• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 98 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2284 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Live the life of Jodie Holmes, a young woman who possesses supernatural powers through her psychic link to a mysterious invisible entity. Experience the most striking moments of Jodie's life as your actions and decisions determine her fate. As she traverses the globe, Jodie will face incredible challenges against a backdrop of emotionally-charged events never before seen in a video game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 98
  2. Negative: 8 out of 98
  1. Oct 20, 2013
    100
    Sure, there are a few plot holes and clichéd moments in Beyond Two Souls but like Heavy Rain, it may become one of your most memorable gaming experiences to date.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    90
    Beyond is both better and worse than its illustrious predecessor Heavy Rain. It features a more varied gameplay, a better story, talented Hollywood actors and outstanding graphics... but it also lacks something: the ability to make truly decisive choices throughout the adventure. Significant changes you can make story-wise are actually concentrated at the end. However, games of this type and this quality are still too rare to deny yourself the pleasure.
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    85
    Beyond: Two Souls could be considered an experimentation on new dramatic devices within a game that is visually stunning and whose interactive scenery will be the delight of all Quantic Dream fans, despite its limitations.
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    75
    Don’t get me wrong, the game tells an interesting and emotional story, and the acting is top notch, but it does aimlessly plod along here and there. Thankfully, Quantic Dream ensured that Beyond: Two Souls would wrap up in an amazing, thought-provoking way which does make the ride very much worth taking.
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    69
    The gameplay has vastly improved for this new genre, the game mechanics and puzzle solving are unique and fun, the voice acting was incredible, and it is visually stunning. It’s very unfortunate that the story has continuity difficulties, unnecessary padding, too many boring stretches, and repeated plot devices, as the story is what’s supposed to keep you going in an interactive drama.
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    60
    After completing Beyond: Two Souls it’s understandable why this is one of the most divisive games around. Even now it’s difficult to say whether we enjoyed it or not, it’s certainly an interesting game, and does have some nice ideas. So despite a story that feels disjointed, tonally uneven and a mid-section that feels completely out of place, it’s something that is different enough from the norm that maybe, just maybe it’s worth picking up.
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    20
    But Beyond: Two Souls is far worse than convenient, facile, and ridiculous. It’s overall tone is low-key and morose, without energy or enthusiasm. Scenes drag out, with long pauses. Glances shift awkwardly. Character models fidget. This is about an eight hour game, but I’d estimate two or three of those hours are pregnant pauses.

See all 98 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 569
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Awesome graphics, beautiful gameplay, maybe a interactive novel, excellent characters great history you can felt joy, suffer and felt scary with the protagonist,
    good work for Quantic dream
    Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Amazing story with amazing music in combination with fantastic graphics. Quantic Dream for one more time creates an epic title, who easily we can say that is "The Game of the Year". Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Overall a solid game. Lacks a little in the gameplay but because of it's amazing plot I can overlook that. Ellen Page's performance is mesmerising and I found myself playing for a good 4 hours strange without looking anywhere else but at the screen.
    Many reviewers have criticised the game's story telling as they found it, 'inconsistent.' At first I would have agreed with them but actually placing the scenes in chronological order yourself helps and actually clears many things up. This game can not and should not be compared to games like Assassin's creed, COD etc. This game is more of a narrative game rather than gameplay based.
    A must own in my opinion.
    Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    An absolutely incredibly cinematic gaming experience. Beyond: Two Souls boasts a rare quality of storytelling and engaging characters that we don't see in a lot of games today. If you thought Heavy Rain was the future of Gaming then Beyond: Two Souls is what you've been waiting for. And, like less radical and more rational consumers, if you felt Heavy Rain married cinema and gaming in a crescendo of evocative storytelling then Beyond: Two Souls will show you a new light a brighter light. I loved this game. I'll play it again and again. Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    This is the new way to tell a story in the future. Videogames aren't only FPS and action, videogames are the new way to create profound content. Beyond Two Souls is magnificent. Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2013
    8
    It's more like 8.5/10 for me. This game truly shows the ambition that David Cage has put into his games. The story was great and despite its non-chronological style, I easily put all the pieces together and understood and throughly enjoyed it. That being said I will say that I was uncomfortable at how the story jumps all over the place during the first quarter of the game or so. It failed to ease me into the story due to this awkward method of storytelling. However I eventually got used to it and quite a few of the individual chapters are very moving emotionally, making the game that much more interesting.

    The restriction of freedom however is something that made me shudder. In previous games made by Quantic Dream such as Heavy Rain choice had some significant repercussions, such as the permanent death of a character if you fail a fight for example, Getting locked up in jail or walking away. These significant changes in the plot are not emphasized as much in Beyond Two Souls, with your choices in dialogue and gameplay not making much of a significant impact later on in the story. There are moments where this proves to be wrong but they are few and far between.

    The Combat and exploration also feel a bit restrictive. Aiden's ability to pass through matter is annoyingly hampered during certain sections and the "tether" that connects him with Jodie can make exploration a chore. The combat likewise has been stripped down to a simple left,right,up,down gameplay mechanic utilizing the right analog stick while time is being slowed down to allow you chose the right direction along with some simple analog stick controls for Aiden. It's fairly readable for the most part, but it can be unreadable at times making mistakes almost unavoidable. However it doesn't matter because for the most part things usually work out for Jodie and Aiden adding on to the fact that the failure usually doesn't affect anything as much as it should.

    Overall, despite its glaring issues, the game truly sings during its last few chapters (I cried during one of the many endings) adding true emotion that challenges even the climatic endings of Heavy Rain. The story can be uncomfortable at first but once you piece it all together you can truly appreciate the ambition
    behind this entertaining and emotional experience as you try to unfold what lies beyond.
    Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2014
    0
    Let me start out first by saying that I was very late playing this game. I got a PS3 and Ps4 all just this year because i was in a 360 craze.
    I hated this game. The graphics were nice yes. But unless you like playing a movie then this game isnt for you. So much drama and no action. I fought a couple ugly zombie things or whatever - other than that it was very eventful. I dont understand the obsession. And no, im not one of those call of duty players - i like adventure, rpg games. This one was too corny for me.
    Expand

See all 569 User Reviews