partially destructible, and the game modes rush and conquest utilize the size almost all the time (with the exception of a few conquest maps shrunk down due to the maps linear nature). Rush is where I found myself spending most of my time, with conquest in a close second. They're definitely the two most entertaining game modes. There are four classes in BF3, each with its own benefits. I played almost always as the assault class (all around/medic). The three others are: the engineer (vehicle repair/destroying, due to the ability to carry a massive rocket launcher), Support (all around, resupplying teammates, can also destroy vehicles with C4), and Recon (sniper, stealth, also can plant spawn beacons behind enemy lines so teammates can surround the enemy). The four classes work well when you have a full team that understands their roles, and executes them. This, unfortunately, is not always the case. The team that communicates better will win nine out of ten times in my experiences. Each class has its own chain of unlocks as you level up, as well as unlocking more upgrades for each weapon as you use it. You will also receive different camouflage patterns when your overall level increases. It is a smartly designed system that rewards you the more you play, but it will make trying new things less interesting after you have achieved a high level with a certain class/weapon.
    Although there is only a 24 player max, this number of players works well on the smaller maps (operation metro is a particular favorite of mine). The larger maps tend to be dominated by vehicles usually. The ability to spawn on squad members is a great feature that really enhances team play. Also, for performing certain tasks in battle, you will receive ribbons for your achievements, worth 200 xp each. After you have accumulated a certain number of a particular ribbon, you will receive a medal, worth a massive amount of xp. This, accompanied by the dog tag system, make for even more depth in the multiplayer. Your player wears 2 dog tags, standard at first, but they become more personalized as you progress. You can take opponents' tags with a stealth knife kill, and you can view your collection in the menu, however the interface for this is rather poor. Small gripes of the multiplayer include the lack of tutorials for flying jets and/or helicopters, both of which are extremely intimidating to beginners, as well as your soldier's inability to walk over two centimeter high concrete slabs that remain after tanks have destroyed the building.
    Battlefield 3 excels in multiplayer, but is lacking in a solid campaign mode, overall completely worth your money, as it is the premier shooter on consoles in my mind.
    Expand
  39. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    You haters must be too used to the same Call of Duty crap, Battlefield 3 is totally different and the controls are good as well as the gameplay and graphics. We are sick of the same Call of Duty game because all they do is add the same old engine with new tweaks, and the reason why you get shot in the foot two times is because its adapting realism. There is no steady aiming, noYou haters must be too used to the same Call of Duty crap, Battlefield 3 is totally different and the controls are good as well as the gameplay and graphics. We are sick of the same Call of Duty game because all they do is add the same old engine with new tweaks, and the reason why you get shot in the foot two times is because its adapting realism. There is no steady aiming, no killstreaks or any crap like that. Expand
  40. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    First I would like to point out you buy this game for the multiplayer and not the campaign, which was in my opinion good but not the best. The multiplayer however is full of excitement and excellent teamwork. The only downside to it would have too be the increasing amount of immature 12 year olds screaming into their mics about being killed, but that can be fixed by simply muting them orFirst I would like to point out you buy this game for the multiplayer and not the campaign, which was in my opinion good but not the best. The multiplayer however is full of excitement and excellent teamwork. The only downside to it would have too be the increasing amount of immature 12 year olds screaming into their mics about being killed, but that can be fixed by simply muting them or changing squads. Overall an excellent game. Expand
  41. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    Leaving myself half way through the story due to the terrible cheesy acting put me in a better position in online multiplayer. EA and DICE has the best dedicated server i have ever used. The graphics are stunning. the community of players may occasionally rant at you for doing something wrong, their is no way in hell i would switch this co-operative friendly community for any other. ALeaving myself half way through the story due to the terrible cheesy acting put me in a better position in online multiplayer. EA and DICE has the best dedicated server i have ever used. The graphics are stunning. the community of players may occasionally rant at you for doing something wrong, their is no way in hell i would switch this co-operative friendly community for any other. A GREAT RANGE OF GUNS MAPS AND AWESOME PREMIUM. A MUST BUY FOR SINGLE PLAYER FPS PLAYERS Expand
  42. Jul 10, 2013
    7
    Don't have much to say except Battlefield 3 is great on pc and okay on ps3. Awesome Mutipayer keep the score up even-though the singe player drags it down.
