BioShock 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 506 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 506
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    Bioshock 2... I got it ages ago and I'm only just reviewing it. Overall, Bioshock has a fantastic storyline, excellent voice acting and brilliant combat. The ending is engrossing and the choices you must make supply much needed intrigue into the game. The controls are really easy to get used to and while maybe not having as much storyline depth as the original Bioshock, it still is worthBioshock 2... I got it ages ago and I'm only just reviewing it. Overall, Bioshock has a fantastic storyline, excellent voice acting and brilliant combat. The ending is engrossing and the choices you must make supply much needed intrigue into the game. The controls are really easy to get used to and while maybe not having as much storyline depth as the original Bioshock, it still is worth the money, even today. If you enjoyed the first game, you'll love this entry. If you're new to the series, you'll love it as well... Go on buy it!, it's really cheap.

    Look out for Bioshock Infinite this October!
    Expand
  2. JamesD
    Feb 9, 2010
    9
    Bioshock 2 may not be as grand of an experience like the outstanding original but it does everything a sequel should do and it is still the best game ever in terms of narrative richness.
  3. excitebike
    Feb 9, 2010
    9
    Thank god for the return of the 'thinking man/woman's shooter'! Not only has 2K Marin returned to a fantastic and gripping narrative, the gameplay, combat, environments and voice acting will draw you in and keep you thinking about rapture when you're not playing it. Don't even think about it, go out and buy Bioshock 2 right now. It's a perfect example as to Thank god for the return of the 'thinking man/woman's shooter'! Not only has 2K Marin returned to a fantastic and gripping narrative, the gameplay, combat, environments and voice acting will draw you in and keep you thinking about rapture when you're not playing it. Don't even think about it, go out and buy Bioshock 2 right now. It's a perfect example as to why we play video games. Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    Lots of people, who played the first game says this game is bad. I haven't played the first one yet, so I can't compare them, but Bioshock 2 is a great game on it's own. Nice graphics,good story, just as long, as needed, and killing the splicers with your drill is one of the most satisfying things is fps history ever. Can't wait to see Boshock Infinite.
  5. SR
    Feb 20, 2010
    10
    Playing this game actually made me better at BioShock 1. On the Survivor (hardest) difficulty mode in the first game I couldn't make it past finding the first plasmid (since I would just keep getting outflanked by splicers and shot in the back of the head) but now I am cruising through and I am maxed out on med kits and EVE hypos (I think because Bioshock 2 forced me to prepare more Playing this game actually made me better at BioShock 1. On the Survivor (hardest) difficulty mode in the first game I couldn't make it past finding the first plasmid (since I would just keep getting outflanked by splicers and shot in the back of the head) but now I am cruising through and I am maxed out on med kits and EVE hypos (I think because Bioshock 2 forced me to prepare more carefully in the scenarios where you have to defend little sisters while they are getting EVE from corpses). I really wish I had a webcam so I could put on Youtube the first time I defended a little sister successfully (in Bioshock 2) because I did it on the hardest dificulty level with only the wrench, rivet gun, electricity plasmid and no med kits (I just kept getting wrench headshots on splicers which I had bottlenecked in a doorway). The next time I successfully defended a little sister on the first attempt just by using the hypnotize (enrage) plasmid on all the splicers and they just all killed each other for me. Something about the gameplay in Bioshock 2 just seems to make more sense to me than it did in the first game, but it's clearly applicable to how you approach the first game. I think the thing is that Bioshock 2 is a little more obvious about how it forces you to visualize how you are going to approach encounters; maybe it just gives more obvious clues than the first game did. Or maybe Bioshock 2 just isn't as good at keeping its secrets as the first game; either way I feel like I understand (and love) both games much more now than I would have expected (and I can't believe I was actually on the fence about buying this game or Dante's Inferno last weekend!). Expand
  6. jahazielf.
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    Everything about the original is has been improved (even the story). now it did feel pretty familiar, but in way that made me love it more because the Bioshock formula is far from running dry. the multiplayer is pretty sweet too. i dont care what people are saying about Mass Effect 2, this is the game of the year so far, but of course there's a long road ahead, and with games like Everything about the original is has been improved (even the story). now it did feel pretty familiar, but in way that made me love it more because the Bioshock formula is far from running dry. the multiplayer is pretty sweet too. i dont care what people are saying about Mass Effect 2, this is the game of the year so far, but of course there's a long road ahead, and with games like final fantasy 13, god of war 3, and gran turismo 5 just around the corner, who knows what will be game of the year. Expand
