User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 429 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 429

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    Bioshock 2... I got it ages ago and I'm only just reviewing it. Overall, Bioshock has a fantastic storyline, excellent voice acting and brilliant combat. The ending is engrossing and the choices you must make supply much needed intrigue into the game. The controls are really easy to get used to and while maybe not having as much storyline depth as the original Bioshock, it still is worthBioshock 2... I got it ages ago and I'm only just reviewing it. Overall, Bioshock has a fantastic storyline, excellent voice acting and brilliant combat. The ending is engrossing and the choices you must make supply much needed intrigue into the game. The controls are really easy to get used to and while maybe not having as much storyline depth as the original Bioshock, it still is worth the money, even today. If you enjoyed the first game, you'll love this entry. If you're new to the series, you'll love it as well... Go on buy it!, it's really cheap.

    Look out for Bioshock Infinite this October!
    Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    Lots of people, who played the first game says this game is bad. I haven't played the first one yet, so I can't compare them, but Bioshock 2 is a great game on it's own. Nice graphics,good story, just as long, as needed, and killing the splicers with your drill is one of the most satisfying things is fps history ever. Can't wait to see Boshock Infinite.
  3. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    Great game very impressed, should be made into a movie the story writing is very amusing, the sounds are incredible and not to mention over-the-top shooting and combination with plasmids. (+10) FREEZING ISSUES 6hrs in to it, froze had to restart (-10)
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    So lets go down the list of ways Bioshock 2 makes improvements over the original Bioshock. Better graphics, stronger enemies, more enemies, dual wielding, actual plasmid leveling system, WAY better hacking(realtime too), streamlined gameplay, wonderful antithesis story, amazing sound design, more endings, deeper little sister involvment. I could go on for a while and go more in depth, butSo lets go down the list of ways Bioshock 2 makes improvements over the original Bioshock. Better graphics, stronger enemies, more enemies, dual wielding, actual plasmid leveling system, WAY better hacking(realtime too), streamlined gameplay, wonderful antithesis story, amazing sound design, more endings, deeper little sister involvment. I could go on for a while and go more in depth, but seriously, everything is better. Go get it, it will be a great way to prepare for Bioshock Infinite Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    It's a good game. There are some really awesome stuff but it takes forever to get there. It feels like a psp version of Bioshock. It's still good but it just doesn't want to take any risks in messing anything up. It's hard to follow up to a game that's as good as the original. It's a good attempt.
  6. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    Honestly Bioshock 2 was a slight failure but there is nothing wrong with it at all. The graphics are almost the same but there is nothing at all wrong with that, it didn't need a revamp. The combat is impressive and fun and the new enemies feel fresh. The story is not as complex as the original but Sofia Lamb is a fitting replacement of Andrew Ryan. 8/10
  7. Apr 15, 2011
    9
    I was one of those who thought that the original bioshock was indeed a great game, but not a classic. It had many issues and for me it wasn't memorable. However, I dont question the game's brilliance. As a first person shooter Bioshock is as good as it can get( along with Half Life 2). So Bioshock 2 comes up and I happen to like it just as much as the first. Admitedly it doesn't feel freshI was one of those who thought that the original bioshock was indeed a great game, but not a classic. It had many issues and for me it wasn't memorable. However, I dont question the game's brilliance. As a first person shooter Bioshock is as good as it can get( along with Half Life 2). So Bioshock 2 comes up and I happen to like it just as much as the first. Admitedly it doesn't feel fresh or unique as the first but it still has many of the things that made the original so awsome. I loved the fact that you play as a prototype big daddy and the story shows life in rapture from a big daddy's point of view. The gameplay has improved. There are more gene tonics, more plasmids, new weapons( the drill being the best of them all) and generally a refined experience. I actually though the story was just as good as the first's. The plot unfolds in a very subtle way and isn't a copycat to the first Bioshock's, as you would expect. The graphics are, more or less, the same but the sound is really fantastic. The sound effects really pulls you deeper into the game, I constantly had shivers thanks to the epic/scary music the game throws at you at certain times. So, to sum it all up, Bioshock 2 is brilliant. Anyone who thought Bioshock was one of the best games of all time would be dissapointed with this game. If you are like me and you really liked the first game, mainly the gameplay over the story, then Bioshock 2 will definatly be great for you. Nowadays it's dirt cheap( I bought it for 5 pounds) and I can tell it's worth much more then that. Fantastic game. Expand
  8. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    I'm glad I scored Bioshock 2 so well on my scale. Sounds like a weird thing to say, but I remember being really disappointed upon reading the initial reviews of Bioshock 2. Many reviewers couldnâ
