Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 522 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    94
    Even on current-generation consoles, this game looks great. The sheer amount of on-screen action is astounding for this aging hardware to be capable of producing. Character models are easily the sharpest that they have ever been; the weapons look accurate and clean, and character animations flow through the environment without looking stiff or forced.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    92
    While Battlefield 4 isn’t perfect, but it’s a much better, more refined experience in comparison to BF3.
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    86
    Battlefield 4 is like a big, jovial belly laugh. It’s intense, flashy, amusing, and explosive, and it doesn’t bother about having a brain. It doesn’t need one, either, as the multiplayer is dense, involving and ultimately enjoyable from top to bottom. Still, I refuse to completely disregard the campaign, which, as entertaining as it often is, remains a disappointment for me.
  4. 80
    With a campaign this good and plenty of graphically astounding action in single player and multiplayer, Battlefield 4 is a complete shooter package.
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    80
    A fantastic online multiplayer mode and a disappointing singleplayer? Sounds like Battlefield, all right. Don't expect any huge graphical leaps either, just a fabulous and highly destructive - Levolution is a blast! - online experience.
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    80
    The single-player component is an uninspired yet enjoyable enough aside, while the multiplayer component - however great it may be - hasn't really enhanced the series in any tangible way. Great fun, of course, but more of the same. Good news for Battlefield fans, if nothing else.
  7. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    The multiplayer is the life and soul of the game, and lives up to and improves upon what Battlefield 3 had to offer. There’s greater variety of vehicles, maps which push off into new and interesting directions with changeable elements thanks to Levolution...Yet finding a score is tricky. The single player is quite frankly poor.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 149
  2. Negative: 59 out of 149
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    To all those saying this game is rehashed or the same as BF3... Let's see:
    Levolution: THis basically getting a map switch mid-level, and YOU
    To all those saying this game is rehashed or the same as BF3... Let's see:
    Levolution: THis basically getting a map switch mid-level, and YOU do it! or don't, that's up to the players, every map is almost two maps and it looks immense.
    Interactivity: Raise vehicle barriers, trap opponents in lifts and trains, destruction is overwhelming. EVERYTHING can get messed up and it is so much fun!
    Commander mode.. Play on the commute on your tablet? Hell yeah. You can even speak into your tabvet mic and people hear you in-game :D amazing!!
    64 vs 64..... no more need to be said here...
    Different classes and specialization trees: these are not minor tweaks, but sweeping changes
    I can go on and on but I am nearly off the train from my lunch break.
    Wake up haters, this is SO so much more than a reskinned BF3, this is a genuine evolvement and until you can show me a better FPS I am firmly in the 10 camp here.
    COD fans must be terrified, and it shows with these bogus, baseless reviews from people that clearly haven't even played BF4 yet.
    DICE FTW, take a bow guys.
    Expand
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Looks like the COD fan base is already hitting this. But I will say this much about this game. There is more change from BF3 to BF4 thanLooks like the COD fan base is already hitting this. But I will say this much about this game. There is more change from BF3 to BF4 than there ever was in the past generation Of COD. You couldn't ask for a better game. One that requires Team Work, and not Run and gun.

    Weapons this go around are spot on. Along with accurate audio and visuals you come to expect from BF 4 and then some. So far the campaign Is Steps ahead of last years and enough action to keep your heart beating rapidly. The multiplayer maps are huge Desert huge.. not the small sandbox COD likes to put you in. There is something here for everyone. Tanks, Jets, Helos, Dune buggies.. list can go on. You cant beat buying in on the current gen and upgrade to next gen and move stats with you. This has Polish, It Has content, and it has guns... well until the Prez tries to take our digital guns away. If you liked BF3 this is a no brainer. Buy BF4!... If you was on the fence about coming over to the land of Battlefield now would be a great place to start.
    Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Really good shooter, but Battlefield 4 didn't make a lot of progress. Just better graphics, better war and better destructions. But, i stillReally good shooter, but Battlefield 4 didn't make a lot of progress. Just better graphics, better war and better destructions. But, i still can say, that Battlefield remains as best first person shooter Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2014
    6
    Found this game to be somewhat of a disappointment. I give credit to the computer engineers as I know how difficult programming is going thruFound this game to be somewhat of a disappointment. I give credit to the computer engineers as I know how difficult programming is going thru engineering school myself. However I just found the game sloppy, monotonous and over hyped for what a fps should be..as soon as you get a sniper rifle you could easily pass each stage of the campaign without much strategy.. TypicAl point and shoot camp wait to heal up and go again for the kill kind of game.. The story in the campaign itself was predicable and not interesting..oh and the game freezes and is quite laggy Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    4
    *sigh* I can't believe this. After the disappointment of BF3, I was hoping for DICE to redeem themselves with this next entry. I was mistaken.*sigh* I can't believe this. After the disappointment of BF3, I was hoping for DICE to redeem themselves with this next entry. I was mistaken.
    First off, the SP is a joke. Every mission is completely cliche, and downright boring. The ally A.I. is a mixed bag. They'll shoot and kill the enemy, yes, but they won't start shooting until AFTER YOU COMMAND THEM TO DO SO! The promise of "Tactical gameplay" in this game is none existent for some reason. You know what, I'll leave at the fact that the SP in BF4 is garbage.
    Second, the graphics... yes it looks good, but I swear every time I look at this game, I believe I'm playing an expansion to BF3. The texture pop-ins and weird graphical glitches really annoy me.
    Third, the multiplayer. I had zero percent fun in this game's MP. since this is the current gen version, its only 24-players online. It'll get boring very fast. Levelution doesn't help the experience for me either.
    ....
    You know what? I've had it. I'm done!
    I'm sick of the BS EA has been pulling this generation! EA has completely ruined the Battlefield I know and love! Battlefield is no longer the franchise I remember anymore.
    This game is just a pathetic attempt to take down Call of Duty!
    Why should I continue to support a franchise I like when its own publisher is only making it to take down another game I like?
    I am officially done with Battlefield and I'm not returning until then!
    EA, go f**k yourself!
    Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2013
    2
    What a Disapointment.
    This game is a blurry shadow of what BF3 is.
    On PS3 the game graphics are garbage (plain and simple). Frostbite 3 is
    What a Disapointment.
    This game is a blurry shadow of what BF3 is.
    On PS3 the game graphics are garbage (plain and simple). Frostbite 3 is just a pipe dream. During parts of the campaign missions the rendering simply crashes and there is no way to know where to go or how to continue.
    Campaign is also really short and lacks of interaction with the story poor script.
    The "Genius" that decided to change all the buttons configuration should be fired! At least give an option to the players to customize the controls they way they like it that's common sense!
    The only good thing is the addition of a few new vehicles and that's it.
    My suggestion is to not even bother buying this game stay playing BF3.
    Expand
  7. May 25, 2014
    0
    this game is awful I hate it played it for 15 minutes and got sick of all the bull graphics overall a boring game battle field 3 was a muchthis game is awful I hate it played it for 15 minutes and got sick of all the bull graphics overall a boring game battle field 3 was a much better game than this piece of **** Expand

See all 149 User Reviews