Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 169 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Built from the ground-up for next-generation consoles using Digital Illusions' Frostbite game engine, Battlefield: Bad Company drops gamers behind enemy lines with a squad of renegade soldiers who risk it all on a personal quest for gold and revenge. Featuring a deep, cinematic single-player experience loaded with adventure and dark humor, the game delivers the series' trademark sandbox gameplay in a universe where nearly everything is destructible. Battlefield: Bad Company also features a full suite of the franchise's trademark multiplayer options with deep gameplay modes designed to take full advantage of the game's massively destructible environments. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. It looks great, has fun characters, a load of interesting weaponry, and works nicely whether you’re playing alone or with a squad. The campaign lasts long enough to feel fulfilling, and the multiplayer kept me coming back once that was complete.
  2. 90
    One could easily say that Bad Company expands the genre itself with its combination of great story, destructible environment and surprisingly deep single-mode multiplayer.
  3. It's a really, really good shooter - although it's a shame there's only one multiplayer mode - and we have no hesitation in recommending it for anyone remotely interested in the genre. Great stuff.
  4. A new incursion of the Battlefield franchise on the console turf that manages to surprise us, mainly because of the consistent solo campaign. Even if it doesn’t offer the same intensity and cinematic flair as Call of Duty 4 (although it has an excellent destruction engine). And, of course, as far as online is concerned, Bad Company doesn’t disappoint. [July 2008]
  5. Battlefield: Bad Company may not be the award winner that COD 4 was, but it is damn near as entertaining and a lot easier to get into. This is a war game for the casual gamer who just wants to have fun blowing stuff up.
  6. The levels are massive - although there are only seven of them - and the sense of being in a conflict can only currently be matched by CoD4.
  7. Personality, guns and destruction are Bad Company's strongest cards and it plays them hard. [Aug 2008, p.98]

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 57
  2. Negative: 6 out of 57
  1. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    BF bad co is a great game totally worth money. ill pay $500 for that game.i dont know any one who wouldnt want this great game
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    This is the best game in a freaking century!!The gameplay is great and so are the controls.Its addictive while the multiplayer will keep you hooked on for hours on end!! Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    i remember when this first came out. everyone i know was playing cod4. i asked all my friends, have you heard of bad company? no no no they all said. 3 years later, they all asked me the same question i asked them. and im like man you guys dont even know. never played online. story mode was all i needed for this game. i loved the free roam with all that ammo and all the war going on. just hated that there was no blood, but im a gamer and not a critic. Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2012
    9
    While it may be lacking a few elements (e.g. longer campaign, splitscreen/co-op), most of the levels are fun and replayable, and the Multiplayer is likely to be great (I haven't played it yet). Now, in 2011, it's cheap and is still of a good standard. Expand
  5. Jan 13, 2014
    8
    The story of BC1 is riddled with humor, and the characters are likable, making the singleplayer worth playing (mind you, it's short). Why they couldn't carry these things over to BC2 is beyond me. Instead, BC2's story and tone was so serious, I asked what happened to the characters we knew and loved. Hopefully, they'll restore these in BC3. Online is fun and people still play it (yet BC2 online is even better). Pick it up, it's quite cheap now, and a worthy game in the awesome Battlefield series. Expand
  6. Oct 21, 2012
    7
    Good singleplayer and good multiplayer although rather difficult. Nice empathy with the game's characters. And that's all. Played it and liked it. End of story. Collapse
  7. Aug 24, 2011
    2
    I have played every major battlefield game up till this point and I decided to give BFBC a try, since the last game I played in the series was BF2142 and i had an amazing time playing it. I was shocked and disgusted with the game i was presented with, though i was already somewhat expecting a mediocre game due to the fact that it was a console FPS, I didnt expect it to be this bad when compared to its bigger brothers. The weapons were all bad, you could not use the sights on a third of the weapons, plus the multiplayer fights were pathetically small, with only a handful of people being able to duke it out at one time. not only that, but the controls were very clunky. the Singleplayer campaign is a joke, its short and has no real meaning since BF is a series all about satisfying multiplayer experiences. I guess the main reason why BFBC was such a disappointment was because the dev team for the original BF series quit DICE right after finishing BF2142, before DICE started on BFBC. BFBC is a faint shadow of what the BF series is, you can see a couple things in it that remind you of the great old games. its an insult to the Battlefield series that this game even has the Battlefield name on it. Expand

See all 57 User Reviews