  7. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    Great game very impressed, should be made into a movie the story writing is very amusing, the sounds are incredible and not to mention over-the-top shooting and combination with plasmids. (+10) FREEZING ISSUES 6hrs in to it, froze had to restart (-10)
  8. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    So lets go down the list of ways Bioshock 2 makes improvements over the original Bioshock. Better graphics, stronger enemies, more enemies, dual wielding, actual plasmid leveling system, WAY better hacking(realtime too), streamlined gameplay, wonderful antithesis story, amazing sound design, more endings, deeper little sister involvment. I could go on for a while and go more in depth, butSo lets go down the list of ways Bioshock 2 makes improvements over the original Bioshock. Better graphics, stronger enemies, more enemies, dual wielding, actual plasmid leveling system, WAY better hacking(realtime too), streamlined gameplay, wonderful antithesis story, amazing sound design, more endings, deeper little sister involvment. I could go on for a while and go more in depth, but seriously, everything is better. Go get it, it will be a great way to prepare for Bioshock Infinite Expand
  9. KostasI.
    Feb 20, 2010
    8
    Let me state this off the bat. This game is not nearly as good as the first one. Partly because the magic and wonder is not here any longer, part because of its uninspired corridors, part of the lack of belief that you are a big daddy (yeah a big daddy whos ass can be wooped by 2 splicers with a wrench) and lastly partly because the games world is not meant to be experienced with a Let me state this off the bat. This game is not nearly as good as the first one. Partly because the magic and wonder is not here any longer, part because of its uninspired corridors, part of the lack of belief that you are a big daddy (yeah a big daddy whos ass can be wooped by 2 splicers with a wrench) and lastly partly because the games world is not meant to be experienced with a trigger finger. Despite these problem however this game is awesome. It has a great story, great set pieces and solid action mechanics. To call it Bioshock 2 however is missleading. This game could easily be Bioshock extended or 1.5 or whatever or even a lengthy episode on top of the first one. Its still worth a look but i suggest you rent before you buy. Expand
  10. evap
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    I just picked it up and havn't beaten it yet but i can tell you that this game is about the best sequel you can hope to get from a company that has to follow an epic game like bioshock. Im just voting now because i cant believe these critics are docking this game the score it deserves because the story isnt as solid. hmm, this reminds me of another sequel that got really high scores I just picked it up and havn't beaten it yet but i can tell you that this game is about the best sequel you can hope to get from a company that has to follow an epic game like bioshock. Im just voting now because i cant believe these critics are docking this game the score it deserves because the story isnt as solid. hmm, this reminds me of another sequel that got really high scores even though it had almost no noticeable differences at all from the first...hmm what was that game called? oh yeah modern warfare 2. it gets a 94, a 94...and the game is hardly different from the first...wow. for those of you who actually judge games because of what the critics say..um DONT listen to them on this one. playing this game is most fun i've had in a long time and all i can say is fuck the critics, pick this one up every gamer should. Expand
  11. RyanH.
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    This is game is phenomenal. The story is tol with such an elegance which is extremelly rare for a game. The visuals are stunning and the way the story and action are fused together is sublime. Top this with the outstanding multiplayer and you've got yourself a perfect game. If you enjoyed the first one as much as I did then question as to whether or not you should regiot rapture is a This is game is phenomenal. The story is tol with such an elegance which is extremelly rare for a game. The visuals are stunning and the way the story and action are fused together is sublime. Top this with the outstanding multiplayer and you've got yourself a perfect game. If you enjoyed the first one as much as I did then question as to whether or not you should regiot rapture is a pretty easy one to make. Expand
  12. FPSMaster
    Feb 10, 2010
    8
    Feels like a rehash or cash-in but at the same time feels great because being like the original which was so great is a good thing. It's a "damn if you do, damn if you don't" sort of game. If you liked the original, this is the definition of fan service: more of the same, although with some improvements. If you didn't like the original, just move on. But be warned if you Feels like a rehash or cash-in but at the same time feels great because being like the original which was so great is a good thing. It's a "damn if you do, damn if you don't" sort of game. If you liked the original, this is the definition of fan service: more of the same, although with some improvements. If you didn't like the original, just move on. But be warned if you played the original: Although the game looks sharper & more vividly colored than the original, the texture resolution has been toned back greatly making the game look sharp & low res at the same time which is strange & disappointing. The 360's small storage format most likely to blame for another PS3 multiplat being held back. I guess PS3 owners should be used to this by now even though we have Uncharted 2 sitting right beside this game proving what it could have looked like if designed on the superior console to begin with. What a shame. Expand
