Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Mar 15, 2012
    82
    Sega's Binary Domain is a real surprise. The game is entertaining and the developers tried something new. The consequence system and the speech controls work, but there is still some potenial to improve them. I'm missing a coop mode, but the full package with online multiplayer, giant bosses and highspeed levels entertains.
  2. Apr 27, 2012
    80
    For shooter fans craving something with a little more substance, Binary Domain is definitely the ticket. Behind its hokey yet self-aware characters and stereotypical premise is a hugely intelligent shooter, one that packs just as much heart as it does brawn.
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    80
    Fans of third-person shooters and Japanese game design will find themselves especially satisfied.
  4. Mar 21, 2012
    80
    Do not expect to find anything new in Binary Domain. What you can expect is a third-person shooter that's highly polished, high doses of action and irrational fun in killing robots with a burst of gunfire.
  5. 80
    Even on low difficulty with aim assist this game provides a challenge to newcomers to 3rd person shooters.
  6. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    Despite the lacklustre online multiplayer that's been tacked on, the explosive campaign's action packed set pieces will constantly find your finger squeezing on the hammer one minute and tugging on your emotions the next with its diverse cast of likeable characters, as they fight to right the wrongs of morality towards mankind.
  7. Mar 17, 2012
    70
    While Binary Domain tries a few new things and fails, the basic coverbased gameplay in the entertaining story-mode is good enough to keep fans of the genre happy. The enemies may be robots, but they still feel more alive and interesting than most other opponents.
  8. Mar 12, 2012
    60
    The online is like every other shooter, and that's the problem. Deathmatch, Team Deathmatch, a horde mode, and few other standards-not very imaginative, are you? It's smooth playing online, so it's done well enough.
  9. Mar 12, 2012
    60
    A very familiar experience, but it's also one that is well-presented, well-designed, and, most importantly, enjoyable to play.
  10. Mar 12, 2012
    84
    A cool story draws you into this game and won't let you go until you've seen how it all ends. Beyond that, Binary Domain is a sweet shooter with intuitive controls and a nice, Japanese atmosphere. It's not all gold though, since a lack of in-game depth and a lackluster online multiplayer keep this game from reaching the top.
  11. Mar 8, 2012
    80
    Yes, the multiplayer isn't inspiring in the slightest, but the single player campaign more than makes up for this, and no doubt by now the game can be picked up for pennies anyway...If you like shooters, you should definitely give this a look.
  12. 75
    With some further streamlining, refinement, and innovation, with particular attention paid to the multiplayer, the next installment could be amazing.
  13. Mar 6, 2012
    75
    We can't say it enough: shooting robots apart is a perfect way to kill some time. That's why we're surprised Binary Domain hasn't gotten the media attention it deserves, because this is one hell of a surprise. Granted, there are some things in this game we didn't like. Like the AI of your teammates, the lack of a split-screen feature and the appeal of the included multiplayer. If you like third-person shooters, you will not regret this adventure with Dan Marshall and his team of anti-heroes.
  14. Mar 6, 2012
    77
    While there was nothing exceptional or innovative about Binary Domain online, what worked was fine - which sums up the entire game. With the fairly significant exception of the voice recognition, what you have is a pretty good shooter.
  15. Mar 5, 2012
    75
    The intriguing world of Binary Domain rises above its conventional appearance, thanks to the satisfaction of shooting robots to pieces.
  16. Mar 4, 2012
    100
    Considering Domain is just a game, it's surprisingly human.
  17. 80
    If you've been looking for braindead but entertaining third person action in the wake of Gears of War, Binary Domain won't disappoint you.
  18. Mar 2, 2012
    83
    I have very few negatives to level at Binary Domain; I think its single player mode is a stand-out shooter that I feel a lot of folks might glance over. But that would be a mistake, as you'd definitely miss out on a really fun experience that doesn't break the mold, but builds upon a solid foundation already laid by other cover based shooters.
  19. Feb 29, 2012
    75
    I enjoyed my time with the game, and I can see it grabbing a rabid cult audience. I'd recommend it to anyone who can relax their expectations a bit, particularly when it comes to the voice recognition. The more you're able to focus on where it succeeds and look past its obvious failings, the better.
  20. Feb 29, 2012
    75
    Binary Domain is an enjoyable yet ultimately forgettable game as it does nothing to further the squad based shooter genre. It contains an interesting story, decent in-game mechanics but at times it feels a little too polished and stiff which makes it a tad unrealistic. The combat is fun and delivers an engaging system for players to finish this title, especially with the robotic gibs. Needless to say, it's quite refreshing to play something that is not based on another faux war or distant alien planet.
