User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 557 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 557
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BenL
    Mar 6, 2010
    7
    OK, so the multiplayer still rocks, but why oh why did they abandon the kind of open plan levels in the single player campaign that made the original so fun? The original Battlefield BC had a design philosophy which made the single player a great experience, they let you do it pretty much your own way, walk or drive it was your choice. This time they seem to have walked away from that in OK, so the multiplayer still rocks, but why oh why did they abandon the kind of open plan levels in the single player campaign that made the original so fun? The original Battlefield BC had a design philosophy which made the single player a great experience, they let you do it pretty much your own way, walk or drive it was your choice. This time they seem to have walked away from that in an attempt to copy Modern Warfare. Spend 20 minutes driving round the outside of an impregnable fortress looking for the exact spot where the game designers say I can get in? Why the hell can't I just rocket a hole in the wall and drive on in? Bad Company stood out because it was different to all the other on rails shooters out there, too bad they chickened out with the sequel. Every single player game is on rails from here on in. Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    5
    Being fair I have to say that I did spend a few hours of lots of fun playing BC2, I'm not a hater like other critics but I must agree with some of their commentaries, the graphics are not the best, there's just no way to use any stealth tactics, any member of your squad can't die only you, the maps are to linear, and personally I think that in any FPS should the killed enemies bodiesBeing fair I have to say that I did spend a few hours of lots of fun playing BC2, I'm not a hater like other critics but I must agree with some of their commentaries, the graphics are not the best, there's just no way to use any stealth tactics, any member of your squad can't die only you, the maps are to linear, and personally I think that in any FPS should the killed enemies bodies disappear, the radar it's not good at all, and even thought I liked the story it's very predictable. So if you are looking to spent some time destroying buildings as I did this game may help you, but if you are looking for a hardcore next gen FPS with realistic characters and tactics, you might want to look somewhere else on the market there are far more better games than this one with those features. Expand
  3. JerryJ.
    Mar 11, 2010
    6
    The campaign was decent, nothing too great. Everybody told me that the multiplayer was awesome, and extremely addictive. But it is not as good as people make it out to be. The multiplayer aspect seems as they rushed in making it and did not think out things. Such as how you can choose where you want to spawn, considering that my teammate has 3 guys in front of him that he is flanking. I The campaign was decent, nothing too great. Everybody told me that the multiplayer was awesome, and extremely addictive. But it is not as good as people make it out to be. The multiplayer aspect seems as they rushed in making it and did not think out things. Such as how you can choose where you want to spawn, considering that my teammate has 3 guys in front of him that he is flanking. I can spawn off of him and help him get the kills. Or I can kill an enemy and then his teammates some how miraculously spawn from him and kill me. It is full of campers sniping everywhere, and it is pointless to go out because more than likely you will be killed from behind you. Caused by the random spawning. It is a decent game, but not that great. Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2011
    6
    Ok late review, I had this game on release didn't like it that much tbh, I just got it again and I'm loving it. Single player is still rubbish but online is good. Only let down is that while I prefer this to CoD, this is the camping game of the two. CoD has more noob players but this is a pure campfest! However it's a shame 1943 beats this by a clear mile. As that's an arcade game
  5. Jan 14, 2011
    5
    Just received the game for X-mas. I am a long time gamer since the start of gaming, seen it all. Played a bit of the campaign but mostly on X-box live. Lets start with the graphics that everybody is saying so great. My TV is 53" 6 year old HD projection (witch weren't that great to start with) so the graphics look like sh** and I have trouble seeing enemies and tanks even close up someJust received the game for X-mas. I am a long time gamer since the start of gaming, seen it all. Played a bit of the campaign but mostly on X-box live. Lets start with the graphics that everybody is saying so great. My TV is 53" 6 year old HD projection (witch weren't that great to start with) so the graphics look like sh** and I have trouble seeing enemies and tanks even close up some times, you have to look for motion for something to stand out. Especially with all the constant smoke and dust obscuring visibility. You shoot an enemy up and a cloud of smoke obstructs further aiming. Not knowing where your enemies are is very realistic but it seems like most of the times you die you never see it coming, sometime the radar will light up enemies when they are shooting at you but allot of times it doesn't which is very frustrating because you can't rely on it. They are trying to take 3D life where you have your 6 senses working 360 degrees and peripheral vision - and then translate it to 2D which doesn't work. They have to give you alternate senses to rely on to replace the ones lost. Allot of times it ends up being just a free fraul off killing and deaths unless you are on a drastically winning team or are on a private chat with 3 other friends to coordinate attacks and expose enemies by sacrificing your own. The ability to respawn on your own personal and bases makes dying only a minor inconvenience adding to the free fraul. In conquest respawning only at home base would solve this plus being made to take bases in order and the game ending when you posses all the bases would eliminate the craziness and late game home base blood baths creating a straight forward goal based battle. The next biggest frustration with the game is getting stuck on you surroundings either waking or driving. When walking anything over 6 inches tall (step height) stops you dead forcing you to jump as well as hills you think you should be able to climb up stop you and you sit there jumping like an idiot trying to get up. You will end up pulling your hair out because of this. When driving a tank you get stuck on almost everything. There is not much that can stop a tank in real life but when you get stuck on a wooden fence or building it's frustrating. Some things come down easy an others do not - very frustrating You should be able to flatten the grass/bamboo/tin huts in the Vietnam version without even slowing down. Some will break with effort but by then you are dead from enemy fire that you can't locate it's origin . Next is the weapons capabilities, as you build rand they give you more weapons not necessarily better ones. As you scroll thought the list of weapons you can't compare them directly, you find two you like at opposite ends of the list and by the time you scroll from one to the other you can't hardly remember where the bar was - to solve this give the power / accuracy / range bars a numerical value. As well the ability to only use one spec in each of the three spec columns is a piss off. You put hundreds of hours into the game to earn this stuff and only get to use 3. They make you choose between armor or ammo, targeting systems or speedy reloading ect............................It feels like all the time and progress is futile. You should be able to use them all, you put the time in you reap the benefits. If it gives you to much of an advantage make them harder to get or set up games where your entrance depends on ability. Low rank players play with other low rankers ect... Another thing that is frustrating is the aiming ability, whenever you hit the button it seems like I am always pointing at the enemies feet. If you set the sensitivity low it moves to slow and you end up dead, too fast and you over shoot the target every time, I can't seem to find a happy middle ground. Always liked some sort of mild auto aiming. Lastly the gun sights projected out in front of you whether walking or driving are either white or lighted red or blue. The white being the worst, you have a hard time seeing them especially when going though like back ground colours or smoke. Half the time you can't tell where you are aiming. The 4x red dot scope is a great spec but you have to pass up other good specs to use it. I should have waited for version 3. I hope they address all the problems with #2 and fire all their testers and hire some that know what they are doing and have some balls to say that the game isn't ready yet!â Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is a very descent game, marred by one very, very frustrating fault. The good things first... The game has a descent campaign that, whilst not spectacular, holds interest throughout and features some intense firefights. The graphics are good, but the sound is FANTASTIC! Put on a pair of headphones or feed it through a pair of speakers and... Oh my god! War in yourBattlefield: Bad Company 2 is a very descent game, marred by one very, very frustrating fault. The good things first... The game has a descent campaign that, whilst not spectacular, holds interest throughout and features some intense firefights. The graphics are good, but the sound is FANTASTIC! Put on a pair of headphones or feed it through a pair of speakers and... Oh my god! War in your living room! The multiplayer gameplay is great fun and the games can get properly competitive with the match swaying back and forth. The focus on team-play and cooperation is also great fun and well appreciated. SO... The near game-breaking fault? Circle strafing helicopters. In your base. All the time. Relentlessly killing you as you spawn. Again and again and again and again... THAT IS TOTAL CRAP! They have since forbidden enemies to enter opponent's bases in the subsequent Vietnam expansion pack and BF3... But Bad Company 2's fun REALLY suffers because of that awful spawn fragging nonsense. Expand
  7. Oct 3, 2011
    7
    Very average. Honestly, from the start of the campaign, to the end credits, nothing happened to the characters. They didn't change at all, even if every event in the story didn't happen, the characters would be no different. The gunplay is average, pretty much the same as BFBC 1, the only difference being that the enemies fire different guns that in BFBC 1. Buy it for multiplayer, or don'tVery average. Honestly, from the start of the campaign, to the end credits, nothing happened to the characters. They didn't change at all, even if every event in the story didn't happen, the characters would be no different. The gunplay is average, pretty much the same as BFBC 1, the only difference being that the enemies fire different guns that in BFBC 1. Buy it for multiplayer, or don't buy it at all. Expand
  8. Aug 13, 2015
    5
    Probably the most disappointing part of it is how much it isn't like the original game. On the surface, it looks like Battlefield Bad Company with polished graphics. But after playing it you realize it is nothing like it, and they've taken out previous game elements and replaced them with worse ones for some reason.

