User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 403 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 403

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    Bioshock 2 is clearly a game made to make money. The only significant gameplay change between Bioshock and Bioshock 2 is the new Little Sister mechanic (and the related Big Sister attacks). For those who don't know, this mechanic means that now, whenever you find a Little Sister and kill the Big Daddy, you can take the sister with you to collect Adam from corpses while you get hit by waves of enemies (that smell you collecting Adam?). It's a very frustrating mechanic, and tends to ruin pacing. The rest of the gameplay is copy/paste from the original Bioshock. The story is simultaneously a sequel and a prequel. You are playing in a time after the events of Bioshock, but all the diaries you find are from a time before the events of Bioshock. These diaries feature Andrew Ryan, Frank Fontaine, and many of the other old characters. The new diaries establish a whole new issue that Ryan was apparently worried about around the time Fontaine was becoming a problem. It seems very much like it was tacked on just to be able to include Ryan in the story. In fact, the whole game just seems like it was tacked on to the old Bioshock to make money. Is it a good game? Well, Bioshock was a great game, and this copies that, so sure. Is it original? No. Is it as great as it was to visit Rapture for the first time? Of course not. But if you're having trouble finding other good games to play, this one won't disappoint you too much. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    Great game very impressed, should be made into a movie the story writing is very amusing, the sounds are incredible and not to mention over-the-top shooting and combination with plasmids. (+10) FREEZING ISSUES 6hrs in to it, froze had to restart (-10)
  3. Feb 5, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. El primer Bioshock mostro que era obvio una secuela o el principio de una franquicia, pero este intento lo puedo calificar de fallido, carente de originalidad siendo que el primer titulo era un refresh a los shooters, ademas que la trama que brillo en el primer titulo, aqui es aburrida y las tasks son repetitivas, matar a alguien obtener a traves de las little sisters algo que ni recuerdo como se llama, y asi repitelo a traves de las horas que tardes en terminar el juego, me arrepenti de comprarlo, lo vendi enseguida antes que bajara de precio por que seguramente no fui el unico que penso lo mismo, ser un big daddy nunca fue tan aburrido Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    Lots of people, who played the first game says this game is bad. I haven't played the first one yet, so I can't compare them, but Bioshock 2 is a great game on it's own. Nice graphics,good story, just as long, as needed, and killing the splicers with your drill is one of the most satisfying things is fps history ever. Can't wait to see Boshock Infinite.
  5. Jan 29, 2011
    7
    i thought the first bio shock was a ok game so didnt have any hype or great expectations for the second and waited for it to come down in price and got it for $10 on amazon, much like the first it is just ok but the first one is alittle bit better. the story mode has you playin as a big daddy out to find his little sister who was taken from him . the story isnt as good as the first bioshocks with no real suprises in store and no real boss fights. you pretty much have all the same guns as you had in the first game plus the rivet gun and a drill arm . you also have 2 new enimys theese giant brute looking things and the big sisters. the game doesnt feel like any thing fresh and the story doesnt do much . the online is a mixed bag . the servers are complete crap after 9 months you would think they would be more stable you will get kicked out of games alot and i do mean alot . ive gone from level 1-40 in the online and you can go to 50 if you get the DLC that lets you for $4.99 . i passed on it . the game can be fun online provided you are playing with people that are around your level . lvl 40s and higher will just own you at lower levels as they have so many cheap and i do mean UBBER cheap tatctics they can use to just 1 hit kill you causing the game to be very frustrating if you are playing on a team of alot of high lvls and you are just a lower lvl . so the games balance online can be complete crap . the online is also headed on its last leg with people playing it as finding a match online can some times take you 5 min or more some times . all in all bioshock 2 is ok and worth owning if you liked the first one just dont expect a vast improvement to any thing. Expand
  6. Aug 14, 2010
    5
    Fairly good game. However it just doesn't seem to have any appeal to me after a few missions. The impression that you are this massive "Big Daddy" seems unreal, because you can be easily taken out by a relatively weak splicer with ease. Haven't even bothered with multi-player. I'll eventually get round to playing it again, but I guarantee that'll be a long time waiting. Have no idea why people are claiming this will be game of the year, no chance. However, I would recommend renting/ lending it before you buy. It's not a bad game by a long shot, but there are better games with more appeal out there. Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    It's a good game. There are some really awesome stuff but it takes forever to get there. It feels like a psp version of Bioshock. It's still good but it just doesn't want to take any risks in messing anything up. It's hard to follow up to a game that's as good as the original. It's a good attempt.
