BioShock Infinite PlayStation 3

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1873 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    Bioshock Infinite has an amazing story, beautiful graphics and memorable characters but lacks in game play. It's not terrible its just nothing special. The Vigors are fun to use but some of them are under powered and so are some of the weapons. I recommend this game just for the story. Seriously the ending will blow you'er mind.
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    The game is a beautiful world to discover and explore and amazing graphics but they needed more likeable side characters and little more back story for Comstock, Elizabeth and booker but it is an awesome game
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    2
    Combat overkill ruined the story and any fun in exploring the world. Watch a few youtube playthroughs and you'll get the gist of what I'm saying as you hear the let's players noticably sigh as they enter yet another area/shooting gallery filled with goons and realise that ALL of them must be killed. When it comes to gameplay mechanics, subtlety is not this game's forte.

    Shame because
    Combat overkill ruined the story and any fun in exploring the world. Watch a few youtube playthroughs and you'll get the gist of what I'm saying as you hear the let's players noticably sigh as they enter yet another area/shooting gallery filled with goons and realise that ALL of them must be killed. When it comes to gameplay mechanics, subtlety is not this game's forte.

    Shame because the world and story seemed quite interesting.

    Very over-hyped, overpraised and technically and mechanically lagging well behind many of today's AAA games.
    Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    In a nutshell: this is the best game I have ever played ever, and one of the best games you and I will ever play. It is perfect. It is raw, unadultarated and makes no apologies for it, yet it is beautifully balanced in every way. The mind-bending vistas of Columbia, the "Repunsel-inspired" story, the creative cause and effect combat that has become so classic to BioShock and then there'sIn a nutshell: this is the best game I have ever played ever, and one of the best games you and I will ever play. It is perfect. It is raw, unadultarated and makes no apologies for it, yet it is beautifully balanced in every way. The mind-bending vistas of Columbia, the "Repunsel-inspired" story, the creative cause and effect combat that has become so classic to BioShock and then there's the really special little gem called Elizabeth... I didn't know AI's could be this human, honest to God she has more character in her severed "pinkie" finger than the entire human race put together. BioShock Infinite has something for everyone, no matter how big or small everyone can connect with this masterpiece on some level. But really the only reason BioShock Infinite gets 10/10 is because I can't give it 21/10. Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Absolutely incredible game. This was the first of the BioShock franchise i've played and it has easily become one of my favourite video games ever. The graphics and locations are stunningly beautiful, and the gameplay is great. The story itself keeps you interested till the very end. All in all, a masterpiece.
  6. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    Bioshock infinte is a master piece sucking you into the world of Columbia right from the start but with a confusing middle it makes you feel that the narrative gets a little messy but the music,stunning visuals,and exicting world are enough to keep most engaged.In all bioshock infinte is a great end note to an even greater series and you this is not one to be avoided.
  7. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    Este juego puede hacerte pensar en muchas cosas, si hay algo más alla de la muerte o si la religión que profesas ha sido una farsa, ningun juego me ha hecho pensar esto desde el 1er Bioshock, que más puedo decir es perfecto y para cada lucha tienes que tener estrategia y te hace pensar (algo que no hacía desde el Doom haya en 1997) es la 5ta sinfonia de los FPS actual
  8. Nov 16, 2015
    0
    Este jogo é uma fraude em todos os aspectos.

    Primeiro - Em um primeiro momento, ainda que bem mais curto que Bioshock 1, você pode considerar 20-25 horas um tempo satisfatório para um modo single player. O problema é que pelo menos 70% desse tempo é gasto indo e voltando pelos mesmos caminhos. Sua missão é ir do ponto A ao B. Quando você chega no ponto B descobre que falta alguma coisa
    Este jogo é uma fraude em todos os aspectos.

    Primeiro - Em um primeiro momento, ainda que bem mais curto que Bioshock 1, você pode considerar 20-25 horas um tempo satisfatório para um modo single player. O problema é que pelo menos 70% desse tempo é gasto indo e voltando pelos mesmos caminhos. Sua missão é ir do ponto A ao B. Quando você chega no ponto B descobre que falta alguma coisa que te impede de seguir adiante, aí você tem que voltar ao ponto A, resolver a pendência e retornar ao ponto B. E mais adiante no jogo você vai passar novamente pelo mesmo caminho (ponto A ao B), e isso se repete durante todo o jogo. Então é uma fraude o tempo de jogo no modo single player.

    Segundo - O conteúdo deliberadamente retirado do jogo principal para ser vendido separadamente sob a forma de DLC faz falta, pelas razões já expostas no parágrafo anterior. Esqueça a riqueza gráfica e variação de cenários do Bioshock 1. Neste aqui, você vai ver sempre o mesmo visual, do início ao fim. A única coisa que muda é a iluminação, de acordo com a hora do dia e algumas nuvens pelo caminho.

    Terceiro - A inteligência artificial, se é que pode ser chamada de inteligente, é uma das piores que tive o desprazer de experimentar. Às vezes é ridiculamente fácíl, com o boneco esperando para tomar um tiro na cabeça, outras vezes extremamente frustrante, com um sistema de cobertura falha em que você toma tiro mesmo sem estar no raio de visão de ninguém. Outro problema é que a Elisabeth frequentemente se mete na sua frente e bloqueia a passagem. Lembram do RE 5? Pois é, acontece o mesmo aqui e você não pode matar a Elisabeth para conseguir andar livremente pelo cenário, tem que aguentar até o fim do jogo.

    Quarto - Os gráficos que impressionam nos primeiros minutos, logo se mostram bem ultrapassados. Todos os cidadãos de Columbia possuem a mesma aparência, e isso não faz parte da história. As mulheres tem o mesmo rosto, de acordo com a raça. Toda mulher de pele clara tem o mesmo rosto, toda mulher de pele escura tem o mesmo rosto e isso vale para os homens também. A aparência da Elizabeth é muito artificial e cartunesca. Se foi a intenção dos desenvolvedores, acho que foi uma decisão infeliz, pois não está de acordo com os cenários que estão com texturas mais próximas da realidade, apesar do ambiente fantasioso. A Elisabeth se encaixaria perfeitamente no jogo Alice, que está mais de acordo com esse tipo de gráfico.

    O áudio é o único ponto competente do jogo, com centenas de diálogos e bom som ambiente, mas, novamente, não se compara ao áudio do Bioshock 1, que é infinitamente (desculpe o trocadilho) superior.

    Enfim, se é uma franquia a comparação é inevitável com os jogos anteriores e sob esse aspecto Bioshock Infinite está bem distante dos anteriores, apenas uma mera lembrança do que já foi Bioshock. Se o objetivo é inovar então faça isso de um modo competente, que não foi o caso, e crie um novo nome.

