• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 8, 2013
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2431 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    One of the best games of the year for sure. If you're even mildly interested in this game I strongly recommend that you pick up a copy. I'm about three quarters of the way through and I just don't want to put it down. There's a lot of replay ability as well because of the co-op mode. Amazing game!
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Too many trolls making an account just to review this game and give it a 0.
    Why would you review a game you haven't played or probably will never play if you know what i mean.
    Overall if you enjoyed Heavy Rain,this game is a must by. It has excellent sountracks like HR and the graphics are top notch.i dn't want to spoil the story but it has lots of endings.This game wasn't made for
    Too many trolls making an account just to review this game and give it a 0.
    Why would you review a game you haven't played or probably will never play if you know what i mean.
    Overall if you enjoyed Heavy Rain,this game is a must by. It has excellent sountracks like HR and the graphics are top notch.i dn't want to spoil the story but it has lots of endings.This game wasn't made for everyone in the end,so if you dn't like it then dn't buy it from the beginning
    Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    This is the new way to tell a story in the future. Videogames aren't only FPS and action, videogames are the new way to create profound content. Beyond Two Souls is magnificent.
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    A great game with a share of drama and a touch of mysticism. The gameplay is very interesting from the point of view of interaction between two characters,the game itself has a number of ways of development of the plot,natural variability, not so many as in heavy Rain,but it does not make the game worse.In conclusion to all I want to say that the game was a success and I don't understandA great game with a share of drama and a touch of mysticism. The gameplay is very interesting from the point of view of interaction between two characters,the game itself has a number of ways of development of the plot,natural variability, not so many as in heavy Rain,but it does not make the game worse.In conclusion to all I want to say that the game was a success and I don't understand who she might not like it one of the best games of the year 10/10 Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    Awesome story, graphics, acting, and soundtrack. A trully nice experience which will make you think of all the journey you have been through while playing the game. Few games have such a capacity to move the player; and this is one of them
  6. Oct 18, 2013
    9
    Wow this game is absolutely amazing. This isn't a typical game, its an interactive movie/game in the same category as heavy rain. The graphics are beautiful minus an occasional texture pop ins and outs. The voice acting is great thanks to Ellen page and Willem Defoe bringing their A game. The story is engaging and it kept my interest the entire time. This is true originality when it comesWow this game is absolutely amazing. This isn't a typical game, its an interactive movie/game in the same category as heavy rain. The graphics are beautiful minus an occasional texture pop ins and outs. The voice acting is great thanks to Ellen page and Willem Defoe bringing their A game. The story is engaging and it kept my interest the entire time. This is true originality when it comes to games. Something that's been lacking these days when all companies want to do is push out half assed sequels to mediocre fps or sports games. This game is a definite must buy if you love heavy rain or just want to experience something fresh and wonderful with a good narrative and character's Expand
  7. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    I really enjoyed the story line of this game more than any game I can remember in recent history. I mean, I seriously cried at a few of the cut scenes. I actually wish I could go back and play it again for the first time because each new piece of the 'timeline' was just so enthralling for me and I couldn't wait to see what happened next... or before. Great game.
  8. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. L'ho appena finito e lo trovo un titolo unico e originale! graficamente strabiliante.. anche se in certi punti negli scenari si vede la differenza con i personaggi ancora meglio definiti. Il sonoro di Zimer.. e questo nome dice tutto! la storia l'ho trovata stupenda. di rado di mi capita di emozionarmi e commuovere, e questo gioco c'è riuscito in molti punti. Il gameplay più sciolto e i quake time sono meglio caratterizzati rispetto a Heavy Rain, e questo gioco a mio parere un gradino sopra al precedente titolo Quantic Dream! con questo concludo con un 10 pieno.. per uno dei giochi più originale e toccanti degli ultimi anni! Expand
  9. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Giving it 0 to 4 is just plain rude or braindead. And calling it cliche is weird. This game sure has some haters, don't know if its lack of knowledge about what kind of game it is or they have to constantly touch their joysticks, no pun intended. The People that rate it 0-4 you suck. And stop Hating with sentences like: The gameplay is linear, its Like watching a Movie, the graphics areGiving it 0 to 4 is just plain rude or braindead. And calling it cliche is weird. This game sure has some haters, don't know if its lack of knowledge about what kind of game it is or they have to constantly touch their joysticks, no pun intended. The People that rate it 0-4 you suck. And stop Hating with sentences like: The gameplay is linear, its Like watching a Movie, the graphics are outdated, i dont Like willem dafoe. You are like little picky kids Expand
  10. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Das Spiel ist einfach klasse! Emotional und mitreißend! Dazu eine wunderbare PS3 Grafik wohl mit abstand das schönste PS3 Spiel. Die Spielzeit ist in ordnung habe ca 12-14 Stunden gebracht,
    Musikalisch klasse.