  8. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    As long as you don't overhype this game you will find a pretty good shooter in Bioshock 2. I can't say it was as good as the first but it was still worth playing through and I am even motivated to get the DLC which says a lot of the game.
  9. Nov 1, 2010
    8
    The first Bioshock was the pinnacle of great story, gameplay, and visuals. To say i was excited for the squeal would be an understatement. Sadly, i wasn't as impressed by this one as it's older counterpart. The game gets one thing right, improving the gameplay to where its easy to grasp what it is you need to do. Playing as a Big Daddy in the concept is really exciting, to play as a being that has killed you countless times in the last game would make any person jump for the chance, but they decided to downgrade the experience to a human level, and at times i actually said 'i don't feel like a Big Daddy'. The story behind why you are so weak is that your little sister has been away from you for 10 years, so your body is decaying. It's understandable as to why the developers decided not to make you this power-filled behemoth, but i still would have liked to be one from the beginning. The gameplay itself is some-what improved from the last, they have added some new weapons, such as the drill being your first weapon, to liven things up a bit. Sadly, some of them arn't very fun at all. The hack gun, which is used to hack turrets and camera from a distance, sometimes dont work and they must be hacked in real time, meaning that in the other game you could brave being bombarded by bullets and then hack it, you have to stand there and take the rain of pain in able to hack. The visuals havn't changed, but in the case of this game that is ok, it's unique and memorable. The main thing i noticed is that the beginning of the game feels like a 'you have to do this to go on'. You are on a train in the beginning and you have two stops, each of which require you to go get something to move on. These moment, while they were technically in the last game, never felt like this. The newest edition of this is the multiplayer, which it is quite good. You are a member of a new organization in Rapture that is testing new plasmids. While the story behind it is strait forward, the concept of it is quite good. You level up to get new plasmids, cloths, and guns. The only problem with it is that it takes forever to level up. In an over all gaming experience, this game is pretty good. The problem it never got the appreciation is deserved is because it was a game squeal to one of the best games of all time. Now, it should be noted that the parent company of the first, Irrational Games, did not work on the squeal. This lack of the parent company behind the project does alarm some, but to be brunt this is a good game Expand
  10. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    Honestly Bioshock 2 was a slight failure but there is nothing wrong with it at all. The graphics are almost the same but there is nothing at all wrong with that, it didn't need a revamp. The combat is impressive and fun and the new enemies feel fresh. The story is not as complex as the original but Sofia Lamb is a fitting replacement of Andrew Ryan. 8/10
  11. Nov 4, 2010
    8
    extremely similar to the first one except you are the big daddy, graphics are pretty much the same, the original was better in my opinion, however it was still worth while game play
  12. Apr 15, 2011
    9
    I was one of those who thought that the original bioshock was indeed a great game, but not a classic. It had many issues and for me it wasn't memorable. However, I dont question the game's brilliance. As a first person shooter Bioshock is as good as it can get( along with Half Life 2). So Bioshock 2 comes up and I happen to like it just as much as the first. Admitedly it doesn't feel fresh or unique as the first but it still has many of the things that made the original so awsome. I loved the fact that you play as a prototype big daddy and the story shows life in rapture from a big daddy's point of view. The gameplay has improved. There are more gene tonics, more plasmids, new weapons( the drill being the best of them all) and generally a refined experience. I actually though the story was just as good as the first's. The plot unfolds in a very subtle way and isn't a copycat to the first Bioshock's, as you would expect. The graphics are, more or less, the same but the sound is really fantastic. The sound effects really pulls you deeper into the game, I constantly had shivers thanks to the epic/scary music the game throws at you at certain times. So, to sum it all up, Bioshock 2 is brilliant. Anyone who thought Bioshock was one of the best games of all time would be dissapointed with this game. If you are like me and you really liked the first game, mainly the gameplay over the story, then Bioshock 2 will definatly be great for you. Nowadays it's dirt cheap( I bought it for 5 pounds) and I can tell it's worth much more then that. Fantastic game. Expand
  13. Nov 21, 2010
    7
    I appreciate the game makers' attempt to inject life into the same world, but I feel like the magic of the first game is just being recycled. In its own right, this is an enjoyable and thrilling game, but I'd stick with the original. 74%.