    Voltando ao assunto das DLCs, quanto a isso, é uma praga que infelizmente veio para ficar, graças ao suporte dessa nova geração de gamers. Graças às DLCs, vemos jogos sendo lançados cheios de bugs, o que não acontecia antes, para posteriormente serem corrigidos, e conteúdos serem deliberadamente retirados do jogo principal para serem vendidos sob a forma de DLC e arrecadar mais dinheiro para desenvolvedoras e produtoras mercenárias.

    Quanto às pontuações altas que este jogo recebeu, penso que são dadas por avaliadores parciais, que recebem patrocínio para avaliar bem certas produtoras ou que jogaram apenas os primeiros minutos do jogo.

    Enfim, não recomendo este jogo, não só porque destoa do resto da franquia, mas principalmente porque tudo o que foi proposto de inovação foi mal executado.
    Expand
  9. Jan 4, 2016
    9
    Great gameplay, graphics, locations and atmosphere, but anti-white propaganda is disgusting in this game.
    ______________________________________________________
  10. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    This game is what every sequel should aspire to be; it never tries to be the original, or to recreate the things the original does well, but makes it's own way, while still preserving the original's spirit.

    This is a game not to be missed.
  11. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    This game is beautiful. Even though the console port does leave some textures muddy, they're hard to notice. The gameplay is quick and seamless as you ride Skylines and pounce or your enemies or escape to a higher vantage point to plan your attack. It is a big improvement over the somewhat sluggish controls of Bioshock 1 and 2.

    Elizabeth's AI is incredible, landing you a hand in battle
    This game is beautiful. Even though the console port does leave some textures muddy, they're hard to notice. The gameplay is quick and seamless as you ride Skylines and pounce or your enemies or escape to a higher vantage point to plan your attack. It is a big improvement over the somewhat sluggish controls of Bioshock 1 and 2.

    Elizabeth's AI is incredible, landing you a hand in battle whenever she can by finding ammo, Salt (EVE), health, and money (outside of combat).
    She never gets in your way and requires 0 babysitting. She is the best companion AI of any game made yet, and she is very likeable and not a damsel in distress.

    I was on the edge of my seat the entire 12 hours it took me. I was so intrigued by everything going on and I just wanted to find out what the twist was. This game delivered. It left me thinking afterwards for a long time about it and the previous games.

    Bioshock: Infinite is an extremely well polished, and artful, masterpiece. I'll be damned surprised if it does not win Video Game of the Year. it deserves it.
    Expand
  12. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    Having waited for this game for nearly 3 years i had a-lot of expectations pressuring this game. but unlike uncharted 3 i was not disappointed. living up to the amazing story telling you would expect from irrational games, infinite is a truly moving story. most notably for me is the brilliance in the AI. enemies will chase you around the sky and flank you on your cover giving the game aHaving waited for this game for nearly 3 years i had a-lot of expectations pressuring this game. but unlike uncharted 3 i was not disappointed. living up to the amazing story telling you would expect from irrational games, infinite is a truly moving story. most notably for me is the brilliance in the AI. enemies will chase you around the sky and flank you on your cover giving the game a more hurried and desperate fighting scene. but the game evens out with an amazing AI partner. steering away from the usual robotic stuck in a corner, cannot continue until they move nuisance. the game brings a natural feeling and helpful character, allowing the game to move fluidly and add a new energy to combat.

    But the game is not without its faults. despite being branded a Bioshock game, the game felt alienated from the previous installments. the vigors (plasmids) felt unearned when they where simply found about, instead of saving precious ADAM to purchase. every encounter with enemies was forced, unlike the careful decision to upset a big daddy for the chance of gaining resources. and even adding a voice to the main protagonist shifted this great game from its original feeling. but the most important change was the addition of magic. for me an unwelcome change to the world of Bioshock. these tears in reality being opened by a girl made the game too surreal. previous Bioshock games maintained a fantasy element but grounded it in an unseen science. it was believably unbelievable. giving a possible scientific outcome when great minds work together free from government control, but no such explanation was given in infinite.

    despite the differences from its underwater brothers this game is still amazing. an evolution in story telling i wish more games would adapt. and when considered on its own is clearly a game to remember.
    Expand
  13. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    While I expected to see a few negative reviews, I didn't quite expect to see so many. The worse part is that multiples of them are in regards to the mechanics. Oh the mechanics in this game are awesome, it is a full fleshed shooter in every-way, upgrades, weapon mods. It uses the firefight mechanic which some people like and some people don't the problem is peoples that even though thisWhile I expected to see a few negative reviews, I didn't quite expect to see so many. The worse part is that multiples of them are in regards to the mechanics. Oh the mechanics in this game are awesome, it is a full fleshed shooter in every-way, upgrades, weapon mods. It uses the firefight mechanic which some people like and some people don't the problem is peoples that even though this game has great mechanics and game play, it isn't what the game is about.

    To those lobbing such complaints, it is akin to complaining that "there will be blood" doesn't have as much action as Die Hard and therefore it sucks... but alas this review isn't about the confused individuals giving a masterpiece a low score because it isn't being what it never pretends to be.

    This is about success. They finally did it. This is a game for us, for the book nerds who always wanted to step inside a novel, who have always fantasized about a perfect merge of film and game. This is a middle finger to those who said it couldn't be done.

    No 20 minute (movie) cut scenes, no cringe worthy mitten handed protagonists having graphical seizures while spouting lines that appear to have been written by a 3rd grade student.

    Subtlety emotion, depth, humor, beautiful environments and main characters that drawn you in as well as some of the best novels and movies of our time. You will cry, you will laugh. You will want more, oh you will want more... and that perhaps is the only problem its so short, and i do feel a little ripped at 10 hours, but i understand... this could have been a dead space drag on, with the floor falling through every time you almost reach your objective. I almost thought they were going to go that route, but they didn't ,they made a masterpiece. if you haven't yet Just go experience it.
    Expand
  14. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok lets start with the fact that this game is one of the best games that I have ever played. This game is so strange and unusual that it makes you want explore the world you are playing in. mix that with a brilliant storyline and exceptional gameplay.well you certainty will be hooked Expand
  15. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    Up until this game I didn't consider myself a Bioshock fan. I liked the first one, but I wasn't crazy about it. The second one was good but that was because it delivered almost the same experience as the first one, minus the "Wow" of discovering Rapture for the first time. But this game, this game really got me.

    I decided to take a risk with this one and buy it without watching or
    Up until this game I didn't consider myself a Bioshock fan. I liked the first one, but I wasn't crazy about it. The second one was good but that was because it delivered almost the same experience as the first one, minus the "Wow" of discovering Rapture for the first time. But this game, this game really got me.

    I decided to take a risk with this one and buy it without watching or reading a single review, I even avoided watching any video released after the gameplay of E3 2011 just because I wanted to discover things by my own. I finished it a week prior to writing this review and definitely the feeling is still in there: I LOVED IT! It lived up to all my expectations. It is definitely one of the best experiences I have had as a gamer.

