Battlefield 3 PlayStation 3

Battlefield 3 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1746 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions andAs bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions and competitive multiplayer actions ranging across diverse locations from around the globe including Europe, Middle-East and North America. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Oct 26, 2011
    93
    Battlefield fans hoping for the most polished entry in the series won't be disappointed by this massive sequel.
  2. Oct 29, 2011
    90
    DICE's latest shooter combines an extremely in-depth multiplayer experience with a fully fledged single player game. But the two brightest stars are the game's lighting and sound, which set new standards within the realistic FPS genre. Battlefield 3 is a Swedish war export we can be proud of.
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    90
    The nine multiplayer maps seem to be designed specifically to let players come up with their own creative strategies. Compared to COD, this gives the player a real sense of freedom. There is no such thing as a perfect strategy or a trotten path. [December 2011, p.74]
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    86
    The short singleplayer campaign is disappointing, but we've come to expect that from the Battlefield franchise. Online this third iteration is still among the best shooters out there, even though we feel like DICE has made too much changes in an attempt to attract hardened Call of Duty fans.
  5. 85
    For all the shortcomings in the single-player, and the triumphs in the multiplayer and co-op, DICE deserves a fair amount of credit for creating worthy competition to that other modern-shooter.
  6. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 4, 2012
    80
    Despite its incredible competitive online play, we can't ignore the shortcomings of its campaign and Co-Op. [Jan 2012, p.66]
  7. Oct 26, 2011
    70
    A sloppy single-player campaign met with matchless multiplayer makes for an unbalanced first-person shooter experience.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 87 out of 611
  1. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game, it exceeds all my expectation. The game play is amazing, the best part is the online gaming and that is free. BF3This is an amazing game, it exceeds all my expectation. The game play is amazing, the best part is the online gaming and that is free. BF3 should do very well against MW Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Multiplayer actually requires skill which is a nice change from the chaos of MW3. Also, unlike the MW3 servers, when I play Battlefield 3 IMultiplayer actually requires skill which is a nice change from the chaos of MW3. Also, unlike the MW3 servers, when I play Battlefield 3 I don't spend the whole time getting sworn at by some pre-pubescent kid from Cleveland. Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    A MUST HAVE FOR ON-LINE SHOOTERS, as compared to COD MW3 this game is a masterpiece. I highly recommend this game and would not be surprisedA MUST HAVE FOR ON-LINE SHOOTERS, as compared to COD MW3 this game is a masterpiece. I highly recommend this game and would not be surprised to see it win many shooter of the year awards. Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2011
    9
    If I was to judge this game purely on the single player campaign it'd receive a 7....I'll get onto the multi shortly. Graphically it'sIf I was to judge this game purely on the single player campaign it'd receive a 7....I'll get onto the multi shortly. Graphically it's stunning, and the sound is excellent, we all know this. The AI is weak and while I have no complaints about the game being linear, but the way in which certain battles play out are quite poor and I quickly lost faith in the campaign. I played on hard difficulty in a hope to compensate for the AI. The first couple of missions I was impressed with, until i reached 'Guillotine', which I found very dull, and was disappointed in endless wave after wave of infinite enemies until a certain point on the map had been reached (I'm guessing that this was an issue in earlier levels but didn't experience it)...from that point I lost interest, as I felt each battle after this point I was unsure whether there was a set number of enemies I had to defeat or simply reach a HUD marker to stop the respawining. This kind of game play is really unrewarding and unsatisfying. The story on the whole I think was pretty good, people criticise it...and yeah it's not that original but I mean how to you make a modern fps story original? It's all been done before..but the way DICE deliver the experience is damn good apart from the negative points mentioned above. Tone and atmosphere at times are spot on.

    Onto the multiplayer. A straight 9 here! It's got scale, epic battles and the Frostbite 2 engine really shines. I'm a CoD bloke really, but I'm sold on this title. Vehicle combat is great, the classes seem pretty even and all have their uses, there is a counter for pretty much everything, so it doesn't feel unbalanced and no quick scoping! (that I've seen). Definitely worth a purchase. Best game I've played in my opinion since MW2.

    And all the people I've seen complaining about the rental not containing multiplayer, don't be such a tight arse and just buy the **** game.
    Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    Battlefield 3 is 2011's FPS king, no question. Battlefield's long-running tradition of relatively sophisticated First Person Shooters isBattlefield 3 is 2011's FPS king, no question. Battlefield's long-running tradition of relatively sophisticated First Person Shooters is taken to the next level with amazing graphics, incredible sound, and a compelling leveling system that'll keep players playing to get that next weapon and achievement. BF3 sets itself apart from Modern Warfare 3 (MW3) with its ambition (giant maps, land/sea/air vehicles, and new weapon enhancements) and focus. Games are won by accomplishing objectives and both winners and losers come away with at least some progress.

    The single player campaign is nothing ground breaking but is a nice appetizer for the online multiplayer main course. The modern FPS is, for better or worse, mostly about leveling and grinding for better weapons so this game is definitely not always "fair" for all players (at least not in the Counter-Strike or Team Fortress 2 sense), but it's definitely a more level playing field than MW3's. It towers over MW3 in every sense, even on the PS3 (which is the version I'm speaking of specifically). You might not have time to play every FPS this year, but this one should definitely be one of them. A remarkable achievement, don't miss it.
    Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    After many years I finally tried Battlefield again, but this one is fabulous. There are some problems, like needing to jump over somethingAfter many years I finally tried Battlefield again, but this one is fabulous. There are some problems, like needing to jump over something which is only 1cm high, lag (I've not played to long to experienced it myself yet). But nothing the less I'm glad I've brought back MW3 yesterday and bought BF3 Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I was excited for this game. The beta somewhat disappointed me with it's glitches, but EA assured us that they had been fixed for the retailI was excited for this game. The beta somewhat disappointed me with it's glitches, but EA assured us that they had been fixed for the retail game. They lied. From the offset I have been plagued with glitches. Sometimes I couldn't get past cinematics, and there was one joke of a bug where enemy soldiers could walk on water. I found the story pretty boring and short, even for FPS standards Expand

See all 611 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.