  43. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    To be honest Battlefield 3 has one of the best, if not the best multiplayer I've ever played, tries to do many things in terms of multiplayer and makes them successful, has a great look, with great graphics and great voice acting. The game loses in terms of single player, not a bad single player, but there are FPS with a better experience for the player. We can understand the motivationsTo be honest Battlefield 3 has one of the best, if not the best multiplayer I've ever played, tries to do many things in terms of multiplayer and makes them successful, has a great look, with great graphics and great voice acting. The game loses in terms of single player, not a bad single player, but there are FPS with a better experience for the player. We can understand the motivations of Sergeant Blackburn, but it's hard to feel sorry about the death of a person, when we saw thousands dying in front of us. But overall it is a great game and one of the best FPS that exists in the market. Expand
  44. May 26, 2013
    7
    While Iv'e never been a fan of EA's games, besides Dead Space, I think I might reconsider that thought. Battlefield 3 has the best graphics Iv'e seen in any game. Downside, the campaign is just a "meh", the story is crap, ally A.I. get in the way a lot, and the jet mission couldv'e been fun if you could FLY the jet! The MP, however, is the games saving grace. Maps are large, weapons areWhile Iv'e never been a fan of EA's games, besides Dead Space, I think I might reconsider that thought. Battlefield 3 has the best graphics Iv'e seen in any game. Downside, the campaign is just a "meh", the story is crap, ally A.I. get in the way a lot, and the jet mission couldv'e been fun if you could FLY the jet! The MP, however, is the games saving grace. Maps are large, weapons are cool, tank combat is awesome! To bad its not better than MW3. Expand
  45. May 19, 2013
    6
    Only played the single player, as in most cases, don't mind multiplayer. Well, the campaign is boring (so, it didn't feel short enough), the graphics are good, very good in some cases, but all of the caracthers suffers from severe photophobia. Even a lamppost in day light could affect your vision, blinding you. Other than that there is the fact that running doesn't require stamina at all,Only played the single player, as in most cases, don't mind multiplayer. Well, the campaign is boring (so, it didn't feel short enough), the graphics are good, very good in some cases, but all of the caracthers suffers from severe photophobia. Even a lamppost in day light could affect your vision, blinding you. Other than that there is the fact that running doesn't require stamina at all, you could run in circles all day without getting tired, the bodies os your enemies just vanish after a short time and you can't see your enemies. The gripe with this is that this game supposed to scream realism. Hence, the boringness. But is full of unrealistic things. Overall is a decent game, it kills time if you don't have anything better to do, but don't be sucked in the fanboy-ism who have becomed blind (for real) and would accept any game under certain titles. Everybody that fanatic to think this is 'the best game ever made', should review their concepts in order to not be fooled around so easy by an industry that is getting greedier and greedier. This game is an example of this, a most boring and generic shooter re-served over and over. As I stated, this is my view on single player. Haven't touched the multiplayer pass because i'm certainly trading it over. Expand
  46. May 16, 2013
    9
    the next battlefield we see will kill cod and i like cod but see you and i still like cod but it doesnt compare to this unless its the first black ops
  47. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    I love this game. Why? Because even though it's been almost 2 years since it's release and Call of Duty tried to destroy it's reputation, Battlefield 3's multiplayer remains one of the best damn structures i've seen and the best fun i have ever played; and the graphics still make some of today's videogames, well, outdated. The only flaw i could find was the slightly boring campaign (atI love this game. Why? Because even though it's been almost 2 years since it's release and Call of Duty tried to destroy it's reputation, Battlefield 3's multiplayer remains one of the best damn structures i've seen and the best fun i have ever played; and the graphics still make some of today's videogames, well, outdated. The only flaw i could find was the slightly boring campaign (at least some parts of it). Mandatory. Expand
  48. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    Spent 1000 hours in this game. made a few friends because of this game. the multiplayers is just the best on the market, well-balanced and addictive.
  49. Apr 27, 2013
    3
    Probably the worst single-player campaign out there. The story is a mess and seems more like a tour of different vehicles and fights than anything interesting. I think DICE spent too much time on graphics, without realising that good graphics don't make a good game. Did they not get the memo? Multiplayer is pretty bland. Tanks are overpowered and if you don't have one you're going to be atProbably the worst single-player campaign out there. The story is a mess and seems more like a tour of different vehicles and fights than anything interesting. I think DICE spent too much time on graphics, without realising that good graphics don't make a good game. Did they not get the memo? Multiplayer is pretty bland. Tanks are overpowered and if you don't have one you're going to be at the mercy of someone who does. Or someone who has better internet. Or better gear from playing more. Expand
  50. Apr 25, 2013
    7
    The PC version in better in every way that got a 10 from me but the ps3 version isn't that good compared but great game still worth buying even if you have a bad PC
  51. Apr 15, 2013
    8
    Just purchased the Premium Edition on sale for $39.99 and I've got to say, even though this is an older game at this point, the amount of content included is a steal at that price. Haven't played it since the original release, so having all of these new maps and weapons to play with makes it almost a brand new experience. Awesome to have the close quarters map pack for fast paced ADDJust purchased the Premium Edition on sale for $39.99 and I've got to say, even though this is an older game at this point, the amount of content included is a steal at that price. Haven't played it since the original release, so having all of these new maps and weapons to play with makes it almost a brand new experience. Awesome to have the close quarters map pack for fast paced ADD action, alongside the larger expansion packs for a more tactical experience. The online community is still thriving as well, which is nice not having to worry about finding a full lobby. The single player is typical military FPS fodder, but the online more then makes up for that. Expand
  52. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Absolutely love this game. I have premium, I am level 45 in the multiplayer and there is still many things I haven't ever tried in the game. This game is huge and will have you going on forever. This is not a "maybe I might buy it" it is a MUST HAVE.
  53. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Great game over all. In my opinion the best part of the game is the multiplayer, because you really feel like you are part of a goal. In call of duty and other games like that where you are a lone wolf your team really doesn't matter to you. In Battlefield 3 you have to heal or supply your team mates with ammo, and some times take out a plane, chopper, or tank. When you think about it youGreat game over all. In my opinion the best part of the game is the multiplayer, because you really feel like you are part of a goal. In call of duty and other games like that where you are a lone wolf your team really doesn't matter to you. In Battlefield 3 you have to heal or supply your team mates with ammo, and some times take out a plane, chopper, or tank. When you think about it you working together could be the cause of winning or loosing. I feel that Dice made a very strong game and really like that they keep on making updates, patches and DLC (downloadable content), to supply you with new content like maps and also guns. The only thing that I believe that they could have improved upon was making it so that the damage of the bolt action snipers would kill in one hit, but only if you hit the person above the waste. It just felt like the snipers were pretty under powered, because the final sniper still only killed in one hit if you hit them in the head. (if a sniper fires a 50cal. round then even a few inches away from the body would rip the flesh right off of them. This I felt was like smacking all snipers in the face when a realistic game wouldn't be realistic towards snipers) I believe that their reason was that they did not want to make the snipers over powered, but instead they made them under powered. Over all It is a great game and I recommend it. Just know that if you like to snipe the rifles might make you mad when you hit someone in the upper chest and they do not die. Lastly the story was about an 8.5/10 in my opinion.