    The gameplay was totally satisfactory, specially the sky-lines parts which were fast but easy to navigate; Elizabeth is just the most useful AI companion I have encountered in any game, in the beginning one may think that the player will have to take care of her, but it ends up being the other way around, she gives you ammo and medikits, creates objects for you to cover and interact with, and she is the one responsible for bringing you back to life when you die, it is an amazing change for the typical story about rescuing a "damsel in distress". It is also good to have a FPS character who speak throughout the game.

    The visuals and music are gorgeous, and the story is just excellently executed but keep in mind that, just as the others games in this series, it is mandatory that you listen to the voice messages to see the whole picture.

    This is going to be a great year for gaming, we already have "Ni No Kuni" in the RPG front and now "Bioshock Infinite" in the FPS'. Still have to wait to see what "The Last Of Us", "Beyond: Tow Souls" and "Grand Theft Auto V" will bring to table for the action-adventure, adventure and sandbox genres. This is going to be a very hard to choose GOTY.
    Expand
  16. Apr 9, 2013
    5
    So, I really did like the game, the story, I loved Elizabeth as a partner in the game and I had fun, but it is a love/hate relationship.

    Unfortunately, I was unlucky in the fact that this game was the very first for me to have issues. Bioshock would hard freeze every 5-10 min without fail every freakin time and 2k support is absolutely horrible in helping me resolve this, which I think
    So, I really did like the game, the story, I loved Elizabeth as a partner in the game and I had fun, but it is a love/hate relationship.

    Unfortunately, I was unlucky in the fact that this game was the very first for me to have issues.
    Bioshock would hard freeze every 5-10 min without fail every freakin time and 2k support is absolutely horrible in helping me resolve this, which I think they just gave up. I haven't heard back from them in days.

    But I am always up for a challenge, so I fought through from auto-save to auto-save waiting for the next hard freeze then reset my PS3, and start up again. The sense of accomplishment I felt after completion was almost the same I had for Dark Souls and only because I was fighting the toughest opponent of the game, the buggy software itself. The only reason I was able to do this was because the game was somewhat short, very basic and fairly easy, even on hard mode.

    Which leads me to my next point...

    This title was pretty basic for a Bioshock game, as it seemed to me a completely stripped down experience from the first entry. Upgrades for vigors and weapons are very linear and boring and you just need a vending machine and some money to upgrade, but the upgrades aren't really worth anything.
    I only upgraded and used about 2-3 weapons and two vigors the whole game. Gear is completely useless and i just stuck with the first four pieces I snagged and was done with it.

    There is nothing to loot off enemies but health, salts, and money which is very repetitive and boring after a few levels. You have no more scavenging for all kinds of random parts to build items. Combat is the same as previous entries with the exception of being able to use your weapon and vigor simultaenously instead of cycling back and forth, which is a good addition though.

    I also noticed that I may have spent 2-3 minutes total on the sky rail and I thought that was going to be such a huge part of the game. I also thought you would be accessing all the various parts of Columbia through the sky rail, but not even close.

    No memorable foes in the game was a real shocker for me. I thought that was their niche, well, they blew that. I couldn't believe you didn't at least have a boss fight with Comstock or Songbird. Songbird could have been the Daddy of Infinite, in my opinion. Way too many generic AI's all over and around this game for just filler.

    Gameplay and combat is SO basic for a big budget AAA game, but obviously they spent their time with other facets of the game and did very well pulling that off. The environments, Elizabeth, and the story with all its complexities, all rocked.

    I should rate this game a zero for not even running properly on a mass produced machine, but since I was able to fight through with little difficulty, outside of the PS3 resets, I was able to appreciate a lot of the great environments, Elizabeth, and story in the game.
    Expand
  17. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    Even though I had some framerate and loading issues, this is the best game I've played so far this year and my best experience with a first person game since the last Bioshock game. Gameplay is inventive and fun, narrative is strong and well paced. Regardless of which system you play this on, this is a experience worth having.
  18. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterpiece! They managed to do EVERYTHING Right! I got a good 16 hours out of this game, If your thinking about buying this game, DO IT, You wont regret it!
  19. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Haven't finished it yet but I am 3 hours in and I already know that this game delivers. It is absolutely stunningly beautiful and very fun. I wouldn't be surprised if this wins game of the year. It is very hard to put down.
  20. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    One of the best games this gen, and best FPS. GOTY for sure. The story is amazing and a amazing twist. the graphics are top notch and voice acting is top notch.
  21. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This has to be one of the finest games I have ever played, a masterpiece by anyone's standard. Everything about it is astonishing; the gunplay, the artwork, the environments and don't even get me started on the story.

    Never have i felt so immersed in a game, this truly felt like an adventure, recapturing that feeling I got with games when I was a child. This is the Half Life 2 of this
    This has to be one of the finest games I have ever played, a masterpiece by anyone's standard. Everything about it is astonishing; the gunplay, the artwork, the environments and don't even get me started on the story.

    Never have i felt so immersed in a game, this truly felt like an adventure, recapturing that feeling I got with games when I was a child. This is the Half Life 2 of this Generation and i dont forsee it being beaten for atleast a decade.

    My only regret is that towards the end I rushed it even though I had time to really explore, if you do decide to buy this, don't make the same mistake, savor every last moment with this beauty and my god take in everything you see.

    10/10
    Expand
  22. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. Level of detail is outstanding. The gameplay, story, characters and the setting are all fantastic. Go out and buy it you won't be disappointed.
  23. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    A game that has been in development for a long time now has finally come out and it has 100% been worth the wait and a breath of fresh air to the first person shooter market. When all hope was lost for the first person shooter market with bad and boring games like Call of Duty and Sniper Ghost warrior, games that are being milked and milked to the point they are now bone dry, what BioshockA game that has been in development for a long time now has finally come out and it has 100% been worth the wait and a breath of fresh air to the first person shooter market. When all hope was lost for the first person shooter market with bad and boring games like Call of Duty and Sniper Ghost warrior, games that are being milked and milked to the point they are now bone dry, what Bioshock Infinite does is so imaginative with story telling and setting that all over first person games have a lot to live up to. When you first start in the world of the new Bioshock game you instantly feel a sense of journey and mystery this feeling carry's its way through into the floating city of Columbia were you are immersed into beauty and rich atmosphere its a city were you right a home with. The scale of this game is fantastic, from the open aired streets to small enclosed corridors of houses and some great Hollywood moments to put it up there with the greatest of games. The story is very deep to put it mildly its a little like the fairy tale rapunzel, get the girl fight the beast and get out, obviously things are not as simple as that but I will say at some point in the story the actual story hits you like a tone of bricks and continues to get more amazing, surprising and shocking but I wont tell you anymore. Columbia is a living and breathing world a world which you could defiantly believe to be true and the story brings it to life with small detailed things in the world; like flight paths. The girl Elizabeth as a AI character is the best I have seen as she interacts with the entire world she gives you ammo, health and vigors she also opens up tears in the world were she brings in things from another world to Columbia like cover and men to help you. Elizabeth also comments on things in the world and draws you to over paths like letters and books and yes when you go into the mens toilets she will wait outside for you. She is the most realist I have seen in a video game. There are a few down points but nothing that should put you off .One is half way through the game and it just slowly gets boring because your just shooting but it swiftly puts all that behind its self. Another is the gun combat it feels a little poor compared to the rest of the game's good quality's. And the last is nothing to do after you have beaten the game obviously you can replay it on a harder difficulty and collect everything but you can do that quickly I was hoping that there would be some sort of online feature but I would prefer just an amazing campaign which we got. Im sure they will bring out DLC The campaign is a good length I finished it in ten hours and that is also collecting everything and having a nose into every corner of the game. Over good points I should mention is superb voice acting by both leading roles and great script writing. Visuals are good there not incredible like Uncharted 3 and Battlefield but it is just perfect for the game. In conclusion this game is quality and it is very rare that people have so much care and perfection for their games the people in Irrational games have this passion and it is great to see. I give this game a 9.8/10 what a masterpiece. Expand
  24. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    BioShock Infinite is the type of game that, as one would expect from the likes of Irrational Games, leaves the player to think long after the credits roll. When I finished playing, my thoughts were along the lines of 'What just happened?', 'Does that mean...?' and 'Is it really over?'. Well, for the latter, I recommend that you stick around during and after the credits.

