• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 8, 2013
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2380 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    The best game of this genre, the action is small, but the estimate is obvious solid 10. What is most liked so it protaganicheskoe management (or in other words, "only forward or damn, I forgot something," Just like the genre, the right choice. I look forward to similar games, just from the developers. Just waiting for the continuation, personal life adventure travel.
  2. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    wesome game Great story, graphics and gameplay. This game is the best. David Cage is a genius. You should buy this game with your money because it is game of the year and David Cage is a genius. David Cage you genius.
  3. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    Stunning. Along with TLOU, one of the greatest games of this generation. This is a mature, character driven, emotional narrative. You really feel for Jodie and her inability to lead a normal life. Excellent performances by Page and Dafoe. Ellen Page should get an award for her part in this. Great motion capture and the most beautiful graphics on PS3. This really shows you what gaming is capable of. Gripping Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Interactive narrative for me leads people into games differently however for me this was the pinnacle of what I want in a game a story I loved with incredible voice acting and drastically improved graphics from Heavy Rain. This is my game of the generation in my opinion the ultimate swan song for the PS3.
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    This isn't a game so much as an experience. Not only is this one of the best presented games on this generation of consoles, it arguably has some of the most powerful storytelling available in modern gaming. Whether you buy, rent or borrow, this game is a must play.

    Looking forward to playing Quantic dreams next entry.
  6. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    Excellent game for players who are able to appreciate something more than Call of Duty... For those who like Heavy Rain, more than recommended., if there is something mediocre, it is the average
  7. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    Awesome story, graphics, acting, and soundtrack. A trully nice experience which will make you think of all the journey you have been through while playing the game. Few games have such a capacity to move the player; and this is one of them
  8. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    This game was an amazing experience for me, and if it weren't for The Last of Us I would have easily chosen this game as Game of the Year. This is without a doubt the best looking game on the PS3, nothing comes close. In terms of gameplay I would give the nodge to The Last of Us, but in terms of cinematics I would give it to Beyond: Two Souls. In terms of story I would give it to the Last of Us but it's very close. In terms of soundtracks Beyond: Two Souls wins this easily. Expand
  9. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    It saddens me when I see the negativity that is associated with this game because Beyond: Two Souls was nothing short of an emotional roller coaster that took me through the life of Jodie Holmes, a protagonist that I grew to care about significantly. The journey this game took me through made me believe that my decisions mattered and were significant in understanding the importance of right and wrong. I felt as if the characters I met playing along this journey as Jodie truly developed her character and created a depth to the overall experience. There were many moments that simultaneously made me feel the same emotions that Jodie was feeling in response to an event that may have occurred or a significant plot point which was surprising to say the least.

    Beyond: Two Souls is special, it is a unique tale that deserves recognition for what it has accomplished. The entirety of the story should be experienced first hand in order to understand the captivating potential of the type of medium this game uses to engage the player. This game drained me emotionally which is a feat few games have done in the past and this is why it will be treasured. I can only urge others to not disregard Beyond: Two Souls as it so much more than a game, rather it is a masterful work of art.
    Expand
  10. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    Great game. Wonderfully unique experience. I hope some of the mixed reviews do not mess up the chances of them making more games. You can nit pick certain aspects of the game. Like consistency in the story, but they made something special here
  11. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    During this last year of the current generation of consoles, I've been in awe with the quality of games (see my review history) that I have been so lucky to play and ultimately enjoy.....Beyond Two Souls stands at the top of this list-- the story, the characters, the voice acting and the game play is so brilliant and done with such elegance that it deserves the "10" I have given it....My only reservation is that there are gamers out there who will not buy this game based solely on the misguided tepid reviews of a few critics and users--trust me, they have made a bad call-- and that is a shame because they will be losing out on one of the best journeys they can take in gaming--- Be warned--this is not your typical black op/fantasy/ science fiction shooter or slow mo blood and gore epic-- It is a compelling, emotional trip you take with this young girl (young and older Jodie played so well by both actresses) and you can only do that because of the excellent production values of this story....Thank-you Quantric--it was an awesome experience Expand
  12. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    Best game I have seen in a long time. Beautiful graphics, realistic character animations, gripping story line.

