BioShock 2 Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 523 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set approximately 10 years after the events of the original BioShock, the halls of Rapture once again echo with sins of the past. Along the Atlantic coastline, a monster has been snatching little girls and bringing them back to the undersea city of Rapture. You are the very first Big DaddySet approximately 10 years after the events of the original BioShock, the halls of Rapture once again echo with sins of the past. Along the Atlantic coastline, a monster has been snatching little girls and bringing them back to the undersea city of Rapture. You are the very first Big Daddy as you travel through the decrepit and beautiful fallen city, chasing an unseen foe in search of answers and your own survival. Multiplayer in BioShock 2 provides a rich prequel experience that expands the BioShock gameplay. Set during the fall of Rapture, players assume the role of Plasmid test subject in the underwater city that was first explored in the original BioShock. Players will need to use all the elements of the game's toolset to survive as the full depth of the BioShock experience is refined and transformed into a unique multiplayer experience that can only be found in Rapture. [2K Games] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
BioShock 2 Protector Trials DLC Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    If you're still wondering if BioShock 2 is better than the original as you enter the final level, by the time you beat it, you'll have no doubt. This is one of the best games you'll ever play. [Mar 2010, p.62]
  2. It's definitely a great game and will likely be on top ten lists at the end of the year. It's just not a perfect 10.
  3. Rich, philosophical story...that's not as clever as the original story.
  4. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    90
    Plot-wise, this doesn't match the original. However, the combat has been spliced to near-perfection. [Mar 2010, p.64]
  5. 86
    A conservative return to Rapture, but full of quality.
  6. BioShock 2 sets out to make a name for itself, and overall it does. It improves on the original's gameplay while telling two different stories across modes. The experience isn't as powerful at the end, but the Little Sister bond makes up for that.
  7. The surprises aren't there and neither is the awe one feels the first time they booted-up their copy of BioShock and laid eyes on Rapture.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 77
  2. Negative: 4 out of 77
  1. SR
    Feb 20, 2010
    10
    Playing this game actually made me better at BioShock 1. On the Survivor (hardest) difficulty mode in the first game I couldn't make it Playing this game actually made me better at BioShock 1. On the Survivor (hardest) difficulty mode in the first game I couldn't make it past finding the first plasmid (since I would just keep getting outflanked by splicers and shot in the back of the head) but now I am cruising through and I am maxed out on med kits and EVE hypos (I think because Bioshock 2 forced me to prepare more carefully in the scenarios where you have to defend little sisters while they are getting EVE from corpses). I really wish I had a webcam so I could put on Youtube the first time I defended a little sister successfully (in Bioshock 2) because I did it on the hardest dificulty level with only the wrench, rivet gun, electricity plasmid and no med kits (I just kept getting wrench headshots on splicers which I had bottlenecked in a doorway). The next time I successfully defended a little sister on the first attempt just by using the hypnotize (enrage) plasmid on all the splicers and they just all killed each other for me. Something about the gameplay in Bioshock 2 just seems to make more sense to me than it did in the first game, but it's clearly applicable to how you approach the first game. I think the thing is that Bioshock 2 is a little more obvious about how it forces you to visualize how you are going to approach encounters; maybe it just gives more obvious clues than the first game did. Or maybe Bioshock 2 just isn't as good at keeping its secrets as the first game; either way I feel like I understand (and love) both games much more now than I would have expected (and I can't believe I was actually on the fence about buying this game or Dante's Inferno last weekend!). Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    So lets go down the list of ways Bioshock 2 makes improvements over the original Bioshock. Better graphics, stronger enemies, more enemies,So lets go down the list of ways Bioshock 2 makes improvements over the original Bioshock. Better graphics, stronger enemies, more enemies, dual wielding, actual plasmid leveling system, WAY better hacking(realtime too), streamlined gameplay, wonderful antithesis story, amazing sound design, more endings, deeper little sister involvment. I could go on for a while and go more in depth, but seriously, everything is better. Go get it, it will be a great way to prepare for Bioshock Infinite Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2014
    9