    From a gameplay
    BioShock Infinite is the type of game that, as one would expect from the likes of Irrational Games, leaves the player to think long after the credits roll. When I finished playing, my thoughts were along the lines of 'What just happened?', 'Does that mean...?' and 'Is it really over?'. Well, for the latter, I recommend that you stick around during and after the credits.

    From a gameplay perspective, the game is sound. If you have played the original BioShock, you'll feel right at home with the new powers named Vigors, which are basically the Plasmids you're used to, albeit slightly different. The shooting feels fluid and accurate it's not as unrealistic as Call of Duty nor does it have the insane recoil that the Battlefield series possesses. There is the introduction of Tears, which allow you to use the abilities of a sophisticated and helpful AI named Elizabeth, who is critical to the story and never once gets in the players way. She can bring many things into the world around you, aiding in combat and/or navigation, such as cover, first aid kits, turrets etc. Throughout the game, you are given choices, but none of these effect the ending, which leads me to the story...

    Compared to the first (And second) BioShock, choices in the game feel rather insignificant. They don't dramatically alter the world. However, unlike most games, the linear narrative suits the story the game is telling very well, and would destroy the idea that the player character, Booker DeWitt, is his own individual. Booker is neither a good nor bad person, and you won't always like who he is or what he's done, but players will find themselves caring for him by the end of the game. Elizabeth, Booker's companion, is a young woman who is very much like your typical princess locked in a tower...or so you first think. She is someone that you, as a player, want to protect, but such a thing is never required in combat. She is never a hindrance, only offering useful help throughout the game. I won't spoil any of the story for you, but it's nothing short of brilliant. Sometimes, you'll be completely puzzled. Others, you'll understand until a new element is introduced. But by the end, I understood everything completely, and even found myself emotionally touched. The presentation of the game is fantastic. I often found myself dazzled by just how beautiful this game is. The city is a wonder to behold. It's inhabitants look and act like they should. The environments are usually excellent. It seems that Irrational spent a long time polishing this fantastic experience, as I never once encountered a glitch while playing. The detail is astounding, in most cases. However, low texture does appear in the strangest of places. There was a point in the game that I had just jumped from a Skyline (Which are great fun!) and was ready to face a horde of enemies. What I wasn't prepared for was a giant, blurry...'thing' in front of me! It turns out that it was some sort of blimp device, but I would have never guessed had I not taken a few (Okay, I ran at least a mile) steps back to get a better look. Without a shred of doubt, BioShock Infinite is an early contender for earning many Game of the Year Awards. When I started playing the game, I was worried as to whether it would live up to the hype and the name of BioShock, but I can honestly say that it does just that. In many ways, this game is far superior than even the original. So, without further ado, would you kindly do yourself a favour and buy this game?
    Expand
  25. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Well structured game that proves to the community that 2K Games really proves to be a company that takes time to create games with enough polish and a well-structured story. 10/10
  26. Mar 28, 2013
    1
    Disappointment. I feel cheated. This goes down as the most over-hyped over-rated game in history. As someone who played the first two games and loved the experience, I feel incredibly let down by this release. I'm sorry for the fan-boys that claim this is the GOTY, they require mental evaluation. Uninspiring gameplay, washed out visuals and DLC content absolutely ruin this game. I'mDisappointment. I feel cheated. This goes down as the most over-hyped over-rated game in history. As someone who played the first two games and loved the experience, I feel incredibly let down by this release. I'm sorry for the fan-boys that claim this is the GOTY, they require mental evaluation. Uninspiring gameplay, washed out visuals and DLC content absolutely ruin this game. I'm reselling it before everyone else comes to their senses. Expand
  27. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    This is a very interesting game. Essentially, the game play is really nothing new. Its a straightforward shooter. You can only have two guns at any one time, and the powers that you get are not overly imaginative. If it weren't for the story, the game would just be a solid shooter. It is the story that really sets this game apart however. The ending sent me reeling, and I was hookedThis is a very interesting game. Essentially, the game play is really nothing new. Its a straightforward shooter. You can only have two guns at any one time, and the powers that you get are not overly imaginative. If it weren't for the story, the game would just be a solid shooter. It is the story that really sets this game apart however. The ending sent me reeling, and I was hooked throughout the entire ride. The game makes you invested in finding and listening to the collectibles, to extract as much as you can from the story. I won't spoil anything, but it really gets you thinking. Its quite a ride.

    I don't think that the game is perfect like others have suggested, they definitely could have made the game play more innovative, but its good at what it does.