    Bin sehr zufrieden und danke QD für dieses Meisterwerk.
    Expand
  11. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Wow, what a brilliant game. I'm surprised they were able to make this game looks this good on this really old hardware. The graphics and animations were top-notch. The story was emotionally gripping and beautifully written. Ellen Page & William Dafoe did a fantastic job doing the motion captures & voices for their characters. Quantic Dream developed an innovative & unique experience thatWow, what a brilliant game. I'm surprised they were able to make this game looks this good on this really old hardware. The graphics and animations were top-notch. The story was emotionally gripping and beautifully written. Ellen Page & William Dafoe did a fantastic job doing the motion captures & voices for their characters. Quantic Dream developed an innovative & unique experience that you will never see anywhere else. It is refreshing to see a game like this being released in an era full of shooters. If you're a fan of great story-telling, I highly recommend this game. It's one of my favourites of all-time now. Definitely a GOTY contender. Expand
  12. WEL
    Oct 12, 2013
    9
    I thought the story-telling was very clever and interesting because by making it like this it was near impossible to predict. It was very easy to mix the drama with the action without it feeling forced like in 90% of video games where the need for the repetitive gameplay is constantly getting in the way. It was like a puzzle that kept you wondering "what is going on?" but that by the endI thought the story-telling was very clever and interesting because by making it like this it was near impossible to predict. It was very easy to mix the drama with the action without it feeling forced like in 90% of video games where the need for the repetitive gameplay is constantly getting in the way. It was like a puzzle that kept you wondering "what is going on?" but that by the end everything would fall into place.

    But of-course I knew people would hate it though since many don't seem to be able to let go of the traditional and see things with a more open mind. To me the game was fantastic. More like an art that people don't want to appreciate because of their pre-conceptions of what a video game should be. But at the end this game is not about gameplay or skill but about an experience that can't be replicated by a movie or book even with its many cliches and awkward writing.
    Expand
  13. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Play the game before you read anything. It is beautiful. This has to be 150 characters so I am just going to add stuff here but seriously, dont read anything to spoil this beautiful story about life.
  14. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing game I'm shocked by some of the review scores. I honestly feel like it was penalised for not fitting the CoD mold.

    If you have played any of Quantic Dream's games you'll know you'll love this if you haven't, it's not a shooter and it's not a standard adventure game. There is plenty of gameplay though and an amazing story that's incredibly well presented. My one
    Absolutely amazing game I'm shocked by some of the review scores. I honestly feel like it was penalised for not fitting the CoD mold.

    If you have played any of Quantic Dream's games you'll know you'll love this if you haven't, it's not a shooter and it's not a standard adventure game. There is plenty of gameplay though and an amazing story that's incredibly well presented.

    My one warning would be that if you cannot stand QTE's (though I thought they were well done in this) there are a lot.
    Expand
  15. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    +Beautiful graphics/audio
    +Amazing story and storytelling
    +Great and lovable main character -Controls are somewhat unresponsive good thing you don't actually play much :P) -I had some machine lag that never happened before -Continuity between scenes are bad (facial expressions changing in a weird way, characters warping around) -Some minor graphical bugs -Your decisions does not
    +Beautiful graphics/audio
    +Amazing story and storytelling
    +Great and lovable main character

    -Controls are somewhat unresponsive good thing you don't actually play much :P)
    -I had some machine lag that never happened before
    -Continuity between scenes are bad (facial expressions changing in a weird way, characters warping around)
    -Some minor graphical bugs
    -Your decisions does not have a impact as they did in heavy rain

