Bayonetta PlayStation 3

Bayonetta Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 356 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bayonetta is a stylish and cinematic action game directed by creator Hideki Kamiya. A member of an ancient witch clan and possessing powers beyond the comprehension of mere mortals, Bayonetta faces-off against countless ethereal enemies, many reaching epic proportions, in a game of 100%Bayonetta is a stylish and cinematic action game directed by creator Hideki Kamiya. A member of an ancient witch clan and possessing powers beyond the comprehension of mere mortals, Bayonetta faces-off against countless ethereal enemies, many reaching epic proportions, in a game of 100% pure, unadulterated all-out action. Outlandish finishing moves are performed with balletic grace as Bayonetta flows from one fight to another. With over-the-top action taking place in stages that are a veritable theme park of exciting attractions, Bayonetta pushes the limits of the action genre, bringing to life its fast-paced, dynamic climax combat. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 100
    Bayonetta is a stunning orgy of sadistic mayhem that surpassed even my unreasonably high expectations, and proved that violence can be beautiful.
  2. Some people may label Bayonetta as nothing more than Devil May Cry with breasts and pass on this title, but they would be missing out on an absolute gem of a game.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    90
    A positively over-the-top beat 'em up -adventure. The battles are simply stunning - sexy, bloody, brutal and above all: fun. [Jan 2010]
  4. 90
    Bayonetta is the kind of game that makes me appreciate why I love videogames. It really defines a time when things were not taken too seriously and the focus was more on style and gameplay than anything else.
  5. Bayonetta is a refreshing and somewhat surprising addition to an already extensive catalogue of action games. A must-buy for any anime gaming fan, and an excellent representation of the genre.
  6. An action game fan’s wet dream. Despite a derivative structure and a few technical stumbles—like occasional slowdown and frequent screen tearing—Bayonetta takes everything that’s good about every other combo-heavy action game, cranks up the intensity, fine tunes the combat, and bundles it in a single, sexy, “au naturel” package.
  7. Bayonetta on the PS3 is a rather bad version of a pretty good fighting game. The graphics are both slower and less crisp than its Xbox 360 counterpart, but the worst thing of all is the incredibly long loading times between levels, between cut scenes, while entering menus - and even whilst picking up objects.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 87
  2. Negative: 8 out of 87
  1. SavannahH.
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    i really enjoyed playing through this and i am soo happy i finished it. i love the variety of moves and enemies so it never gets boring. when i really enjoyed playing through this and i am soo happy i finished it. i love the variety of moves and enemies so it never gets boring. when i heard it was by the same makers of Devil May Cry i believed they would not be able to top Devil May Cry. I have it on the PS3 and the Loading times were not as annoying as everyone said they were but it does make me a little upset that they got lazy when converting it to the PS3. the bosses were crazy but awesome and i would recommend this for anyone. i will defiantly play this game again and try and get all the trophies. Expand
  2. Dave
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Even with the PS3 issues, Bayonetta is a standout in its genre in terms of style, character and enemy design, and fighting fluidity. If youEven with the PS3 issues, Bayonetta is a standout in its genre in terms of style, character and enemy design, and fighting fluidity. If you like 3rd person action, this cannot be missed. Expand
  3. Apr 18, 2014
    9
    not a bad game, in homage to "GRArcada" the game is "Stufective", Stupid concept and everything but yet effective.

    It looks great, making
    not a bad game, in homage to "GRArcada" the game is "Stufective", Stupid concept and everything but yet effective.

    It looks great, making the difference between the dull and gray human world and the colorful and impressive other worlds or "purgatory" as its called in game, where most of the battles are.

    The Story is very simple with clear villain with a simple and somewhat cliche motivation, and presented though the also cliche "amnesia" plot (seriously, if you find the story of this game too complex, you have a lot to learn).

    So while it looks gorgeous and amazing, its too amazing for its own good, for what the game is and offers, the realistic aesthetics it chooses to be doesn't help, it would be more awesome if it was a bit more stylized, then is can had more "over the top" scenes and "over the top" reactions that would help a lot of moments in the game, but what we get is enough to enjoy the game so... meh.