  9. Jan 14, 2015
    10
    A very worthy successor to Bioshock & an amazing game in it's own right. Some very interesting differences in what you are & what you'll meet. I'll simply say that the Big Sister freaked me out!
    As in Bioshock the graphics and sound are amazing. The story is not quite as good as Bioshock IMO but I still enjoyed it.
    If you play, be sure to look around because there are lots of Easter
    A very worthy successor to Bioshock & an amazing game in it's own right. Some very interesting differences in what you are & what you'll meet. I'll simply say that the Big Sister freaked me out!
    As in Bioshock the graphics and sound are amazing. The story is not quite as good as Bioshock IMO but I still enjoyed it.
    If you play, be sure to look around because there are lots of Easter Eggs that refer to the first game.
    Expand
  10. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    Though this game is not as good as the first story and graphics wise it is still a great game. The story though not as interesting is easier to understand due to it's simplicity. For some reason the graphics have received a downgrade, I know it was developed by a different team but still you'd think they would improve on it. Bioshock 2 does fix up the little gameplay problems that were inThough this game is not as good as the first story and graphics wise it is still a great game. The story though not as interesting is easier to understand due to it's simplicity. For some reason the graphics have received a downgrade, I know it was developed by a different team but still you'd think they would improve on it. Bioshock 2 does fix up the little gameplay problems that were in the first one. Multiplayer is quite enjoyable with a CoD style level up system though there aren't that many people playing it. Expand
  11. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Bioshock is awesome. Bioshock 2 is a sequel to an awesome game. Where else can you go from the top except downward. The graphics in this game are great and really capture the look and feel of Rapture as it slowly falls apart. The gameplay is greatly impoved and makes the game more fun to play. having plasmids and guns out at the same time is exactly what this game needed, and theBioshock is awesome. Bioshock 2 is a sequel to an awesome game. Where else can you go from the top except downward. The graphics in this game are great and really capture the look and feel of Rapture as it slowly falls apart. The gameplay is greatly impoved and makes the game more fun to play. having plasmids and guns out at the same time is exactly what this game needed, and the weapons have never been more fun to play with. Trap rivets, mini turrets, and an auto-hack gun are great for strategically overpower enemies and protect your little sisters from harm. But as the narrative plays out, I couldn't help but get this feeling that I'm playing a typical "shinny sequel." The story and environments are good but not as good as the original. The original had a sense of mystery about it that this game doesn't. The original bioshock was almost scary with its mystery, but this game isn't. Andrew Ryan is one of the best video game villians I've ever seen, but Lamb just comes across as a good villian. This game impoves on a lot as far as gameplay is conserned but lacks the same punch the first had. I hate holding games at certain expectations, but I feel there is no other way to describe this games faults without doing so. The game is good, but it shies just short of greatness. Expand
  12. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    Bioshock 2 takes the elements from the first title but innovates in many ways. Lots of new enemies, weapons, a new story in which you are now a big daddy and a multiplayer mode are the main highlights of this game. The only negative thing I can say is that the multiplayer suffers from lag sometimes and the story should have been longer. If you loved the first Bioshock, you shouldBioshock 2 takes the elements from the first title but innovates in many ways. Lots of new enemies, weapons, a new story in which you are now a big daddy and a multiplayer mode are the main highlights of this game. The only negative thing I can say is that the multiplayer suffers from lag sometimes and the story should have been longer. If you loved the first Bioshock, you should definitely try this one. Expand
  13. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    Very good game, especially the gameplay. Like most bioshock games though all the stories seem to be a little confusing since it is a made up world; or maybe it was just me. But even though this is almost the same game as bioshock I still enjoyed it because of the variety of ways to play with the guns and all, and more variety of enemies. The multiplayer was a plus and very fun, somethingVery good game, especially the gameplay. Like most bioshock games though all the stories seem to be a little confusing since it is a made up world; or maybe it was just me. But even though this is almost the same game as bioshock I still enjoyed it because of the variety of ways to play with the guns and all, and more variety of enemies. The multiplayer was a plus and very fun, something different. I would say I felt the ending was dragged out, but still a great game. Expand
  14. May 26, 2012
    10
    Great game but i played bioshock 1 and Bioshock 2 become for me good game but not ideal as 1. Singleplayer is good not more.Also, Multiplayer is very cool, i find many problems as ballistic, i can't forget it for new weapon, new plasmids, skills ang game types from this game as capture the sister, civil war an order. My advice - bioshock 2 need buy!