  14. Nov 30, 2010
    7
    I wish I could say I enjoyed this game, but it felt too similar to the first Bioshock which really detracted from the experience. However, it's not a horrible game for it has redeeming qualities, such as the gameplay itself where you can wield both plasmids and a weapon at the same time. Also the multiplayer wasn't too shabby and I actually enjoyed it. Overall, its okay, but those expecting to have their minds blown like the first will be a bit disappointed. Expand
  15. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    I'm glad I scored Bioshock 2 so well on my scale. Sounds like a weird thing to say, but I remember being really disappointed upon reading the initial reviews of Bioshock 2. Many reviewers couldnâ
  16. Feb 1, 2011
    7
    A thrilling and entertaining game. Good graphics, a great amount of possibilities and... well, that's it. The storyline is too simple, it doesn't trap you at all (is the only bad point compared with it's predecessor). But, which is the principal objective of a game? To entertain the player. In my case, Bioshock 2 did it.
  17. Feb 9, 2011
    5
    The whole game is decent, but nothing more than that. Not as interesting to play as the first, offers nothing we are significantly better off with having. skip or rent (or pirate)
  18. You
    May 12, 2011
    5
    I played this game with the friend on his xbox. It looked great and i bought it for ps3 but wasn't very interesting. It is very boring. When i played it at first it was exciting. But soon i understood that itis very line game. It is not bad. It is not good
    5.0
  19. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    Though this game is not as good as the first story and graphics wise it is still a great game. The story though not as interesting is easier to understand due to it's simplicity. For some reason the graphics have received a downgrade, I know it was developed by a different team but still you'd think they would improve on it. Bioshock 2 does fix up the little gameplay problems that were in the first one. Multiplayer is quite enjoyable with a CoD style level up system though there aren't that many people playing it. Expand
  20. Sep 15, 2011
    8
    Loved the first game and this is a good sequel but suffers from sequel status too. Enough fresh ideas to keep things interesting, plenty of plasmid/weapon combos and fantastic nostalgic settings. Story was confusing and had to research online afterwards to find out what the hell it was about :-)
    Worth playing if you liked the first but missing that extra special 'wow' factor. Solid.
  21. Oct 10, 2011
    7
    BioShock 2 is a great shooting game i only paid £5 so i didn't pay much i like the horror part of the game mix with the powers you get i give it 7/10
  22. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    Gameplay is excellent, as it was in the first one. Very fun game to play with tons of new weapons and areas of rapture to explore. Graphics are slightly dated at this point but still good. Sound effects are prestine and overall presentation is great. Have to admit that I was a huge fan of the first which had an amazing plot. The plot of this game is not well written, compared with its predecessor. There are no twists or turns in the plot. No backtracking to previous areas should have been implemented into this game as it was in the first. Multiplayer is fun but unnecessary deterrent from the main game, which is excellent overall. Expand
  23. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Bioshock is awesome. Bioshock 2 is a sequel to an awesome game. Where else can you go from the top except downward. The graphics in this game are great and really capture the look and feel of Rapture as it slowly falls apart. The gameplay is greatly impoved and makes the game more fun to play. having plasmids and guns out at the same time is exactly what this game needed, and the weapons have never been more fun to play with. Trap rivets, mini turrets, and an auto-hack gun are great for strategically overpower enemies and protect your little sisters from harm. But as the narrative plays out, I couldn't help but get this feeling that I'm playing a typical "shinny sequel." The story and environments are good but not as good as the original. The original had a sense of mystery about it that this game doesn't. The original bioshock was almost scary with its mystery, but this game isn't. Andrew Ryan is one of the best video game villians I've ever seen, but Lamb just comes across as a good villian. This game impoves on a lot as far as gameplay is conserned but lacks the same punch the first had. I hate holding games at certain expectations, but I feel there is no other way to describe this games faults without doing so. The game is good, but it shies just short of greatness. Expand
  24. Mar 31, 2013
    7
    This game has a Good Story, has good gameplay mechanics, good ambientation but, in my opinion it is not as good as the Original, but is still a Good Game with a deep Story, and a lenght of about 6 hours, and the multiplayer is unnecessary
  25. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    Bioshock 2 takes the elements from the first title but innovates in many ways. Lots of new enemies, weapons, a new story in which you are now a big daddy and a multiplayer mode are the main highlights of this game. The only negative thing I can say is that the multiplayer suffers from lag sometimes and the story should have been longer. If you loved the first Bioshock, you should definitely try this one. Expand
  26. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    Bioshock 2... I got it ages ago and I'm only just reviewing it. Overall, Bioshock has a fantastic storyline, excellent voice acting and brilliant combat. The ending is engrossing and the choices you must make supply much needed intrigue into the game. The controls are really easy to get used to and while maybe not having as much storyline depth as the original Bioshock, it still is worth the money, even today. If you enjoyed the first game, you'll love this entry. If you're new to the series, you'll love it as well... Go on buy it!, it's really cheap.