    Make no mistake, the game is good based on its own game play merits, but the narrative takes the game to a whole new level. Something very unique in Bioshock Infinite.
    Expand
  28. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    Bioshock infinite is amazing. The level of detail in this game is beyond the words of a reviewer, and the story is perfect for the time we live in. This is one of the best games I have ever played
  29. Mar 30, 2013
    8
    It begins much like the previous BioShock games, just you against the world trying to achieve a single goal, but during the rescue of Elizabeth a relationship is formed with her character that makes the ending such a surprising, poignant and emotional moment. My only negative, and quite a large one at that, would be that it was too quick to finish, even though I chose Hard mode from theIt begins much like the previous BioShock games, just you against the world trying to achieve a single goal, but during the rescue of Elizabeth a relationship is formed with her character that makes the ending such a surprising, poignant and emotional moment. My only negative, and quite a large one at that, would be that it was too quick to finish, even though I chose Hard mode from the beginning. 18 hours according to Steam, although that was over the Easter weekend so I had plenty of game time available. Yes, I could now play it in 1999 mode for it to be more difficult but, unlike the previous BioShock, this is a fixed story line and I have no wish to revisit Columbia and my relationship with Elizabeth, knowing how it will end. Expand
  30. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Disappointed is the word I would use to describe my feeling about this game. While the game is visual beautiful, it lacks from the previous games in the franchise. To bad they did not get this game right. Not only is it the shortest of the three, it has a annoying story to follow. I found the purpose of traps with every vigor somewhat useless as majority of the environments are large in comparison to the first 2 bioshock. The story and ending was confusing at times, and I to finished the game feeling ripped off. Glad I payed for a short game with a little enjoyment in the game play. The time line seems to be short so the bond between Elizabeth and Booker is forgettable. I hate that you can carry only two guns. I looked forward to another one in the series, but this game wasn't as good, and like I said I was left feeling disappointed. Expand
  31. Mar 31, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 9.5 -Ign ...come on people seriously?
    Yes, its a great game, but only on its own. By no means would i consider this a Bioshock game. Even while acknowledging the few critical plot holes, the meat of this game is in its story and not in its gameplay. Ex. Half way through the game you'll get involved in a race war. The blacks, Asians and other minorities join the Vox and fight back against the bigoted Columbians. However the game fails to mention how such a massive amount of these people came to live here in the slums in the first place considering how racially prejudice the whole of the city was from the get go. Gameplay-wise, compared to previous Bioshock titles, feels severely dumbed down. You have a regenerating shield, can only carry two weapons and two plasmids at a time and they REMOVED HACKING!!! Elizabeth being latched on to your ankles throwing you ammo, health, salts (equivalent of adam for plasmids) in my opinion made the game feel too easy. Its not as eerie as the previous titles were either. There's also no real choice, or different endings you can get based on your behavior during the game. This is explained later and is certainly not that big a deal, but again, compared to previous Bioshock games, its too different. Elizabeth can also teleport in objects from other dimensions when you tell her to. These are usually either sentry guns, hooks or cover. I found them to obstruct my view and offer little actual support when I truly needed it. Last thing I would like to mention is the skyline gimmick. Just don't expect to zip across from one end of town to the other. These are looped and placed in certain areas where you'll usually have to survive waves of enemies before you can continue. They can get you to certain ledges and otherwise un-reachable platforms, but that's about it. Oh, and that big mean motherf***er, Songbird. You know? The spiritual equivalent to a big daddy? Yeah... don't expect to fight him.

    10/10 Unforgettable? My ass
    The story is great, no doubt about that.
    The gameplay is where this title truly suffers and you should be aware of that before you buy it.
    And you should buy it too.... or just watch a "lets play" on youtube... either way works to be quite frank.
    Expand
  32. Apr 2, 2013
    6
    For the life of me, I wanted to give this game a 1 on here just to try and aid to the lowering of the overall score, but my morals don't allow it. I will however give it what it deserves in my opinion... A 6. I fell into the hype and reviews that the game was getting, so I ended up buying it. It is beyond me how the game has such a high score.
    Gameplay: Incredibly generic and repetitive.
    For the life of me, I wanted to give this game a 1 on here just to try and aid to the lowering of the overall score, but my morals don't allow it. I will however give it what it deserves in my opinion... A 6. I fell into the hype and reviews that the game was getting, so I ended up buying it. It is beyond me how the game has such a high score.
    Gameplay: Incredibly generic and repetitive. I was expecting something rather unique and different than usual, but all I got was a dumbed down version of the first bioshock. The game is completely smooth and does what it needs to do (be a shooter), but that got old after the first 2 hours of play.
    AI: Hm.. To make a long story short, it's terrible.
    Visuals: Throw my back to 2010, and I'd have to say it looks pretty amazing. The colors are vibrant, graphics are very nice and it has a warm feeling. We are, however, in 2013. I've seen so many games in the last 2 years that blow me away, and have an incredible amount of substance and options more than this game. The attention to some details (or lack thereof) is quite annoying as well.

    All in all I find it hard to play the game for more than 40 minutes at a time... And from what I've heard, the ending is a mind blowing experience. Shame I'll have to actually finish the game to get to it. For being a shooter, it's as basic as it gets. Take the first bioshock (Completely unique and amazing to this day) shred it down to please the masses, and you have Infinite.
    I seem to say a lot of negative about it... Only because 80% of you reviewers along with critics praise it like it's a cure for cancer, tricking me into being all-to-excited for this next installment. I do have a strong desire to go back and play the first Bioshock though. That much I'll thank Infinite for.
    Expand
  33. Apr 2, 2013
    3
    OK enough of the 10 out of 10 scores as they are not very relevant.
    I will not go into my personal issues with this game as I will be here all day so just PROS and CONS -
    PROS: The game does look very nice, in fact too candy looking nice, like stepping into a 3D world made by WILLY WONKA which would be lovely for a game based on this type of adventure, but this is a shooter and a not
    OK enough of the 10 out of 10 scores as they are not very relevant.
    I will not go into my personal issues with this game as I will be here all day so just PROS and CONS -

    PROS:
    The game does look very nice, in fact too candy looking nice, like stepping into a 3D world made by WILLY WONKA which would be lovely for a game based on this type of adventure, but this is a shooter and a not very realistic one more of a dreamy sweet one!

    The vocal talent and sound effects are very good.
    The 3D models are also very well done.
    The textures can be a mixed bag though and spoil some great moments.
    The story starts well but gets confused with itself in the end.
    The Elizabeth character works well but agin to sugary for my taste.

    CONS:
    The hype of this game was never going to be realised and it will be in bargain bins within 6 months.
    The shooting is bad, the aiming is rubbish and clunky and the weaponry is not very inventive at all coming from original BIOSHOCK creators.
    This is a treacle covered BIOSHOCK 1 where the creators have reused mechanics under a different setting.
    This is NOT a step forward or a better game than BIOSHOCK 1.
    The main character is not very indearing and movable, try this very early on your on a floating barge try jumping up onto some crates and then jump to teh skyrail above.......You cannot do it! but after a few minutes you can leap what seems to be 20 feet into the air to a skyhook without any problem!
    The mechanics just are not consistant to the world and the map you are in.
    Also what is with all the loading...zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz do you wish to leave this area????? consoles got over this years ago with streaming data for new levels etc.
    If you wish to see a really good game in action, plays very well and enjoy the atmosphere then spend your money on TOMB RAIDER or if you must play this type of game hunt out teh original which is far far better.

