Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 526 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    94
    Even on current-generation consoles, this game looks great. The sheer amount of on-screen action is astounding for this aging hardware to be capable of producing. Character models are easily the sharpest that they have ever been; the weapons look accurate and clean, and character animations flow through the environment without looking stiff or forced.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    92
    While Battlefield 4 isn’t perfect, but it’s a much better, more refined experience in comparison to BF3.
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    86
    Battlefield 4 is like a big, jovial belly laugh. It’s intense, flashy, amusing, and explosive, and it doesn’t bother about having a brain. It doesn’t need one, either, as the multiplayer is dense, involving and ultimately enjoyable from top to bottom. Still, I refuse to completely disregard the campaign, which, as entertaining as it often is, remains a disappointment for me.
  4. 80
    With a campaign this good and plenty of graphically astounding action in single player and multiplayer, Battlefield 4 is a complete shooter package.
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    80
    A fantastic online multiplayer mode and a disappointing singleplayer? Sounds like Battlefield, all right. Don't expect any huge graphical leaps either, just a fabulous and highly destructive - Levolution is a blast! - online experience.
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    80
    The single-player component is an uninspired yet enjoyable enough aside, while the multiplayer component - however great it may be - hasn't really enhanced the series in any tangible way. Great fun, of course, but more of the same. Good news for Battlefield fans, if nothing else.
  7. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    The multiplayer is the life and soul of the game, and lives up to and improves upon what Battlefield 3 had to offer. There’s greater variety of vehicles, maps which push off into new and interesting directions with changeable elements thanks to Levolution...Yet finding a score is tricky. The single player is quite frankly poor.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 151
  2. Negative: 59 out of 151
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    To all those saying this game is rehashed or the same as BF3... Let's see:
    Levolution: THis basically getting a map switch mid-level, and YOU
    To all those saying this game is rehashed or the same as BF3... Let's see:
    Levolution: THis basically getting a map switch mid-level, and YOU do it! or don't, that's up to the players, every map is almost two maps and it looks immense.
    Interactivity: Raise vehicle barriers, trap opponents in lifts and trains, destruction is overwhelming. EVERYTHING can get messed up and it is so much fun!
    Commander mode.. Play on the commute on your tablet? Hell yeah. You can even speak into your tabvet mic and people hear you in-game :D amazing!!
    64 vs 64..... no more need to be said here...
    Different classes and specialization trees: these are not minor tweaks, but sweeping changes
    I can go on and on but I am nearly off the train from my lunch break.
    Wake up haters, this is SO so much more than a reskinned BF3, this is a genuine evolvement and until you can show me a better FPS I am firmly in the 10 camp here.
    COD fans must be terrified, and it shows with these bogus, baseless reviews from people that clearly haven't even played BF4 yet.
    DICE FTW, take a bow guys.
    Expand
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Looks like the COD fan base is already hitting this. But I will say this much about this game. There is more change from BF3 to BF4 thanLooks like the COD fan base is already hitting this. But I will say this much about this game. There is more change from BF3 to BF4 than there ever was in the past generation Of COD. You couldn't ask for a better game. One that requires Team Work, and not Run and gun.