    Look out for Bioshock Infinite this October!
    Expand
  27. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    The world of Rapture is not as exciting on the second visit. Gameplay is mainly the same as in Bioshock 1, but the story is completely different. Technically it feels a bit rough around the edges, the gunplay is still not great, but the atmosphere is.

    Multiplayer is a nice addition and it's fun, but nothing spectacular.

    If you like the original Bioshock, you will like this. It's more of
    the same, but just not as exciting. Expand
  28. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    Very good game, especially the gameplay. Like most bioshock games though all the stories seem to be a little confusing since it is a made up world; or maybe it was just me. But even though this is almost the same game as bioshock I still enjoyed it because of the variety of ways to play with the guns and all, and more variety of enemies. The multiplayer was a plus and very fun, something different. I would say I felt the ending was dragged out, but still a great game. Expand
  29. May 26, 2012
    10
    Great game but i played bioshock 1 and Bioshock 2 become for me good game but not ideal as 1. Singleplayer is good not more.Also, Multiplayer is very cool, i find many problems as ballistic, i can't forget it for new weapon, new plasmids, skills ang game types from this game as capture the sister, civil war an order. My advice - bioshock 2 need buy!
  30. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    It's equally good to the first Bioshock, minus the novelty aspect. Here are the changes: new hacking system (it's better), new story (it's worse). That's about it - it's really the same game with a different story. I enjoyed it almost as much as the first, though, because it remains that the gameplay is awesome.
  31. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    Bioshock 2 may have sacrificed storytelling for cleaner gameplay, but the story is still well written and better than your average VG narrative. Sophia Lamb isn't nearly as charismatic as Andrew Ryan but succeeds in getting me to despise her, making her a decent antagonist at worst. Gameplay tweaks seem minor at first, but dual wielding guns and plasmids, the ability to melee with any weapon, and the new real time reflex-based hacking system made a world of difference. I had more fun protecting the little sisters in this game than the first. Probably due to the unstoppability I felt having improved plasmids, weapons, traps, and ample time to set up and unleash my inner Macaulay Culkin whenever I was ready to harvest. Expand
  32. May 8, 2013
    7
    I'm rating this as 7 for one reason. nothing new in game-play experience from original BioShock. No surprised in the story as in original BioShock.
    Overall it's a nice game and I enjoyed it. But I was expecting more for rapture sequel. I would say play Original BioShock and if you got this one for free you can play it. But I won't recommend buying it alone. You can get with the ultimate
    rapture edition as I did. Expand
  33. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    SINGLEPLAYER Review Only: Way better then multiplayer, the story is good and the game just feels nice for the singleplayer! Fans of the original will enjoy this one because it's more of the same but more of the same is fine by me as long as it's Bioshock. It's fun shooting these nooby splicers :D The graphics are not bad also but if you enjoyed the first bioshock play the 2nd you will enjoy it.
  34. Sep 17, 2012
    7
    The first Bioshock is better. Bioshock is good but falls short of a couple of things. I thought the story was great and I thought the multiplayer was god awful. Nevertheless its worth 20 dollars.
  35. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    So lets go down the list of ways Bioshock 2 makes improvements over the original Bioshock. Better graphics, stronger enemies, more enemies, dual wielding, actual plasmid leveling system, WAY better hacking(realtime too), streamlined gameplay, wonderful antithesis story, amazing sound design, more endings, deeper little sister involvment. I could go on for a while and go more in depth, but seriously, everything is better. Go get it, it will be a great way to prepare for Bioshock Infinite Expand
  36. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    Bioshock maybe the best series of games i
  37. Feb 8, 2013
    8
    Bioshock 2 is a very well made game. It has a dark, compelling atmosphere with a mysterious story which draws you in. The gameplay is fluid, fun, but sometimes repetitive. The usual features are present; collectibles, difficulty trophies, multiplayer modes. The multiplayer is sometimes buggy but on the most part it performs well. In conclusion, I found this game enjoyable and challenging, though sometimes repetitive. I recommend it!. Expand
  38. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    Peor que el primero. El argumento es interesante, pero no tan original como el primero, la jugabilidad muy buena, igual que la del anterior, tiene más acción. La ambientación está igual de cuidada que en el primer juego. Tiene más armas y más acción que el primero, además de online, pero no tiene ni la originalidad ni la historia del primero. Los gráficos no cambian mucho, son excelentes. Expand
  39. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    Bioshock 2 continues what seemed to be the very best FPS I've ever played in my life, but now changing part of the core of the previous game, placing you in control of a Big Daddy, and in an atmosphere much different, now 10 years later. The game stands by the same principles, but now innovating much in gameplay, showing extensive levels with much to explore and different ways of challenges with new Plasmids and new enemies.