    I stayed up all night and went through the entire game, and then I went out and bought another two copies for my friends, because that is how good this is. I want everyone to experience this, because this is what a good game is.
  13. Oct 18, 2013
    9
    Wow this game is absolutely amazing. This isn't a typical game, its an interactive movie/game in the same category as heavy rain. The graphics are beautiful minus an occasional texture pop ins and outs. The voice acting is great thanks to Ellen page and Willem Defoe bringing their A game. The story is engaging and it kept my interest the entire time. This is true originality when it comes to games. Something that's been lacking these days when all companies want to do is push out half assed sequels to mediocre fps or sports games. This game is a definite must buy if you love heavy rain or just want to experience something fresh and wonderful with a good narrative and character's Expand
  14. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    I'm honestly surprised at how polarized the reviews for this game are. It is especially obvious at how much of a masterpiece this game is when you pop in Heavy Rain (as I did immediately after I beat BTS). The disparity in the amount of detail in the graphics, story, and ambition between the two games is staggering. To think this is how I felt when I first played through Heavy Rain says a lot. Beyond Two Souls simply pushes the PS3 to the limits in terms of graphical power. The storyline is incredible (I loved the twist at the end), and the voice-acting by Ellen Page and William Defoe is top-notch. It's like an amazing ten-hour sci-fi flick, only more involving due to the cool gameplay mechanics Quantum has incorporated into the game. You can switch back and forth almost at any point between Jodie (Ellen Page) and Aiden (a spirit she can communicate with that is tethered to her body), so this presents exciting moments throughout the campaign where you'll have to take over people's bodies, remember a dead person's last moments, or my personal favorite, help the living communicate with their dead family members. The latter of those abilities leads to some of the most emotional moments in ANY videogame. The variety of things you have to do, the locales you visit, and the people you meet keep everything fresh for the entire campaign. Things really pick up after the first hour or so and never really let up. I disagree with some of the negative reviews saying the story was convoluted. Once again play Heavy Rain and you'll see how superior this game is to that one. Don't hesitate in playing BTS. It is one of the best interactive experiences you can have. Expand
  15. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    A beautiful cinematic game. It plays like a movie and is amazing at its delicate hands. If cinematic movies or very styled graphics get you playing, by 5 hours you'd have been finished
  16. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    okay as a veteran game player of all systems and a extreme veteran of the ps3. I can honestly say without a doubt that Beyond: Two Souls is my favorite ps3 games of all time. And i can give you a few reasons why. WARNING: I have not played Heavy Rain which is apparently better but just hear me out. Ok lets start with one of my favorite featurs of the game. The somewhat funny entity Aiden. He is Conected to our protaganist. He is mostly used in situations of dire need from our main character. And although he is just a entity that NEVER talks in the game. You can tell he has emotion. In many cases in this game he gets angry from the people around him. He also gets mad when people mess with Our Protaganist Jodie. Now Lets get onto the next subject which is Jodie herself. She plays alot like the characters from The Walking Dead games. she can interact with her enviroment in ways that could change the game. She has alot of emotion and you can hear it in the voice actresses voice. Ok now lets get into gameplay. The game itself plays alot like a typical TellTale Games adventure game.(press this button to pick up this etc.) But with a twist of adding combat into the mix. It freshens up the style of a adventure game but retains the adventure games great features. One of the great things about the combat is real simple and not over complicated. It doesnt make you fell pressured like in rpgs. Ok now lets move into the story. This has been the main complaint of the game. The fact that you play the story jumbled up into different parts is confusing to some and great to people like me. It also freshens up the regular adventure game elements leving you to figure out what order things happen in. But if you do not like that there is also a timeline to help you. The story missions vary from five minutes, to what seems like 2 hours. Also the story makes you feel attatched to all the characters and you feel the emotions they do. If Jodie is scared your scared to. Ok lets move into the graphics. And they are nothing shorter then the best damn graphics I have ever seen. For a game on the slowly dying ps3 it looks better then most ps4 games announced. You can see every detail on every character. It makes the game so much better. Overall Beyond Two Souls is the best PS3 game i have ever played with beautiful graphics. a gripping story. and freshened up adventure game style gameplay with new combat style. Which is why i give it a ten out of ten. Go out and buy this game if you havent already Expand
  17. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Beyond two souls review: this game is for people like me who think story is one of the most important things for a game to be entertaining. It's kind of like a quick time event story with Jodie while you almost have full control of Aiden. The story is so engaging and the emotions throughout the game are sensational. As far as genre goes it is really the whole package, it ranges from explosive action scenes to surprisingly creepy scenes. However the type of game it is is definitely not for everyone, including myself since I usually play more action oriented games so if I was giving it a score based on my style of games I would give it about an 8 but I know better then to give a review on a game just because I have a different opinion on games so for what it is it definitely deserves a 10. The only negative is that the controls for Aiden are a little hard to control sometimes and take some time to get used to. All around a 10 out of 10! Expand
  18. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    I'm giving it a 10 because it does what it sets out to do perfectly.
    People are come expecting a game or a movie and its not either of them. It's an interactive story that uses a game as its medium because lets face it, as a book or movie it would be crap.
    Critics fail to see that just because its medium is a game, it doesn't have to be reviewed as such.
    The overall story despite being
    interesting is not very good, what is very good is the story of every separate mission. The 'game' could be told as 20 fantastic short stories.
    obviously voice acting and character appearance are great.
    The character of Jodie is very well thought out. i did care about Jodie. this lead to me making decisions i think Jodie would make, not what i'd like her to make.
    Aiden is a something I don't think I've seen done before and actually adds some good mechanics to a game thats not about mechanics. When you learn that thing about Aiden then think about all the things he's done for you despite that thing.
    If i was rating this as a game it'd score low but I'm not so taking what it is into account, its a ten
    Expand
  19. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    Forget about what all the tight-ass reviewers say (We're looking at you IGN!), this game is a perfect example of what interactive storytelling should be. Any old idiot should be able to understand the non-linear story-line and everyone should be able to enjoy the way that game lets interact with the flow of the narrative. However, there are some people who just can't seem to fabricate a reasonable opinion on this game. I know some have different ways of thinking than others but this game brought out so many emotions in me and made me feel like I was having a huge say and part in what was happening in the narrative. I thoroughly enjoyed this game and its 22 alternate endings (who says it isnt interactive enough!?) and would recommend it to anyone who is able to properly appreciate excellent writing and an overall excellent game Expand
  20. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    One of the best experience ever in PS3. This a game and it's a movie, a game-movie or movie-game, so do not be deceived or desapointed. Great story and awesome graphics! One of the most beautiful and thrilling game I ever played.
  21. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    Amazing acting, beautiful graphics immersed me for the entire game, however I would've liked a better way to tell the story, and it may have been a bit better if the game wasn't as passive as it is, but it's great nontheless.
  22. Oct 18, 2013
    9
    I certainly wouldn't want every game to be like Beyond and Heavy Rain (which seems to be DC's vision) but in a sea of CoD clones and other generic titles, this is once again a nice change of pace and at this point, you really have to support any major developer that tries to do something different. Looking forward to Quantic's first PS4 title.
  23. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    I give this game an 8.5, I rounded to 9. It is an amazing game with a few minor problems. Lets get the problems out of the way first, the only problems I had with the game was the occasional clunkiness of the controls(it wasn't always bad but I don't know why it occasionally was, maybe will be fixed in a patch). The other thing that was a slight con in my opinion is that even if you horribly mess up you still manage to continue on, unlike Heavy Rain where you could have your characters killed, maybe it is because they were just human and you have Aiden, anyway back to the point, those two things are the only things that detracted from the game in my opinion. The pros are a great story, great acting, beautiful graphics and art design, the emotional moments, the way Quantic Dream doesn't fear being different. All in all I highly recommend this game, go get it! Expand
  24. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Definitely game of the year. Oh, at least just for me. It is for these games, I never cease to be interested in the gaming industry. In this game you merge with the head and does not want, what would that story ended. So it is safe to put 10 out of 10.
  25. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    This is just a beautiful piece of a video game art!
    Brilliant visuals!
    Great story line! Great action scenes! Very emotional ending!
    And one of the best main characters I've ever seen in video-games!
    Great performance by Ellen Paige, as always!
    David Caige, bravo and thank you for beautiful and very emotional adventure!!!
    I'm so excited about QD's nextgen project!
  26. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    After reading all the bad reviews I did not know what to expect. I even created an account on here just so I can give it a user review as this game deserves a hell of a lot more than what reviewers are giving it. It is such a good game. The story is very good and there is a good chunk of gameplay in there despite what critics have said. At times it can be linear but is well worth the purchase to experience this amazing game. The story is like no other game and had me for the first time generally feeling sad in a video game, the fact that you can make choices and play through the game enables it to pull you in further than a movie ever could. BUY IT! Expand
  27. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    underestimate game ever! underestima underestimate game ever!te game ever! underestimate game ever! underestimate game ever! underestimate game ever! underestimate game ever!underestimate game ever!underestimate game ever!underestimate game ever!
  28. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Proof of a twisted media. While Call of Duty 10 will get rave reviews for its ingenuity of adding ten more maps and a "vault", this beautiful game gets slandered for not being interactive enough.

