Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Vietnam PlayStation 3

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 74
  2. Negative: 13 out of 74

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    It's like upgrading your Battlefield Bad Company 2 up to Battlefield Bad Company 2.5, this is more than just a simple dlc map pack like you get with blops- This is a whole new multiplayer expansion with new maps, weapons, vehicles, music, in game movies, and most importantly a whole new strategy on how to play the game. The best way to describe the Vietnam expansion is by saying it's likeIt's like upgrading your Battlefield Bad Company 2 up to Battlefield Bad Company 2.5, this is more than just a simple dlc map pack like you get with blops- This is a whole new multiplayer expansion with new maps, weapons, vehicles, music, in game movies, and most importantly a whole new strategy on how to play the game. The best way to describe the Vietnam expansion is by saying it's like combining Bad Company 2 with the Battlefield 1943 released in 09. Unlike Bad Company 2's huge map-scope based battles- Vietnam throws you in the $h!t up close with everyone else, it's close quarter skirmishes that get ugly quick. This is not to say the new maps are small because they are by no means smaller than the original Bad Company 2 maps, it's just how EA set up the landwork so that battles come to bottlenecks and brush for a team to advance. Mix in all the new extras including the game changing flamethrower, and you've got the best online shooter dlc coupled with the best online shooter out. A must buy. Expand
  2. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    This expansion takes the already amazing BC2 base game and engine and adds perfect variety by forcing closer quarters, more intense shootouts in 4 (5) new maps. Its not just an addition of skins and new weapons, it actually provides a completely different feeling in terms of gameplay and strategy required to succeed. There is less emphasis on vehicles, though, but the Huey helicopters areThis expansion takes the already amazing BC2 base game and engine and adds perfect variety by forcing closer quarters, more intense shootouts in 4 (5) new maps. Its not just an addition of skins and new weapons, it actually provides a completely different feeling in terms of gameplay and strategy required to succeed. There is less emphasis on vehicles, though, but the Huey helicopters are extremely fun when you come across them. In the end, definitely worth the $15 to expand one of the best online shooters on PS3. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2010
    10
    Like Vanilla BC2, but better. It takes getting used to though, as the guns are quite different, with fights being very short range. In contrast to Black Ops, which is set in Vietnam and doesn't feel like it, you can obviously tell that this is in Vietnam, even from trailers. There is 2 hour's worth of Vietnam era music, which you can hear in vehicles.
    This is a multiplayer only expansion.
    Like Vanilla BC2, but better. It takes getting used to though, as the guns are quite different, with fights being very short range. In contrast to Black Ops, which is set in Vietnam and doesn't feel like it, you can obviously tell that this is in Vietnam, even from trailers. There is 2 hour's worth of Vietnam era music, which you can hear in vehicles.
    This is a multiplayer only expansion. Its worth the money.
    Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    Worth it in every way, great DLC, and a great game! So much better than COD a.k.a Call of garbage, you know, that game that requires no thinking to play, where you can just run around with the same machine gun, doing the same routine to rack up kills... Yeah, I couldn't stand it so I'm so glad that my cousin introduced me to BFBC2. And besides any noob can pick up COD and run around with aWorth it in every way, great DLC, and a great game! So much better than COD a.k.a Call of garbage, you know, that game that requires no thinking to play, where you can just run around with the same machine gun, doing the same routine to rack up kills... Yeah, I couldn't stand it so I'm so glad that my cousin introduced me to BFBC2. And besides any noob can pick up COD and run around with a machine gun, but you can tell when someone sucks in BFBC. Just saying... Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Two words can sum up this game real good. And those two words are, Awesome and OWNAGE! Core (10.0) ID Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2011
    9
    The expansion brings everything that was already good in Bad Company 2, only with a different guise. New trophies, pins, weapons, vehicles and stages will keep veteran players occupied for a long time. And the Vietnam feeling while you are on tank, listening to musics from the past, is an extra that turns the expansion a must.
  7. Feb 15, 2011
    9
    cream of the crop, this game is breathless, its too addicting, but even though the story is weak it makes up for the multiplayer which is hard to get off your seat, the framerate are find, battlefield veterans will find this game very good, the only problems i encountered are lag and its underrated status, its a great buy
  8. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    Simply put this is what COD:BO, and MoH "should" have been. In my opinion the Battlefield series has always pushed the FPS forward and, apart from one hiccup with Battlefield 2, it has outstretched the competition. Vietnam is no different, it takes the best bits of BFBC2 and places it into a nostalgic and frantic era. It has always been a series, under-hyped and well developed and onceSimply put this is what COD:BO, and MoH "should" have been. In my opinion the Battlefield series has always pushed the FPS forward and, apart from one hiccup with Battlefield 2, it has outstretched the competition. Vietnam is no different, it takes the best bits of BFBC2 and places it into a nostalgic and frantic era. It has always been a series, under-hyped and well developed and once again it sh1ts all over CoD etc. In short, this is one of the best games out on the PS3, it is in my opinion the best FPS by a country mile and it just got even better for a third of the price of the crap churned out by treyarch et al. Those who say they dont enjoy it, either dont like tactics or the fact they cant just spray and pray. there is only one question left unanswered - if the battlefield series can produce this much quality at a £10 a time, why oh why do we keep allowing ourselves to be ripped off by substandard competition....? Enjoy a proper game that for once doesnt feel like it took your money and ran. Expand
  9. Jan 27, 2011
    8
    To clarify, I don't think this "stole" anything from Black Ops, although they have similar settings, that's about it. While this is only an expansion, it definitely feels like the more authentic Vietnam experience. Nothing like flying a copter into battle with Ride of the Valkyries blaring. While I played BFBC2 alot at launch and the months right after, I hadn't touched it in a long while.To clarify, I don't think this "stole" anything from Black Ops, although they have similar settings, that's about it. While this is only an expansion, it definitely feels like the more authentic Vietnam experience. Nothing like flying a copter into battle with Ride of the Valkyries blaring. While I played BFBC2 alot at launch and the months right after, I hadn't touched it in a long while. This made me pick it up again, and get a little more use out of an already amazing game, one that I would put above COD any day. Expand
  10. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Quite simply one of the best multiplayer FPS games ever made. The only reason I scored it 9 rather than 10 is due to the small number of maps. How gamers who claim to have seen it all can rate this as only average is beyond me. If you play this and don't have fun you are either dead or you hate FPSs.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Mar 7, 2011
    80
    With five new maps, new weapons and vehicles, Vietnam is a good multiplayer-expansion to 2010s best first person shooter. Although a new mode would have given the package more meat to the bone, there is plenty of napalm to go around.
  2. Jan 28, 2011
    90
    Even more intense battles and great design blows life in to Bad Company 2. This is how you do an expansion.
  3. Jan 21, 2011
    80
    A generous and competent addition to Bad Company 2.