Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Still looks gorgeous. [Aug 2011, p.110]
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    90
    One of the best items available on XBL or PSN, Beyond Good And Evil HD is a smart buy.
  3. 90
    Do not expect anything other than a transfer of an old classic into polished graphics. Great gameplay however shows game ingeniousness and timelessness. [Issue#203]
  4. Jul 3, 2011
    88
    A genre-spanning yarn that still captivates, that makes up for its simplicity with variety, and looks better than ever. [Aug 2011, p.92]
  5. Jul 19, 2011
    86
    Still as good today as it was when it was released. [Issue#207, p.98]
  6. Jul 4, 2011
    85
    Quite simply a high-definition version of an established classic. This version enhances the good and diminishes the bad; although we should probably admit that time itself works to exaggerate the low points.
  7. Jul 25, 2011
    83
    Equally fluid is the combat, which is what I'd describe as "Sands of Time lite."
  8. Jun 29, 2011
    83
    This HD remake is a perfect opportunity to get the game if you missed the game on the PlayStation 2. A pretty good game with a unique setting and fine gameplay. Even in 2011 the gameplay is great and the HD graphics are looking awesome.
  9. Jul 12, 2011
    80
    No doubt inspired by Nintendo's Legend of Zelda series, Beyond Good & Evil HD is an ambitious title that deserves to be played. It may not be groundbreaking today, but it is a key title on any essential list of video game gems. If you can force yourself to adapt to the controls, the experience is worth the hassle.
  10. Jul 8, 2011
    80
    Thanks to the handiwork of Ubisoft Shanghai, the small but passionate cult following and the burning sting of its original commercial failure, we all have a second chance to reconcile our differences with this flawed masterpiece – I'm glad I did.
  11. 80
    Really, anyone looking for a fun and intriguing story, unique gameplay and great cast of characters should give Beyond Good & Evil a long overdue playthrough.
  12. Eight years after the fact, the game remains a curious muddle, but this time it's a curious muddle in high definition. [June 2011, p.83]
  13. Apr 18, 2011
    70
    Boasts enough variety to keep it consistently entertaining, and so that you never know where you will end up.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Great game. Never had the chance to try it. But now here it is in HD. This game is still awesome comparing to current games. Great storyline, great characters, and the fantasy world is very well designed. Music is good and voice acting superb. Lots of things to collect. Few trophies though and no platinum. Full Review »
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    Great game. The characters really pulled me in, and I had a wonderful adventure. However there were times it felt like I really had to fight the camera, and some things can be irritating after a while (CARLSON AND PETERS!!) but overall highly recommended. Full Review »
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    5
    Really!?! I thought this was supposed to be a classic. Sure, it has all the makings of a good game, but the controls are poor, the combat is sluggish, and the game design is terrible. It was initially touted as a "zelda for adults", though there is little here to keep you entertained. Outside of the main town (which is pretty limited) there is nothing much to explore or get involved with, and the main quest sections are pretty sparse and extremely easy. I can see the potential, but even so its all a bit rubbish and has not passed the test of time well. Add to this that the game can be finished in a number of hours, with very little to come back for, makes it a disappointment.
    I know this game has its fans, all of whom are begging for a sequel. The basics are all there for a great action based adventure game, but the characters need more depth and the story needs more flesh if this could ever be a successful franchise
    Full Review »