  15. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    Bioshock 2 may have sacrificed storytelling for cleaner gameplay, but the story is still well written and better than your average VG narrative. Sophia Lamb isn't nearly as charismatic as Andrew Ryan but succeeds in getting me to despise her, making her a decent antagonist at worst. Gameplay tweaks seem minor at first, but dual wielding guns and plasmids, the ability to melee with anyBioshock 2 may have sacrificed storytelling for cleaner gameplay, but the story is still well written and better than your average VG narrative. Sophia Lamb isn't nearly as charismatic as Andrew Ryan but succeeds in getting me to despise her, making her a decent antagonist at worst. Gameplay tweaks seem minor at first, but dual wielding guns and plasmids, the ability to melee with any weapon, and the new real time reflex-based hacking system made a world of difference. I had more fun protecting the little sisters in this game than the first. Probably due to the unstoppability I felt having improved plasmids, weapons, traps, and ample time to set up and unleash my inner Macaulay Culkin whenever I was ready to harvest. Expand
  16. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    SINGLEPLAYER Review Only: Way better then multiplayer, the story is good and the game just feels nice for the singleplayer! Fans of the original will enjoy this one because it's more of the same but more of the same is fine by me as long as it's Bioshock. It's fun shooting these nooby splicers :D The graphics are not bad also but if you enjoyed the first bioshock play the 2nd you will enjoy it.
  17. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    Bioshock maybe the best series of games i
  18. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    Peor que el primero. El argumento es interesante, pero no tan original como el primero, la jugabilidad muy buena, igual que la del anterior, tiene más acción. La ambientación está igual de cuidada que en el primer juego. Tiene más armas y más acción que el primero, además de online, pero no tiene ni la originalidad ni la historia delPeor que el primero. El argumento es interesante, pero no tan original como el primero, la jugabilidad muy buena, igual que la del anterior, tiene más acción. La ambientación está igual de cuidada que en el primer juego. Tiene más armas y más acción que el primero, además de online, pero no tiene ni la originalidad ni la historia del primero. Los gráficos no cambian mucho, son excelentes. Expand
  19. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    Bioshock 2 continues what seemed to be the very best FPS I've ever played in my life, but now changing part of the core of the previous game, placing you in control of a Big Daddy, and in an atmosphere much different, now 10 years later. The game stands by the same principles, but now innovating much in gameplay, showing extensive levels with much to explore and different ways ofBioshock 2 continues what seemed to be the very best FPS I've ever played in my life, but now changing part of the core of the previous game, placing you in control of a Big Daddy, and in an atmosphere much different, now 10 years later. The game stands by the same principles, but now innovating much in gameplay, showing extensive levels with much to explore and different ways of challenges with new Plasmids and new enemies.
    However, it didn't totally improved in all therms, although it is difficult to find a story as good as the one in the first game of the series the story in this game felt some times with a hole or two, and giving you a strange felling that something should have been mentioned in Bioshock 1. Despite some slight issues such as the graphics that should have been enhanced, other details make you feel a part of innovation at the gameplay and at the very scenario itself.
    It didn't improve as much as it should but it also did not crushed expectations, it really felt like a new game that tried to make new things but had some backdrops.
    Expand
  20. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    I downloaded this game 03/01/2013 and i have to say... AMAZING. A deep and immense game that allows you to play at your own style, from traps and up close melee to a mad shooting spree with explosives. A great story line that allows you to play again to get a different outcome (kind of like inFamous but not as radical). I also played a little of the multiplayer, very nice not only withI downloaded this game 03/01/2013 and i have to say... AMAZING. A deep and immense game that allows you to play at your own style, from traps and up close melee to a mad shooting spree with explosives. A great story line that allows you to play again to get a different outcome (kind of like inFamous but not as radical). I also played a little of the multiplayer, very nice not only with the actual gameplay but the simple fact you start in your own "apartment". I will also be getting bioshock3 when it comes out later this month. Expand
  21. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    Bioshock 2 did everything I didn't get with the original, better gameplay, better story and overall a better game, I liked almost every aspect about this game over it's older sibling. one thing that I can complain about is the length, significantly short compare to bioshock 1, but still; amazing game
  22. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    Graphics: Graphics still look amazing but compared to the first not much has changed. There are still far better looking games on the PS3. 9.