    It might look unfair to give this game a 9 based on these pros and cons, but honestly the experince was incredible. I enjoyed every second of it.(except 2 minutes while I was restarting my PS3 because the game crashed). I would give this game a 10 if I haven't played the Last of Us and seen how amazing acting voicing and storytelling was.
    If you don't like story driven, interactive movie type games, you should stay away from it. Gameplay is not good at all. But if you do, you will have an amazing experience.
    Thank you quantic dream for this game.
    Expand
  16. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    I the game perfect? no, is Heavy Rain better? probably, but to compare the too is like comparing apples with tomatoes, their both fruits and are both red but they are completely different things, if you own a ps3 then you'd be doing your self a disservice by not playing this game, dont listen to the reviews, especially ign's, considering those are the same guys that give cod 9s & 10s THISI the game perfect? no, is Heavy Rain better? probably, but to compare the too is like comparing apples with tomatoes, their both fruits and are both red but they are completely different things, if you own a ps3 then you'd be doing your self a disservice by not playing this game, dont listen to the reviews, especially ign's, considering those are the same guys that give cod 9s & 10s THIS IS NOT A MOVIE, IS THIS ANY LESS OF A GAME THAN CoD or ANGRY BIRDS or TELLTALE'S THE WALKING DEAD. Expand
  17. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    An absolutely incredibly cinematic gaming experience. Beyond: Two Souls boasts a rare quality of storytelling and engaging characters that we don't see in a lot of games today. If you thought Heavy Rain was the future of Gaming then Beyond: Two Souls is what you've been waiting for. And, like less radical and more rational consumers, if you felt Heavy Rain married cinema and gaming in aAn absolutely incredibly cinematic gaming experience. Beyond: Two Souls boasts a rare quality of storytelling and engaging characters that we don't see in a lot of games today. If you thought Heavy Rain was the future of Gaming then Beyond: Two Souls is what you've been waiting for. And, like less radical and more rational consumers, if you felt Heavy Rain married cinema and gaming in a crescendo of evocative storytelling then Beyond: Two Souls will show you a new light a brighter light. I loved this game. I'll play it again and again. Expand
  18. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    awesome graphics, awesome story
    this must be game of the year 2013
    + GOTY 2013 "Mbahmu" version
    + GOTY 2013 "Bapakmu" version
    + GOTY 2013 "Mamakmu" version
    + GOTY 2013 "Ndasmu" version
    + GOTY 2013 "Matamu" version
    + GOTY 2013 "Mulutmu" version
    + GOTY 2013 "Gundulmu" version
    + GOTY 2013 "Mukamu" version
  19. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    A game like GTA V gets relatively no articles nor low scores for its overrated story and violence which is more closer to reality then this game or any other. Yet Beyond Two Souls gets mentioned in an article for its violence and then reviewed poorly. Media is killing the real art as we know it. Yeah it doesn't have much gameplay as you would expect..it plays more like a shootingA game like GTA V gets relatively no articles nor low scores for its overrated story and violence which is more closer to reality then this game or any other. Yet Beyond Two Souls gets mentioned in an article for its violence and then reviewed poorly. Media is killing the real art as we know it. Yeah it doesn't have much gameplay as you would expect..it plays more like a shooting arcade/gallery game (think Virtual Cop or House of the dead), with bits of walking, but its the story and characters that matter most. There is interaction which classifies it as a game and I for one love it and highly recommend it to anyone who appreciates great storytelling and compelling characters. The highlights were the charming Ellen Page, acting veteran Willem Dafoe and of course Aiden especially. Beautiful graphics that make the PS3 still shine and wonderful moments of human perseverance. Expand
  20. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Video games as art? This is stunning and definitive proof.

    This game moved me. I've never experienced anything on PC or consoles that evoked the spectrum of emotions 'Beyond' did. Nothing even comes close. The AAA graphics, the story, Ellen Page's brilliant acting, the musical score and the story were all put together in a way that no other game has ever managed, nor likely even
    Video games as art? This is stunning and definitive proof.

    This game moved me. I've never experienced anything on PC or consoles that evoked the spectrum of emotions 'Beyond' did. Nothing even comes close. The AAA graphics, the story, Ellen Page's brilliant acting, the musical score and the story were all put together in a way that no other game has ever managed, nor likely even attempted.

    Having experienced (and enjoyed) Quantic Dream's Heavy Rain from 2010, I knew what to expect from 'Beyond' in terms of gameplay. I knew it wasn't going to be a frenetic button masher or an adventure game like Uncharted or Tomb Raider. Heavy Rain was, when you get down to it, merely a medium for interactive story-telling, and it did this pretty well. 'Beyond' follows along these lines, but does it far, far better.