    Good as the first one, but not that good, also a great story and characters, gameplay and the first big daddy himself, it's a dream come trueGood as the first one, but not that good, also a great story and characters, gameplay and the first big daddy himself, it's a dream come true for the fans. Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2010
    8
    The first Bioshock was the pinnacle of great story, gameplay, and visuals. To say i was excited for the squeal would be an understatement.The first Bioshock was the pinnacle of great story, gameplay, and visuals. To say i was excited for the squeal would be an understatement. Sadly, i wasn't as impressed by this one as it's older counterpart. The game gets one thing right, improving the gameplay to where its easy to grasp what it is you need to do. Playing as a Big Daddy in the concept is really exciting, to play as a being that has killed you countless times in the last game would make any person jump for the chance, but they decided to downgrade the experience to a human level, and at times i actually said 'i don't feel like a Big Daddy'. The story behind why you are so weak is that your little sister has been away from you for 10 years, so your body is decaying. It's understandable as to why the developers decided not to make you this power-filled behemoth, but i still would have liked to be one from the beginning. The gameplay itself is some-what improved from the last, they have added some new weapons, such as the drill being your first weapon, to liven things up a bit. Sadly, some of them arn't very fun at all. The hack gun, which is used to hack turrets and camera from a distance, sometimes dont work and they must be hacked in real time, meaning that in the other game you could brave being bombarded by bullets and then hack it, you have to stand there and take the rain of pain in able to hack. The visuals havn't changed, but in the case of this game that is ok, it's unique and memorable. The main thing i noticed is that the beginning of the game feels like a 'you have to do this to go on'. You are on a train in the beginning and you have two stops, each of which require you to go get something to move on. These moment, while they were technically in the last game, never felt like this. The newest edition of this is the multiplayer, which it is quite good. You are a member of a new organization in Rapture that is testing new plasmids. While the story behind it is strait forward, the concept of it is quite good. You level up to get new plasmids, cloths, and guns. The only problem with it is that it takes forever to level up. In an over all gaming experience, this game is pretty good. The problem it never got the appreciation is deserved is because it was a game squeal to one of the best games of all time. Now, it should be noted that the parent company of the first, Irrational Games, did not work on the squeal. This lack of the parent company behind the project does alarm some, but to be brunt this is a good game Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2014
    8
    While this game does feel a little too similar to the original and there are some design flaws, Bioshock 2 is a very fun action horror gameWhile this game does feel a little too similar to the original and there are some design flaws, Bioshock 2 is a very fun action horror game and a great return to the underwater city of Rapture. Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    7
    The first Bioshock is better. Bioshock is good but falls short of a couple of things. I thought the story was great and I thought theThe first Bioshock is better. Bioshock is good but falls short of a couple of things. I thought the story was great and I thought the multiplayer was god awful. Nevertheless its worth 20 dollars. Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2014
    0
    This game should have just been a DLC instead of a full-blown sequel. The story is ridiculously short and boring, not to mention poorlyThis game should have just been a DLC instead of a full-blown sequel. The story is ridiculously short and boring, not to mention poorly voice-acted. And by far the worst sin is that no new plasmids were added, some were tweaked ever so slightly or given new names, but no real new ones were added for the second game. The weapons were also extremely similar to the original game. Some may see this as staying true to the original, but I see it as lack of originality, inspiration, or imagination. It seems as if the makers of the original Bioshock just got really really really lazy and decided to not change anything because the system worked the first time. Any new plasmids or weapons would have been a welcome addition, not a significant change to the game. Overall, the game just should have been a DLC and I have rarely been so disappointed in a game. Expand

See all 77 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. BioShock 2: Inside the Reviews

    BioShock 2: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: February 9, 2010
    How does the highly anticipated new shooter BioShock 2 compare to the original BioShock, one of the highest-rated games of all time? We go deeper inside the reviews to find out.