    Time was, a game was compared to its kin; you don't assault CoD for a lack of narrative and having too few cut scenes. When a gamer wants to experience a story, they choose a title that does
    so.

    While not without some minor flaws (I struggled with the camera on a few occasions), I found this tale to be a heartfelt one. Characters develop well, and there are some unforgettable moments. Don't pass this gem up; listen to the fans, not the bought out mainstream gaming media.
    Expand
  29. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Amazing story with amazing music in combination with fantastic graphics. Quantic Dream for one more time creates an epic title, who easily we can say that is "The Game of the Year".
  30. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Let me start by saying this game is not for everyone. This is not your normal action-adventure, it is more like a interactive movie. The story in this game is very rich and you follow Jodie Holmes through bad and good times. Many of the characters have good voice actors and the game is a great journey. The Graphics in this game are very good. It is probably one of best looking console game of this generation. In the end I really recommend this game. Expand
  31. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    By the makers if Heavy Rain, French developers Quantic Dream are at it again with another emotionally intense, action packed video game with great actors and an even better story line. Beyond follows the life of Jodie Holmes throughout fifteen years of her life, giving you the ability to dictate how it all plays out by allowing you to make important decisions in her life. Within the twenty-two different possible endings, I'm quite satisfied with the one I got, and trust me when I say that when you start playing, you won't want to stop. With a game that keeps you on the edge of your seat in suspense, there of course are flaws, but few. For starters, there isn't a whole lot of gameplay itself, but then again, David Cage's games aren't like that. They're story and decision based, so a game like this was expected. The other would be the predictability at some parts of the story, but it's an enjoyable predictability if I do say so myself. The last flaw can be taken as either a flaw or perfection; the inability to fail. When you make a mistake much like Heavy Rain, the story continues around that mistake, overall affecting your ending of the game. This however is a good way to keep you on your feet in places like Somalia when you're on a mission to take down a world leader. All in all, David Cage has evolved in story-telling and game experience, making this his best game to date. I will definitely be looking forward to future development of games and would recommend this game to everyone. Except COD players. I recommend crap to them. Expand
  32. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Special, amazing journey! Excellent characters! Fantastic graphics! Great story and gameplay! I love Ellen Page Surplus impossible game! Experience! THANK QUANTIC DREAM!
  33. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Everything about this game is beautiful! I can't remember the last time I didn't want to put the controller down. Quanticdream does an outstanding job of keeping the player interested in the story and the visuals are absolutely stunning. If you like Heavy Rain you will LOVE Beyond Two Souls!
  34. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the best and now it's my favorite. Seriously, everything is cool, but the best thing about the game is the emotion, the emotion! in a game you felt them for the last time? Yes, the game is not as brilliant as the heavy rain, but that does not mean that it is bad. This is the best game of the year, as well as compulsory acquisition for each owner of a PS3, and indeed every human inhabiting our planet Expand
  35. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Amazing experience,Awesome graphics, This game is fantastic! One of my favorite games this year. David Cage make a fantastic game, Just like heavy rain was and Indigo prophecy before it.
  36. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    No matter what everyone say, the game has made all my expectations true.
    Strong plot, amazing graphics, great actors!
    In my opinion, not everyone can understand this game as it.
    And it's a pity that there are so many negative reviews, I just don't get it...
  37. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    I played this game with my wife And It was a Very Nice experience! She sucks at video Gámes but enjoys watching me while i am playing! This is the very first time we have played And actually enjoyed together a video game! It is a unique journey And one of a kind game! Dont miss It, It will be remenber as the baby steps not just of a new way to see Gámes but to see entertainment as a whole
  38. Oct 18, 2013
    9
    Such a game with outstanding performance by ellen page and william defoe should be available on all platforms so that everyone tries this great game. The story and soundtracks are so good they cover for the gameplay, but this game and quantic dream just focus on the story. They want to give you a great story regardless of anything else. If you liked heavy rain get this. 9/10
  39. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Beyond Two Souls has great graphics and characters that you actually feel something for. I really enjoyed the feel of the game, like an interactive movie, and the way it plays with your feelings is pretty amazing. It's a really good game and it won't disappoint you.
  40. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Don't be fooled by some of the other reviews. Despite a few control/camera issues and occasionally bland backgrounds, this is a stunningly beautiful game. Much like The Last of Us, I consider this game to be Next Gen storytelling. I've given this game a 10/10 (and consciously ignored some minor faults) as it's one of the most amazing journeys I've had in the last 25 years of gaming. Play it through to the end. You won't be disappointed! P.S If you happen to have a nice surround sound set up in your home, you're in for a treat Amazing Expand
  41. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Quantic Dreams, Beyond Two Souls is a monumental step forward for the gaming industry. If there ever was an argument against those who claim a video game could never be a work of art, or to be dismissed as frivolous and undeserving of respect ..This is it. Buy it.