    First thing is obviously the fact that there is almost no vehicles in
    Probably the most disappointing part of it is how much it isn't like the original game. On the surface, it looks like Battlefield Bad Company with polished graphics. But after playing it you realize it is nothing like it, and they've taken out previous game elements and replaced them with worse ones for some reason.

    First thing is obviously the fact that there is almost no vehicles in the campaign. In the Battlefield Bad Company campaign there was vehicles, and it was more enjoyable because then the player could choose to play how they wanted. For some reason they've abandoned that in favor of a campaign that is more similar to Call of Duty then Battlefield.

    Another thing that would catch any fan of the previous game off guard is the story. It's reasonable to expect that Bad Company 2 would start where the previous game left off. But it didn't. Instead, the story is entirely different. It's in a completely different universe. Which would be OK if there wasn't a game before it. The fact that the characters have completely different personalities in both games is very distracting.

    Another thing is that absolutely no one plays this game now. It's probably the garbage matchmaking system. It's still easy to get a full game in the original Bad Company, but not in this one, even though Bad Company 2 probably has more players.

    If you haven't played Bad Company before, you might like this Bad Company 2. But for anyone who was a fan of the previous game, you're probably better off sticking to Bad Company.
    Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. The most flattering way to look at Bad Company 2 is as an intense online shooter with a slightly dodgy singleplayer mode included as a free bonus.
  2. 'Battlefield: Bad Company 2' comes armed with a heavy arsenal and some bad attitudes, and delivers another solid shooting experience that will please fans of the original, and dare I say it, the “COD” clan as well.
  3. Although the singleplayer campaign is entertaining enough, it is in the multiplayer that this game really shines. Almost perfectly balanced, the vehicles, destructible buildings and team-play make this game a joy to play and a must for any fans of the genre.