Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Apr 18, 2011
    70
    Boasts enough variety to keep it consistently entertaining, and so that you never know where you will end up.
  2. Jul 25, 2011
    83
    Equally fluid is the combat, which is what I'd describe as "Sands of Time lite."
  3. Jul 12, 2011
    80
    No doubt inspired by Nintendo's Legend of Zelda series, Beyond Good & Evil HD is an ambitious title that deserves to be played. It may not be groundbreaking today, but it is a key title on any essential list of video game gems. If you can force yourself to adapt to the controls, the experience is worth the hassle.
  4. Jul 8, 2011
    80
    Thanks to the handiwork of Ubisoft Shanghai, the small but passionate cult following and the burning sting of its original commercial failure, we all have a second chance to reconcile our differences with this flawed masterpiece – I'm glad I did.
  5. 80
    Really, anyone looking for a fun and intriguing story, unique gameplay and great cast of characters should give Beyond Good & Evil a long overdue playthrough.
  6. Jul 5, 2011
    90
    One of the best items available on XBL or PSN, Beyond Good And Evil HD is a smart buy.
  7. Jul 4, 2011
    85
    Quite simply a high-definition version of an established classic. This version enhances the good and diminishes the bad; although we should probably admit that time itself works to exaggerate the low points.
  8. Jun 29, 2011
    83
    This HD remake is a perfect opportunity to get the game if you missed the game on the PlayStation 2. A pretty good game with a unique setting and fine gameplay. Even in 2011 the gameplay is great and the HD graphics are looking awesome.
  9. Jul 19, 2011
    86
    Still as good today as it was when it was released. [Issue#207, p.98]
  10. Still looks gorgeous. [Aug 2011, p.110]
  11. Jul 3, 2011
    88
    A genre-spanning yarn that still captivates, that makes up for its simplicity with variety, and looks better than ever. [Aug 2011, p.92]
  12. 90
    Do not expect anything other than a transfer of an old classic into polished graphics. Great gameplay however shows game ingeniousness and timelessness. [Issue#203]
  13. Eight years after the fact, the game remains a curious muddle, but this time it's a curious muddle in high definition. [June 2011, p.83]
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Great game. Never had the chance to try it. But now here it is in HD. This game is still awesome comparing to current games. Great storyline,Great game. Never had the chance to try it. But now here it is in HD. This game is still awesome comparing to current games. Great storyline, great characters, and the fantasy world is very well designed. Music is good and voice acting superb. Lots of things to collect. Few trophies though and no platinum. Full Review »
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    8
    I never played this on the ps2 or xbox so I don't know if this ones different but it is fun the combat is simple easy to pick up exploring theI never played this on the ps2 or xbox so I don't know if this ones different but it is fun the combat is simple easy to pick up exploring the planet and taking pictures is fun to it doesn't tell you where to go sometimes which makes it hard at times but overall its pretty fun Full Review »
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    Great game. The characters really pulled me in, and I had a wonderful adventure. However there were times it felt like I really had to fightGreat game. The characters really pulled me in, and I had a wonderful adventure. However there were times it felt like I really had to fight the camera, and some things can be irritating after a while (CARLSON AND PETERS!!) but overall highly recommended. Full Review »