Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. May 27, 2013
    90
    In an infinite universe, anything can happen, but in Infinite's, the specifics are what get you.
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    97
    One of those rare games that speaks to the player on a personal, emotional level with a thought-provoking, mature storyline set in one of the most amazing worlds conceived in a game. Plus, it's a wonderful FPS with deep, tactical combat. Essential. [Issue#230, p.66]
  3. Multiple dimensions and a clever scenario with a surprise around every corner make it difficult for us to explain our enthusiasm without spoiling the story. Only the extended ghost chase (literally) halfway through the game drags on a bit too long. [April 2013, p.74]
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    100
    When it comes down to it though Bioshock Infinite is a labour of love, a staggeringly impressive achievement and an example of the invention and singularity of vision that so many big budget games lack. I
  5. Ultimately, Infinite will linger in your memory for a long time after the credits have rolled. Irrational Games, through its own turmoil of lead staff departing, a multiplayer mode that started late in the piece only to be canned (a wise move) have proved that excellence takes time. This is a genre-defining game, and it deserves to be played by anyone who’s ready for a brilliant story, engaging gun-play and a real challenge. [May 2013, p68]
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    The plot and combat could’ve been better, but its mode of storytelling demands your attention nonetheless as there’s no other experience like it and, for a good many, that means a lot of return trips to come.
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    95
    Irrational Games did the impossible. They've created a world that rivals Rapture and built a story around it that is bound to intrigue everyone who picks this game up. The ending is an instant classic. The gameplay is challenging and varied, the graphics are fine (not perfect though) and both voice acting and soundtrack is extremely memorable. Buy this, you absolutely won't regret it.
  8. Apr 2, 2013
    90
    BioShock Infinite is a sublime shooter set in a magical world. While the campaign’s final third never quite lives up to its breathtaking opening, there’s more than enough intrigue imprisoned within Columbia’s curious suspended districts to keep you compelled from the beginning right through to the very end.
  9. Apr 1, 2013
    95
    Irrational Games have found the perfect formula for Bioshock Infinite, almost flawless gameplay, graphics and sound plus a mysterious story about a broken city of gold but where the game goes beyond its predecessors is with the inclusion of one of the most realistic AI characters to have ever graced a game.
  10. Apr 1, 2013
    100
    If you’re reading this review because you have never played a Bioshock title before or didn’t like the previous games but like the look of this one, then please, go play it. I am certain you won’t be disappointed.
  11. Columbia is a unique and unforgettable city meant to inspire its inhabitants — both virtual and player-controlled — to gaze in awe, shock, and horror at its bountiful marvels...So long as you remember to stop snooping through rubbish bins and take time to pause and look around, I have no doubt you’ll be properly amazed.
  12. All told, BioShock Infinite is among the rarest of games that is a ton of fun to play, yet also one that asks players to think beyond the action. The only thing keeping me from giving it a perfect score is my own personal cynicism that the deep message it claims to have might not actually be there – it’s a question I’ll only be able to answer after multiple play-throughs.
  13. 100
    As near perfect as a game can get and should not be missed.
  14. 95
    BioShock Infinite is a master class in storytelling. With exceedingly fun gameplay and combat, a beautifully intriguing world to explore, and an extremely impressive cast of characters, BioShock Infinite stands as one of the best first-person shooters ever made.
  15. Mar 25, 2013
    96
    An immensely creative triumph. At various times during this adventure, you will experience completely different emotions and you will face distinctly different situations. In addition to this fantastic variety and diversity, you get a story that is mysterious and satisfying on all counts. Factor in rock solid control, unbelievable design from top to bottom, the joy of powerful experimentation, and an unparalleled atmosphere, and you’ve got one mammoth achievement.
  16. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    While it was a risk to move away from the depths of Rapture and into the clouds of Columbia, Irrational Games has once again crafted a dazzling new world, which succeeds in taking the franchise to stunning new heights.
  17. Mar 25, 2013
    90
    Bioshock is an experience that every gamer in the World should have. Irrational Games did a great job, not making the "perfect game" but one that could leave a mark in video games history.
