• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 98 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2464 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Live the life of Jodie Holmes, a young woman who possesses supernatural powers through her psychic link to a mysterious invisible entity. Experience the most striking moments of Jodie's life as your actions and decisions determine her fate. As she traverses the globe, Jodie will faceLive the life of Jodie Holmes, a young woman who possesses supernatural powers through her psychic link to a mysterious invisible entity. Experience the most striking moments of Jodie's life as your actions and decisions determine her fate. As she traverses the globe, Jodie will face incredible challenges against a backdrop of emotionally-charged events never before seen in a video game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 98
  2. Negative: 8 out of 98
  1. Oct 20, 2013
    100
    Sure, there are a few plot holes and clichéd moments in Beyond Two Souls but like Heavy Rain, it may become one of your most memorable gaming experiences to date.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    90
    Beyond is both better and worse than its illustrious predecessor Heavy Rain. It features a more varied gameplay, a better story, talented Hollywood actors and outstanding graphics... but it also lacks something: the ability to make truly decisive choices throughout the adventure. Significant changes you can make story-wise are actually concentrated at the end. However, games of this type and this quality are still too rare to deny yourself the pleasure.
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    85
    Beyond: Two Souls could be considered an experimentation on new dramatic devices within a game that is visually stunning and whose interactive scenery will be the delight of all Quantic Dream fans, despite its limitations.
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    75
    Don’t get me wrong, the game tells an interesting and emotional story, and the acting is top notch, but it does aimlessly plod along here and there. Thankfully, Quantic Dream ensured that Beyond: Two Souls would wrap up in an amazing, thought-provoking way which does make the ride very much worth taking.
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    69
    The gameplay has vastly improved for this new genre, the game mechanics and puzzle solving are unique and fun, the voice acting was incredible, and it is visually stunning. It’s very unfortunate that the story has continuity difficulties, unnecessary padding, too many boring stretches, and repeated plot devices, as the story is what’s supposed to keep you going in an interactive drama.
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    60
    After completing Beyond: Two Souls it’s understandable why this is one of the most divisive games around. Even now it’s difficult to say whether we enjoyed it or not, it’s certainly an interesting game, and does have some nice ideas. So despite a story that feels disjointed, tonally uneven and a mid-section that feels completely out of place, it’s something that is different enough from the norm that maybe, just maybe it’s worth picking up.
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    20
    But Beyond: Two Souls is far worse than convenient, facile, and ridiculous. It’s overall tone is low-key and morose, without energy or enthusiasm. Scenes drag out, with long pauses. Glances shift awkwardly. Character models fidget. This is about an eight hour game, but I’d estimate two or three of those hours are pregnant pauses.

See all 98 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 586
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Awesome graphics, beautiful gameplay, maybe a interactive novel, excellent characters great history you can felt joy, suffer and felt scaryAwesome graphics, beautiful gameplay, maybe a interactive novel, excellent characters great history you can felt joy, suffer and felt scary with the protagonist,
    good work for Quantic dream
    Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Very emotional game. I have a best experience with interractive movie with my friends. Estimates stupid and listen to the opinions of others,Very emotional game. I have a best experience with interractive movie with my friends. Estimates stupid and listen to the opinions of others, instead of his an idiotic action. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Beyond: Two souls has a very great story, great characters and I was sad then the game ended, just because the game was ending. I would say,Beyond: Two souls has a very great story, great characters and I was sad then the game ended, just because the game was ending. I would say, it is probably one of the best games in the last few years (and I have played a lot of games). It does also focus on the emotions of the characters. The graphics is also great for a PS3 game. Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    I liked this game, the graphics were off the charts and the gameplay was fun and cinematic. Although Aiden is very simple to play as, it stillI liked this game, the graphics were off the charts and the gameplay was fun and cinematic. Although Aiden is very simple to play as, it still is very fun to take over people seing the results. Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    The story is utterly beautiful that made me tear up several times. Page and Dafoe are incredible. This game is a masterpiece. The gameplayThe story is utterly beautiful that made me tear up several times. Page and Dafoe are incredible. This game is a masterpiece. The gameplay isn't for everyone and I don't fault anyone for not liking it. I completely fell in love with it. A little into the summer i said that unless Beyond completely blows me away then The Last of Us is gonna be my Game of the Year. Well guess what? Beyond totally and utterly blew me away. Only complaint I have is the story would have been better in chronological order. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2015
    8
    Fun for the discounted price, Life Is Strange is better, so are Telltale games. Unique and interesting but I would not have been happy payingFun for the discounted price, Life Is Strange is better, so are Telltale games. Unique and interesting but I would not have been happy paying $60 for this. At fifteen dollars or less, it is worth it, however. Expand
  7. May 4, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is not a video game, This is not a movie ether. This "game" is not good at all. For anyone who thinks it is amazing and a masterpiece please tell me What is the Plot? I will not deny that the game looks great, and there are some good parts we're you will feel emotions. Here I will bring huge problems with the game so SPOILERS