    Sound: Great themes, level design goes great with themes. Voice acting is great. 10. Gameplay: Same as Bioshock 1 but with more attachments. There are different weapons, and different enemies that are stronger to take down, and
    Graphics: Graphics still look amazing but compared to the first not much has changed. There are still far better looking games on the PS3. 9.

    Sound: Great themes, level design goes great with themes. Voice acting is great. 10.

    Gameplay: Same as Bioshock 1 but with more attachments. There are different weapons, and different enemies that are stronger to take down, and especially this time around with the big sisters. The game is actually a great challenge on the medium difficulty setting, and requires you to rescue/harvest little sisters to gain enough adam for upgrades. The new feature, now that you’re playing as a big daddy, is that you can choose to harvest dead enemies to gain additional adam. The issue with this is that every time you do this it spawns a wave of enemies that attack, and you have to defend the little sister while she harvests the body. It’s a really cool new game play feature although near the ending of the game it just gets way to difficult, and the reason is because the game doesn’t provide enough ammunition so I found myself at some points skipping the harvest and just taking the little sisters straight to the vent. Also, at times I would clear an area and step foot into another area, and head back that same second only to find splicers respawning. Bioshock 1 felt more organized when having you face splicers, while Bioshock 2 seemed to make it much more linear in the process, adding more and more splicers to constantly tackle making it feel too chore-y. Overall the game was a big challenge which is a positive, although I was frustrated with the amount of supplies that you get. The levels are structured really well, and the story continually progresses. The boss battles aren’t anything special, some have you clear out all the splicers only to battle the boss which looks similar to a splicer only with a huge health buff. The game doesn’t end with a strong memorable boss battle like the first game, instead takes a cheap wave fight. 8.5.

    Story: The story is as well written as the first game, the pacing and twist aren’t as great as the first, but the ending leaves on a strong note also like the first game. You play as the very first Big Daddy (Delta), and the story unfolds from start to finish. 9.0.

    Lasting Appeal/Value: The game contains a multiplayer that is decent/okay at best, the original game clocks in at about 8-10 hours on medium. The price for this game is free for PSPlus, and I’ve gotten this game on steam for like $5 bucks before. I’d say it’s worth getting. 10.

    Overall Score: 9.3 out of 10.
    Expand
  23. Mar 27, 2014
    9
    Good as the first one, but not that good, also a great story and characters, gameplay and the first big daddy himself, it's a dream come true for the fans.
  24. Dec 9, 2014
    10
    Amazing, just amazing. This is a very good game. I can't think of it being bad. Enemy, abilitys, and weapons, are more better. It is fun setting those idiots on fire. And FINALLY you can go underwater with no problem. I like being a Big Daddy because you have a tackle ability (witch you can take out a enemy with no problem. You have more slots for abilitys and upgrades. I think this gameAmazing, just amazing. This is a very good game. I can't think of it being bad. Enemy, abilitys, and weapons, are more better. It is fun setting those idiots on fire. And FINALLY you can go underwater with no problem. I like being a Big Daddy because you have a tackle ability (witch you can take out a enemy with no problem. You have more slots for abilitys and upgrades. I think this game is better than call of duty. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Unless the familiarity really gets to you, you're going to love BioShock 2. It's a lovingly crafted, carefully constructed masterpiece of narrative richness and smart game mechanics. It can even be enjoyed as a straight-up shooter thanks to its innovative, tactile combat system. [Feb 2010, p.72]
  2. 91
    It's a game in which story, setting, and gameplay are expertly blended to create an experience that's as thought-provoking as it is entertaining.
  3. 90
    This second tour of duty with far superior toys is everything it needs to be, though. Familiarity breeds a little contempt, but as, simply, a game in which you shoot monsters in city under the sea, it's better in every respect.