    Thank-you
    Starrqwas
    Expand
  54. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    I try to avoid multiplayer games but this game just has me hooked...but, as my normal self, I played the campaign first and by god did I hate it, no matter how hard I try I just can't complete it because I just get way too bored, too much linearity and too many QTEs, I mean if you can fly a jet in the multiplayer why can't you in the single player!!...well the main purpose of the game isI try to avoid multiplayer games but this game just has me hooked...but, as my normal self, I played the campaign first and by god did I hate it, no matter how hard I try I just can't complete it because I just get way too bored, too much linearity and too many QTEs, I mean if you can fly a jet in the multiplayer why can't you in the single player!!...well the main purpose of the game is the multilayer and its just so addicting I just can't stop playing, the fact that he graphics are so realistic even on a console, the guns feel fantastic and I love the classes base system which makes randomners play as a team, something call of duty has seem to fail to implement. Also the co-op is really nothing special, just a bland co-op mode. the multiplayer is the thing that makes Battlefield stand on its own two feet Expand
  55. Mar 22, 2013
    8
    Contains some of the best graphics on the console; its scope is showcased in the incredible detail on the very large maps it boasts. The multiplayer is polished and as exiting to play as any FPS out there. The campaign is incredibly underwhelming. Save for one level, the entire thing is pretty forgettable. Only get this if you enjoy playing FPS online.
  56. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    I'm going to point out the pros & cons. I will admit that I am a huge fan of the Battlefield series & I consider it one of the best shooters on consoles. BF3 Improves on where others failed (BC series). The multiplayer is where it shines as always. Dice's frostbite engine makes the battlefield come to life, 32 player battles on destructible environments is amazing. I feel the maps affectI'm going to point out the pros & cons. I will admit that I am a huge fan of the Battlefield series & I consider it one of the best shooters on consoles. BF3 Improves on where others failed (BC series). The multiplayer is where it shines as always. Dice's frostbite engine makes the battlefield come to life, 32 player battles on destructible environments is amazing. I feel the maps affect your play style, for example maps like metro will put your CQC to the test, shotties & SMG's can rule the battlefield; the battle centers in the tunnel while a team can be pushed outside to the buildings outside of the train station, the other can be pushed furthe in. Other maps will require you to learn how to use a Heli, Jets, Tanks and transport. Bullet drop makes sniping rewarding when you have determine distance & timing. Unlike COD, shooting and getting those hit ratios or headshots at long distances requires actual practice. The one man army or Rambo's don't stand a chance here, trick shots neither, BF3 is a game for serious shooter fans IMO. This game requires actual teamwork for you to get an upperhand in matches, battles are some of the most intese I have experienced in any shooter up to date. Tons of unlockables, huge maps & a good selection of vehicles to choose from (when players are not spawn camping vehicles). Co-op & single player campaign: Co-op I would only recommend for unlocking certain weapons (or just pay for them on the PSN store & save time) & sp campaign is nowhere near as good as BC's.... not even worth mentioning.... it's that bad. Pros:
    -Maps are huge.
    -Tons of unlockables (dogtags, weapons, attatchments, vehicle abilities & camo).
    -Intense squad based battles.
    -Graphic look beautiful.
    -Vehicles (finally jets on consoles)
    -DLC support is great (introducing new vehicles & weapons).

    Cons: -VoIP Chat is buggy
    -Vehicle Dominance is a big thing... one great chopper pilot can destroy a whole team, this is rare but it happens & when it does it's bad news even when you are on the winning team. There's a term for these type of situation but it's not appropriate for me to use the phrase in my review lol... Base*****.
    -Hit detection can be buggy at times too.

    So that is why I give it a 9 out of 10. Suggestions I have would be to improve VoIP chat on the next installmen & give the next entry more Beta testing time in order to avoid bugs because when we purchased at launch we ended up with a few game breaking bugs.
    That's it for my BF3 review on PS3.
    Expand
  57. Mar 17, 2013
    8
    I was impressed by the graphics and sounds and I really enjoyed the Campaign as its full of entertaining events, although it could be just little bit longer to fully satisfy me, but I don't really ask too much from it, the mutiplayer from the ground up was a very fun, interesting, enjoyable experience, there are many opportunities and ways to play, although I'd say this game was much moreI was impressed by the graphics and sounds and I really enjoyed the Campaign as its full of entertaining events, although it could be just little bit longer to fully satisfy me, but I don't really ask too much from it, the mutiplayer from the ground up was a very fun, interesting, enjoyable experience, there are many opportunities and ways to play, although I'd say this game was much more fun before Premium service, cause I dislike the new wider border map, not to mention I constantly gets disconnected from servers making this game time from time unplayable, but still this is an all out most exciting FPS game I ever played. Expand
  58. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    Battlefield 3 is incredible as long as you play it sparingly. The story was film quality, the mechanics are amazing, and combat is intense. Sure, there isn't much replay-ability, but the same can be said for all FPS games. The only other problems are the DLC, which doesn't offer as much as it could, and constant patches that change the game too much.
