Bionic Commando PlayStation 3

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 55
  2. Negative: 9 out of 55

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TylerH
    Jun 30, 2009
    5
    Im very torn on this game. One minute, I like it, the next I hate it. Controls take a while to get used to, some customization with them would have been nice. Only form of save points are when you finish a level. Go through an entire area, make a mistake, start all over! Fantastic waste of time! Graphics are nice here and there, but begin to look dull rather quickly, with everything Im very torn on this game. One minute, I like it, the next I hate it. Controls take a while to get used to, some customization with them would have been nice. Only form of save points are when you finish a level. Go through an entire area, make a mistake, start all over! Fantastic waste of time! Graphics are nice here and there, but begin to look dull rather quickly, with everything blending together (aside from the advertizing sticking blatently out in the open as the only things with color). Combat is more or less enjoyable, the sounds of the guns are whimpy. Yet another Capcom game that could have been so much more, its restrained by so many faults that your hard pressed to find the fun in it all. I've gained almost zero satisfaction from getting farther in the game/killing enemies/whatever. My advice would be to rent, as I have, saving a rather nice amount of money. Expand
  2. RienyeN.
    Jan 18, 2010
    6
    Capcom missed the mark on this game. It can be incredibly frustrating and quite cool at the same time. The save points are way to far between each other. It takes forever to figure out how to deal with any bosses as you waste all your ammo trying to blast your way through only to realise that your weapons have no effect (and thats when there's any ammo around to use on the boss!!!). Capcom missed the mark on this game. It can be incredibly frustrating and quite cool at the same time. The save points are way to far between each other. It takes forever to figure out how to deal with any bosses as you waste all your ammo trying to blast your way through only to realise that your weapons have no effect (and thats when there's any ammo around to use on the boss!!!). Bosses also have attacks that cant be dodged..its just infuriating. Even the controls take long to master. And when the grunts do come along, they can be finished off in a matter of seconds depending on what weapon you use. The game will keep you coming back if only in the hope that it gets better along the way but it just fails to live up your expectations. I wouldnt say dont play it, but there's better stuff out there than this. Play Ratchet & Clank: Crack In Time or Resistance 2 instead Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2011
    6
    The gameplay is pretty good, I found myself swinging wildly out of control sometimes because it's impossible to predict what the physics will deem the force of your jump or fall. Combat is also a mixed bag, and gets repetitive. On the bright side the graphics were pretty good, the multiplayer was decent (but not great). The story was just pathetic, and the ending was abrupt and awkward. IThe gameplay is pretty good, I found myself swinging wildly out of control sometimes because it's impossible to predict what the physics will deem the force of your jump or fall. Combat is also a mixed bag, and gets repetitive. On the bright side the graphics were pretty good, the multiplayer was decent (but not great). The story was just pathetic, and the ending was abrupt and awkward. I wish this game had an open world, rather than giving you the illusion of one than telling you to go in a straight line or get insta-killed by invisible barriers. Bionic Commando had the start of an awesome game, but falls short in to many areas to be recommended. And now that the developer is bankrupt we will never get to see a potentially great sequel... Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2012
    7
    Cuando me hice del juego pense, en que demonios gaste mi dinero, posteriormente aplique la de niño con nada mas que hacer y dedique mi tiempo libre en tratar de disfrutarlo, que la verdad me costo trabajo, ya que las graficas y los escenarios son bastante simples y repetitivos, y lograr pasar un nivel es una prueba entre pericia y paciencia, en eso radica que me interese elCuando me hice del juego pense, en que demonios gaste mi dinero, posteriormente aplique la de niño con nada mas que hacer y dedique mi tiempo libre en tratar de disfrutarlo, que la verdad me costo trabajo, ya que las graficas y los escenarios son bastante simples y repetitivos, y lograr pasar un nivel es una prueba entre pericia y paciencia, en eso radica que me interese el juego hasta acabarlo, en decir, esta bien dificil pero cuando lo acabe lo vendere enseguida, hahaha, lo unico que puedo rescatar es el final, no pense que terminara de esa forma, solo por el final le puedo dar esta calificacion, todo lo demas es muy plano Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2012
    7
    To make it short, the story is rather uninteresting, the characters, too. The rest is great! The controls work perfectly, I absolutely loved swinging around the environments both during exploration and combat, it's extremely fun and satisfying. The beginning felt a bit slow and tedious, mostly because the first area isn't very intersting, but once that's behind you, the game becomes muchTo make it short, the story is rather uninteresting, the characters, too. The rest is great! The controls work perfectly, I absolutely loved swinging around the environments both during exploration and combat, it's extremely fun and satisfying. The beginning felt a bit slow and tedious, mostly because the first area isn't very intersting, but once that's behind you, the game becomes much better. The graphics are very pretty and the later areas are very well done. Did I mention how fun it is to swing around in them? They're also vast and extendend. One thing I particularly loved was the music in this game. To describe the gameplay ââ Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2012
    7
    Good game but honestly, it needs more checkpoints. I won't even criticize the gameplay, because maybe that takes getting used to for most people, but starting again from the beginning is just plain annoying and frustrating. I have enjoyed it, but not sure I would recommend buying over renting it.
  7. Sep 23, 2014
    5
    A step completely away from the original games and even though I never played them, probably a wrong move. A very basic and forgettable 3D action game.
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 48
  2. Negative: 1 out of 48
  1. If the level design did a better job of integrating exploration, platforming, and environmental puzzles, it could have overcome its deficiencies on the combat front. As it is now, Bionic Commando is only worth a rent or bargain bin purchase.
  2. 90
    Do not believe the negative hype. I cannot recommend Bionic Commando enough.
  3. There are some great moments, but they're few and far between. [July 2009, p.80]