  42. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    I really enjoyed the story line of this game more than any game I can remember in recent history. I mean, I seriously cried at a few of the cut scenes. I actually wish I could go back and play it again for the first time because each new piece of the 'timeline' was just so enthralling for me and I couldn't wait to see what happened next... or before. Great game.
  43. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    Beyond Two Souls is an exceptional videogame. From a narrative standpoint, it really truly delivers upon David Cage's storytelling ambition. Past games like Heavy Rain have always had good intentions but have never been able to sustain coherence or quality through their playtimes. Beyond Two Souls, whilst definitely having the odd rocky moment (an occasional blip of stupidity here, a meaningless interlude there), manages to convince and hold the interest. This is partially due to the way in which the tension is ratcheted up during the final third. Oh yes, the climaxes in Beyond Two Souls are of the truly unforgettable style. It would, of course, be a gross disservice to not point out the excellent vocal performances of Ellen Paige and Willem Dafoe; they really sell their characters with expertise. But the supporting cast, most notably the unsung souls that portray Cole and Ryan also do a fantastic job. The graphical output of the game is impressive but not in a "these are the best graphics I've ever seen on PS3!" sort of way. It looks great but there are certainly PS3 games that look better (The Last of Us, for example). The art design is terrific at times. There's obviously a deep seated love of Sci-Fi at the root of the title and you can catch little visual cues from the likes of Alien, The Abyss, The Thing and many more. Gameplay and control wise, Beyond Two Souls can be a bit hit-or-miss. Earlier sequences in the game (particularly the montage and stealth training sequence) can border on the awful. Likewise, the general way that Jodie controls like a tank in a confined space doesn't help immersion much. However, later QTE fights prove to be excellent and exciting and the one section where you properly implement your stealth training is surprisingly fun. Overall, I came away from Beyond Two Souls with my mouth agape, my eyes brimming with tears and my body eager for another playthrough. Well done Quantic Dream! Excellent stuff indeed. Expand
  44. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    As soon as I completed this game I felt compelled to write a review so here I am. Put short beyond two souls is feaking amazing, the character development, the story, graphics, audio everything is top notch and so well done the game is nothing short of a masterpiece and quite easily my favourite game of this generation by quite a distance. Its hard to describe just how good this game is. Word of warning though this game is all about the story, so if stories arent your thing and your prefer open world games etc then look elsewhere Expand
  45. Dec 23, 2013
    9
    I tried, twice so far, to get into Heavy Rain, and it just didn't click with me. However, Beyond: Two Souls, was, imo, a fantastic ride. While the story did, at some points, go a bit too far out, even for me, I still enjoyed it immensely, and ontop of that the mocap, voice acting, lip sync, graphics, aesthetics, soundscape was all amazing. With regards to the story I would have liked it to be more coherent, but I guess it fits the story as broken and chaotic as it is, also that does give a break in the combat/action sequences. All in all this was a great game, or maybe rather experience, I cannot wait for the next quantic dream title for that hopefully is being made for PS4. This year saw me buy both a PS3 and a PS4 (previously exclusively PC gamer), definitely not regretting going with sony here, keep 'em comin'. Expand
  46. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    A game like GTA V gets relatively no articles nor low scores for its overrated story and violence which is more closer to reality then this game or any other. Yet Beyond Two Souls gets mentioned in an article for its violence and then reviewed poorly. Media is killing the real art as we know it. Yeah it doesn't have much gameplay as you would expect..it plays more like a shooting arcade/gallery game (think Virtual Cop or House of the dead), with bits of walking, but its the story and characters that matter most. There is interaction which classifies it as a game and I for one love it and highly recommend it to anyone who appreciates great storytelling and compelling characters. The highlights were the charming Ellen Page, acting veteran Willem Dafoe and of course Aiden especially. Beautiful graphics that make the PS3 still shine and wonderful moments of human perseverance. Expand
  47. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    A daring epic. David Cage goes where no creative game director has ever dared to go. Beyond: Two Souls is a game unlike any other. A crowning masterpiece in storytelling, writing and performance. This is surely Ellen Page's greatest performance yet, an outstanding performance. Willem Dafoe also gives spectacular performance, giving it his best in every scene. Beyond: Two Souls is one hell of a journey, crazy, emotional, unbelievable, unpredictable journey. And surprisingly, it ends as if there might be potential for a sequel??? Hmm. Imagine the possibilities of what could happen next. If you have a PS3, Beyond: Two Souls is an amazing game (that feels like it's even more than that) that should definitely not be missed. An incredible and, once again, daring, step forward for the evolution of storytelling in video games. Bravo, David Cage, bravo. Oh, and I think I've fallen in love with Ellen Page... I'm pretty sure David expected that to happen. Thanks for that. Expand
  48. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Very emotional game. I have a best experience with interractive movie with my friends. Estimates stupid and listen to the opinions of others, instead of his an idiotic action.
  49. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    I knew this one is definitly not a game for everyone.

    The graphics are just beautiful, the acting is pretty good and the story is exciting. I watched myself playing this game for 6 hours non-stop because the rememberable moments just didn't stop coming. It's a extremely immersive adventure well... if you're into those kinda emotional stories. There's little action and the controls are
    original and not more than unusual but very, very far from "unplayable" like some people are suggesting.