  13. StevenA
    Feb 14, 2010
    9
    Bioshock 2 is one of my favourite 2010 games so far, (even though its still early in 2010). Bioshock 1 was considered a masterpiece. Bioshock 2 may be lacking in certain departments, but it has improved in others that needed it. For one, the gameplay: it has been improved with many new features such as the dual-wield. And fighting as Subject Delta is much more fun than fighting as Jack Bioshock 2 is one of my favourite 2010 games so far, (even though its still early in 2010). Bioshock 1 was considered a masterpiece. Bioshock 2 may be lacking in certain departments, but it has improved in others that needed it. For one, the gameplay: it has been improved with many new features such as the dual-wield. And fighting as Subject Delta is much more fun than fighting as Jack from Bioshock 1. I like the story a lot more this time around. There's much more emotion and darkness put into it, although I will admit that Rapture feels more of the same. In some ways, thats a good thing, but still Bioshock 2 feels like it didn't change Rapture at all. And the fact that the graphics have not improved does not help this, at all. I will admit that there is a lot more lighting this time around and it makes the game look really nice. A nice, long single-player mode like the 1st game and a new multiplayer mode which isn't just a "small" addition to the franchise. It's a fun multiplayer mode and it will drain a few hours out of you. It's not nearly as good or Call of Duty's multiplayer, Halo s multiplayer or Uncharted 2's multiplayer, but its better than average. I believe that fans of Bioshock 1 will love Bioshock 2, but will naturally look for things to complain about. If you thought the first one was "just good" because the gameplay was awkward, then give this installment a look, because you might like it more. Expand
  14. JasonF
    Feb 9, 2010
    9
    Multiplayer has stolen the show for me. Interesting backstory and characters, fun (upgradable) weaponry, beautiful and nostalgic environments, and measured level progression all make this one shine; but the best thing may be the lack of weapon or plasmid spamming (overuse by everyone). My biggest qualm is, when will i ever get around to the true story?
  15. ErickG
    Feb 11, 2010
    9
    I am back to Rapture! This game is a blast and although it starts out kind of slow, the pace picks up not long afterwards. I feel more powerful and more ready to face "...them Big Daddies..." now that my one-two punch system is more efficient and time-saving (thus, life-saving). I have been saving my lil sisters so far and i'll kill 'em all later on my second I am back to Rapture! This game is a blast and although it starts out kind of slow, the pace picks up not long afterwards. I feel more powerful and more ready to face "...them Big Daddies..." now that my one-two punch system is more efficient and time-saving (thus, life-saving). I have been saving my lil sisters so far and i'll kill 'em all later on my second playthrough...lol...but it doesn't matter to Big Sister as she is really angry! Multiplayer is crazy fun but takes time to apply Bioshock's somewhat clunky/clumsy control...Honestly, this is the only plus-factor to this installment as to me, the first Bioshock is better story-wise with both being beautiful graphically and are engaging. graphics: 10 sound: 10 gameplay/controls: 8 story: 8 (Bioshock 1 is better story-wise) length: 9 (lots of things to explore...and splice!) A.I.: 9.5 (they're fast and ain't so dumb...I tell you) Over-all: 9/10... "...daddy, it's dancing!..." says the lil sister...I say, 2K, go on and dance you victory dance! Expand
  16. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    It's a good game. There are some really awesome stuff but it takes forever to get there. It feels like a psp version of Bioshock. It's still good but it just doesn't want to take any risks in messing anything up. It's hard to follow up to a game that's as good as the original. It's a good attempt.
  17. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    As long as you don't overhype this game you will find a pretty good shooter in Bioshock 2. I can't say it was as good as the first but it was still worth playing through and I am even motivated to get the DLC which says a lot of the game.
  18. Nov 1, 2010
    8
    The first Bioshock was the pinnacle of great story, gameplay, and visuals. To say i was excited for the squeal would be an understatement. Sadly, i wasn't as impressed by this one as it's older counterpart. The game gets one thing right, improving the gameplay to where its easy to grasp what it is you need to do. Playing as a Big Daddy in the concept is really exciting, to play as a beingThe first Bioshock was the pinnacle of great story, gameplay, and visuals. To say i was excited for the squeal would be an understatement. Sadly, i wasn't as impressed by this one as it's older counterpart. The game gets one thing right, improving the gameplay to where its easy to grasp what it is you need to do. Playing as a Big Daddy in the concept is really exciting, to play as a being that has killed you countless times in the last game would make