    However, it didn't totally improved in all therms, although it is difficult to find a story as good as the one in the first game of the series the story in this game felt some times with a hole or two, and giving you a strange felling that something should have been mentioned in Bioshock 1. Despite some slight issues such as the graphics that should have been enhanced, other details make you feel a part of innovation at the gameplay and at the very scenario itself.
    It didn't improve as much as it should but it also did not crushed expectations, it really felt like a new game that tried to make new things but had some backdrops.
    Expand
  40. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    I downloaded this game 03/01/2013 and i have to say... AMAZING. A deep and immense game that allows you to play at your own style, from traps and up close melee to a mad shooting spree with explosives. A great story line that allows you to play again to get a different outcome (kind of like inFamous but not as radical). I also played a little of the multiplayer, very nice not only with the actual gameplay but the simple fact you start in your own "apartment". I will also be getting bioshock3 when it comes out later this month. Expand
  41. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    Bioshock 2 did everything I didn't get with the original, better gameplay, better story and overall a better game, I liked almost every aspect about this game over it's older sibling. one thing that I can complain about is the length, significantly short compare to bioshock 1, but still; amazing game
  42. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    I really love Bioshock. It has to be one of my favorite games I ever played for the PS3. I gained Bioshock 2 right after buying the first, as a used copy was at Cashland for $15. I don't know why, but I didn't like this one as much. It didn't capture me in the story as the first one did, I got bored around halfway through the game. Going into the world of Rapture for the second time isn't as exciting as the first. Also, the I said I had no frame-rate issues with the first, but this one was a different story. I also wanted better graphics than the first, but no such luck there. To me, this just feels like more of a shooter than the first. If you like shooters, then you might like this game. Expand
  43. Oct 2, 2013
    6
    After playing all of the Bioshock games, this one seems like a much lower quality experience than the other two games. A lot of this game is spent doing mundane tasks over and over again, and because of this, it seems to go on and on for way too long. At certain points, it just seemed like a waste of time to play this game, and I would only go on since I already committed to beating this game. To the game's credit, every mundane section would be followed by an fairly interesting section. In all, this game just left a mediocre impression, it wasn't bad, but I wouldn't recommend it. Expand
  44. Aug 26, 2013
    5
    I got this game with the mindset that it was going to be really good and possibly better than the first which i gave it a 9.3. Bioshock 2 was no means a bad game but i was very diddapointed and im easily pleased with games but bioshock 2 felt like Bioshock V.05 Because the story wasnt as interesting, the idea of being A big daddy was cool but there was no real upgrades exept using 2 things at once, While the shooting and combat was intacted there were no real improvements and there wasnt very many new enemys... Big sister, Really? The game is OK but could be better. 5.5 Expand
  45. Oct 19, 2013
    7
    Story isn't this games strong suit. Gameplay is improved quite some in this version but most of the game is a form of escort mission, so that's annoying. This game wants to be a sequel when Bioshock didn't need a sequel. I feel like this game would have been better as a prequel, think about it. You would have spent more time in a living rapture, growing a connection to your little sister. The whole Lamb vs Ryan thing would have made more sense and would have more impact if Ryan was alive, fighting Lamb in political debate. We could see the deterioration of rapture as everything breaks apart. The splicers splice, the politics go mad, and rapture begins to die. That would also make the whole playing as a prototype big daddy make sense. At the end of all you can kill Lamb or help her get the f*** out of dodge. Did you know metacritic f***ing censors you? I have to add the asterisks or else they remove whole sections, and that's just weird. Expand
  46. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    Graphics: Graphics still look amazing but compared to the first not much has changed. There are still far better looking games on the PS3. 9.