    Like Heavy Rain and The Walking Dead Beyond: Two Souls has little gameplay, but great, emotional storytelling. And in the end of the day... not everyone just loves to enjoy a good story with an original way of playing rather than having powerful, actionpacked gameplay with familiar controls.
    Expand
  50. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    You can not go into this game expecting any other sort of game. This is not a game about combat, and sandbox features. This is a purely story driven game.
    Don't judge Mario for the story, Don't judge Call of Duty for historical accuracy, Don't judge this game because it's unlike others.
  51. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    I almost didn't buy this game because of the mixed reviews- but did it based on Heavy Rain, which also was received in a similar fashion. I'm glad I did. This is not a perfect game by any means and probably many COD fans (for instance) will hate it. But it's extremely unique, and the production values are stellar. The story was surprising for me, and once I got used to the fragmented way it was told, I thought it was strong.

    The characters are very likeable- which is a huge plus to me- and as everyone has said, performances are top notch.

    Some will not like this because it isn't a conventional video game- but then I have never had any interest in GTA or COD, so I suppose one video game type doesn't suit us all. We're pretty lucky to live in a world where Beyond can get made. I hope they're rewarded for taking a chance.
    Expand
  52. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    This is really amazing game. Starting form technical side Quantic Dream brought to us next-gen game, on current-gen console. Graphics, physics and particle effects are amazing and all this things in stable 30 FPS. Magnificent. Gameplay is also great, but for me the fight sequences are not as natural in controling as they should be(but still they, are really good), also using Aiden is really nice.
    And here we came to story, by cutting it into parts and show us them as not chronologically it should be, only maked this game better. It makes us more interested into some plots than it normally would does.
    Only scratch on this game is that mostly our choices really don't make a difference in story going on but still story is great, and it leaves a lot of space for sequel, hopefully on PS4(maybe PS5 expierence on PS4, just as PS4 expierence on PS3 via this game ).
    I want to say THANK YOU to all people involved in process of making this great game! Once again THANK YOU!
    Expand
  53. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Brings Gaming to a whole new level as a story telling medium. The acting/ mocap and realism of the characters and level of detail that went through to making this game is astounding. Not to mention the graphics are the best on consoles to date.
  54. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Captivating. This game is everything The Walking Dead by Felltale Games tried to be. Beautiful in every aspect acting, story, graphically, and lives to tell a story. The flaws presented in this game are flaws that The Walking Dead shared, but people ignored. I am willing to ignore the flaws due to the minor fact that my choices had some impact, unlike they did in The Walking Dead.
  55. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Game of the Year for me. Ellen Page and William Dafoe were transcendent. Quantic Dream have done the impossible. The game made me sad (many of times), laugh, and nervous. I have never felt that kind of emotion from a video game. Thank you for the amazing experience and thank you Playstation for keeping TRUE storytelling in gaming alive. These types of games make the Playstation ecosystem the special place that it is to play games. The graphics and the gameplay were fantastic and people that are complaining about the gameplay need to go back to their shooters. This type of experience is for a mature audience that can handle narrative without a gun. I really am lost for words. All i can say is Thank You and please SONY, lets think about adding QD as a first party. Expand
  56. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    The animation quality in this game is astounding and it kept that level of quality through the entire game. It also used the hardware it was given to its best extent and even with the PS3 the graphics looked impressive. The concept of the story is interesting and the performance of the people like Ellen Page and Willem Dafoe makes it memorable.

    The game got weaknesses like any other
    game and in this case the gameplay could sometimes feel lackluster and i found myself throughout the game wishing that i could have some input on the otherwise great dialogue. The game sometimes forgot that the player is important and went its own way but it did always return to give some agency to the player Expand
  57. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    I am amazed at the low "professional" reviewers score! This is a fantastic game with a excellent story. It actually choked me up a few times. A horrible, vile game like GTA5 (5th sequel here) gets almost perfect scores but a original game like this gets blasted; what a travesty.
  58. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    After each hour spent on this game, I get different emotions, sometimes it's sadness, joy, loneliness, despair.
    Project is unique, but not for everyone.
    The actors are great, good story, good music, graphics and design are lovely. ambitious project.
  59. Oct 22, 2013
    9
    People still don't know how to rate this game properly because simply a new Genre.
    It is an INTERACTIVE MOVIE...and therefore any rating should be given relays heavily on the story.
    That's another problem, because each person has a different taste in movies.

    So basically I gave it a 9 based on my taste in movies and though there are some cliches...I still mostly enjoyed the story
    really much...