    The Game play is fast, aggressive, sexy, and visually impressive, but if you play for prolonged sessions it becomes repetitive, same enemies same ways to beat them all, and once you get the weapon of your choice, you don't need anything else in the game in terms of upgrades, maybe something to improve your mobility and health but that's about it, sometimes it feels like a button smasher rather than an action game, and as many in its genre, you go in a level, gets stuck in a "room" with a bunch of enemies, kick their asses to continue and repeat, but the different combos add that "itch" of experimentation to make it feel less repetitive, even when it still is repetitive, just enough to want to play a further more, that and try to execute all the "climax moves" on every enemy, those move feels amazing when executes on enemies. The only big problem with some fights and moments in the game are the QTE and instant death moves from some bosses, the QTE need a bit more time to announce themselves and allow the player to put the command in the controller, and the instant death moves should be announced differently so the player can be prepared a bit the first time facing them, at least in normal and easier difficulties, for the hardcore players its ok.

    The audio is immersive, it has passion and goes with the tension or the spectacular visuals it is played, is sexy as the protagonist, and emotional. Said that, there's some levels where is little to no Background music when there is no battle, and the common battle theme repeats to much with the common enemies, making these fights repetitive and often boring. Its only the Climax or torture attacks that makes these common fights enjoyable, seriously, it feels sooo satisfying.....
    Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2014
    8
    I did not know to expect from this game when I got it, but surprisingly I loved it. Granted- it's not a game for everyone- but its fast pacedI did not know to expect from this game when I got it, but surprisingly I loved it. Granted- it's not a game for everyone- but its fast paced combat, charismatic character and overall good presentation make this a great game if you give it a chance. Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2014
    7
    Enjoyable but not to my personal taste. Baffling story and eroticism with plain weird characters/enemies littered throughout the game. It'sEnjoyable but not to my personal taste. Baffling story and eroticism with plain weird characters/enemies littered throughout the game. It's completely over the top, but sometimes those liberties are taken too far. Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2010
    6
    I did enjoy this game overall, ie. I don't regret playing it. But, for me, it has to be the most over-rated game of the current generation.I did enjoy this game overall, ie. I don't regret playing it. But, for me, it has to be the most over-rated game of the current generation.

    It is quirky and has some very good levels and sequences, particularly towards the end of the game (I loved the Afterburner-style 'shoot 'em-up' level), so in this regard I at least respect the game, and I can understand why people love it. But I just found it, on the whole, rather tedious.

    Firstly, there's the music: I swear that the same song gets played over and over and over and over...to the point where it gets stuck in my head, and haunts me to this day. Music is a useful tool in games for immersing the player and indicating progress and development, both story-wise and gameplay-wise. Having teh same music on repeat makes you feel like you're stuck in some pseudo-disco time vortex that not even Bayonetta's command of space-time can help you escape from.

    Secondly, there are the supporting characters, all of whom are either boring, weird, annoying or a combination of all three. I couldn't work out where they really fitted in, or why they were there. They just seemed like unnecessary extras. The worst of them was the 'New Yoik' Italian-American stereotype who, at the end of each level, you can hear exclaim 'Oh whadda day!' as a sort of ornament/trophy spins on the screen. You have to hear it yourself, because I can't find the words to explain how weird it sounds, and I certainly can't offer any explanations as to what it all means.

    And thirdly - extending from my previous gripe about the characters - there is no story. Well, there is, but I sure as Hell can't tell you what it is. Sometimes, no story is not a problem, if the game is purely gameplay-driven. But Bayonetta clearly thinks story is important given the amount or cutscenes there are. As another user-reviewer has said, they shouldn't have bothered.

    Strip all these away and all you are left with is your standard Hideki Kamiya hack 'n' slash and, save for few exceptional sequences and levels, very repetitive gameplay. Maybe I'm a philistine when it comes to Kamiya's work, but I when stripped down to her bare essentials (pun very much intended) Bayonetta isn't anything special. It's just Devil May Cry with an injection of estrogen.
    Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2014
    0
    bayonetta puo essere tranquillamente il nuovo sinonimo di sopravvalutato è un titolo mediocre spacciato per capolavoro con una tramabayonetta puo essere tranquillamente il nuovo sinonimo di sopravvalutato è un titolo mediocre spacciato per capolavoro con una trama inesistente e una protagonista ODIOSA e stupida meglio dedicarsi ad altro. Expand

See all 87 User Reviews