    Before even thinking about purchasing 'Beyond: Two Souls', you really need to know what it is and what it isn't, and you need to know what you're looking for from it. This is not a game you'll be 'challenged' by in the typical sense, where you're presented with entertaining obstacles and your enjoyment is derived largely by overcoming them. It never set out to do that or promised this sort of experience. Instead, 'Beyond' offers to fully immerse you in a story and its main character like no other game or movie before it could ever hope to accomplish.
    Expand
  21. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Really good game. Excellent graphics, story, best of all, unique! The emotion of the game really came through. Please keep games like this coming! Not everyone is looking for a cookie cutter 10th version of the same game re-released every six months. My recommendation is that any game with a number after the title should never score more than 7. Don't reward repetition!!!!
  22. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Beyond: two souls... there are no words to describe this AMAZING game. I just love how you can play Aiden and Jodie, I also think that the story and relationships are one of the main epic features of this game. Quantic Dream have really made themselves look good with this game, however there are a few glitches and sometimes the timeline can confuse you but that is only the bad points ofBeyond: two souls... there are no words to describe this AMAZING game. I just love how you can play Aiden and Jodie, I also think that the story and relationships are one of the main epic features of this game. Quantic Dream have really made themselves look good with this game, however there are a few glitches and sometimes the timeline can confuse you but that is only the bad points of this game. But overall this game is AMAZING! like I said Expand
  23. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    Beyond: Two Souls is not a masterpiece. It is not a perfectly polished experience, it has rough edges, errors in logic, inconsistency. All this said, and yet, David Cage and Quantic Dream have made something they should really be proud of. "Beyond" is a game that will captivate you, a game you won't be able to put down till it's over. It's well written, has amazing graphics, and theBeyond: Two Souls is not a masterpiece. It is not a perfectly polished experience, it has rough edges, errors in logic, inconsistency. All this said, and yet, David Cage and Quantic Dream have made something they should really be proud of. "Beyond" is a game that will captivate you, a game you won't be able to put down till it's over. It's well written, has amazing graphics, and the performances by Ellen Page and Willam Dafoe are fantastic. Due to it's non-linear narrative structure the game can feel disjointed at times, but it isn't enough to take away from the joy of playing this game. Though not grounded by realism like Heavy Rain, it still tells a very emotional story that you can really connect to. This sci-fi/fantasy drama is not the greatest game ever made, nor the greatest story ever told, but it is well worth a play thorough or two. I cannot recommend it enough. Expand
  24. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    it is in the first 3 most intresting stories of 2013 for me, and that is presented by the the common quantic style with the fast action scenes, wich are still fantastic
  25. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    there is one specific thing about David Cage's Game ...You Love it ...Or You Hate it! At first 30 min of game!
    Look at scores GS got 9 and Edge Got 5 that means this Game Create Contact with its Specific kind of Gamers ...
    I really really liked this game because i'm searching for game which has Great Store...
    and i Found Beyond :two Souls.
  26. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I really love this game. Beyond: Two Souls is a good example of how games are getting grown-up. Unique, highly emotional and very, very touching. The game doesn't focus on game-play, as it is pretty simple, but tells a wonderful movie-like story. You can really feel what Jodie, the main protagonist, is feeling in every situation and you really pity her a lot. The brilliant soundtrack doesI really love this game. Beyond: Two Souls is a good example of how games are getting grown-up. Unique, highly emotional and very, very touching. The game doesn't focus on game-play, as it is pretty simple, but tells a wonderful movie-like story. You can really feel what Jodie, the main protagonist, is feeling in every situation and you really pity her a lot. The brilliant soundtrack does the rest and even make your tears come. Actually it's an interactive movie. In my opinion the graphics could be a little bit better I know that good graphics don't make a good game, but this game would be so much more realistic with it. If there'll be more exclusives like this on the PS4, I will definitely buy it. I also bought the PS3 more or less just because of games like The Last of Us or Journey. So I'd really love to see more of such games, as they are very rare Expand
  27. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is an awesome game, i really enjoyed it, something different to explore thumbs up i had a great time....i think i will play it again soon the actor were absolutly amazing Expand
  28. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of my life, I really felt all the emotions the game had to offer, and I must say, I fell in love with it. Great job, and we demand more games like this. 10/10
  29. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    I am simply a regular player, and I enjoyed this game very much. I don't care about meticulous analysis of each game element, like I have seen in many places about plot holes, or player interaction, don't care at all about anything besides being satisfied with what I am playing. Recommended.
  30. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    The controls are not the best, but the story and characters are really good. If you want a mature game without steroids guys and big guns this is for you.
  31. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    What can I say? I liked it. Sure, sometimes it was just the illusion of gameplay. But it was a fun story (with a couple of slow spots), nice graphics, interesting universe, and great acting by Dafoe and Page.

    Kinda short for the price tag, but I had a lot of fun. Laughed out loud at the mechanics a few times, but it was in a good way
  32. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    A little late with this review, but boy was it worth it!
    I do not know what game the magazines are playing, but its certainly not this one. Great game if you like games for the story and twists. Obviously, if you like Heavy rain, you will love this. AMAZING graphics for a ps3, they are pretty much next gen. I would pitch this game as an interactive movie. Acting is top notch and
    A little late with this review, but boy was it worth it!
    I do not know what game the magazines are playing, but its certainly not this one. Great game if you like games for the story and twists. Obviously, if you like Heavy rain, you will love this. AMAZING graphics for a ps3, they are pretty much next gen. I would pitch this game as an interactive movie. Acting is top notch and characters are very believable.
    Expand
  33. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    Beyond: Two Souls is best defined as an interactive movie, but while many reviewers might use that phrase with a negative connotation, it's nothing short of brilliant in this case. The game is filled to the brim with quick-time events and lengthy cut-scenes, but it never feels overdone. The story is conveyed with rich dialogue, incredible visuals, and a great accompanying soundtrack. TheBeyond: Two Souls is best defined as an interactive movie, but while many reviewers might use that phrase with a negative connotation, it's nothing short of brilliant in this case. The game is filled to the brim with quick-time events and lengthy cut-scenes, but it never feels overdone. The story is conveyed with rich dialogue, incredible visuals, and a great accompanying soundtrack. The writing is impeccable, and the experience will stick with you forever. There were a few strange parts (ahem... the Navajo chapter) that pulled me out of the sci-fi/paranormal atmosphere in which Beyond lies, but as a whole the story is nothing short of breathtaking. All PS3 owners deserve it to themselves to check this one out. Expand
  34. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    Just played it trought for the first time. Its an aweomse interactive movie rather than a game, but who cares ? The story was beutifull, the acting was perfect (Elen Page done an awesome job). Multiple endings.

    I highly recommend this to everyone!