    Looking forward to part 2 if any!!
    Expand
  60. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Beyond: Two Souls is an epic game that tells an awesome story. The game has the best graphics of this console generation, the acting is great, the plot too. If you are a movie fan and you don't mind the Heavy Rain type of gameplay with more things to do (like stealth runs or controlling a vehicle), you just have to buy this game! You won't regret this.
  61. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    I know graphics isn't the only thing we judge a game on, but you can't ignore the fact that Beyond has from the most beautiful graphics any PS3 game has produced. Although I did feel that the game lagged in places, that the camera angles were weird at times and the story was all over the place at certain spots. I still loved this game. The action sequences to me felt great, and found that moving the joystick work perfect. When it tried to be Heavy Rain, it was awesome.. but when it tried to be mainstream game, it fell flat. And like many have said, the quieter moments were the most impactful and they will never be forgotten. Well done David Cage and Quantic Dream for a real and unique experience in gaming. Expand
  62. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Wow, what a brilliant game. I'm surprised they were able to make this game looks this good on this really old hardware. The graphics and animations were top-notch. The story was emotionally gripping and beautifully written. Ellen Page & William Dafoe did a fantastic job doing the motion captures & voices for their characters. Quantic Dream developed an innovative & unique experience that you will never see anywhere else. It is refreshing to see a game like this being released in an era full of shooters. If you're a fan of great story-telling, I highly recommend this game. It's one of my favourites of all-time now. Definitely a GOTY contender. Expand
  63. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Amazing! Just simply amazing! This game is amazing from start to finish with only a couple of bumps in the road. Quantic Dream has done it again and brought fourth a revolutionary game.
  64. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    Excellent acting by Ellen Page, Willem Defoe and other main characters were good, minor characters weren’t as good, but I feel like Ellen Page's performance really helped sell the game and I would say she probably has one of the best performances in any video game so far. The story is interesting with paranormal and some sci fi element, though the nonsequential story doesn’t really help in all instances. It feels all over the place, especially with there being smaller plots that don’t all have something to do with each other. The Navajo storyline, for the most part, seems like it has little to do with the rest of the game. Another complaint is that the game feels slow at times. I do like Jodie’s character, it’s more believable than Lara Croft. They train Jodie, which explains why she can take on bigger guys during the fight sequences. And because I can make the choices for her, she’s not going to be dumb and run back to a guy who manipulated her. The controls are better than Heavy Rain but still janky with lots of QTEs. Don’t like the combat because it's hard to tell which direction to press at times. Puzzles are very simple, and because there are few things to interact with, there isn’t much challenge to the puzzles. No way to lose. Rather than choices resulting to different consequences, the choices just customize the story. The Somalia level was really well designed. Really great looking faces. Animations are also really good. Walk animations and body language, though the walking gets in the way of the gameplay. Overall I feel like the game really sold it because of Ellen Page and the story was interesting to me. This is not a game for everyone. If gameplay is important to you, this might not be the game for you. I don't want to call this a movie because the interaction helps sell the immersion. I really enjoyed this game. Expand
  65. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Beyond: Two Souls is genuinely an unforgettable experience in turns of telling a beautifully crafted story and an emotionally intrigued gameplay interaction with both Jodie and Aiden. The variety of choices you engage through the journey really brings the characters and environments to life, and Quantic Dream did a phenomenal job in leading my senses connected with these choices throughout the entire game from start to finish! I just cannot recommend this game enough to anyone who's looking for a unique gaming experience, not the usual triple A title you often see or hear from media or game critiques alike. I also really look forward to the next IP the team will be bring to us for the PS4. Thank you again for making such a great game along with Heavy Rain and Indigo Prophecy. Expand
  66. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Honestly, I do not understand the validity of the claims of Western and domestic media to Beyond: Two souls. David Cage's work can not be called a masterpiece or some breakthrough in the field of interactive cinema or games such as Heavy Rain, Fahrenheit. But to call any consumer goods or second-class game do not dare In fact, for me it is an example of a great movie which we did not spare money in the movie, and make us think about some of the eternal themes that we care about Many players and journalists throw feces in the game for that alleged in the game and the gameplay is a soap Kintz To some extent they are right, you do not include it has no gameplay It's really a movie, but marked as interactive And this interactivity allows us to find yourself in the shoes of the main characters Jodie and Aiden and to feel more deeply the relationship between them. The plot is the same in my opinion, is gorgeous, and nothing does not yield the stories of "The last of us" and "Bioshock". He constantly keeps the tension and makes us empathize with the main characters One of the biggest drawbacks is the way of the narrative of the plot the constant movement in time that does not allow us to focus on a character in a specific period of time and to some extent it takes away from the perception of the story. As for the guest stars they do not knowingly eat their own bread. Ellen Page is really a talented actress, despite her antics And Willem Dafoe I think generally no one should doubt This product is not a good or bad ending, there is only a choice, and that choice can sometimes be the most important decision of your life. Expand
  67. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Words can't describe how amazing this game is. If you ever played heavy rain or the walking dead by telltale and you enjoyed how the gameplay was then go where ever you buy your games and go pick this baby up you wont regret it.
  68. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    I'm a huge fan of novels, interactive or otherwise. This game reminds me a lot of a novel. It's action packed enough to be a movie, but the plot is well thought out, the characters evolve throughout the story and I really felt involved with what was happening to the protagonist, which are characteristics generally associated with novels and not movies.

    I would recommend this game to
    anyone that wants to be involved in a story, especially to those that enjoyed other Quantic Dream titles such as Heavy Rain or Fahrenheit. I would not recommend this game to anyone that just wants to shoot bullets and kill bad guys, or is the type of player that clicks past reading all the quests. This game really wouldn't appeal to that audience.

    The only critique I have of it is that the controls for Jodie are not intuitive, it is often hard to tell which direction the game wants you to press. She'll dodge left, so you press left, only to find that the game actually wanted you to press down. An easy solution to that problem is just to play the game on easy mode though, which actually gives you visual arrows to show which direction you should press.
    Expand
  69. dtl
    Oct 10, 2013
    10
    I have never before played a game like this, but it was great. It is an excellent character-driven game. (Yes, it is a game.) As such, if you don't care about the character Jodie, you really won't like the game. Luckily, Jodie is a very good character, and Ellen Page does an excellent job as her voice. I am much more interested in seeing some of her work after playing this game.

    I've
    never been a fan of quick-time events, but they work reasonably well here. I thought the action scenes were reasonably well designed, and enjoyed the actual gameplay, whether controlling Aiden or Jodie. I had enough control that I could never simply disengage from the act of controlling the game, which is one of the worries a person might reasonably have in such a game.