any person jump for the chance, but they decided to downgrade the experience to a human level, and at times i actually said 'i don't feel like a Big Daddy'. The story behind why you are so weak is that your little sister has been away from you for 10 years, so your body is decaying. It's understandable as to why the developers decided not to make you this power-filled behemoth, but i still would have liked to be one from the beginning. The gameplay itself is some-what improved from the last, they have added some new weapons, such as the drill being your first weapon, to liven things up a bit. Sadly, some of them arn't very fun at all. The hack gun, which is used to hack turrets and camera from a distance, sometimes dont work and they must be hacked in real time, meaning that in the other game you could brave being bombarded by bullets and then hack it, you have to stand there and take the rain of pain in able to hack. The visuals havn't changed, but in the case of this game that is ok, it's unique and memorable. The main thing i noticed is that the beginning of the game feels like a 'you have to do this to go on'. You are on a train in the beginning and you have two stops, each of which require you to go get something to move on. These moment, while they were technically in the last game, never felt like this. The newest edition of this is the multiplayer, which it is quite good. You are a member of a new organization in Rapture that is testing new plasmids. While the story behind it is strait forward, the concept of it is quite good. You level up to get new plasmids, cloths, and guns. The only problem with it is that it takes forever to level up. In an over all gaming experience, this game is pretty good. The problem it never got the appreciation is deserved is because it was a game squeal to one of the best games of all time. Now, it should be noted that the parent company of the first, Irrational Games, did not work on the squeal. This lack of the parent company behind the project does alarm some, but to be brunt this is a good game Expand
  19. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    Honestly Bioshock 2 was a slight failure but there is nothing wrong with it at all. The graphics are almost the same but there is nothing at all wrong with that, it didn't need a revamp. The combat is impressive and fun and the new enemies feel fresh. The story is not as complex as the original but Sofia Lamb is a fitting replacement of Andrew Ryan. 8/10
  20. Nov 4, 2010
    8
    extremely similar to the first one except you are the big daddy, graphics are pretty much the same, the original was better in my opinion, however it was still worth while game play
  21. Apr 15, 2011
    9
    I was one of those who thought that the original bioshock was indeed a great game, but not a classic. It had many issues and for me it wasn't memorable. However, I dont question the game's brilliance. As a first person shooter Bioshock is as good as it can get( along with Half Life 2). So Bioshock 2 comes up and I happen to like it just as much as the first. Admitedly it doesn't feel freshI was one of those who thought that the original bioshock was indeed a great game, but not a classic. It had many issues and for me it wasn't memorable. However, I dont question the game's brilliance. As a first person shooter Bioshock is as good as it can get( along with Half Life 2). So Bioshock 2 comes up and I happen to like it just as much as the first. Admitedly it doesn't feel fresh or unique as the first but it still has many of the things that made the original so awsome. I loved the fact that you play as a prototype big daddy and the story shows life in rapture from a big daddy's point of view. The gameplay has improved. There are more gene tonics, more plasmids, new weapons( the drill being the best of them all) and generally a refined experience. I actually though the story was just as good as the first's. The plot unfolds in a very subtle way and isn't a copycat to the first Bioshock's, as you would expect. The graphics are, more or less, the same but the sound is really fantastic. The sound effects really pulls you deeper into the game, I constantly had shivers thanks to the epic/scary music the game throws at you at certain times. So, to sum it all up, Bioshock 2 is brilliant. Anyone who thought Bioshock was one of the best games of all time would be dissapointed with this game. If you are like me and you really liked the first game, mainly the gameplay over the story, then Bioshock 2 will definatly be great for you. Nowadays it's dirt cheap( I bought it for 5 pounds) and I can tell it's worth much more then that. Fantastic game. Expand
  22. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    I'm glad I scored Bioshock 2 so well on my scale. Sounds like a weird thing to say, but I remember being really disappointed upon reading the initial reviews of Bioshock 2. Many reviewers couldnâ
  23. Jan 14, 2015
    10
    A very worthy successor to Bioshock & an amazing game in it's own right. Some very interesting differences in what you are & what you'll meet. I'll simply say that the Big Sister freaked me out!
    As in Bioshock the graphics and sound are amazing. The story is not quite as good as Bioshock IMO but I still enjoyed it.
    If you play, be sure to look around because there are lots of Easter
    A very worthy successor to Bioshock & an amazing game in it's own right. Some very interesting differences in what you are & what you'll meet. I'll simply say that the Big Sister freaked me out!