    One slightly problem: the "combat system" is a bit hard, so it wasnt easy to see what kind of move Joide do.
  35. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    What a fantastic adventure! I have loved Ellen Paige ever since I saw her in Juno and a game that lets me look at her for 10 hours straight is gonna be a good one in my book hahaha! Seriously, Beyond Two Souls is an enthralling adventure that will sink its teeth into you and not let go! You'll laugh, you'll cry, and you'll experience some great action; but most of all you will leave theWhat a fantastic adventure! I have loved Ellen Paige ever since I saw her in Juno and a game that lets me look at her for 10 hours straight is gonna be a good one in my book hahaha! Seriously, Beyond Two Souls is an enthralling adventure that will sink its teeth into you and not let go! You'll laugh, you'll cry, and you'll experience some great action; but most of all you will leave the experience with the burning question of " What could have done differently?" That to me is what makes a great game! A story that touches you, brings you in, makes you a part of it and sticks with you long after you have stopped playing! Expand
  36. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    Gráficos muito bons, e a trilha sonora ótimo ,história do jogo excelente e escolher daqui pra frente o que mudar , recomendo a todos, uma obra prima , a Quantic Dream tá de parabéns
  37. Jul 23, 2014
    9
    A solid, well-polished AAA production. The directing and acting are on par with big Hollywood blockbuster productions. If you are a fan of David Cage's previous work, Beyond Two Souls will not dissapoint. Do not be affected by negative reviews, if you have enjoyed Heavy Rain, this will be an even better experience. It should be reviewed for what it is, and as an interactive piece ofA solid, well-polished AAA production. The directing and acting are on par with big Hollywood blockbuster productions. If you are a fan of David Cage's previous work, Beyond Two Souls will not dissapoint. Do not be affected by negative reviews, if you have enjoyed Heavy Rain, this will be an even better experience. It should be reviewed for what it is, and as an interactive piece of fiction and art, this is a top-notch as it can get. Cant wait for Quantic Dreams next release ! Expand
  38. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    I love that game. Awesome story, absolutely beautiful graphics and interesting characters. I think everyone should play and feel IT. Beyond and TLOU = My games of the year!
  39. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    One of my favorite story telling games with some of the most well developed characters I've ever seen. You'll forget about the lackluster game-play while playing it, since you'll get so attached to Jody that you'll only want to find out more about this amazing character.
  40. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    Beyond: Two Souls is the kind of game that not all gamers would like, simply because it's not like a FPS or Hack & slash game, it's a game that allows player to interactive with the character uniquely that no games have the ability or the patience to do that. David cage does great a job of executing the story, but at times a little confusing. That being said, you will still understand theBeyond: Two Souls is the kind of game that not all gamers would like, simply because it's not like a FPS or Hack & slash game, it's a game that allows player to interactive with the character uniquely that no games have the ability or the patience to do that. David cage does great a job of executing the story, but at times a little confusing. That being said, you will still understand the whole story once you finish the game or you either play the whole game twice, there is tons of replay value, not going to spoil anything. The story has some mind blowing momments, that you just say to yourself 'what the F**k' As for gameplay is certainly not for everyone is either love it or 'where can I sell this game?' The game has it own pace and does a pretty good job explaining young Jodie homles to adult Jodie homles, how she have to go though her childhood with Aiden and being a teenage that Is not allow to leave house to meet her friends due to Aiden presence.
    Overall the story will make you want to play more and more.

    As for gamplay itself, it's amazing BUT still have some room of improvement. I don't get it when people say it's confusing how Jodie swings her hand to the direction, it's just common sense that how you react natural when you are the one in the real situation.(by the way, the part when Jodie prepare a meal for Ryan arrival is AWESOME! With aiden constantly disturb them.

    Overall, this game is perfect for some players who really want to experience a brand new genre and players to love story over gameplay itself, THIS IS FOR YOU.
    Expand
  41. Mar 10, 2014
    9
    Beyond is a fantastic 10 h run to watch and feel. The game is a Story you want to follow till the end. The graphics r fantastic. And if u liked Heavy Rain and Remember me, or if you appriciate a good story more than the game itsefl - Beyond Two Souls is for You. It's a beautiful experienc for casual gamers, as it is a fantastic story
  42. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    After Metal Gear Solid games this is the best game I ever played! Maybe it is more a movie, but that is the most exciting part! the story is fantastic, the ending almost made me cry! hehe :D i give my best rating for this game!
  43. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Best ps3 adventure game ever played, and play a lot !
    AMAZING Graphics entire game feels like next gen story is awsome and dont let the "interactive movie" game style to fool you, its great and its a rollercoster of emotions !
    GET IT
  44. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    One of the better games for 2013 on the ps3 opposite The Last Of Us. I actually played the game loads of times and didn't get bored. Although it would be better if the choices you made affected more of the outcome rather than small changes to the scenes. Overall great game
  45. Apr 10, 2014
    9
    Beyond is yet another game that didnt let me put down my controller before finishing it.

    First of all, Ellen page and Willem Dafoe along with all the other Actors did a brilliant job in acting and motion capture. Artistically,Beyond 2 Souls is a finest piece of writing turned into a game and is conceptually a rich and marvelous title. You might not logically agree with game's
    Beyond is yet another game that didnt let me put down my controller before finishing it.