  21. Feb 28, 2012
    76
    It's rare that a title sneaks right up on you and offers intense visceral gunplay, an intriguing consequence system and poses philosophical questions that leave you pondering the possibilities once you put down the controller. Binary Domain manages to juggle these aspects rather well, not outstandingly or brilliantly, but compellingly enough that I found it hard to walk away and was determined to see it through to the end in as few sittings as possible.
  22. Feb 28, 2012
    60
    Sega. The Yakusa series team. Stereotyped and super trained Mercs, looking forward to making their way through 2080's Tokyo. And robots. Everything was there to make an explosive and virile shooter. But instead, as its absolutely random title should have told us, Binary Domain ends up being only a globally passable game, wanting to succeed but often too close to an industrial misunderstanding.
  23. Feb 28, 2012
    72
    Whenever the authors finally get the chance to tell their story it evolves further than "Gears of Blade Runner". Nonetheless Binary Domain gets stuck somewhere in the middle between the eastern excellence of bossfights and the western school of modern shooter action.
  24. It's the best kind of 7/10. The gunplay is raucous, but never revolutionary. The relationships make you laugh, if not cry. Binary Domain is unpolished in all the right places – the rough edges make it a unique metal snowflake in a production line of identical, shiny shooters. Fill that Mass Effect gap with a game that loves you.
  25. Feb 23, 2012
    70
    One of the best Japanese-made third person shooters of the generation, and one that doesn't just seek to copy the West but offer interesting new ideas of its own.
  26. Feb 21, 2012
    75
    It convincingly apes the mechanics and behaviours of the best shooters on the market, but its augmentations feel noticeably forced and artificial.
  27. May 14, 2012
    50
    Every single thing that Binary Domain offers has already been done, and done better elsewhere. [June 2012, p.66]
  28. It's a shame the idiotic A.I. and hit-and-miss recognition spoil it, turning this into a merely "solid" shooter. [May 2012, p.79]
  29. Mar 28, 2012
    70
    A fun but short-lived futuristic romp that, despite not stepping too far outside of the third-person shooter box, likes to poke its head out and have a look around from time to time. [Issue#216, p.79]
  30. 60
    At the present time this game looks obsolete and uses game mechanics which won't take anyone's breath away. [March 2012]
  31. Mar 22, 2012
    70
    BD's narrative smarts and satisfying combat are let down by terrible AI and a lack of polish. [Apr 2012, p.94]
  32. The bot is pretty special as their outer flies off, and you need to be tactical at times to get the best of them. Not bad, but not great either. [March 2012, p78]
  33. After finishing Binary Domain we remember its great setting and atmosphere, but that's only because the overall story is the only thing worth remembering. No matter how exciting the setting may be, the characters populating it have the psychological depth of a goldfish. [March 2012, p.84]
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 153 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 2 out of 43
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    An interesting and well directed story, good solid characters, a well balanced mix of humour and deepness that drive into suspense, anAn interesting and well directed story, good solid characters, a well balanced mix of humour and deepness that drive into suspense, an outstanding playability, the smoothness of controls, a superior AI, often above average graphics, the variety of scenarios, the ability to suck in the action and the best boss-fights ever seen since a long time now are just few of the reasons that makes Binary Domain one of the best shot actually on the market, it's definitely worth the fee cause it's a real gem that will let play itself several time before letting you say "ok, now I definitely want Binary Domain 2". Few little things like some voice not always "perfect" at a given time, a sporadic repetitiveness of some teammates in few circumstances, or the smallness of some non-shooting areas doesn't scratch a bit the greatness of this game. Just do yourself a favour, it's a wonderful 2PS or "TPS", as good as GoW series if not even better, don't ruin it pick watching anything on the web, if you can think you could like the gender buy it blindfold, you will not be disappointed. I can highly recommend this game, I give it an overall 9,4 (better CG on PS3 but better controls and details on 360) cause it deserves it, happy robot wrecking to everyone...and thanks to you Nagoshi for this great game. Full Review »
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    I was watching this game since it was announced and had very high hopes for it. I was expecting a 7-8 point tps that would help me with theI was watching this game since it was announced and had very high hopes for it. I was expecting a 7-8 point tps that would help me with the wait for Mass Effect 3. But boy, this game is absolutely astounding ! Characters are great, voice acting is superb, graphics are nice, AI is responsive, voice commands work, a little joke here and there to lighten up the mood and one of the greatest endings I have seen, period.
    If you enjoy TPS at least a little bit, you owe it to yourself to get it, since they don't even charge the usual 60 bucks for the game, but around 40.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Played the demo, all i can say: WOW! Great fantastic game, and its got perfect graphics. Runnings a little weird, but cool game all the way.Played the demo, all i can say: WOW! Great fantastic game, and its got perfect graphics. Runnings a little weird, but cool game all the way. People who rated it bad, are too stupid to know how to get past the enemies lol. Full Review »