Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 517 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    94
    Even on current-generation consoles, this game looks great. The sheer amount of on-screen action is astounding for this aging hardware to be capable of producing. Character models are easily the sharpest that they have ever been; the weapons look accurate and clean, and character animations flow through the environment without looking stiff or forced.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    92
    While Battlefield 4 isn’t perfect, but it’s a much better, more refined experience in comparison to BF3.
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    86
    Battlefield 4 is like a big, jovial belly laugh. It’s intense, flashy, amusing, and explosive, and it doesn’t bother about having a brain. It doesn’t need one, either, as the multiplayer is dense, involving and ultimately enjoyable from top to bottom. Still, I refuse to completely disregard the campaign, which, as entertaining as it often is, remains a disappointment for me.
  4. 80
    With a campaign this good and plenty of graphically astounding action in single player and multiplayer, Battlefield 4 is a complete shooter package.
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    80
    A fantastic online multiplayer mode and a disappointing singleplayer? Sounds like Battlefield, all right. Don't expect any huge graphical leaps either, just a fabulous and highly destructive - Levolution is a blast! - online experience.
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    80
    The single-player component is an uninspired yet enjoyable enough aside, while the multiplayer component - however great it may be - hasn't really enhanced the series in any tangible way. Great fun, of course, but more of the same. Good news for Battlefield fans, if nothing else.
  7. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    The multiplayer is the life and soul of the game, and lives up to and improves upon what Battlefield 3 had to offer. There’s greater variety of vehicles, maps which push off into new and interesting directions with changeable elements thanks to Levolution...Yet finding a score is tricky. The single player is quite frankly poor.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 147
  2. Negative: 59 out of 147
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    To all those saying this game is rehashed or the same as BF3... Let's see:
    Levolution: THis basically getting a map switch mid-level, and YOU
    do it! or don't, that's up to the players, every map is almost two maps and it looks immense.
    Interactivity: Raise vehicle barriers, trap opponents in lifts and trains, destruction is overwhelming. EVERYTHING can get messed up and it is so much fun!
    Commander mode.. Play on the commute on your tablet? Hell yeah. You can even speak into your tabvet mic and people hear you in-game :D amazing!!
    64 vs 64..... no more need to be said here...
    Different classes and specialization trees: these are not minor tweaks, but sweeping changes
    I can go on and on but I am nearly off the train from my lunch break.
    Wake up haters, this is SO so much more than a reskinned BF3, this is a genuine evolvement and until you can show me a better FPS I am firmly in the 10 camp here.
    COD fans must be terrified, and it shows with these bogus, baseless reviews from people that clearly haven't even played BF4 yet.
    DICE FTW, take a bow guys.
    Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    One of the best shooters of this generation. The campaign is short but sweet and the multiplayer is probably the most fun I have had playing a shooter on the Playstation 3. Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Really good shooter, but Battlefield 4 didn't make a lot of progress. Just better graphics, better war and better destructions. But, i still can say, that Battlefield remains as best first person shooter Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    6
    This game has its good points, but, there were a lot of issues and bugs with the game in its current state, sometimes it freezes, sometimes the graphics don't load, and the story mode was very annoying at some points, like when it deletes your progress. The storyline is also more of a gauntlet when it comes to big fights and the enemies will come in droves, which, even on its lowest difficulty setting its painstakingly hard to survive thirty-five dudes shooting at you at once and it just gets a little bit overwhelming. Personally, I preferred Battlefield 3. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    4
    *sigh* I can't believe this. After the disappointment of BF3, I was hoping for DICE to redeem themselves with this next entry. I was mistaken.
    First off, the SP is a joke. Every mission is completely cliche, and downright boring. The ally A.I. is a mixed bag. They'll shoot and kill the enemy, yes, but they won't start shooting until AFTER YOU COMMAND THEM TO DO SO! The promise of "Tactical gameplay" in this game is none existent for some reason. You know what, I'll leave at the fact that the SP in BF4 is garbage.
    Second, the graphics... yes it looks good, but I swear every time I look at this game, I believe I'm playing an expansion to BF3. The texture pop-ins and weird graphical glitches really annoy me.
    Third, the multiplayer. I had zero percent fun in this game's MP. since this is the current gen version, its only 24-players online. It'll get boring very fast. Levelution doesn't help the experience for me either.
    ....
    You know what? I've had it. I'm done!
    I'm sick of the BS EA has been pulling this generation! EA has completely ruined the Battlefield I know and love! Battlefield is no longer the franchise I remember anymore.
    This game is just a pathetic attempt to take down Call of Duty!
    Why should I continue to support a franchise I like when its own publisher is only making it to take down another game I like?
    I am officially done with Battlefield and I'm not returning until then!
    EA, go f**k yourself!
    Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2013
    2
    Every time I insert the game into my PS3 it's like playing Russian roulette: will the game work or will it freeze? And most of the time it f*cks up my PS3. In terms of multiplayer the guns have literally declined in performance compared to BF3, and the unlocks are horrible compared to previous Battlefield games. I mean come on DICE, can't you make a game is worth playing for generations? The game does feel more rushed than previous BF games and that's due to the COD feel that this game possesses, especially with the new unlockable camos/achievements that they added. Literally all the players/teammates in all the squads have started to worry about K/D and W/L rather than winning the actual match. Pathetic. Not to mention the unbalanced size of the maps when you try to play Rush and capture all the spots which enables the enemy teams to have the time to re-capture them. The whole game is off

    I honestly feel like this was better off for Next-Gen consoles because all of the graphics are a step-down from BF3. I take that back, from BFBC1. Everything feels off, and connectivity is a huge issue especially with TDM. When you try and search for a TDM match in Quick Play, it freezes the console FORCING you to restart the whole system. The game is ridiculously buggy and is too minuscule to fit the 4th Title of the Battlefield Franchise.

    I would've rather had coal than this for christmas.
    Expand
  7. May 25, 2014
    0
    this game is awful I hate it played it for 15 minutes and got sick of all the bull graphics overall a boring game battle field 3 was a much better game than this piece of **** Expand

See all 147 User Reviews