    Sound: Great themes, level design goes great with themes. Voice acting is great. 10.

    Gameplay: Same as Bioshock 1 but with more attachments. There are different weapons, and different enemies that are stronger to take down, and
    especially this time around with the big sisters. The game is actually a great challenge on the medium difficulty setting, and requires you to rescue/harvest little sisters to gain enough adam for upgrades. The new feature, now that you’re playing as a big daddy, is that you can choose to harvest dead enemies to gain additional adam. The issue with this is that every time you do this it spawns a wave of enemies that attack, and you have to defend the little sister while she harvests the body. It’s a really cool new game play feature although near the ending of the game it just gets way to difficult, and the reason is because the game doesn’t provide enough ammunition so I found myself at some points skipping the harvest and just taking the little sisters straight to the vent. Also, at times I would clear an area and step foot into another area, and head back that same second only to find splicers respawning. Bioshock 1 felt more organized when having you face splicers, while Bioshock 2 seemed to make it much more linear in the process, adding more and more splicers to constantly tackle making it feel too chore-y. Overall the game was a big challenge which is a positive, although I was frustrated with the amount of supplies that you get. The levels are structured really well, and the story continually progresses. The boss battles aren’t anything special, some have you clear out all the splicers only to battle the boss which looks similar to a splicer only with a huge health buff. The game doesn’t end with a strong memorable boss battle like the first game, instead takes a cheap wave fight. 8.5.

    Story: The story is as well written as the first game, the pacing and twist aren’t as great as the first, but the ending leaves on a strong note also like the first game. You play as the very first Big Daddy (Delta), and the story unfolds from start to finish. 9.0.

    Lasting Appeal/Value: The game contains a multiplayer that is decent/okay at best, the original game clocks in at about 8-10 hours on medium. The price for this game is free for PSPlus, and I’ve gotten this game on steam for like $5 bucks before. I’d say it’s worth getting. 10.

    Overall Score: 9.3 out of 10.
    Expand
  47. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 9 out of 10, Fun: 8 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 3 out of 10, Value: 7 out of 10
  48. Mar 27, 2014
    9
    Good as the first one, but not that good, also a great story and characters, gameplay and the first big daddy himself, it's a dream come true for the fans.
  49. Apr 20, 2014
    8
    this game isn't as good as the first game for sure, but, it is still pretty awesome and gives a nice change in style while still holding to the things that made the first game great. you play as a big daddy for one which is pretty cool, but I didn't feel as powerful as I should of, using the drill was a lot of fun though. the story doesn't quite live up to the first game and the characters are not as interesting, but it is still unique and enjoyable in its own way. I enjoy the hacking in this game better simply because its easier, the last games hacking puzzles sometimes were to much of a bother. the world doesn't feel as creepy as it did before either, but its still a BioSchock game with a few small dissapointments that keep it from living up to the first game, but was still a joy to play. Expand
  50. Sep 23, 2014
    8
    It's very much a case of "been there, done that", but with improved combat and weapons, and a completely new story to boot, BioShock 2 is well worth another trip into Rapture.
  51. Aug 23, 2014
    0
    This game should have just been a DLC instead of a full-blown sequel. The story is ridiculously short and boring, not to mention poorly voice-acted. And by far the worst sin is that no new plasmids were added, some were tweaked ever so slightly or given new names, but no real new ones were added for the second game. The weapons were also extremely similar to the original game. Some may see this as staying true to the original, but I see it as lack of originality, inspiration, or imagination. It seems as if the makers of the original Bioshock just got really really really lazy and decided to not change anything because the system worked the first time. Any new plasmids or weapons would have been a welcome addition, not a significant change to the game. Overall, the game just should have been a DLC and I have rarely been so disappointed in a game. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Unless the familiarity really gets to you, you're going to love BioShock 2. It's a lovingly crafted, carefully constructed masterpiece of narrative richness and smart game mechanics. It can even be enjoyed as a straight-up shooter thanks to its innovative, tactile combat system. [Feb 2010, p.72]
  2. 91
    It's a game in which story, setting, and gameplay are expertly blended to create an experience that's as thought-provoking as it is entertaining.
  3. 90
    This second tour of duty with far superior toys is everything it needs to be, though. Familiarity breeds a little contempt, but as, simply, a game in which you shoot monsters in city under the sea, it's better in every respect.