    First of all,
    Ellen page and Willem Dafoe along with all the other Actors did a brilliant job in acting and motion capture.

    Artistically,Beyond 2 Souls is a finest piece of writing turned into a game and is conceptually a rich and marvelous title.
    You might not logically agree with game's abstract concept,but i assure you that it will not stop you from completing this game once you have started it.

    Game play vise its quite similar yet different to a usual Quantic Dream title.

    Beyond 2 Souls is like a interactive movie with tons of qtes (quick-time events),
    But this time David cage(creative writer and director of beyond 2 souls)
    tried his best to eliminate the onscreen push button (visual icons) that majorly covers the screen to give gamers a much more movie like feel,

    I don't say he completely succeeded in that,but he is very close.

    All interactable things in Beyond's gameplay are marked with a DOT that fades as you move away from it,
    yes a dot is still a onscreen icon,but its far less annoying and much less visible than huge button icons.
    Hence it does not distract gamers from looking at whats actually happening on screen in cinematic. (compared to looking at button icons and following it).

    Technically,Beyond 2 Souls is the benchmark of one of the best game development technology available in market on a low end hardware of ps3.
    Its astonishing how they pulled off and rendered such glorious and eye candy visuals in real time on a hardware that have barely 256mb of video memory.

    I always wonder what magnificent,splendid eyegasmic visuals will they create on the much better hardware of newly launched ps4.
    Hopefully,we don't have to wait much for that.

    All an all,this game is a must play,it stands apart in terms of concept and gameplay and is graphically stunning.
    Expand
  46. May 6, 2014
    10
    This game is probably my new favourite type of game. It has a great storyline to it, although it may be a bit confusing at first but you manage to piece it together later. The gameplay is great with most of it being interactive, is was generally fun to play and had good replay value. The graphics are superb, Voice acting is just brilliant and overall this is an amazing game and I can'tThis game is probably my new favourite type of game. It has a great storyline to it, although it may be a bit confusing at first but you manage to piece it together later. The gameplay is great with most of it being interactive, is was generally fun to play and had good replay value. The graphics are superb, Voice acting is just brilliant and overall this is an amazing game and I can't wait for Quantic Dream's next game. Expand
  47. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    I have never been emotionally attached that much to any game/movie before. The game has awesome graphics/sound and an creative gameplay but it was the main character that got me hooked.
    There is no way you don't like and don't feel for her during the whole game. Quantic Dream and Ellen Paige did an awesome job here.
    One of the most unvalued games I know.
  48. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    This is an amazing game. Yes, it is more a kind of interactive story-telling experience, rather than an action adventure, but it further closes the gap between movies and games and fills this gap with an outstanding experience. Of course, the player needs to be open for that and allow feelings to run their course, but if he does, he will not be dissapointed. The graphics and the incredibleThis is an amazing game. Yes, it is more a kind of interactive story-telling experience, rather than an action adventure, but it further closes the gap between movies and games and fills this gap with an outstanding experience. Of course, the player needs to be open for that and allow feelings to run their course, but if he does, he will not be dissapointed. The graphics and the incredible score contribute to that, even though the music doesn't seem to be really interactive ar some points in the game. So there is still room for furter improvements and I am looking forward to the next Quantic Dream experience. Expand
  49. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    Beyond: Two Souls has some glitches and such, but, in general, this is a great game full of excitement, drama, and action. You make small and large choices. But, unlike Heavy Rain, this doesn't effect the ENTIRE game ending. The graphics are amazing, the voice acting is great. In my opinion, this is the best game I have ever played so far.
  50. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    Well, I just signed up to Metacritic to give a review for Beyond: Two Souls - that's how much I liked it.

    This is a remarkable achievement and I think so even though I understand criticisms that argue that this is not a game, but a playable novel. I absolutely adored The Last of Us - and I adore Beyond Two Souls specifically for the same reason: STORY. Character, story and emotional
    Well, I just signed up to Metacritic to give a review for Beyond: Two Souls - that's how much I liked it.

    This is a remarkable achievement and I think so even though I understand criticisms that argue that this is not a game, but a playable novel. I absolutely adored The Last of Us - and I adore Beyond Two Souls specifically for the same reason: STORY.

    Character, story and emotional depth is unlike anything I have seen. The game recaptures a dying art, truly - and makes story and characters relevant again. Remember why 8-bit games of 1980s were more fun than 1920x1800 HD games of today? It was story and emotional reality (not factual, or graphic reality).

    Yet, I have to tell you the game has some of the best graphics I have seen on PS3 platform; visuals, shading - and oh my god, camera angles (cinematography) are top quality. Visuals of this game is pure artistic genius.

    I could easily list this game at the Top 3 of best PS3 games I have played.

    Downsides that really doesn't make this game a lesser game:

    - Not actually a game - your decisions don't really have much impact on playing experience. Sequel can retain artistic aspects of this and build on it by developing a kick-ass engine in shooting, stealth, movement etc. to make it more of a game-novel combination.