  59. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Big change came to the battlefield series with DICE's new installment Battlefield 3. I started with the singleplayer and that was a bad start. Uninspired campaign full of glitches and forgettable characters marks a difference between Bad Company and BF3. Bad Company 2 had awesome characters with awesome dialogues. But, once again, the multiplayer IS the game in many ways. DestructableBig change came to the battlefield series with DICE's new installment Battlefield 3. I started with the singleplayer and that was a bad start. Uninspired campaign full of glitches and forgettable characters marks a difference between Bad Company and BF3. Bad Company 2 had awesome characters with awesome dialogues. But, once again, the multiplayer IS the game in many ways. Destructable environments, good weapon balance and AWESOME graphics make the multiplayer one of the most enjoyable of this decade. Teamwork is still a core element, and without it you won't be able to win a match. Squad system is back from BC2, and it works the same, allowing 4-man-squad that can spawn in each other to keep a strong frontline. One last complaint When you buy the game, you buy 60% of it. Battlefield Premium gives the player a lot of new maps, new guns and new gamemodes. If you have premium, then you have the complete Battlefield 3 experience. Singleplayer is bad, but because of the multiplayer, that bad campaign is forgiven and i advice you, do not play it. Overall, Battlefield 3 have got some of what make it's predecessor succesful, and a lot of new stuff. Awesome game, dudes. Expand
  60. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    Why do reviewers have to be extremists? There are those giving it 0s and other bad scores. They are just trolls, thinking EA is Lucifer or something. And there are those who give in 10s, thinking this game is flawless, and that EA is a saint. Anyway, on to my review. The singleplayer game...LOL...what singleplayer game? That is irrelevant when it come to Battlefield. Multiplayer is theWhy do reviewers have to be extremists? There are those giving it 0s and other bad scores. They are just trolls, thinking EA is Lucifer or something. And there are those who give in 10s, thinking this game is flawless, and that EA is a saint. Anyway, on to my review. The singleplayer game...LOL...what singleplayer game? That is irrelevant when it come to Battlefield. Multiplayer is the reason to play this game. It's deep, fun and epic. Just don't take you run-and-gun tactics here. But here is my biggest complaint: the DLC. I bought this game for Christmas 2011, and last year they re-released the game with Premium. That's right, you get the game and Premium (all DLC) for $60 now. Everyone else must pay $50 for Premium. That's a total of $110 we spend. That's what I don't like about EA. But anyway, now is a perfect time to get it. The past is past. Oh, and if have a behemoth of a PC, you should get the PC version instead. Not that the console games are bad. I don't have a powerful PC, I have the PS3 version, yet both are good where they are. Expand
  61. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    With its superb graphics and excellent Frostbite 2 technology, Battlefield 3 delivers an excellent gaming experience and is a must-buy for any first-person shooter enthusiast.
  62. Jan 21, 2013
    0
    I loved this game when it came out, I played it for hours and hours and hours and apart from some technical glitches I had a great time, if I had written a review then I would have scored it a 10, HOWEVER.... Then EA/Dice came up with a greedy money making scheme and decided to rent out the games multiplayer servers to private users.... bad move guys because that single act of greed hasI loved this game when it came out, I played it for hours and hours and hours and apart from some technical glitches I had a great time, if I had written a review then I would have scored it a 10, HOWEVER.... Then EA/Dice came up with a greedy money making scheme and decided to rent out the games multiplayer servers to private users.... bad move guys because that single act of greed has ruined your game completely and as a result I will never play it online again. For that I give BF3 a big fat zero. Expand
  63. Jan 13, 2013
    8
    Another great war game here. The campaign to the game had some kind of spark to it, which is what I was looking for. I got into the Battlefield series when Battlefield Bad Company 2 came out, and I loved that game. The multiplayer in these games though feel the same other than the new jet improvement, which would be the best improvement to the game. I enjoy the co-op feature, and theAnother great war game here. The campaign to the game had some kind of spark to it, which is what I was looking for. I got into the Battlefield series when Battlefield Bad Company 2 came out, and I loved that game. The multiplayer in these games though feel the same other than the new jet improvement, which would be the best improvement to the game. I enjoy the co-op feature, and the multiplayer is spectacular. The only problems I have with this game is, the campaign even though I said it was good, needed a little more to it. It didn't spark AS MUCH as Battlefield Bad Company 2 did. If you wanted to play this game, just spend your money and get it. It is truly a DICE masterpiece. It deserves a lot more than what it is credited for. DICE, you have done it again. Expand
  64. Dec 27, 2012
    8
    Great game one of the best BF ever,if not the best...But the story is really really boring and no emotion,but online is the savior in this case,a wonderful online in my opinion,but i hope in the future BF will be a even better game and be the best shooter game ever !
  65. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    I wasn't a fan of first person shooters until I tried Bad Company 2, which was a unique experience compared to the Call of Duty that I tried before and I disliked. So when this game came out I decided to get it. The first thing you notice is how beautiful this game looks even on a console! The lighting, the graphics, all make it realistic and alive. The campaign was not that good, itI wasn't a fan of first person shooters until I tried Bad Company 2, which was a unique experience compared to the Call of Duty that I tried before and I disliked. So when this game came out I decided to get it. The first thing you notice is how beautiful this game looks even on a console! The lighting, the graphics, all make it realistic and alive. The campaign was not that good, it seemed that you heard about it all before, other shooters have already done something similar to that story, and that was disappointing. The campaign of Bad Company 2 was good, but this one, not so much. Go to the multiplayer though, and it seems like a whole new game! The multiplayer experience is just amazing, the way the game modes are structured, the beautiful maps, the wide variety of weapons make Battlefield 3's multiplayer the best one I have ever played. You can choose between four classes while playing online, and unlock different weapons and specializations for it. You need to follow the role of your class, and don't do whatever you want as this is a team based game and playing as a team will offer you the ultimate experience. There is where the game is different than Call of Duty, where everyone is playing for himself, and thinks about himself only. In this game it makes you feel like you are in a real battlefield, and you contribute to the result of the game. The story might not be that good, but you should definitely get his game for its multiplayer. If you want to get a first person shooter, this is the choice you should follow. Expand
  66. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, it would be nice to have some offline multiplayer or co-op capabilities like that in CoD, but no other game I've ever played comes even half as close to the immersive online world that Battlefield presents. In short, is the only FPS game I ever need to play online. It's just that good
  67. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    I really think this is the best FPS out there at the moment. COD doesn't even come close to how much depth this game has in the multiplayer. If you don't want to get around on foot, you have all the land and air vehicles. You can spend most of your time in vehicles if you want to. I think I have about 150 hours up in this game, and I don't think I'll be stopping any time soon. The latestI really think this is the best FPS out there at the moment. COD doesn't even come close to how much depth this game has in the multiplayer. If you don't want to get around on foot, you have all the land and air vehicles. You can spend most of your time in vehicles if you want to. I think I have about 150 hours up in this game, and I don't think I'll be stopping any time soon. The latest DLC Aftermath is the best one yet. All four maps are great. If you are bored of the same old same old with COD, give this game a go. Oh and there's some very cool guns! Expand
  68. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    Beautiful graphics and amazing gameplay. Campaign is ok ( I wish there were more missions ) and worth the 8 hours needed to complete it. Co-op campaign helps increase the fun and is more harder than the regular campaign. The real fun is in the multiplayer. It probably has the best multiplayer out of all the First-Person Shooters till date. Over all, an extremely good game and in my opinionBeautiful graphics and amazing gameplay. Campaign is ok ( I wish there were more missions ) and worth the 8 hours needed to complete it. Co-op campaign helps increase the fun and is more harder than the regular campaign. The real fun is in the multiplayer. It probably has the best multiplayer out of all the First-Person Shooters till date. Over all, an extremely good game and in my opinion a must-buy for all fans and to-be fans of the series. Expand
  69. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Today, we don Expand
  70. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    Bought this game a year ago and I will have to say it was tough to get used to in the beginning, but I was looking for something different than the Call Of Duty line of games and which I used to play religiously every day. People that are disappointed at this game are not giving it a fair shot with a quick and over with campaign which is about 7 hours. The multi-player is where its at,Bought this game a year ago and I will have to say it was tough to get used to in the beginning, but I was looking for something different than the Call Of Duty line of games and which I used to play religiously every day. People that are disappointed at this game are not giving it a fair shot with a quick and over with campaign which is about 7 hours. The multi-player is where its at, being able to select and/or build your own server is nice as well in the multi-player.
