• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 98 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2432 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Live the life of Jodie Holmes, a young woman who possesses supernatural powers through her psychic link to a mysterious invisible entity. Experience the most striking moments of Jodie's life as your actions and decisions determine her fate. As she traverses the globe, Jodie will faceLive the life of Jodie Holmes, a young woman who possesses supernatural powers through her psychic link to a mysterious invisible entity. Experience the most striking moments of Jodie's life as your actions and decisions determine her fate. As she traverses the globe, Jodie will face incredible challenges against a backdrop of emotionally-charged events never before seen in a video game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 98
  2. Negative: 8 out of 98
  1. Oct 20, 2013
    100
    Sure, there are a few plot holes and clichéd moments in Beyond Two Souls but like Heavy Rain, it may become one of your most memorable gaming experiences to date.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    90
    Beyond is both better and worse than its illustrious predecessor Heavy Rain. It features a more varied gameplay, a better story, talented Hollywood actors and outstanding graphics... but it also lacks something: the ability to make truly decisive choices throughout the adventure. Significant changes you can make story-wise are actually concentrated at the end. However, games of this type and this quality are still too rare to deny yourself the pleasure.
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    85
    Beyond: Two Souls could be considered an experimentation on new dramatic devices within a game that is visually stunning and whose interactive scenery will be the delight of all Quantic Dream fans, despite its limitations.
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    75
    Don’t get me wrong, the game tells an interesting and emotional story, and the acting is top notch, but it does aimlessly plod along here and there. Thankfully, Quantic Dream ensured that Beyond: Two Souls would wrap up in an amazing, thought-provoking way which does make the ride very much worth taking.
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    69
    The gameplay has vastly improved for this new genre, the game mechanics and puzzle solving are unique and fun, the voice acting was incredible, and it is visually stunning. It’s very unfortunate that the story has continuity difficulties, unnecessary padding, too many boring stretches, and repeated plot devices, as the story is what’s supposed to keep you going in an interactive drama.
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    60
    After completing Beyond: Two Souls it’s understandable why this is one of the most divisive games around. Even now it’s difficult to say whether we enjoyed it or not, it’s certainly an interesting game, and does have some nice ideas. So despite a story that feels disjointed, tonally uneven and a mid-section that feels completely out of place, it’s something that is different enough from the norm that maybe, just maybe it’s worth picking up.
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    20
    But Beyond: Two Souls is far worse than convenient, facile, and ridiculous. It’s overall tone is low-key and morose, without energy or enthusiasm. Scenes drag out, with long pauses. Glances shift awkwardly. Character models fidget. This is about an eight hour game, but I’d estimate two or three of those hours are pregnant pauses.

See all 98 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 87 out of 582
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Awesome graphics, beautiful gameplay, maybe a interactive novel, excellent characters great history you can felt joy, suffer and felt scaryAwesome graphics, beautiful gameplay, maybe a interactive novel, excellent characters great history you can felt joy, suffer and felt scary with the protagonist,
    good work for Quantic dream
    Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Beyond: two souls should be played. if you enjoy nonlinear story telling this playstation exclusive should be right up your alley. this isBeyond: two souls should be played. if you enjoy nonlinear story telling this playstation exclusive should be right up your alley. this is another excellent game Quantic Dream has put out. you wont be disappointed in any way. play it! Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Beyond: Two souls has a very great story, great characters and I was sad then the game ended, just because the game was ending. I would say,Beyond: Two souls has a very great story, great characters and I was sad then the game ended, just because the game was ending. I would say, it is probably one of the best games in the last few years (and I have played a lot of games). It does also focus on the emotions of the characters. The graphics is also great for a PS3 game. Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    I liked this game, the graphics were off the charts and the gameplay was fun and cinematic. Although Aiden is very simple to play as, it stillI liked this game, the graphics were off the charts and the gameplay was fun and cinematic. Although Aiden is very simple to play as, it still is very fun to take over people seing the results. Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    The story is utterly beautiful that made me tear up several times. Page and Dafoe are incredible. This game is a masterpiece. The gameplayThe story is utterly beautiful that made me tear up several times. Page and Dafoe are incredible. This game is a masterpiece. The gameplay isn't for everyone and I don't fault anyone for not liking it. I completely fell in love with it. A little into the summer i said that unless Beyond completely blows me away then The Last of Us is gonna be my Game of the Year. Well guess what? Beyond totally and utterly blew me away. Only complaint I have is the story would have been better in chronological order. Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2014
    8
    Beyond es un juego con gran trama y buenas ideas. La cosa parece que va a dar bastante más de si pero al final las decisiones son limitadas yBeyond es un juego con gran trama y buenas ideas. La cosa parece que va a dar bastante más de si pero al final las decisiones son limitadas y sólo queda disfrutar de la brillante historia y el espectacular apartado gráfico. En cualquier caso mejora la excesiva rigidez de heavy rain pero le sigue faltando camino. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2014
    0
    This game is Beyond awful. First off, I hate David Cage. I just hate what he does. But I hate this "game" for even more reasons. First off,This game is Beyond awful. First off, I hate David Cage. I just hate what he does. But I hate this "game" for even more reasons. First off, this game just jumps around the timeline for no reason whatsoever. The "gameplay" is atrocious, because it's just quick time events. There's a lot of times in the game where you're supposed to do something. If you don't, the game will carry on like you did. Like at the beginning. When you're having tests run on your ability, there's a woman. You have to see what card she picks. But, it doesn't matter which one you choose. And just after that, when you're supposed to knock everything around the room she's in. If you don't she's still traumatized. In combat sequences, if you didn't pick "I Rarely (or never) Play Video Games" as your difficulty, at least it makes sense. If you choose the alternative, it's confusing. There's a white dot on the screen, and you're supposed to either move the stick towards, or away from it. So, if someone's punching you, you might think "Do I block it, or dodge it?". Well, you have to guess, unless you pucked the easy difficulty. So, that's it. A couple reasons this game is 100% terrible. Expand

See all 582 User Reviews