    The first problem there is the story and the way it is told. No scenes are connected too each other what so ever, you move through the story in a timeline that jumps around from present to past. So you play as Jodie who has a ghost attached to her named Aiden via a ghost umbilical cord. So you "play" the game mostly holding forward and using the sticks to make Aiden do things. It is not possible to fail any part of the game and the game creator David Cage said not to play it twice, because if you did it shows the huge plot holes and little variations of your decisions. Ok so the government opens a portal to the "infer world" and evil ghosts come out and Jodie is the only one who can close it. You do this four times in the game because it looks cool. The Government agents have 0 reasons to open one at all. A former Soviet block in Afgan-Serb-Asian Land opens a portal in a secret under water base. The game also has at lest three rape scenes because Jodie has to be a victim. Jodie goes to a bar to meet "friends" that she doesn't have because she lives in a government building and is isolated from human contact other than Dawkins and his assistant and your never told about them... anyways Jodie goes into empty bar where two dudes are and the bartender, also a male. She has a lemonade and starts to play pool with one of the guys, then the guy decides to rape her because that's what all men try and do to women who are alone in a bar clearly. Aiden then kills all three, then Dawkins and a bunch of cops show up ten seconds later, even though not knowing where she is. So people who think this is good what did this scene add to the story or the plot? Anything? No it didn't. Another scene is called Navajo Jodie is walking in the desert down a highway, how she got there, never told, a minute into the scene she notices a ranch ten feet away that she didn't see for miles. She meets a nice native American family who take her in. there's four of them the dad, his old mom and his two sons. They eat, then night comes and a sand storm comes, she told not to leave her room and ignore what ever she hears. So you play toss and turn simulator for a third time and you have a scary dream and open the front door to see a ghost native American... ooooo scary. Next day you do chores and take a shower where ghost of native American shows up again in the shower and writes crown. The night comes, she goes outside and watches Malebolgia pound the house, then gets chased by giant ghost face and then saved by the 5 guardian sprits and Malebolgia gives up for reasons. Next day you go and investigate. Ancient spirit guardian which was a male Native American writes crown in English again and an arrow toward Fort Crown. She uses ghost fart gas to see memories of dead people from inanimate objects, and find a circle with five points where a portal was opened into the ghost world, she only finds 4 amulets. You then turn around and the ranch is 100 feet away even though it wasn't there last scene. Jodie goes inside to find the fifth amulet around Grandma's neck and she starts to speak English after decades of complete silence. Explains why the ghost is here and also knows the magic spell to open the portal. Jodie makes the five pointed symbol. One of the sons asks what she's doing by Grandma yells to listen to her. Her grandson then says "YOU CAN TALK" no joke. Now you need five souls to complete the ritual, so ether you save Paul or it can be Aiden and you seal Malebolgia away. Grandma dies in the process, from something your never told. You then go to ancient burial grounds and bury grandma and Paul, then Jodie finds drawings that predicated her coming. You try and kiss a guy because he is tall dark and handsome, that's the only reason. Jodie drives off and the hole family is standing together for reasons. So people who like this game, what did that add to the story and plot what did tell you about Jodie? What? Nothing oh ok.
    So there's this character called Ryan, the first time Jodie meets him which isn't the first scene he's a dick and mean. Next scene is them on a date and Jodie likes him. After that you go on a mission to kill a warlord. Jodie finds out after see kills him that he was actually is a President freaks out for being lied too and jumps out of a Helicopter. And that is the reason she is being hunted, see has a problem with killing a leader of a country and some kids dad, but is totally fine with murdering countless cops. Dose that make sense? The ending of the game is Jodie closing a portal for a forth time. You can chose to stay alive or die, and then the game sets up a sequel. Garbage
    Expand

See all 586 User Reviews