    Battle Field 3 has amazing graphics you will immense yourself in the game once you figure out the controls and settings so those of you COD fans that are looking for something more in a first person shooter this is it!! As for whoever gives it a shot please give it a few hours of multi-player crashing jets and blowing up tanks, jeeps and helicopters to get used to it I know a few of my fellow friends that can agree with me on this. Thanks for reading and hope to see you online!!
    Expand
  71. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    It took me so long because this game kinda got lost in the barrage of games and I sold it. I rebought the premium edition a couple months ago, and let me say that this is easily the best shooter I've ever play. Might as well get into the cod comparison right away. This game makes cod feel like a last gen game. Cod feels like it was made on PS2.5, and this feels like PS3.5 Simply the wayIt took me so long because this game kinda got lost in the barrage of games and I sold it. I rebought the premium edition a couple months ago, and let me say that this is easily the best shooter I've ever play. Might as well get into the cod comparison right away. This game makes cod feel like a last gen game. Cod feels like it was made on PS2.5, and this feels like PS3.5 Simply the way the chars move is incredible. Look at when you knife someone from behind. It looks so real. And giant battlefields with vehicles and battles going on in the sky. Maybe this is why I liked MW3 and hated BO2. I played MW3 before this and BO2 after. I am sooo on the B3 bandwagon, and soooo on the we-hate-cod bandwagon. Expand
  72. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    A perfect 10. Lots of variety, weapons, vehicles, jets, choppers, gadgets, attachments, modes to keep you engaged day in and day out.. beautifully balanced weapons! has some bugs and issues.. But Multiplayer is pure bliss.. Single player ? What single player :)
  73. Nov 25, 2012
    6
    This game kinda dissapointed me.i was looking forward to it, but it wasn't that good. the campaign was bad, it was really boring.The multiplayer was good, but not good enough for the 50 bucks. the game looks really good tough, but i didn't really liked it. i think i'm gonna sell it or trade it.
  74. Nov 25, 2012
    6
    Battlefield 3 is worse than Bad Company 2. Yes the graphics are better and the campaign although shallow is his storyline is good but what makes it worse is the multiplayer. It's that it's bad but it's just not good enough. The loadout menus are confusing and completely unintuitive and the maps are just not better than Bad Company 2.
  75. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    First of all, the campaign greatly sucked. Just felt like Call of Duty: too short, too linear and a hollywoodian cheesy story. Now, let's get to the real thing: multiplayer: the gameplay is truly one of the most intense FPS experience I've ever had (even with the lack of destruction). Add to that eye-candy graphics and life-like SFX, you have what's potentially the best war simulator ever.
  76. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    Why a 0? Input lag simply causes too much interference on to many occasions. It is pretty ridiculous that something as essential as aiming in a FPS is troublesome... Worth the buy? No.
  77. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    Battlefield 3 is probably the best military first person shooter on the market nowadays. This game is equivalent of what counter strike was in early 2000's. Pro's; Maps are fun and generally beautifully designed, practice makes perfect for aiming but when you get used to you can be sure you will shoot any noob player face to face (unlike some other shooters), really cool destructableBattlefield 3 is probably the best military first person shooter on the market nowadays. This game is equivalent of what counter strike was in early 2000's. Pro's; Maps are fun and generally beautifully designed, practice makes perfect for aiming but when you get used to you can be sure you will shoot any noob player face to face (unlike some other shooters), really cool destructable environments (not as destructible as bfbc2 though, but more realistic). Probably the best teamwork in a shooter, even without headphones and mics. Con's; There are many weapons in the game but in the end you will be using just a few of them, in conquest maps sometimes air vehicles becoming overpowered, ticket system & ressurecting players (medic) can be annoying and open to exploiting. Overall; there are hours to be spent in the same squad with some close friends. Expand
  78. Nov 22, 2012
    6
    The campaign is awesome. the graphics in the campaign are awesome. The multiplayer is good. Really unbalanced. Weapons are unbalanced. the new engine is awesome. Way to put some extra effort in there. Besides that, It feels really blue. Like everything is blue.
  79. Nov 8, 2012
    4
    Many maps are too still too large for the 24 player cap even after having been redacted from the PC version. Input lag from the controller makes aiming and maneuvering the maps a chore. Choppy framerate and loooong texture load times make an otherwise good looking game that much worse. VOIP is broken. The singleplayer portion of the game is less a game and more a series of quicktimeMany maps are too still too large for the 24 player cap even after having been redacted from the PC version. Input lag from the controller makes aiming and maneuvering the maps a chore. Choppy framerate and loooong texture load times make an otherwise good looking game that much worse. VOIP is broken. The singleplayer portion of the game is less a game and more a series of quicktime events and long corridors with no freedom of movement or exploration - aka every modern FPS. Save yourself the trouble and just get the PC version. I have no idea if the 360 version suffers similar issues or is more sufferable. Expand
  80. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Best FPS game of all time so far!! Bring the artform of FPS gaming into the wonderful world of entertainment to the fore. A great piece of multi dimensional gaming..amazing Multiplayer, big maps, vehicles, destruction..Thank you DICE!