    This is one of the two best games I've played on the PS3, along with The Last of Us, and one of the best I've ever played.
    Expand
  70. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Beyond Two Souls is the best way for Sony to end the Playstation 3 era, this is not a video game it is an experience...an experience any gamer,movie or tv lover HAS to experience. Quantic Dream are one of the only company's to make me feel emotion through out their productions, be it anger, sadness happiness and its consistently on par with the protagonist emotion. The ending is brilliant and as always once the credits roll you immediately are overwhelmed with satisfaction in your purchase of their product.But also you should expect the ending and characters to linger in your thoughts for weeks to come.One word....Perfect 10/10! Expand
  71. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    And again I have any problems when I play, no, when I enjoy this amazing interactive movie. It's the greatest way for spending your evening. Please, don't listen anybody and play it!)
  72. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Awesome graphics, beautiful gameplay, maybe a interactive novel, excellent characters great history you can felt joy, suffer and felt scary with the protagonist,
    good work for Quantic dream
  73. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    A better experience than Heavy Rain. Not a typical game, If you enjoyed Heavy Rain then consider this Heavy Rain 5.0. Some people just don't get it, it is an interactive movie. I know I am enjoying it. All I am saying is that these 40-100 review scores ranges should tell you that it is "different". If you want something different try this game.
  74. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Awesome Graphics. Intense Story. Epic Characters. This was like a Tv Series in A Game, which i normally dont like, but this Game is Amazing. This is in the same league as The Last Of Us..
  75. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Excellent characters, great history, good graphics! Awesome emotions!
    All what we love in Quantic Dream.
    David Cage excelent work. Not stop on this. Do what it does best!
  76. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    It's just outstanding. There are no words to describe how i feel playing as Jodie,I expected next Heavy Rain but I got something much better. It's a kind of game that you like it or not and I definitely like it. Thank You David Cage!
  77. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Giving it 0 to 4 is just plain rude or braindead. And calling it cliche is weird. This game sure has some haters, don't know if its lack of knowledge about what kind of game it is or they have to constantly touch their joysticks, no pun intended. The People that rate it 0-4 you suck. And stop Hating with sentences like: The gameplay is linear, its Like watching a Movie, the graphics are outdated, i dont Like willem dafoe. You are like little picky kids Expand
  78. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    From its hyper realistic sweat pores to its startlingly beautiful soundtrack, Beyond is an experience you do not want to pass up. For starters, on the debate for is this a video game, I'd like to point out that video games has become a wide varied genre. Is this included? To put it simply, yes. Don't believe me? Well. For all the people reviewing the game, who then call it not a game, but critique its GAMEplay. Think.
    Now for my opinion. This game is a masterpiece, flawed slightly but nonetheless something unique. The best description for it is it isn't a 'gamers game'. By that I mean, its not for those who love their shoot em ups, driving games or sandbox type ones. I do enjoy those games, but I'm heavily open minded. Beyond is described as an interactive story, and it is, but games have been interactive stories for near a decade now. The Last of Us. Tomb Raider. Bioshock Infinite. Story is a driving force in the gaming world now and Beyond doesn't disappoint. Its tragic, its warm, cold, funny, heartbreaking, terrifying. Its throws emotions at you and your helpless but to feel. This is only strengthened by the acting capabilities of all the characters in the game, in particularly Ellen Page as Jodie Holmes. Ellen breathes life into this game, and it isn't hard to believe she was nominated for an Oscar. As for gameplay, the only trouble I had was with a dodgy camera angle, otherwise its simple, fun and taken time with, exhilarating. But like I said, this game wont appeal to everyone.
    Honestly though, buy it. Whether you like the look of it or don't, its an experience that will have you talking no matter what.
    A final gem for the PS3, an easy ten out of ten.
    Expand
  79. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Games as i think it is great. I loved heavy rain and i love this game too. Voice acting is fantastic probably best grapichs on ps3 right now. Games choices really good i loved making choices in video games. Everyone who liked heavy rain should at least try this one.
  80. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Emotions of the character played are felt in almost every scene, which is a hard thing to accomplish in a game or a move.
    Unique setting and story, amazing graphics and memorable characters make the journey unforgettable.
    Not everyone plays fps or car games, not everyone should play beyond. It's really hard to explain what some people scoring low were expecting getting this quantic dream game.
  81. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    I really liked it alot. This generations best animated sequences of QTE´s and while i hate QTE i troughly enojoyed them alot more than anything else prior to this title involving those mechanics. If you like stories. your gonna love this one, and it helps alot to go trough someones life from the age of 8 23.
  82. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Wow this is an amazing game. Do not listen to narrow minded people who only play COD and don;t know what story is.
    The time flies so fast when you play this game. Amazing graphics makes it even more interesting.
  83. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. The best looking console game (graphically) to date, top notch acting, writing, cinematography and music.

    So many complaints that "this is not a game," I actually love that it strays so far from generic and traditional game play. Its not as if there is a shortage of other games out there....For me it was an engrossing, breathtaking twelve hour cinematic
    experience. I don't care if you call it a movie, a game or an interactive visual novel. I loved it every bit as much and in a completely different manner than I did The Last of Us, GTA V and Bioshock Infinite, which were my other favorite games this year.

    One criticism that I hesitate to acknowledge is that this game could have been watched on YouTube for free, so it was a waste of $60. That is a valid point, but that does not take away from the game, it simply points our a major benefit of YouTube for cheap gamers. Though on YouTube you would lose out on the decision making, which kept me intrigued to learn how the consequences of my actions played out.

    Loved the game, it was a unique experience on par with and even exceeding at times Quantic Dream's previous works. Give it a try, there is no reason to hate something because it is different.
    Expand
  84. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    One of the best i've ever played. After starting the game, I was not able to stop playing. Non-linearity of the story is the only drawback, but the change of time and place of action is rare, but the story itself touches from the beginning and does not let go until the end.
  85. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    PROS Great game flow, even if you make a couple of mistakes, it will allow you to continue with the story. I found that you had to perform the sequences perfectly in "Heavy Rain" which got frustrating at times and affected the pace/feel of the game.
    Great Graphics and the performances being done by actors made the game more rich and intense.
    Even a great game for someone to spectate,
    and discuss with. (IE my wife)

    Cons At times, very confusing and frustrating camera controls you want to look around the world, but you cannot at times.