    - You don't die, really. So you can't make much of a mistake in the game. I think game could be developed further in that aspect.

    - Very linear story line. A combination of story telling, plus sandbox experience will be really amazing.

    If all three shortcomings can be improved in the next sequel (not DLC, an actual new game as sequel), this came can truly become one of the best games of all time, in all platforms.
    Expand
  51. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    This is one of the most amazing games I have ever played, I don't care when people say about the jumps in game play , i just play to have fun, and might i say it was one hell of a emotional journey.

    Defiantly the game i will remember for the rest of my life.
  52. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    This game along with The Last Of Us are amazing games. I hope more titles / stories like this come along. This is entertainment. Gaming and Story together. Great soundtrack as well. One of the best games of 2013/14.
  53. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    Beyond: Two Souls.... A perfect game with fantastic music, eye blowing graphics, mind blowing story, emotional moments, over 20 endings,... Sadly, I had to buy PS3 only because of this one game. But still the PS3 + Beyond: Two Souls was very acceptable for poor 250 dollars.

    10/10 Must own if you haven't already!
  54. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    Mind blowing game, great graphics Wow just wow! this takes gaming to the level and quality of some large budget Hollywood films. It stands high next to Tomb Raider and The Last of us.
  55. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Truly a masterpiece. This game needs no summary, it is simply amazing and beautiful. It will keep you hooked until the end. With it's hd graphics and the voice actor being Ellen Paige, this game is definitely one of the best games you can get for the ps3.
  56. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    I'm sorry if don't like this game, you just don't see the potential for it.Me and my friend played this 3 TIMES and every time it was just as interesting as the first time we beat It and that was the best feeling in the world.Ellen Page and Eric Winter make a great couple and I'm happy they put them together.
  57. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Amazing Graphics. Fantastic Story. Incredible Experience. Different and Good Gameplay. Perfect Game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  58. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    Beyond Two Souls has superb graphics and a great story with an interesting narrative that makes you connect the dots and mess with your thinking. Gameplay more dynamic than Heavy Rain. Reviews are lower than expected actually a patriot discomfort not accept some truths that the game shows.
  59. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    Awesome story, graphics, acting, and soundtrack. A trully nice experience which will make you think of all the journey you have been through while playing the game. Few games have such a capacity to move the player; and this is one of them
  60. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    one of the most powerful history in the games i ever play!!1 just wonderful!! David Cage bring us a great game anyway they still xbox haters here...........................................................................................
  61. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing. I love the story, the controls are good, awesome characters, great graphics, everything is so great, and ugh I love the story most of all.
    People should buy this, I can't stop playing it. I really hope there is a sequel of this though, it feels like there is more to tell or explain in the end.
  62. Apr 22, 2014
    9
    If you're looking for a fast paced, instant gratification, mindless action first person shooter type game.. Beyond: Two Souls is absolutely NOT for you.

    I don't know if I'd actually even call this a game. It's more of an interactive drama. The voice acting is superb. How can it not be though? Willem Dafoe (Boondock Saints, Spiderman) Ellen Page (Juno, Hard Candy) Kadeem Hardison
    If you're looking for a fast paced, instant gratification, mindless action first person shooter type game.. Beyond: Two Souls is absolutely NOT for you.

    I don't know if I'd actually even call this a game. It's more of an interactive drama. The voice acting is superb. How can it not be though? Willem Dafoe (Boondock Saints, Spiderman) Ellen Page (Juno, Hard Candy) Kadeem Hardison (Different Strokes, Vampire in Brooklyn) and Eric Winter (The Mentalist, The Ugly Truth) comprise the main cast and do a magnificent job carrying the story. This game as I said is not meant to be a pure action game. You run, you have QTE events, you dodge, climb, dodge some more, and investigate. The cool thing is you actually want to do all of this because you want to see the next part of the engrossing story. The stealth and espionage part of the game is simple... But Jody is not meant to be a super hero and action star and neither is her partner throughout the game Aiden. As a whole, the two are meant to compliment one another as you navigate through the game's story. I'm not really one to write a review about anything but I feel that this game has definitely been underrated and I wanted to take some time to give my appreciation where it was absolutely due. The visuals of the game are if not the best.... some of the best you will see on the PS3. Last of Us, Tomb Raider, Uncharted..All of these games in my opinion visually were sub par compared to Beyond. That's really saying something as those three games are the PS3's crowning achievements. It's been a long while since I had to stop and marvel at graphics on the last Gen systems and Beyond made me do that multiple times as I was playing the game. At times I thought I was playing my PS4. You're only going to see frame rate slowdown in lager areas like the Desert set piece and some choppy issues in weather effects. There was some poor lighting throughout the game during QTE moments which made it hard to judge in which direction to move the right stick. This could have been attributed to the brightness on my television and not the game itself. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Beyond: Two Souls and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a refreshing change of pace from the "Blow stuff up, Use a special move, Win the level, play online only 3 hour long story campaign" game.