  81. Oct 13, 2012
    3
    Battlefield 3 had so much promise. Unfortunately, Dice doesn't seem to care about their own product and the endresult is this buggy mess. There are a number of problems with it and it takes forever for Dice to come around and fix them. If they fix them. Some of these bugs, like persistent problems with spawning without your weapon in multiplayer (!) makes the game unplayable. The singleBattlefield 3 had so much promise. Unfortunately, Dice doesn't seem to care about their own product and the endresult is this buggy mess. There are a number of problems with it and it takes forever for Dice to come around and fix them. If they fix them. Some of these bugs, like persistent problems with spawning without your weapon in multiplayer (!) makes the game unplayable. The single player portion is alright, but some of the checkpoints are mystifying. It certainly seem to lack having been playtested. Expand
  82. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    Esta claro que la pugna por el trono del shooter del año 2011 estaba clarísimo, aunque la mayoría de revistas del sector no comparta la opinión de la gran mayoría de jugadores. Battlefield 3 tiene una campaña bastante mala, sin duda, pero no te lo vas a comprar para jugar al modo historia.
    Su modo multijugador es uno de los más competitivos
    Esta claro que la pugna por el trono del shooter del año 2011 estaba clarísimo, aunque la mayoría de revistas del sector no comparta la opinión de la gran mayoría de jugadores. Battlefield 3 tiene una campaña bastante mala, sin duda, pero no te lo vas a comprar para jugar al modo historia.
    Su modo multijugador es uno de los más competitivos hoy en día, que huye de las partidas rápidas y sin sustancia del COD para traernos unos combates donde la coordinación y el trabajo en equipo son tan necesarios como la habilidad individual.

    Graficamente es muy bueno y aunque no llegue al nivel del PC hay que reconocerle que por momentos es espectacular. El sonido merece una mención a parte con los efectos más realistas de disparos que se hayan escuchado en un juego.

    En conclusión no es juego para todos pero sí para aquellos que busquen un reto y más aun si lo juegas con amigos, entonces la diversión se dispara.

    Gráficos: 8
    Sonido: 9.5
    Diversión/Jugabilidad: 8
    Duración: 8
    Total: 8
    Expand
  83. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Just going to keep this short and sweet. Great game. Funnest FPS to date. Lots of people will disagree with me for 1 reason and 1 reason only. THEY ARE CALL OF DUTY LOVERS AND HATE EVERYTHING ELSE. That is why this game has over 5,000 0 - 3 ratings. This is way better. WAY bigger maps and more vehicles!
  84. Sep 17, 2012
    9
    After one year of playing I must say this game is the best FPS to date, it is not the perfect one but the best, team plays feels natural and is totally needed to win, maps are designed perfectly, and classes are well balanced, very realistic and it has vehicles. It takes time to learn how to play, specially if you come from CoD Games. Single player and co-op are excellent and areAfter one year of playing I must say this game is the best FPS to date, it is not the perfect one but the best, team plays feels natural and is totally needed to win, maps are designed perfectly, and classes are well balanced, very realistic and it has vehicles. It takes time to learn how to play, specially if you come from CoD Games. Single player and co-op are excellent and are introduction and tutorials to each class in the game.///////////////////////////

    The environments change, making you feel the adrenaline of winning or losing, and a sense of progression, strategy and classes must change each map stage, though you can stay the same class, adopting is the key, sometimes you will pass from wide open areas ideal for snipers to tunnels ideals for suppression./////////////////////////

    This game brings tactics, skill and strategy to the field, if you miss one of them, you will suffer and this game is not for you, you will not understand the multiplayer dynamics and ultimately, bore you. ////////////////////////

    The downsize, and the fact I did not give it a perfect score is that, DICE is constantly patching the game with dozens of changes in weapons, vehicles and so, after spending a lot of time learning and feeling comfortable with a weapon and excelling the vehicles, the next month, all changes and you have to find another weapon to feel the most comfortable with. Though, some people seem happy the game keeps the balance.////////////////////////////
    Expand
  85. Sep 17, 2012
    8
    This game was a little disappointed with it as I thought Battlefield Bad Company 2 is better but this game is still worth a pickup. The Campaign is boring and the Co-Op is something DICE shouldn't do again. Online is fun but the PS3 version suffers from input lag.
  86. Sep 14, 2012
    3
    This game has only one good thing - graphics. The other things are terrible. Lots of bugs in multiplayer is normal for this game and the developers dont even try to fix them. They are releasing patches every 3 months that fix only guns behaviour and do nothing with instant-no-reason deaths, horrible teleporting lags on servers with 1-50 ping and many other horrible things. And what aboutThis game has only one good thing - graphics. The other things are terrible. Lots of bugs in multiplayer is normal for this game and the developers dont even try to fix them. They are releasing patches every 3 months that fix only guns behaviour and do nothing with instant-no-reason deaths, horrible teleporting lags on servers with 1-50 ping and many other horrible things. And what about maps? Only 9 maps - of you want to have more you have to PAY! Thats very interesting, because EA said they will never be like their competitor - Activision, who made CoD:Elite service with free new maps/guns/etc for people who bought it. Ta-daaa Battlefield 3: Preimum!!! Really WTF? Expand
  87. Sep 13, 2012
    0
    This is a boring and simplified version of PC-edition... This means that EVERYTHING is worse... and the game cost So HIGH... That it is better to buy PC version and be happy... $)
  88. Sep 13, 2012
    2
    **** game, game station for 3 bad out - not buy the game for $ 150, and a bunch of additions to 49.99 and Clos kvartals and karkand, and what we have - no weapons, no balance - M16 changed to m416, imbalance fierce, additions are uemu money , the premium generally more expensive game - buy this knife orange and all that?