  18. Mar 25, 2013
    95
    With BioShock Infinite, Irrational Games shows how to really tell a story in a video game. But not only is the story amazing, the combat is more fluid and dynamic than its predecessors, and Columbia is a place that begs to be explored. BioShock Infinite offers a journey that every gamer needs to experience.
  19. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Aside from some superficial issues, there’s really nothing wrong with the game at all – it’s better than BioShock ever was; it’s fully realised and complete. It’s so, so near perfect and the first words Booker hear when he steps into the land of Columbia reflect my thoughts entirely: “It’s heaven – or as close as we’ll see until judgement day.”
  20. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    BioShock Infinite is state of the of art. Irrational Games exceeds expectations and revolutionizes the FPS genre with an exceptionally outstanding story and gameplay. Definitely one of the best games of the generation.
  21. Mar 25, 2013
    90
    A stupendous game, portraying a beautiful and broken city that will absorb your every waking thought.
  22. Mar 25, 2013
    95
    A narrative masterpiece that heavily improves on the gameplay of its predecessors and springs the genre forward. Columbia has done the impossible: it surpasses Rapture.
  23. If Half-Life and the original Deus Ex stand as the apotheosis of the narrative-driven shooter, and Bioshock brought the genre to PS3, then Infinite is the latest game to join these hallowed ranks. This is a masterpiece that will be discussed for years to come, and praise doesn’t come much higher than that.
  24. Mar 25, 2013
    90
    Daringly ambitious in terms of both subject matter and structure, BioShock Infinite is the most successful mix of storytelling and action this generation of gaming has ever seen.
  25. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    My favorite aspect of Infinite is the one about which I can say the least: story. The build-up is slow, but it works wonderfully thanks to the small ways other elements flow into the narrative.
  26. Mar 25, 2013
    95
    BioShock: Infinite is a marvelous masterpiece, a must have, a unique and beautiful game and maybe the best game of recent years. Everything about this game just makes sense. It offers a beautiful world, a good balance between action, exploration and story. And my god, what a story! Do yourself a favor and get this game as soon as you can, because this is a title that will be spoken of for a good while to come.
  27. Mar 21, 2013
    94
    Infinite comes through as a true, worthy follow-up to BioShock, one of the most-renowned shooters of this generation. In my book, it becomes one itself.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1440 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 331
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    It's so different to the first Bioshock, yet so similar at the same time. It does everything right, great story, amazing graphics and combat, and if anybody's having second thoughts about buying it because they're worried about Elizabeth being annoying, that's not an issue at all. She adds so much to an already fantastic game. Just buy it already! Full Review »
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Already a contender for GOTY. Gorgeous and unbelievable are understatements. Not only is this game the best in the series, i might put it as one of the best games this decade. Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    4
    Alright so time for a reality check concerning this franchise. I've been tracking for many years now how the shock series wich started with one of my alltime favourite games 'system shock' has slowly slipped down into a pit of "mass market appeal". With every new installment a few layers of complexity and freedom wich set the games apart from their contemporaries have been methodically shaved off and as we arrive at the fifth game there just isn't all that much left. Let me give you a few examples: The hacking wich used to consist of various minigames and even forays into cyberspace now just consist of collecting lockpicks that are jammed into certain locations by the press of a button. The weapons at your disposal used to be numerous and could be modded with various firing modes and ammo types to fit your needs is now reduced to five versions of a standard gun with a negative correlation between damage and firing frequency, and a rocket launcher/grenade launcher. Items, grenades, stimpacks, boosters and implants are completely removed and there is no inventory at all nor is there a map screen. The only puzzle solving (if you can even call it that) consists of finding a books that are linked to a certain areas and then letting an npc solve it for you, no I'm not joking. I could go on but I think you get the picture. Bottom line is the story is still good, the graphics are awesome, gameplay has taken a short step over a tall cliff. If I were to plot this franchise as a regression line I'd predict that the sixth game will have completely lost that incredible mix of gameplay and story wich elevated the early games into my personal alltime favourites. The Shock franchise has lost its soul in pursuit of the mass market segment and it saddens me greatly. Full Review »