    As in Bioshock the graphics and sound are amazing. The story is not quite as good as Bioshock IMO but I still enjoyed it.
    If you play, be sure to look around because there are lots of Easter Eggs that refer to the first game.
    Expand
  24. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    Though this game is not as good as the first story and graphics wise it is still a great game. The story though not as interesting is easier to understand due to it's simplicity. For some reason the graphics have received a downgrade, I know it was developed by a different team but still you'd think they would improve on it. Bioshock 2 does fix up the little gameplay problems that were inThough this game is not as good as the first story and graphics wise it is still a great game. The story though not as interesting is easier to understand due to it's simplicity. For some reason the graphics have received a downgrade, I know it was developed by a different team but still you'd think they would improve on it. Bioshock 2 does fix up the little gameplay problems that were in the first one. Multiplayer is quite enjoyable with a CoD style level up system though there aren't that many people playing it. Expand
  25. Sep 15, 2011
    8
    Loved the first game and this is a good sequel but suffers from sequel status too. Enough fresh ideas to keep things interesting, plenty of plasmid/weapon combos and fantastic nostalgic settings. Story was confusing and had to research online afterwards to find out what the hell it was about :-)
    Worth playing if you liked the first but missing that extra special 'wow' factor. Solid.
  26. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    Gameplay is excellent, as it was in the first one. Very fun game to play with tons of new weapons and areas of rapture to explore. Graphics are slightly dated at this point but still good. Sound effects are prestine and overall presentation is great. Have to admit that I was a huge fan of the first which had an amazing plot. The plot of this game is not well written, compared with itsGameplay is excellent, as it was in the first one. Very fun game to play with tons of new weapons and areas of rapture to explore. Graphics are slightly dated at this point but still good. Sound effects are prestine and overall presentation is great. Have to admit that I was a huge fan of the first which had an amazing plot. The plot of this game is not well written, compared with its predecessor. There are no twists or turns in the plot. No backtracking to previous areas should have been implemented into this game as it was in the first. Multiplayer is fun but unnecessary deterrent from the main game, which is excellent overall. Expand
  27. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Bioshock is awesome. Bioshock 2 is a sequel to an awesome game. Where else can you go from the top except downward. The graphics in this game are great and really capture the look and feel of Rapture as it slowly falls apart. The gameplay is greatly impoved and makes the game more fun to play. having plasmids and guns out at the same time is exactly what this game needed, and theBioshock is awesome. Bioshock 2 is a sequel to an awesome game. Where else can you go from the top except downward. The graphics in this game are great and really capture the look and feel of Rapture as it slowly falls apart. The gameplay is greatly impoved and makes the game more fun to play. having plasmids and guns out at the same time is exactly what this game needed, and the weapons have never been more fun to play with. Trap rivets, mini turrets, and an auto-hack gun are great for strategically overpower enemies and protect your little sisters from harm. But as the narrative plays out, I couldn't help but get this feeling that I'm playing a typical "shinny sequel." The story and environments are good but not as good as the original. The original had a sense of mystery about it that this game doesn't. The original bioshock was almost scary with its mystery, but this game isn't. Andrew Ryan is one of the best video game villians I've ever seen, but Lamb just comes across as a good villian. This game impoves on a lot as far as gameplay is conserned but lacks the same punch the first had. I hate holding games at certain expectations, but I feel there is no other way to describe this games faults without doing so. The game is good, but it shies just short of greatness. Expand
  28. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    Bioshock 2 takes the elements from the first title but innovates in many ways. Lots of new enemies, weapons, a new story in which you are now a big daddy and a multiplayer mode are the main highlights of this game. The only negative thing I can say is that the multiplayer suffers from lag sometimes and the story should have been longer. If you loved the first Bioshock, you shouldBioshock 2 takes the elements from the first title but innovates in many ways. Lots of new enemies, weapons, a new story in which you are now a big daddy and a multiplayer mode are the main highlights of this game. The only negative thing I can say is that the multiplayer suffers from lag sometimes and the story should have been longer. If you loved the first Bioshock, you should definitely try this one. Expand
  29. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    The world of Rapture is not as exciting on the second visit. Gameplay is mainly the same as in Bioshock 1, but the story is completely different. Technically it feels a bit rough around the edges, the gunplay is still not great, but the atmosphere is.