    SUMMARY:
    Like the remake of Charlie and the chocolate factory, this is sugar coated but lacks the brilliance of the original it was based on.
    Expand
  34. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    BioShock Infinite is a well made game with a ending that will BLOW YOUR MIND. It made my jaw down ten clicks down to earth. It is a must buy.
  35. Apr 4, 2013
    6
    Okay, so, a little setting. Bioshock holds a special place in my heart as my favorite game of all time. I've put ridiculously large amounts of my life into exploring every facet that game has to offer. Moving on. Infinite is a fantastic game and every gamer should pick this up... Unless you're a Bioshock fan.
    World/ Backstory: I'm not sure I could quite put my finger on it, but
    Okay, so, a little setting. Bioshock holds a special place in my heart as my favorite game of all time. I've put ridiculously large amounts of my life into exploring every facet that game has to offer. Moving on. Infinite is a fantastic game and every gamer should pick this up... Unless you're a Bioshock fan.
    World/ Backstory: I'm not sure I could quite put my finger on it, but Infinite manages to capture the spark of the original in terms of its backstory. Every audio diary is full of interesting character and powerful voice acting that makes you believe these are real people. I think this really speaks to Ken Levine being present during the recording sessions. He was able to push them to their best. The world, while very very surreal, has flaws that reflect reality during the 20's. Racism is a glaring issue in Columbia that seems to be at a fever pitch. While I loved feeling everything that Columbia was going through, there were very few times when the atmosphere left me scarred or tense. Generally, the color palette made me feel at ease with it's bright, sunshine colorfulness. Another aspect to point out is the shocking amount of NPCs. They're everywhere. Gossiping, playing arcade games, swimming, riding the skyline, shooting you, everything you would expect city goers to be doing in a game The isolation of Bioshock is most definitely gone in Infinite. You can decide for yourself if that's good or bad. For me, it kind of brought a frown to my face.
    Level Design: You will be able to tell almost instantly that this is the work of Irrational. Level design gives many nods to Bioshock, especially anytime you step inside a building. Propaganda placed in extravagant, impossible to miss locations, a sense of grudge and dirtiness is everywhere, and layers upon layers of juicy fog. Many doors open automatically similar to Bioshock. There does seem to be less emphasis on exploration. There are little side quests, but they're usually nothing deeper than: go get this thing in order to get that object. This is something that really bothers me. Bioshock had much more backtracking and complex level design for you to sink your mind into, and it all feels very streamlined in Infinite. You aren't even given a designated map.
    Sound Design: Speaking as an audio engineer, the sound design is bone chillingly incredible. Your first steps on Columbia soil will set a tone for a game like I've never heard or seen before. Walking through the halls of a temple dedicated to Comstock you hear voices singing. I'm not sure what plug-in/ recording techniques they used, but the reverberation is so rich, I didn't want to leave the area, I just wanted to sit there and listen.
    Characters: I'll just focus on Elizabeth here. If I had to define her in one phrase, I'd say she is a disney princess. Wide eyed, full of curiosity. Her AI scripting is really something to experience. Unlike most other escort games, Elizabeth will interact with the world. She'll walk over to a table, and examine the bottles of whisky topled onto an unfinished plate of food. She'll get cotton candy from a vendor at the arcade. It'll floor you.
    Story: It's here that most of my complaints begin. You have your artists and engineers slave over these incredible environments, so unique and awe inspiring. But before you get a chance to really soak it all in, the game is dragging you to another area of the city. In Bioshock, I never felt rushed. In Infinite, I feel rushed maybe 80% of the time. The story is an absolute roller coaster. It's fantastic, and will grab you instantly, but it makes world exploration frustrating because you never have much time to breathe. This is fun and appeals to a larger audience, but if you are like me, you like to stay in one area and really get to know it until it becomes your own. Gone in Infinite. Bioshock was really a collection of stories. You would go from one area to another hearing the tales of mad men, Steinman to Cohen. This made for very steady pacing. A pacing for gamers, not movie enthusiast (you don't play a game for the same reason you watch a movie).
    Game Mechanics: And it's here that I cry out in agony. Plasmids have been dumbed down. 4 of the 8 vigors do very similar things. Hacking is, in essence, gone. All of this is not necessarily a bad thing, just to me. Hacking turrets was an incredibly gratifying experience. Honestly, the mechanics have become extremely tight. You no longer worry about health packs or keeping an inventory of salts. Guns no longer have multiple ammo types. My first thought was: this system be great for multiplayer. It made me wonder if some of the multiplayer mentality stuck around after it was cut. Making great mechanics for a multiplayer experience, and mechanics for a single player experience are two very different things.
    Don't get me wrong, this game is a work of art, but if you are a Bioshock fan, prepare to be a little disappointed.
    Expand
  36. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    There are no spoilers in this review. If you enjoy games with fun gameplay along with a great soundtrack, great graphics, and an outstanding story, then this is a must play. I just completed the game and I'm going to start playing it again in a higher difficulty. I would suggest to those experienced FPS gamers to play this in the hard difficulty setting. I would also recommend to peopleThere are no spoilers in this review. If you enjoy games with fun gameplay along with a great soundtrack, great graphics, and an outstanding story, then this is a must play. I just completed the game and I'm going to start playing it again in a higher difficulty. I would suggest to those experienced FPS gamers to play this in the hard difficulty setting. I would also recommend to people who haven't played the first bioshock to play it before playing infinite. I would imagine that experienced gamers would complete this in 8 hours; however, to fully enjoy this game I would recommend exploring the city as much as possible (it took me about 20 hours to complete this game). In my opinion this game has a great replay value because of two main reasons: the gameplay and the story. There are several different ways of eliminating enemies and also, a second playthrough would help you understand/appreciate the story.