    Roger Ebert once said Video Games will never be art. Though that statement can be and has been argued for and against I believe Beyond: Two Souls is if not a work of art definitely a game interwoven with artistic vision. And that vision was a joy to play.

    I'm giving my time and Beyond: Two souls a 9. It is well deserved.

    (Wikipedia) Art - "Art is the process of deliberately arranging elements in a way that appeals to the senses or emotions."
    Expand
  63. May 9, 2014
    10
    Wow what should I say? I played Heavy Rain and Beyond: Two Souls. A few months ago i was really suprised how good Heavy Rain was. But now Quantic Dream created a masterpiece! The game is the best interactive movie I have ever seen. You really wish that this game never ends. It has so much emotional parts in it.
    I never wrote a critic for a game. But this time it's really worth it! Just
    Wow what should I say? I played Heavy Rain and Beyond: Two Souls. A few months ago i was really suprised how good Heavy Rain was. But now Quantic Dream created a masterpiece! The game is the best interactive movie I have ever seen. You really wish that this game never ends. It has so much emotional parts in it.
    I never wrote a critic for a game. But this time it's really worth it! Just play it by yourself.
    Expand
  64. Jan 21, 2015
    9
    This is the best game from Qunatic Dream after Heavy Rain. It has nice graphics, rly interesting and sometimes sad story, The music is what makes me love this game.. Huge shout out to Lorne Balfe. It's too easy tho, you can choose the difficulty in Heavy Rain and I really liked it.. but.. I can't see this in Beyond: Two Souls.
  65. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    After playing Beyond Two Souls for hours and completing the story, I can honestly say that this is arguably one of my favorite games of all time. The combat is so smooth and the story was very well done. All respect to David Cage.
  66. Jul 19, 2014
    10
    Невероятная игра! Думал что после Heavy Rain, Uncharted, Metal Gear Solid меня трудно будет удивить, но эта игра смогла вызвать прежнюю бурю эмоций, как и вышенаписанные игры в свое время. Как жалко что так мало подобных проектов.
  67. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    I was a huge fan of Heavy Rain, so it's no surprise that I enjoyed this game as well. The aspect that blew me away (and I'm guessing one which not many people got to experience) was the co-op multiplayer. The mechanics, while simple, fit incredibly well into the narrative of the game. Co-op features one player as Jodie and the other as Aiden, completing their respective choices /I was a huge fan of Heavy Rain, so it's no surprise that I enjoyed this game as well. The aspect that blew me away (and I'm guessing one which not many people got to experience) was the co-op multiplayer. The mechanics, while simple, fit incredibly well into the narrative of the game. Co-op features one player as Jodie and the other as Aiden, completing their respective choices / sequences. While in "free" mode (exploring, etc) you can pass control to the other player, but you have to wait for them to pass it back. What left a lasting impression was that similar to how Jodie cannot control Aiden, when my partner passed control she could ask me what she wanted but it was ultimately my decision. Likewise, she made narrative choices I opposed, but in the end it solidified the "two distinct souls" aspect of the game and made the experience so much richer for me. I highly recommend grabbing a friend and playing this game together! Expand
  68. Sep 25, 2014
    9
    I was happy with the game, for this new genre of problem solving, story driven gaming, it's full of great looking animation, voice acting, different choices and outcomes. This game provides exactly what I paid for.

    If you're looking for a lot of action or a unique fighting system, this game has none of that, but it's got hours of gameplay, a great story, and a lot influence over the
    I was happy with the game, for this new genre of problem solving, story driven gaming, it's full of great looking animation, voice acting, different choices and outcomes. This game provides exactly what I paid for.

    If you're looking for a lot of action or a unique fighting system, this game has none of that, but it's got hours of gameplay, a great story, and a lot influence over the outcome of the plot.

    I suggest if you haven't played these kind of games before you look at some youtube videos to better understand it before you buy it and judge it based upon what it's not promising to be. It's more comparable in gameplay to King's Quest series than an action packed thriller.
    Expand
  69. Oct 14, 2014
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. Must have on PS3 and PS4.
    Don't believe to all this critic's sh*t
    A great story, amazing graphic, actors however... you have to play themselves
  70. Nov 14, 2014
    10
    One of the finest experiences i've had on last gen... ellen page's performance was absolutely gold. It was beautiful and a heart touching game. and i recommend anyone that has a playstation 3 to play it.. NOW!!
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 98
  2. Negative: 8 out of 98
  1. Dec 28, 2013
    50
    There doesn't ever seem to be any real impact of the player's decisions, actions or failures. [Jan 2014, p.76]
  2. Dec 12, 2013
    40
    Beyond: Two Souls is a capital failure as both a story and as a game. The adventure plays itself and the player is left to push the right buttons in the right order. The story you are rewarded with is a mess of odd writing and poor directing choices from a game creator that obviously wants to create great art but seems to be incapable of doing so. Even fans of Fahrenheit and Heavy Rain should prepare for what is unfortunately a monumental disappointment.
  3. Nov 24, 2013
    88
    A story every Playstation owner should experience.