    Multiplayer is a nice addition and it's fun, but nothing spectacular. If you like the original Bioshock, you will like this. It's more of
    The world of Rapture is not as exciting on the second visit. Gameplay is mainly the same as in Bioshock 1, but the story is completely different. Technically it feels a bit rough around the edges, the gunplay is still not great, but the atmosphere is.

    Multiplayer is a nice addition and it's fun, but nothing spectacular.

    If you like the original Bioshock, you will like this. It's more of the same, but just not as exciting.
    Expand
  30. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    Very good game, especially the gameplay. Like most bioshock games though all the stories seem to be a little confusing since it is a made up world; or maybe it was just me. But even though this is almost the same game as bioshock I still enjoyed it because of the variety of ways to play with the guns and all, and more variety of enemies. The multiplayer was a plus and very fun, somethingVery good game, especially the gameplay. Like most bioshock games though all the stories seem to be a little confusing since it is a made up world; or maybe it was just me. But even though this is almost the same game as bioshock I still enjoyed it because of the variety of ways to play with the guns and all, and more variety of enemies. The multiplayer was a plus and very fun, something different. I would say I felt the ending was dragged out, but still a great game. Expand
  31. May 26, 2012
    10
    Great game but i played bioshock 1 and Bioshock 2 become for me good game but not ideal as 1. Singleplayer is good not more.Also, Multiplayer is very cool, i find many problems as ballistic, i can't forget it for new weapon, new plasmids, skills ang game types from this game as capture the sister, civil war an order. My advice - bioshock 2 need buy!
  32. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    Bioshock 2 may have sacrificed storytelling for cleaner gameplay, but the story is still well written and better than your average VG narrative. Sophia Lamb isn't nearly as charismatic as Andrew Ryan but succeeds in getting me to despise her, making her a decent antagonist at worst. Gameplay tweaks seem minor at first, but dual wielding guns and plasmids, the ability to melee with anyBioshock 2 may have sacrificed storytelling for cleaner gameplay, but the story is still well written and better than your average VG narrative. Sophia Lamb isn't nearly as charismatic as Andrew Ryan but succeeds in getting me to despise her, making her a decent antagonist at worst. Gameplay tweaks seem minor at first, but dual wielding guns and plasmids, the ability to melee with any weapon, and the new real time reflex-based hacking system made a world of difference. I had more fun protecting the little sisters in this game than the first. Probably due to the unstoppability I felt having improved plasmids, weapons, traps, and ample time to set up and unleash my inner Macaulay Culkin whenever I was ready to harvest. Expand
  33. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    SINGLEPLAYER Review Only: Way better then multiplayer, the story is good and the game just feels nice for the singleplayer! Fans of the original will enjoy this one because it's more of the same but more of the same is fine by me as long as it's Bioshock. It's fun shooting these nooby splicers :D The graphics are not bad also but if you enjoyed the first bioshock play the 2nd you will enjoy it.
  34. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    Bioshock maybe the best series of games i
  35. Feb 8, 2013
    8
    Bioshock 2 is a very well made game. It has a dark, compelling atmosphere with a mysterious story which draws you in. The gameplay is fluid, fun, but sometimes repetitive. The usual features are present; collectibles, difficulty trophies, multiplayer modes. The multiplayer is sometimes buggy but on the most part it performs well. In conclusion, I found this game enjoyable and challenging,Bioshock 2 is a very well made game. It has a dark, compelling atmosphere with a mysterious story which draws you in. The gameplay is fluid, fun, but sometimes repetitive. The usual features are present; collectibles, difficulty trophies, multiplayer modes. The multiplayer is sometimes buggy but on the most part it performs well. In conclusion, I found this game enjoyable and challenging, though sometimes repetitive. I recommend it!. Expand
  36. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    Peor que el primero. El argumento es interesante, pero no tan original como el primero, la jugabilidad muy buena, igual que la del anterior, tiene más acción. La ambientación está igual de cuidada que en el primer juego. Tiene más armas y más acción que el primero, además de online, pero no tiene ni la originalidad ni la historia delPeor que el primero. El argumento es interesante, pero no tan original como el primero, la jugabilidad muy buena, igual que la del anterior, tiene más acción. La ambientación está igual de cuidada que en el primer juego. Tiene más armas y más acción que el primero, además de online, pero no tiene ni la originalidad ni la historia del primero. Los gráficos no cambian mucho, son excelentes. Expand
  37. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    Bioshock 2 continues what seemed to be the very best FPS I've ever played in my life, but now changing part of the core of the previous game, placing you in control of a Big Daddy, and in an atmosphere much different, now 10 years later. The game stands by the same principles, but now innovating much in gameplay, showing extensive levels with much to explore and different ways ofBioshock 2 continues what seemed to be the very best FPS I've ever played in my life, but now changing part of the core of the previous game, placing you in control of a Big Daddy, and in an atmosphere much different, now 10 years later. The game stands by the same principles, but now innovating much in gameplay, showing extensive levels with much to explore and different ways of challenges with new Plasmids and new enemies.
    However, it didn't totally improved in all therms, although it is difficult to find a story as good as the one in the first game of the series the story in this game felt some times with a hole or two, and giving you a strange felling that something should have been mentioned in Bioshock 1. Despite some slight issues such as the graphics that should have been enhanced, other details make you feel a part of innovation at the gameplay and at the very scenario itself.
    It didn't improve as much as it should but it also did not crushed expectations, it really felt like a new game that tried to make new things but had some backdrops.
    Expand
  38. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    I downloaded this game 03/01/2013 and i have to say... AMAZING. A deep and immense game that allows you to play at your own style, from traps and up close melee to a mad shooting spree with explosives. A great story line that allows you to play again to get a different outcome (kind of like inFamous but not as radical). I also played a little of the multiplayer, very nice not only withI downloaded this game 03/01/2013 and i have to say... AMAZING. A deep and immense game that allows you to play at your own style, from traps and up close melee to a mad shooting spree with explosives. A great story line that allows you to play again to get a different outcome (kind of like inFamous but not as radical). I also played a little of the multiplayer, very nice not only with the actual gameplay but the simple fact you start in your own "apartment". I will also be getting bioshock3 when it comes out later this month. Expand
  39. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    Bioshock 2 did everything I didn't get with the original, better gameplay, better story and overall a better game, I liked almost every aspect about this game over it's older sibling. one thing that I can complain about is the length, significantly short compare to bioshock 1, but still; amazing game
  40. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    Graphics: Graphics still look amazing but compared to the first not much has changed. There are still far better looking games on the PS3. 9.

