User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 64
  2. Negative: 13 out of 64

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    Simply put this is what COD:BO, and MoH "should" have been. In my opinion the Battlefield series has always pushed the FPS forward and, apart from one hiccup with Battlefield 2, it has outstretched the competition. Vietnam is no different, it takes the best bits of BFBC2 and places it into a nostalgic and frantic era. It has always been a series, under-hyped and well developed and onceSimply put this is what COD:BO, and MoH "should" have been. In my opinion the Battlefield series has always pushed the FPS forward and, apart from one hiccup with Battlefield 2, it has outstretched the competition. Vietnam is no different, it takes the best bits of BFBC2 and places it into a nostalgic and frantic era. It has always been a series, under-hyped and well developed and once again it sh1ts all over CoD etc. In short, this is one of the best games out on the PS3, it is in my opinion the best FPS by a country mile and it just got even better for a third of the price of the crap churned out by treyarch et al. Those who say they dont enjoy it, either dont like tactics or the fact they cant just spray and pray. there is only one question left unanswered - if the battlefield series can produce this much quality at a £10 a time, why oh why do we keep allowing ourselves to be ripped off by substandard competition....? Enjoy a proper game that for once doesnt feel like it took your money and ran. Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2011
    5
    Just received the game for X-mas. I am a long time gamer since the start of gaming, seen it all. Played a bit of the campaign but mostly on X-box live. Lets start with the graphics that everybody is saying so great. My TV is 53" 6 year old HD projection (witch weren't that great to start with) so the graphics look like sh** and I have trouble seeing enemies and tanks even close up someJust received the game for X-mas. I am a long time gamer since the start of gaming, seen it all. Played a bit of the campaign but mostly on X-box live. Lets start with the graphics that everybody is saying so great. My TV is 53" 6 year old HD projection (witch weren't that great to start with) so the graphics look like sh** and I have trouble seeing enemies and tanks even close up some times, you have to look for motion for something to stand out. Especially with all the constant smoke and dust obscuring visibility. You shoot an enemy up and a cloud of smoke obstructs further aiming. Not knowing where your enemies are is very realistic but it seems like most of the times you die you never see it coming, sometime the radar will light up enemies when they are shooting at you but allot of times it doesn't which is very frustrating because you can't rely on it. They are trying to take 3D life where you have your 6 senses working 360 degrees and peripheral vision - and then translate it to 2D which doesn't work. They have to give you alternate senses to rely on to replace the ones lost. Allot of times it ends up being just a free fraul off killing and deaths unless you are on a drastically winning team or are on a private chat with 3 other friends to coordinate attacks and expose enemies by sacrificing your own. The ability to respawn on your own personal and bases makes dying only a minor inconvenience adding to the free fraul. In conquest respawning only at home base would solve this plus being made to take bases in order and the game ending when you posses all the bases would eliminate the craziness and late game home base blood baths creating a straight forward goal based battle. The next biggest frustration with the game is getting stuck on you surroundings either waking or driving. When walking anything over 6 inches tall (step height) stops you dead forcing you to jump as well as hills you think you should be able to climb up stop you and you sit there jumping like an idiot trying to get up. You will end up pulling your hair out because of this. When driving a tank you get stuck on almost everything. There is not much that can stop a tank in real life but when you get stuck on a wooden fence or building it's frustrating. Some things come down easy an others do not - very frustrating You should be able to flatten the grass/bamboo/tin huts in the Vietnam version without even slowing down. Some will break with effort but by then you are dead from enemy fire that you can't locate it's origin . Next is the weapons capabilities, as you build rand they give you more weapons not necessarily better ones. As you scroll thought the list of weapons you can't compare them directly, you find two you like at opposite ends of the list and by the time you scroll from one to the other you can't hardly remember where the bar was - to solve this give the power / accuracy / range bars a numerical value. As well the ability to only use one spec in each of the three spec columns is a piss off. You put hundreds of hours into the game to earn this stuff and only get to use 3. They make you choose between armor or ammo, targeting systems or speedy reloading ect............................It feels like all the time and progress is futile. You should be able to use them all, you put the time in you reap the benefits. If it gives you to much of an advantage make them harder to get or set up games where your entrance depends on ability. Low rank players play with other low rankers ect... Another thing that is frustrating is the aiming ability, whenever you hit the button it seems like I am always pointing at the enemies feet. If you set the sensitivity low it moves to slow and you end up dead, too fast and you over shoot the target every time, I can't seem to find a happy middle ground. Always liked some sort of mild auto aiming. Lastly the gun sights projected out in front of you whether walking or driving are either white or lighted red or blue. The white being the worst, you have a hard time seeing them especially when going though like back ground colours or smoke. Half the time you can't tell where you are aiming. The 4x red dot scope is a great spec but you have to pass up other good specs to use it. I should have waited for version 3. I hope they address all the problems with #2 and fire all their testers and hire some that know what they are doing and have some balls to say that the game isn't ready yet!â Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    It's like upgrading your Battlefield Bad Company 2 up to Battlefield Bad Company 2.5, this is more than just a simple dlc map pack like you get with blops- This is a whole new multiplayer expansion with new maps, weapons, vehicles, music, in game movies, and most importantly a whole new strategy on how to play the game. The best way to describe the Vietnam expansion is by saying it's likeIt's like upgrading your Battlefield Bad Company 2 up to Battlefield Bad Company 2.5, this is more than just a simple dlc map pack like you get with blops- This is a whole new multiplayer expansion with new maps, weapons, vehicles, music, in game movies, and most importantly a whole new strategy on how to play the game. The best way to describe the Vietnam expansion is by saying it's like combining Bad Company 2 with the Battlefield 1943 released in 09. Unlike Bad Company 2's huge map-scope based battles- Vietnam throws you in the $h!t up close with everyone else, it's close quarter skirmishes that get ugly quick. This is not to say the new maps are small because they are by no means smaller than the original Bad Company 2 maps, it's just how EA set up the landwork so that battles come to bottlenecks and brush for a team to advance. Mix in all the new extras including the game changing flamethrower, and you've got the best online shooter dlc coupled with the best online shooter out. A must buy. Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    This expansion takes the already amazing BC2 base game and engine and adds perfect variety by forcing closer quarters, more intense shootouts in 4 (5) new maps. Its not just an addition of skins and new weapons, it actually provides a completely different feeling in terms of gameplay and strategy required to succeed. There is less emphasis on vehicles, though, but the Huey helicopters areThis expansion takes the already amazing BC2 base game and engine and adds perfect variety by forcing closer quarters, more intense shootouts in 4 (5) new maps. Its not just an addition of skins and new weapons, it actually provides a completely different feeling in terms of gameplay and strategy required to succeed. There is less emphasis on vehicles, though, but the Huey helicopters are extremely fun when you come across them. In the end, definitely worth the $15 to expand one of the best online shooters on PS3. Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2010
    10
    Like Vanilla BC2, but better. It takes getting used to though, as the guns are quite different, with fights being very short range. In contrast to Black Ops, which is set in Vietnam and doesn't feel like it, you can obviously tell that this is in Vietnam, even from trailers. There is 2 hour's worth of Vietnam era music, which you can hear in vehicles.
    This is a multiplayer only expansion.
    Like Vanilla BC2, but better. It takes getting used to though, as the guns are quite different, with fights being very short range. In contrast to Black Ops, which is set in Vietnam and doesn't feel like it, you can obviously tell that this is in Vietnam, even from trailers. There is 2 hour's worth of Vietnam era music, which you can hear in vehicles.
    This is a multiplayer only expansion. Its worth the money.
    Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    Worth it in every way, great DLC, and a great game! So much better than COD a.k.a Call of garbage, you know, that game that requires no thinking to play, where you can just run around with the same machine gun, doing the same routine to rack up kills... Yeah, I couldn't stand it so I'm so glad that my cousin introduced me to BFBC2. And besides any noob can pick up COD and run around with aWorth it in every way, great DLC, and a great game! So much better than COD a.k.a Call of garbage, you know, that game that requires no thinking to play, where you can just run around with the same machine gun, doing the same routine to rack up kills... Yeah, I couldn't stand it so I'm so glad that my cousin introduced me to BFBC2. And besides any noob can pick up COD and run around with a machine gun, but you can tell when someone sucks in BFBC. Just saying... Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Two words can sum up this game real good. And those two words are, Awesome and OWNAGE! Core (10.0) ID Expand
  8. Feb 8, 2011
    9
    The expansion brings everything that was already good in Bad Company 2, only with a different guise. New trophies, pins, weapons, vehicles and stages will keep veteran players occupied for a long time. And the Vietnam feeling while you are on tank, listening to musics from the past, is an extra that turns the expansion a must.
  9. Feb 15, 2011
    9
    cream of the crop, this game is breathless, its too addicting, but even though the story is weak it makes up for the multiplayer which is hard to get off your seat, the framerate are find, battlefield veterans will find this game very good, the only problems i encountered are lag and its underrated status, its a great buy
  10. Jan 27, 2011
    8
    To clarify, I don't think this "stole" anything from Black Ops, although they have similar settings, that's about it. While this is only an expansion, it definitely feels like the more authentic Vietnam experience. Nothing like flying a copter into battle with Ride of the Valkyries blaring. While I played BFBC2 alot at launch and the months right after, I hadn't touched it in a long while.To clarify, I don't think this "stole" anything from Black Ops, although they have similar settings, that's about it. While this is only an expansion, it definitely feels like the more authentic Vietnam experience. Nothing like flying a copter into battle with Ride of the Valkyries blaring. While I played BFBC2 alot at launch and the months right after, I hadn't touched it in a long while. This made me pick it up again, and get a little more use out of an already amazing game, one that I would put above COD any day. Expand
  11. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Quite simply one of the best multiplayer FPS games ever made. The only reason I scored it 9 rather than 10 is due to the small number of maps. How gamers who claim to have seen it all can rate this as only average is beyond me. If you play this and don't have fun you are either dead or you hate FPSs.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Mar 7, 2011
    80
    With five new maps, new weapons and vehicles, Vietnam is a good multiplayer-expansion to 2010s best first person shooter. Although a new mode would have given the package more meat to the bone, there is plenty of napalm to go around.
  2. Jan 28, 2011
    90
    Even more intense battles and great design blows life in to Bad Company 2. This is how you do an expansion.
  3. Jan 21, 2011
    80
    A generous and competent addition to Bad Company 2.