    Weapons this go around are spot on. Along with accurate audio and visuals you come to expect from BF 4 and then some. So far the campaign Is Steps ahead of last years and enough action to keep your heart beating rapidly. The multiplayer maps are huge Desert huge.. not the small sandbox COD likes to put you in. There is something here for everyone. Tanks, Jets, Helos, Dune buggies.. list can go on. You cant beat buying in on the current gen and upgrade to next gen and move stats with you. This has Polish, It Has content, and it has guns... well until the Prez tries to take our digital guns away. If you liked BF3 this is a no brainer. Buy BF4!... If you was on the fence about coming over to the land of Battlefield now would be a great place to start.
    Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    8
    Bugs and glitches in the game are terrible! Instead, corrections, additions do! DICE, serezdnyh forward amendments in the game. When the gameBugs and glitches in the game are terrible! Instead, corrections, additions do! DICE, serezdnyh forward amendments in the game. When the game is to play well, you can already put the estimates above. Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've played literally all of the Battlefield games, from 1942 to Battlefield 4. Now, I agree with everyone else that the gameplay has been dumbed down A LOT from the first game, but I have to say, this game is quite satisfying if you have time to live through all of the freezes and corrupt hard drive checks. It's also runs a lot better than the beta, as the graphics have been upped and most of the game-breaking glitches have been eliminated. People say that its literally Battlefield 3.5, that's kinda true in a way, seeing as the graphics can't be improved a whole lot from BF3. But the gameplay has been completely revamped, so don't expect this game to play the same as BF3. Conclusion: Buy this game if you can stand the crashes etc. If not, get a next-gen console, upgrade to a PC (even more crashed BTW) or stick with COD. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    4
    This game was obviously nothing but a money grab for dice/ea. Very few progressive concepts were introduced, and plenty head scratchingThis game was obviously nothing but a money grab for dice/ea. Very few progressive concepts were introduced, and plenty head scratching changes were made...

    Gunplay has been dumbed down since BF3. Less bullets til death, hit detection is bad, kill cam is bad and a ripoff of COD, all weapons do the same amount of damage, the guns don't have the "real" feeling that they had in BF3, mags get dropped when reloading. Absolutely pathetic changes across the board.

    Maps are too big for 24 players and terrible for infantry type players. Campfest and not my idea of fun.

    Character movement is so slow! Another horrendous and inexcusable change from BF3.

    The controls have been turned upside down! Please fire the person/persons who thought this was a good idea as they certainly need a new line of work.

    levolution cool, I guess, but it doesn't add anything useful to the MP experience. I guess dice thought this would make up for the core gameplay failures?

    My copy is being returned and I feel like dice may have killed the battlefield series with this atrocious attempt. Like I said earlier, this game looks like it was nothing but a cash grab for dice...well, you aren't getting my money! The lead developer for BF3 wasn't part of this game which may have led to this outcome, IDK. It really sucks because I enjoyed BF3 so much and was looking forward to this game, but they turned it upside down and made a complete mess out of it. This sort of gameplay simply isn't for me.

    I'll be playing BF3 until I find my next shooter
    Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2013
    2
    Every time I insert the game into my PS3 it's like playing Russian roulette: will the game work or will it freeze? And most of the time itEvery time I insert the game into my PS3 it's like playing Russian roulette: will the game work or will it freeze? And most of the time it f*cks up my PS3. In terms of multiplayer the guns have literally declined in performance compared to BF3, and the unlocks are horrible compared to previous Battlefield games. I mean come on DICE, can't you make a game is worth playing for generations? The game does feel more rushed than previous BF games and that's due to the COD feel that this game possesses, especially with the new unlockable camos/achievements that they added. Literally all the players/teammates in all the squads have started to worry about K/D and W/L rather than winning the actual match. Pathetic. Not to mention the unbalanced size of the maps when you try to play Rush and capture all the spots which enables the enemy teams to have the time to re-capture them. The whole game is off

    I honestly feel like this was better off for Next-Gen consoles because all of the graphics are a step-down from BF3. I take that back, from BFBC1. Everything feels off, and connectivity is a huge issue especially with TDM. When you try and search for a TDM match in Quick Play, it freezes the console FORCING you to restart the whole system. The game is ridiculously buggy and is too minuscule to fit the 4th Title of the Battlefield Franchise.

    I would've rather had coal than this for christmas.
    Expand
  7. May 25, 2014
    0
    this game is awful I hate it played it for 15 minutes and got sick of all the bull graphics overall a boring game battle field 3 was a muchthis game is awful I hate it played it for 15 minutes and got sick of all the bull graphics overall a boring game battle field 3 was a much better game than this piece of **** Expand

See all 151 User Reviews