    I consider this game to be one of my top favorite games of all time (right next to the Metal Gear Solid series).
    Expand
  37. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    This game was quite enjoyable. Graphics, music*, gameplay, etc.; all were amazing. My only issues with the game: no user-save feature, only auto-save. I'm not a big believer in having to get to a spot to save, especially as an adult-gamer with life going on. And the "book marks" save about 1,000 different times throughout the game. A little bit too much data action. And music-wise, someThis game was quite enjoyable. Graphics, music*, gameplay, etc.; all were amazing. My only issues with the game: no user-save feature, only auto-save. I'm not a big believer in having to get to a spot to save, especially as an adult-gamer with life going on. And the "book marks" save about 1,000 different times throughout the game. A little bit too much data action. And music-wise, some areas could use a bit more diverse music, not a big gripe. I'd like to give this game a 9.9 overall. Definitely worth anyone's time and money. Expand
  38. Apr 10, 2013
    5
    Universal acclaim? 95/100? 9/10? As if. This game is mediocre at best, sorry guys. The only redeeming qualities are the graphics, the very artistic environment, and the voice acting. The story is one big cliche with a predictable ending (unless you haven't read a good book in the past 20 years). It's a shame that people are setting something like this as "par" for a game now a days. TheUniversal acclaim? 95/100? 9/10? As if. This game is mediocre at best, sorry guys. The only redeeming qualities are the graphics, the very artistic environment, and the voice acting. The story is one big cliche with a predictable ending (unless you haven't read a good book in the past 20 years). It's a shame that people are setting something like this as "par" for a game now a days. The game is repetitive and boring...the only thing keeping you hooked is the anticipation of the climax of what potentially could have been an amazing story. In the end, you're left with a $60 paperweight (not much replay value in this game folks), a fight-club/12 monkey- esque ending, and characters that you barely care about. I know this review isn't enough to convince a zombie army of new generation gamers, but hopefully it will help people that have taste, and realize that rehashed, gimmick garbage like this wouldn't have cut it 10-15 years ago. See CollegeShinobi's review, he sums it up QUITE well. Expand
  39. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite is a beautiful game. With a complex story and wonderful graphics, it keeps you guessing at what comes next. This is a great example of where the video game industry should be going.
  40. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    While it isn't exactly the spearhead its predecessor was way back in 2007, Bioshock: Infinite does right by the Bioshock brandname. The art direction is still there, the delicately crafted musical score is there, the combat is responsive and much improved. I still very much prefer the original Bioshock, and wish Infinite had more scares and RPG elements like its predecessor; but evenWhile it isn't exactly the spearhead its predecessor was way back in 2007, Bioshock: Infinite does right by the Bioshock brandname. The art direction is still there, the delicately crafted musical score is there, the combat is responsive and much improved. I still very much prefer the original Bioshock, and wish Infinite had more scares and RPG elements like its predecessor; but even having said that, this game holds up against unreasonable hype and expectations. Buy this game. Ken Levine and the folks at Irrational are doing right by gamers and we need to do right by them. The only thing that sucks about Bioshock: Infinite is its release means we will have to wait another five years to play another game of this ilk. Expand
  41. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    Never has a game so fully encapsulated my thoughts. The relationship you build with Elizabeth, the concepts behind Columbia and the story line are just incredible. The gameplay is very solid, but you almost want to ignore the FPS aspect just to follow the story. Easily one of the best games I have ever played. (If not the best.)
  42. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    bioshock infinite review

    the game begins extremely strong beautiful environment which is extremely intriguing. you realise your in a vast environment extremely racist and political tones are presented to you throughout the game which is consistently in your face however it ties in with the story gameplay is flawless however the environment is extremely linear which is a shame
    bioshock infinite review

    the game begins extremely strong beautiful environment which is extremely intriguing. you realise your in a vast environment extremely racist and political tones are presented to you throughout the game which is consistently in your face however it ties in with the story gameplay is flawless however the environment is extremely linear which is a shame because the city is so huge. so if you hit a save point make sure you scoped out the environment as much as you can."VIGORS" which are plasmids for bioshock 2" are good fun to play around with however the functionality of them limit you to primarily use the weapons you find in game. story wise. hands down the best story in the history of gaming if not cinema. if they made a movie it would be my favourite movie. 4 years in production winning 85 awards voted world best shooter. credit was given when it was due. Elisabeth helps you throughout the game and in no way shape or form does it feel like a huge escort mission" .
    you can travel using the "sky lines" which basically feels like your on a roller-coaster where tey have also intergrated combat which blends in so well that it is revolutionises the first person shooter" feel"
    the music is amazing the story is amazing gameplay is amazing.

    10/10
    Expand
  43. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    OK, so I’ve held off on writing this review for a while because I really wanted to digest this game, read other reviews, and see outside opinions.

    So I want to preface this by saying I’m a male in my late 20s who’s been gaming for roughly 20 years. Some of my favorite games include Fallout 3, inFamous, Super Mario Galaxy, Dishonored, Batman Arkham City and Asylum, Portal 1 and 2,
    OK, so I’ve held off on writing this review for a while because I really wanted to digest this game, read other reviews, and see outside opinions.

    So I want to preface this by saying I’m a male in my late 20s who’s been gaming for roughly 20 years. Some of my favorite games include Fallout 3, inFamous, Super Mario Galaxy, Dishonored, Batman Arkham City and Asylum, Portal 1 and 2, Borderlands 2, and of course the original Bioshock and System Shock 2. I’m currently playing Tomb Raider and have enjoyed it thus far. I play a lot of FPSs, like CoD, BF, Far Cry, and Crysis, but don’t have a distinct favorite genre.

    All that said, for me personally, Bioshock Infinite ranks as one of the top 3 games I have currently ever played with Earthbound and MGS 4 (I know MGS 3 is awesome, but going back to an HD Shadow Moses did it for me).

    I implore readers to check out other reviews from reviewers that gave Bioshock Infinite a poor score; we have someone who gave Alan Wake and Halo 3 a 0, someone who gave Borderlands 2 a 3, Dishonored a 6, but yet gave Hawken and Street Fighter X Tekken a 7, and another user who gave Uncharted 2 a 1. I could go on, but you get the point. Absolutely these reviewers are entitled to their opinion, but when it becomes apparent that their opinions are there to either weigh down other reviewer scores, or for sheer shock value, well that should tell you something.

    I have to laugh when someone complains that Rapture was “scarier,” Columbia isn’t Rapture. I have to laugh when someone compares the Song Bird to a Big Daddy, the Song Bird isn’t a Big Daddy. I have to laugh when someone complains that footage they were shown from development gameplay 2-3 years ago at conventions weren’t in the game, be glad they gave you something you haven’t seen before. I have to laugh when someone complains that they don’t have a choice in the game, this is Irrational Games’ story, they want it told this way. How you want to interpret it, and its ending, that is where you have a choice. In general I have to laugh at other reviews comparing this to the original Bioshock, and complaining about differences. Please know, Bioshock Infinite is NOT synonymous with Bioshock 3. There is no Bioshock 3. If Ken Levine had his way, there wouldn’t have been a Bioshock 2. Yes, it has the same word “Bioshock” in the title, but aside from that, it is a completely different game, and if you can’t accept that, then you should stick with the perfectly awesome original. Stop trying to find a reason to complain. There are things to complain about in this game, those aren’t it.

    Bioshock Infinite, for me, was as close to a perfect game as I’ve encountered. The characters were dynamic, and I found myself disappointed with actions that I’d disagree with, and excited when they found success. The voice actors fit incredibly well with the characters. The setting was absolutely gorgeous and interesting, I found myself exploring every nook and cranny. The combat just felt right, every weapon felt “good” to fire, along with the vigors. Elizabeth’s AI might be the most well done video game AI we’ve yet to see. Most importantly, the story was phenomenal. As a huge Fringe fan, I will fully admit my biased here, but I feel confident saying there are plenty that would agree it’s one of the most well told stories in video games.

    Is this game perfect? No. There are issues with texture popping, and textures being incredibly grainy, especially on the PS3, and the fact that there was in-game loading while in the same environment (1-3 seconds), simply isn’t acceptable in this day and age.