    Overall, it was a very good experience, and I look forward to trying different scenarios to see how the game will adapt to decision making.
    Expand
  86. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    Still not done with the game but I can definitely say IGN's review was not good I usually go to them for my reviews, I play regardless what score they give a game but I like to go to them because I relate to alot of what they say...except this review. Its a beautiful game graphics wise, while the gameplay is nothing hugely innovating....to say it is lackluster is silly. Controlling both aiden and jodie is pretty awesome and the story is outstanding. I am giving it a 9 because it is almost perfect. They could have done more with the aiden gameplay, it seems like for the most part you either flick both thumbsticks up and down, or left and right...Maybe that will change as I continue my journey but I dont think so. Besides for that...this game is flawless. Its not meant to be a gameplay changer, but it is without a doubt a cinematic changer for games. This is a movie/video game that should not be missed by anybody. 9/10 without a doubt. Expand
  87. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Awesome graphics, beautiful gameplay, maybe a interactive novel, excellent characters great history you can felt joy, suffer and felt scary with the protagonist,
    good work for Quantic dream
  88. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    For someone who has always liked story and graphics or revolutionary mechanics, I thoroughly enjoyed B2S. I never really noticed bad writing throughout the play through and the acting and mo capping was well done. My only problem with the game was that in one section the game was too dark to see where you were going (brightening the screen and using Aiden fixed that), and sometimes the direction quicktime events were a little unclear. Highly recommend it if you are big into story, graphics, and Ellen Page. Expand
  89. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    As always, quantic dream shows theirs best in this totally unique genre. Since Indigo Prophecy, I've waited so long for something similar, but nothing except Heavy Rain could relief the pain, and now, playing Beyond: Two Souls, I can declare, that this game is mind blowing.
  90. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Such a beautiful game both visually and story wise. If you enjoyed Fahrenheit (Indigo Prophecy) and Heavy Rain, then Beyond: Two Souls will blow you away. Quantic Dream never fails to deliver. I can't wait for their next masterpiece.

    Amazing acting by Ellen Page and Willem Dafoe. Great supporting cast. Good to see David Gasman back in another Quantic Dream game. Kadeem Hardison did an
    outstanding job as Cole. One of my favorite characters. Do yourself a favor and get a copy of this game. You won't regret it. Expand
  91. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    after some low scores i went with a down expectations the game is great its one of the best games i played this year just kept me hook if you like good history you will enjoy this
  92. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    beyond two souls go above and BEYOND ha what should have been expected. with a near perfect blend of game play and story telling it was near impossible for me to put down the controller. with a story that grips at your heart and makes you only want the best for young confused Jody. what little problems i had with the game where just that...little. some buggy mechanics hear and there and the controls could have used some fine tweaking but nothing nearly bad enough to make me sing anything but the highest praises. i strongly suggest buying this game if you love a good story. as far as games go this is a work of art. Expand
  93. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing story. I was worried at first because of some of the hate that some reviewers put out, but I can see now that they either don't like story games (which it was heavily advertised as) or they are bitter that its ps3 exclusive (I actually borrowed a friend's ps3 just to play it).

    The visuals are stunning, the story really drew me in, and most importantly, I cared about
    all the characters. The game sucks you in and leaves you wondering what Jodie could possibly face next, and how it all ties in to the bigger picture. Thats another thing. The story plays out almost in Cloud Atlas fashion, jumping around in different portions of Jodie's life, until a unified theme with a strong message is clear at the end, where all of your choices add up.

    All in all, an amazing game and a must play if you have a ps3 (or in my case, if you don't). Owning this game is like owning a piece of art.
    Expand
  94. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    The math here is simple: if you liked Heavy Rain and/or Indigo Prophecy, you gonna love Beyond Two Souls. If you didn't like Indigo Prophecy and/or Heavy Rain, you have a great chance to dislike Beyond Two Souls. And that's it. It's not a typical game, it's not for everyone, the gameplay is very simple, almost like a interactive movie, but the game grabs you with its great story telling and awesome graphics as well. Playing the demo version just gives you a glimpse of what Beyond has to offer. If you're in for a great story and wants to get emotional with it, do your self a favor and play Beyond Two Souls. Expand
  95. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Amazing graphics, gameplay, history and excellent characters. One of the best games of the year and one of the greatest games of ps3, I really do not understand the low notes that some sites are giving this game.
  96. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    This game may not have the worlds most solid gameplay, and sometimes it feels forced, but the story was so compelling I couldn't put it down and when the end came I was sad that it had come to a close, my ending was so satisfying, if i could forget it all and go through it again I would without question, for me films and games have become more and more about the story and this just reinforces my opinion that games are pushing forward in this field. In all, I loved Beyond: Two Souls and never want to forget how much of a success it was to me, it makes me wish my opinion mattered more to people outside my circle of friends, because nobody should miss out on this story. It saddens me to hear people criticize Cages writing for this. Its by no means perfect, but it was, in my eyes at least, beautiful, and I'm so grateful I've been able to experience it, thank you Quantic Dream, sincerely. Expand
  97. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    AWESOME GAME. the graphics are STUNNING and the gameplay can be emotional. It is very well thought and you could choose to lead your own path by choosing the options that they give you.
  98. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Awesome graphics, beautiful gameplay, maybe a interactive novel, excellent characters great history you can felt joy, suffer and felt scary with the protagonist,
    good work for Quantic dream
  99. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    A daring epic. David Cage goes where no creative game director has ever dared to go. Beyond: Two Souls is a game unlike any other. A great game with a share of drama and a touch of mysticism
  100. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Unique game, great story, great actors, music, voice all at the highest level. The story really touched. Characters are native. It was hard to say goodbye to it. Thank you, Quantic Dream
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 98
  2. Negative: 8 out of 98
  1. Dec 28, 2013
    50
    There doesn't ever seem to be any real impact of the player's decisions, actions or failures. [Jan 2014, p.76]
  2. Dec 12, 2013
    40
    Beyond: Two Souls is a capital failure as both a story and as a game. The adventure plays itself and the player is left to push the right buttons in the right order. The story you are rewarded with is a mess of odd writing and poor directing choices from a game creator that obviously wants to create great art but seems to be incapable of doing so. Even fans of Fahrenheit and Heavy Rain should prepare for what is unfortunately a monumental disappointment.
  3. Nov 24, 2013
    88
    A story every Playstation owner should experience.