    Sound: Great themes, level design goes great with themes. Voice acting is great. 10. Gameplay: Same as Bioshock 1 but with more attachments. There are different weapons, and different enemies that are stronger to take down, and
    Graphics: Graphics still look amazing but compared to the first not much has changed. There are still far better looking games on the PS3. 9.

    Sound: Great themes, level design goes great with themes. Voice acting is great. 10.

    Gameplay: Same as Bioshock 1 but with more attachments. There are different weapons, and different enemies that are stronger to take down, and especially this time around with the big sisters. The game is actually a great challenge on the medium difficulty setting, and requires you to rescue/harvest little sisters to gain enough adam for upgrades. The new feature, now that you’re playing as a big daddy, is that you can choose to harvest dead enemies to gain additional adam. The issue with this is that every time you do this it spawns a wave of enemies that attack, and you have to defend the little sister while she harvests the body. It’s a really cool new game play feature although near the ending of the game it just gets way to difficult, and the reason is because the game doesn’t provide enough ammunition so I found myself at some points skipping the harvest and just taking the little sisters straight to the vent. Also, at times I would clear an area and step foot into another area, and head back that same second only to find splicers respawning. Bioshock 1 felt more organized when having you face splicers, while Bioshock 2 seemed to make it much more linear in the process, adding more and more splicers to constantly tackle making it feel too chore-y. Overall the game was a big challenge which is a positive, although I was frustrated with the amount of supplies that you get. The levels are structured really well, and the story continually progresses. The boss battles aren’t anything special, some have you clear out all the splicers only to battle the boss which looks similar to a splicer only with a huge health buff. The game doesn’t end with a strong memorable boss battle like the first game, instead takes a cheap wave fight. 8.5.

    Story: The story is as well written as the first game, the pacing and twist aren’t as great as the first, but the ending leaves on a strong note also like the first game. You play as the very first Big Daddy (Delta), and the story unfolds from start to finish. 9.0.

    Lasting Appeal/Value: The game contains a multiplayer that is decent/okay at best, the original game clocks in at about 8-10 hours on medium. The price for this game is free for PSPlus, and I’ve gotten this game on steam for like $5 bucks before. I’d say it’s worth getting. 10.

