Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1652 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions and competitive multiplayer actions ranging across diverse locations from around the globe including Europe, Middle-East and North America. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Oct 26, 2011
    93
    Battlefield fans hoping for the most polished entry in the series won't be disappointed by this massive sequel.
  2. Oct 29, 2011
    90
    DICE's latest shooter combines an extremely in-depth multiplayer experience with a fully fledged single player game. But the two brightest stars are the game's lighting and sound, which set new standards within the realistic FPS genre. Battlefield 3 is a Swedish war export we can be proud of.
  3. The nine multiplayer maps seem to be designed specifically to let players come up with their own creative strategies. Compared to COD, this gives the player a real sense of freedom. There is no such thing as a perfect strategy or a trotten path. [December 2011, p.74]
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    86
    The short singleplayer campaign is disappointing, but we've come to expect that from the Battlefield franchise. Online this third iteration is still among the best shooters out there, even though we feel like DICE has made too much changes in an attempt to attract hardened Call of Duty fans.
  5. 85
    For all the shortcomings in the single-player, and the triumphs in the multiplayer and co-op, DICE deserves a fair amount of credit for creating worthy competition to that other modern-shooter.
  6. Despite its incredible competitive online play, we can't ignore the shortcomings of its campaign and Co-Op. [Jan 2012, p.66]
  7. Oct 26, 2011
    70
    A sloppy single-player campaign met with matchless multiplayer makes for an unbalanced first-person shooter experience.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 598
  1. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game, it exceeds all my expectation. The game play is amazing, the best part is the online gaming and that is free. BF3 should do very well against MW Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I love Battlefield 3. It is by far, the most realistic combat FPS game. The destructible environment is really fantastic. And they didn't stoop to using silly gimmicks like a little radio controlled car chasing you around the map and then blowing up or care packages falling from the sky or incoming nukes. I love the game so much that I bought it for both my xbox and by PS3. Great job DICE. #SlamDunk Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    If you've loved the battlefield series so far, you'll adore this. absolutely sublime. The campaign is actually significantly better than given credit for, with enough high-octane moments to push me to a second playthrough. The multiplayer is, as always, where it's at, with many years worth of military-sandbox fun for fans of the series. A true love-letter to fans of the series and military fiction alike. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    If I was scoring this on the single player campaign it would be a 7/10 at best. Far too heavily scripted with too many QTE's which I hate as they totally detract from your immersion in the story. However does any really buy a battlefield game for the single player? Multiplayer is it's whole raison d'etre, and it is quite simply brilliant. Great graphics & sound. Large maps with plenty of vehicles ( the reason I prefer BF to COD). This game will give many, many hours of fun. The gameplay is near perfect. The menus are poor and the way they flicker every time you alter something is utter rubbish. Also Noshahr Canals map is the most 1 sided unbalanced map I have ever seen. Despite these minor niggles BF3 online is everything I had hoped for, and is a truly great game. Expand
  5. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    BATTLEFIELD 3 doesn't jump leaps and and bounds but is still better than it predecessor(BATTLEFIELD:Bad Company 2) but it's still better I feel that the campaign is just there and really meant for multiplayer.

    The animation is really realistic and the movement is really good in first and third person(except for the hand calling for help,you will understand once you play).The graphics are amazing and the sound is really good I mean you will hear everything fly pass your soldier from bullets to rockets.The new FROSTBITE 2 engine has a significant difference like falling debris from a wall and the lighting effects are awesome from shadows to sun shining in your eyes. The gameplay is still great with the FROSTBITE 2 engine,the accuracy is full and so is the range and lots of destruction and explosions. The multiplayer is endless and unlocking things is individual,every gun has to unlock it's own attachments and ranking up will take a while.I think also that this is why I keep coming back to get new unlocks and attachments.Melee kills are now worth taking dog tags the player can now choose which dog tags they want but the player has to unlock them but if you melee kill you can preview the unknown locked dog tag.If you struggle getting points that's because you have to do the objectives you get tonnes of points for completing and attacking objectives.The customizability is emmence I mean you can now customize your gun entirely compared to BATTLEFIELD:Bad Company 2 which is great. The single player is good not great.It's totally different than multiplayer the plot has been seen recently from the games competitor(Call of Duty:Black Ops) the story is interesting and idle and the places and missions are cool.

    I'm going to be honest I think not it's not as good as Bad Company 2 but better,it's weird to say this but it's true.
    Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    Even though the single player campaign is quite uneventful, it is fairly entertaining even if doesn't deserve a replay. It is harder than you'd expect, mostly because the game sets a trail for you to follow (specific points and actions) and doesn't respect the own path it has set, making enemies appear behind you or in places completely out of the action range you'd expect. The instructions are not very clear and you'll find yourself repeating some actions a few times until you get what you are actually supposed to do. The plot is hard to follow as names and locations are constantly thrown at you so you'll lose interest in the cut-scenes early in the game.

    But the Battlefield series has always been focused on good multiplayer experiences, and that's what it delivers. While most of its gameplay mechanics have been copied exactly as they were from Battlefield Bad Company 2 (which is an excellent game by the way), the action feels a little more arcade-like due to the new maps designs. A lot of rooms, corridors and large buildings make the game feel a little but more Call-of-Duty-er. It makes the close range action more frequent than in the other games in the series. But that is not to say that the maps are small. They are huge and well-designed, but the actions tend to be focused inside certain buildings and small structures - especially in the Rush mode. A good thing is that there's not much liberty for snipers, because it is very hard to aim from outside into those buildings or camp by the doors or windows without getting caught.

    The amount of weapons, gadgets and accessories in this game would make any first-person-shooter gamer cry of happiness. You can set your soldier to pretty much whatever you'd like by combining different weapons and abilities. The points system is better designed this time around, earning you experience for all kinds of support actions, not only kills. Playing as a team and helping your squad will earn you big points, so you don't need to be the top killer to do well and get upgrades.

    Finally, the vehicles are much more customizable and you'll earn upgrades for them too - not just the upgrades you'd get on your class by using them like more amor or better accuracy, but accessories like better radars, new missiles and such.

    If you're looking for a deep multiplayer experience with lots of upgrades, variation in gameplay, gorgeous graphics and intensive team-play that gets you rewarded for all actions, look no further, Battlefield 3 is for you.
    Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I was excited for this game. The beta somewhat disappointed me with it's glitches, but EA assured us that they had been fixed for the retail game. They lied. From the offset I have been plagued with glitches. Sometimes I couldn't get past cinematics, and there was one joke of a bug where enemy soldiers could walk on water. I found the story pretty boring and short, even for FPS standards Expand

See all 598 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.