  89. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    Such an amazing game the graphics is awesome and the multiplayer is so much fun the only flaw i have with the game is 24 players is the player limit on every map and on the big maps you could run around for ages and not find anyone to kill.
  90. Aug 19, 2012
    8
    Good campaign and alright multiplayer. I hate both Battlefield and Call Of Duty because of the annoying f%cking fanboys that need to stfu. This games is great but I prefer FPS games such as Killzone 3, Bioshock ,ect.
  91. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    This is a great game I'm sick of all the people shooting it down because they're cod fan boys. Sure the single player may not be the best but that's not what the game was made for it was made for the multiplayer and it's so amazing Most of the time you feel like you're on a real battlefield with all the genuine sounds and graphics. Yes i understand it may be a little buggy at times butThis is a great game I'm sick of all the people shooting it down because they're cod fan boys. Sure the single player may not be the best but that's not what the game was made for it was made for the multiplayer and it's so amazing Most of the time you feel like you're on a real battlefield with all the genuine sounds and graphics. Yes i understand it may be a little buggy at times but they just made a whole new engine and it's sort of to be expected but the bugs really aren't that bad really they're not game breaking Expand
  92. Aug 13, 2012
    8
    Battlefield 3's campaign is disappointing, but the multiplayer is amazing. This game may have the best MP, because It haves large maps, vehicles, and even warfare airplanes. And, the amazing Frostbite 2 engine, make this game beautiful to see with your eyes. Even sound design is improved. Just wished that the offline experience (single player), to be a success, not just a rip off campaignBattlefield 3's campaign is disappointing, but the multiplayer is amazing. This game may have the best MP, because It haves large maps, vehicles, and even warfare airplanes. And, the amazing Frostbite 2 engine, make this game beautiful to see with your eyes. Even sound design is improved. Just wished that the offline experience (single player), to be a success, not just a rip off campaign of COD, because of It's moments. 86 out of 100 Expand
  93. Aug 11, 2012
    8
    Anyone who was dissapointed by Modern Warfare 3's multiplayer should and most likely will have bought this game as a substitute. Though the co-op is much shorter, less varied and lacking in leaderboards (not to mention that you can't play it on your own or even on splitscreen); the multiplayer is what most people are interested in - it's a Battlefield game after all. As a CoD substitute,Anyone who was dissapointed by Modern Warfare 3's multiplayer should and most likely will have bought this game as a substitute. Though the co-op is much shorter, less varied and lacking in leaderboards (not to mention that you can't play it on your own or even on splitscreen); the multiplayer is what most people are interested in - it's a Battlefield game after all. As a CoD substitute, Battlefield 3 is a pleasant change due to the different classes, attachments which have a point and the wide variety of map/mode combination to accomodate for different playstyles. Everything from Noshahr Canals TDM to Caspian Border CQ, whether you want infantry-only CoD style games, infantry objective like on Operation Metro, ground vehicles only like in Grand Bazaar and Seine Crossing or all out vehicle maps with jets and large landscapes, this game can give you it. The progression, ranking and unlocks is far superior to Call of Duty's and this is a much more satisfying game to play too. Given how every button on the controller is used (infact there's not enough room for some things such as squad commands and mini-map zoom) it would be easy to expect the controls to be clunky and unresponsive as on Bad Company. In reality, this game has the smoothest controls for any console FPS, with a wide range of sensitivity options and a button layout which may not be ideal but the best compromise for a controller and could not be improved in any way to make it more ergonomically comfortable to use. The only criticisms which can be directed to the console version of this game are almost entirely from a technical persepctive. The 24 player limit means larger maps are much less fun and not as much action as you'd like, making TDM more viable or at least smaller, city maps for conquest and rush modes. Field of View is far too low on smaller maps, making it difficult to see enemies right next to you. The graphics, though they still demolish MW3's IW 5.0 (which is pretty much the same as MW2's) are not as spectacular as the PC version, though this is not the game's fault and more the lazy duopoly of the hardcore console market who still haven't updated their console's hardware. Remarkably though, Battlefield 3 still is a great looking game and very much playable at 30 FPS even on the lowest possible settings and 1280x704 resolution, whereas on PC anything below 40 FPS seems unplayable. One of the biggest advantages of Battlefield 3 (aside from the fact that it takes skill, has no killstreaks and actually has recoil and suppression and tactics involved) is that it has dedicated servers, and console players are able to rent their own servers. The result is completely lag-free multiplayer - something which Call of Duty has been lacking since, well, ever. Joining a friend is quick and easy, and battlelog integration is seemless both online, on console and bf3stats.com. I would highly recommend this game to anyone who likes less arcade-style and more realistic shooters. However, if you want the ultimate Battlefield 3 experience get a PC that can run the game on High and play on 32+ player servers. Expand
  94. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    As always, after being deceived by the hype and trailers released for Battlefield 3, my expectations were beaming high, day one purchase for me and although I was satisfied with what I got, I couldn't help but feel the console versions fell inferior to the PC. The campaign was medicore but is worth a playthrough if you have the spare money and time to do so, but in my own opinion,As always, after being deceived by the hype and trailers released for Battlefield 3, my expectations were beaming high, day one purchase for me and although I was satisfied with what I got, I couldn't help but feel the console versions fell inferior to the PC. The campaign was medicore but is worth a playthrough if you have the spare money and time to do so, but in my own opinion, Battlefield 3 won me over due to their team based multiplayer. Unlike games such as call of duty, me constantly dying never once frustrated me, I seemed to just laugh and brush it of as battlefield 3 allows you to enjoy the realism and scale of the multiplayer modes. However, I was again disappointed as maps as well as the amount of people per match were scaled down on consoles compared to the PC but that too was expected. Nonetheless, I must argue that if you have no one to play this with, just try rent it, as said, this is a team based multiplayer game, and with most team base games, you need at least a few friends or just the one to keep you satisfied. Expand
  95. Jul 17, 2012
    6
    Not an amazing game by far, but average. When I first pre-ordered this game I thought I was strapping in for a great team based shooter just like its predecessor, I was wrong. From the modern warfare type feel to its lack of tactical strategy it is a disappointment to BF2BC lovers everywhere. I only gave this title a 6/10 due to the fact that I play the game occasionally and that I supportNot an amazing game by far, but average. When I first pre-ordered this game I thought I was strapping in for a great team based shooter just like its predecessor, I was wrong. From the modern warfare type feel to its lack of tactical strategy it is a disappointment to BF2BC lovers everywhere. I only gave this title a 6/10 due to the fact that I play the game occasionally and that I support Dice and know they will clean up this mess of a game in some fashion. Expand
  96. Jul 4, 2012
    9
    Best multiplayer shooter I've ever played... fantastic step up form BF2.. great maps, fantastic weapons... great mix of infantry and vehicles...

