Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 90
    Burial at Sea: Episode Two is a great slice of DLC and a fitting end to the BioShock: Infinite universe.
  2. May 4, 2014
    89
    Engaging gameplay, and a fine way of tying up one of the most brilliantly crafted narratives around. [June 2014, p.70]
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    88
    If you are even a mild fan of Bioshock then you should definitely play this expansion, it is single player greatness that redeems the former episode.
  4. Apr 2, 2014
    85
    Burial at Sea - Episode 2 is the perfect ending for both of Bioshock games created by Ken Levine. The references and interconnections between both worlds are perfectly justified. Playing stealthy will test our skills because, due to Elizabeth's fragility, the enemies look really fearsome. State of the art visuals, but again, a disappointing lack of Spanish dubbing.
  5. May 2, 2014
    70
    A good game, but one that feels a bit emotionally bankrupt after the wonders of Infinite and the original BioShock. [Issue#243, p.56]
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    A beautiful piece of art. This game puts all of the Bioshocks together in a perfect way. A way I never expected. This shows what a piece of DLC should be like. This is what an ending to a series should be like. This shows what game are able to accomplish. This is simply perfect. Full Review »
  2. Apr 10, 2014
    9
    Excellent conclusion to the franchise (as far as I'm concerned). Also, the change in pace and the stealth action makes this entry stand out and encourage taking in the scenery. On top of that, the story is engaging and ties up some loose ends along the way. Definitely worth checking out. Full Review »
  3. May 28, 2014
    10
    I'm just here to say that if you're a fan of the franchise, buy Burial at Sea. The gameplay is far more akin to that of Bioshock than that of Bioshock Infinite, and everything is wrapped up beautifully on the narrative front.
    Confession: I have played the original Bioshock from start to finish thirty-one times. It is my absolute favorite game of all time. Bioshock Infinite was fantastic, but coming from someone who had analyzed every bit of gameplay footage and noted every one of Ken Levine's promises like they were scripture prior to release, I was a little disappointed with the final product. But Burial at Sea: Episode 2 makes it all worth it; it really delivers. This really ties the series together as a whole (at least the Levine canon; none of that Bioshock 2 nonsense here) and wraps absolutely everything up. Bioshock Infinite's story came full circle, but Burial at Sea's story makes that satisfying conclusion an even more complete circle, somehow. Characters are given closure and Rapture's story is brought to satisfying end. R.I.P., Irrational Games. You will be missed.
    Full Review »