    Overall Score: 9.3 out of 10.
    Expand
  41. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 9 out of 10, Fun: 8 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 3 out of 10, Value: 7 out of 10
  42. Mar 27, 2014
    9
    Good as the first one, but not that good, also a great story and characters, gameplay and the first big daddy himself, it's a dream come true for the fans.
  43. Apr 20, 2014
    8
    this game isn't as good as the first game for sure, but, it is still pretty awesome and gives a nice change in style while still holding to the things that made the first game great. you play as a big daddy for one which is pretty cool, but I didn't feel as powerful as I should of, using the drill was a lot of fun though. the story doesn't quite live up to the first game and the charactersthis game isn't as good as the first game for sure, but, it is still pretty awesome and gives a nice change in style while still holding to the things that made the first game great. you play as a big daddy for one which is pretty cool, but I didn't feel as powerful as I should of, using the drill was a lot of fun though. the story doesn't quite live up to the first game and the characters are not as interesting, but it is still unique and enjoyable in its own way. I enjoy the hacking in this game better simply because its easier, the last games hacking puzzles sometimes were to much of a bother. the world doesn't feel as creepy as it did before either, but its still a BioSchock game with a few small dissapointments that keep it from living up to the first game, but was still a joy to play. Expand
  44. Sep 23, 2014
    8
    It's very much a case of "been there, done that", but with improved combat and weapons, and a completely new story to boot, BioShock 2 is well worth another trip into Rapture.
  45. Dec 9, 2014
    10
    Amazing, just amazing. This is a very good game. I can't think of it being bad. Enemy, abilitys, and weapons, are more better. It is fun setting those idiots on fire. And FINALLY you can go underwater with no problem. I like being a Big Daddy because you have a tackle ability (witch you can take out a enemy with no problem. You have more slots for abilitys and upgrades. I think this gameAmazing, just amazing. This is a very good game. I can't think of it being bad. Enemy, abilitys, and weapons, are more better. It is fun setting those idiots on fire. And FINALLY you can go underwater with no problem. I like being a Big Daddy because you have a tackle ability (witch you can take out a enemy with no problem. You have more slots for abilitys and upgrades. I think this game is better than call of duty. Expand
  46. Dec 29, 2014
    8
    While this game does feel a little too similar to the original and there are some design flaws, Bioshock 2 is a very fun action horror game and a great return to the underwater city of Rapture.
  47. Nov 24, 2016
    8
    Deutsche Review - Kritik

    Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln
    Deutsche Review - Kritik

    Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln verstanden?
    Dann sind hier meine Punkte.

    Mein persönlicher Score = 76/100
    Mein User Score = 8/10

    Lohnenswert? = Ja
    Fortsetzung erwünscht? = Gerne
    Expand
  48. May 9, 2017
    10
    Not a sequel to the first Bioshock but definite connection to it. A game i enjoyed as much as i did the first one.

    The plot, the storyline is what the series is all about. The previous game, and the one that follows (infinite) are not sequels but highly recommend playing in the order since they are all connected somehow
  49. Feb 8, 2017
    9
    If the first BioShock would not exist, this would probably be a 10 for me. However, I must somehow show that BioShock 2 is slightly worse than the original masterpiece.

    The most significant inclusion on this game is definitely the online mode, which I played for hours and hours. Despite not being the best multiplayer mode, it is addictive and competitive enough. As far as the
    If the first BioShock would not exist, this would probably be a 10 for me. However, I must somehow show that BioShock 2 is slightly worse than the original masterpiece.

    The most significant inclusion on this game is definitely the online mode, which I played for hours and hours. Despite not being the best multiplayer mode, it is addictive and competitive enough.

    As far as the campaign mode is concerned, bear this in mind: it is not as good as the original BioShock, but it is still a great game, with a wise storyline and a nice atmosphere.

    Saying that it is the worst BioShock game sounds rather fallacious to me, so I will say it is simply the less good one. Absolutely recommendable.
    Expand
  50. Apr 4, 2017
    9
    Bioshock 2 is by far my favorite game in the franchise. It adds a new and unique narrative arc while allowing the player to remain immersed in Rapture. I really liked playing as a Big Daddy; I found the weapons to be much more usable than they were in Bioshock. I'm all about melee combat, and the drill is everything a girl could want; major smashing ability, with the added bonus of beingBioshock 2 is by far my favorite game in the franchise. It adds a new and unique narrative arc while allowing the player to remain immersed in Rapture. I really liked playing as a Big Daddy; I found the weapons to be much more usable than they were in Bioshock. I'm all about melee combat, and the drill is everything a girl could want; major smashing ability, with the added bonus of being able to grind your enemies into mulch if it suits you. I also enjoyed the added relationship with the Little Sisters - I know most people think that they're creepy, but I think they're adorable. Overall, Bioshock 2 is an incredible game. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. PSM3 Magazine UK
    93
    Unless the familiarity really gets to you, you're going to love BioShock 2. It's a lovingly crafted, carefully constructed masterpiece of narrative richness and smart game mechanics. It can even be enjoyed as a straight-up shooter thanks to its innovative, tactile combat system. [Feb 2010, p.72]
  2. 91
    It's a game in which story, setting, and gameplay are expertly blended to create an experience that's as thought-provoking as it is entertaining.
  3. 90
    This second tour of duty with far superior toys is everything it needs to be, though. Familiarity breeds a little contempt, but as, simply, a game in which you shoot monsters in city under the sea, it's better in every respect.