    A mention must go to the sound effects.. brilliant with a stereo headset and a must inthis game...
  97. Jun 28, 2012
    4
    So shooting an enemy twice in the foot or arm results in death?!? So if you take cover behind a wall, desk, car high velocity bullets that travel between 2000 and 3000 feet per second will not penetrate that object?!? Yet somehow those same little 5.56mm and 7.62mm rounds can destroy the environment around you?!? If these FPS games are trying to be more and more realistic, they have aSo shooting an enemy twice in the foot or arm results in death?!? So if you take cover behind a wall, desk, car high velocity bullets that travel between 2000 and 3000 feet per second will not penetrate that object?!? Yet somehow those same little 5.56mm and 7.62mm rounds can destroy the environment around you?!? If these FPS games are trying to be more and more realistic, they have a long, long way to go. Expand
  98. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    If you're like me and are completely sick and tired of the stupidity-filled Call of Duty series and are looking for a refreshing and more realistic view of modern warfare, then this is the game for you. BF3 contains gorgeous graphics, ultra-realistic physics and a highly addicting online experience that has managed to captivate millions of gamers. In comparison, MW3 is for people who enjoyIf you're like me and are completely sick and tired of the stupidity-filled Call of Duty series and are looking for a refreshing and more realistic view of modern warfare, then this is the game for you. BF3 contains gorgeous graphics, ultra-realistic physics and a highly addicting online experience that has managed to captivate millions of gamers. In comparison, MW3 is for people who enjoy getting very angry on a daily basis. Expand
  99. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    WARNING:THIS GAME IS NOT FOR NOOBS....this game is a God send among fps shooters but lets get the campaign out the way shall we: I personally enjoyed the single player.the story was great and well paced and the final mission was very tense!! While it may not have been a crazy explosion filled roller coaster ride I enjoyed dice's approach..so it shouldn't be compared to other shooters IMO!WARNING:THIS GAME IS NOT FOR NOOBS....this game is a God send among fps shooters but lets get the campaign out the way shall we: I personally enjoyed the single player.the story was great and well paced and the final mission was very tense!! While it may not have been a crazy explosion filled roller coaster ride I enjoyed dice's approach..so it shouldn't be compared to other shooters IMO! The six co-op mission where a nice but could be so much more if dice decided not to abandon it and not create more mission.and last but CERTAINLY not least..multiplayer.when I first started playing it I was hooked instantly by its presentation to the level of detail to the sound of the weapons crumbling buildings being destroyed this game was with painstakingly attention to gamers satisfaction when pulling the trigger to dropping land mines to stop a tanks rein of terror!! Oh and there's air vehicles to..for people new to this series(I never played a bf before) its going to be tough adjusting to battlefields gameplay so just stick with and you'll rank up quick plus there's no op guns here BUT you MUST choose your loadout wisely or you will fail lets say you choose a shotgun in a large map..FAIL...here everything matters even camp the game does have flaws but most have been fixed with a patch here are there if you want the feel of true combat then I highly recommended this game just no that you can't run and gun senseless on here you also have to you tactics on the field of battle!! Expand
  100. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    If you ask me, which is better, Battlefield 3 or Modern Warfare 3? Well, I would say Battlefield 3. Maybe Battlefield 3 campaign is a letdown, Battlefield is a multiplayer game. It haves a legendary multiplayer, and amazing graphics. A successful threequel I can say, because It's strategic and It haves well designed maps.
  101. Oct 25, 2011
    5
    Wow, what a disappointment, I was looking forward to this game all year since battlefield 2 got me addicted and is my favorite online game. This review is only for the online play since I have not played the single player. Dice took the best and funnest shooter available and made almost every aspect of it worse and less fun. The menus all suck, it does not remember your favorite maps soWow, what a disappointment, I was looking forward to this game all year since battlefield 2 got me addicted and is my favorite online game. This review is only for the online play since I have not played the single player. Dice took the best and funnest shooter available and made almost every aspect of it worse and less fun. The menus all suck, it does not remember your favorite maps so every time you log on you have to re-select what mode and the map that you want to play. All of the weapons are harder ti aim or target, for instance the sniper rifle wanders so much that it is difficult to shoot anything that is not standing still or at short distance. While the maps seem different, most feel exactly the same, most are boring and are too cramped & tight, very few places to feel safe, this is why I don't like modern warfare games, every time you turn a corner there is someone waiting to kill you that you can't possibly know is there.Thanks for ruining my favorite game, I'll trade it in next week for Uncharted 3. Huge disappointment. period. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    80
    Hopefully EA reconsiders its approach to toppling Call Of Duty in the future, and allows its games to develop their own personality, rather than imitate something else.
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 4, 2012
    80
    Despite its incredible competitive online play, we can't ignore the shortcomings of its campaign and Co-Op. [Jan 2012, p.66]
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    90
    The nine multiplayer maps seem to be designed specifically to let players come up with their own creative strategies. Compared to COD, this gives the player a real sense of freedom. There is no such thing as a perfect strategy or a trotten path. [December 2011, p.74]