    All that considered, if you weight this game up against what’s been published in the past 5-10 years on console, this is undoubtedly one of the best. The time and effort that the folks at Irrational Games put into Bioshock Infinite is incredibly apparent, and I thank them for their obvious hard work.
    Expand
  44. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    As games become more and more popular its getting difficult to find a game that feels original, Bioshock Infinite is a truly beautiful game which sets the bar for story driven games. Not only has this been one of the most satisfying games to complete but you'll find your self replaying the game to learn more about Colombia and its racist residents. Admittedly the only reason I have givenAs games become more and more popular its getting difficult to find a game that feels original, Bioshock Infinite is a truly beautiful game which sets the bar for story driven games. Not only has this been one of the most satisfying games to complete but you'll find your self replaying the game to learn more about Colombia and its racist residents. Admittedly the only reason I have given this game a 9 and not a 10 is because its missing one element of game play which the first Bioshock nailed which is unnerving atmosphere, although Infinite has its moments I found id happily run around corners and pick up items without the fear of being attacked. The original made me nervous to run through a room, id plan how to take out enemy's to preserve ammo which just felt nonexistent in Bioshock Infinite. Over all this is an incredible game and even with its complex story line will manage to keep you intrigued. Expand
  45. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    I think this game will have the title of not only the game of the year, but perhaps the game of the decade. So she is beautiful and is special. This new level of gaming, but unfortunately these games are not as revolutionary. This is a jump up, and this is possible only Ken Levine. We look forward to the following projects and DLC
  46. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Bioshock Infinite, what hasn't been said? this game is superb, beautiful visuals,the colors are crisp and the art direction is truly the best ive seen in a while. this game has a interesting story, it starts quite simply, but takes a a dark turn about 20 minutes in and the game has such great flow. combat is rather interesting and the addition of the the new sky rail system keeps it fromBioshock Infinite, what hasn't been said? this game is superb, beautiful visuals,the colors are crisp and the art direction is truly the best ive seen in a while. this game has a interesting story, it starts quite simply, but takes a a dark turn about 20 minutes in and the game has such great flow. combat is rather interesting and the addition of the the new sky rail system keeps it from going stale. It is so familiar yet so different from the previous installments, this is a mature shooter and a experience you would not want to miss, i tip my hats to irrational for pulling this game off. its a must buy Expand
  47. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Bioshock 1 is one of my favorite game ever, i never thought that bioshock infinite would be better cuz i really didn't like bioshock 2. But Bioshock Infinite is a MASTERPIECE, you can't leave the countroller, it's almost perfection. Really one or the best game ive ever played!
  48. May 3, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was a pretty fun adventure but I do feel a bit sad for the Dewitt fellow with the suicide and all.But then again could always just switch dimensions and see him in action again.I also never found out why Comstock is raciest after his or should I say Booker's origin.If you see me say I said hello. Expand
  49. May 12, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite is a terrific entry into the Bioshock franchise giving us a beautiful flying city, intelligent AI, breathtaking combat system, magnificent story and probably the best FPS by far that I have ever played. From the audio to the screaming of the Songbird, the music ticks all the right boxes. All the way from start to finish this game shows us that games can become an art formBioshock Infinite is a terrific entry into the Bioshock franchise giving us a beautiful flying city, intelligent AI, breathtaking combat system, magnificent story and probably the best FPS by far that I have ever played. From the audio to the screaming of the Songbird, the music ticks all the right boxes. All the way from start to finish this game shows us that games can become an art form and who could deny that claim.

    This game has stunning visuals that would make a computer melt its screen because of it. Columbia looks like a peaceful place but it is a ticking time bomb waiting to go off and the dark underbelly of this FPS shows us that with some bloody violence and some dark and gritty themes all sugarcoated in that 1900's optimism. The skyhook is such a welcome addition to this game and Elizabeth really shines as a partner (although sometimes she feels like a disney princess trapped in an FPS.)

    Full of twist and turns and with great randomly generated Gear thrown at you to change up the gameplay with every playthrough this game delivers on what it promised and proves that Bioshock is as good as ever and I'm sure another Bioshock will follow after this one, how could it not. This was a 10 out of 10 experience for me and after the end credits rolled I just wanted to play it all over again, this shows that it was doing something right and it sure has.
    Expand
  50. May 17, 2013
    9
    So this game is so beautiful i never seen anything like it before and i mean story not graphics.
    This game goes easily to my top games. And there is ONLY FEW bad things in this game and they are that there is way too much shooting and enemies... also you cannot sneak past guards or avoid fighting normaly that's why it cannot get 10/10
  51. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    Let me just say, this is not only one of, if not the best, written video game of all time, this is one of the most well written THING... as in Everything, of all time. I've never read a book with this good of a story. I've never watched a movie with this good of a story. I've never read a comic book with this good of a story, nor poem, nor song, nor play. It had me close to tears by theLet me just say, this is not only one of, if not the best, written video game of all time, this is one of the most well written THING... as in Everything, of all time. I've never read a book with this good of a story. I've never watched a movie with this good of a story. I've never read a comic book with this good of a story, nor poem, nor song, nor play. It had me close to tears by the end. It taps into the hidden potentials of video games as an artistic medium to make one of the greatest games of this generation. Expand
  52. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    BioShock Infinite is a great example of how delaying a game for more development time isn't a bad idea at all. This allowed Irrational Games to make an absolutely beautiful experience full of great characters and good gameplay paired with an amazing story. Booker's and Elizabeth's characters are brought together by not only the great writing, but also awesome voice acting by veteran voiceBioShock Infinite is a great example of how delaying a game for more development time isn't a bad idea at all. This allowed Irrational Games to make an absolutely beautiful experience full of great characters and good gameplay paired with an amazing story. Booker's and Elizabeth's characters are brought together by not only the great writing, but also awesome voice acting by veteran voice actor Troy Baker and Courtnee Draper.

    The game is set in 1912, during the American exceptionalism and has you play as Booker DeWitt, a former Pinkerton agent who is sent to the floating city of Columbia to rescue a young woman named Elizabeth and bring her back to his employers in New York City. Soon after his arrival in the city above the coast of Maine, he finds that this slice of heaven in the skies is in a state of decay with two different factions battling for the future of Columbia, one side trying to keep the city as pure as possible and the other, called Vox Populi, acting as a group of rebels trying to fight for civil rights for all. This internal conflict sends Booker and Elizabeth flying through the middle of it all, on their way down to the ground and back to New York.

    The fictional floating city is bright and vivid in colour and is just generally a sight for sore eyes, although it is hiding some dark secrets. This is good, because BioShock Infinite forces you to loot and scavenge for ammo, money and salts that power your vigors. Elizabeth will often find these things and will then toss them to you in an attempt to help you during your time of need. In general, Elizabeth is one of the best characters in video gaming. She is well written and her character model is superb, as is her AI. She will always take cover from incoming fire, although the enemies will never go after her. Irrational has done all they can to make Infinite not just a long escort mission which shows, as you never feel like you have to care for Elizabeth. She can take care of herself, which is good.

    All in all, BioShock Infinite is a stunningly beautiful experience, but it has its flaws as most games do. You can and should pick it up for the PS3, Xbox 360 and PC.
    Expand
  53. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    A good game, but not a great game.
    Bioshock Infinate is visually incredible, apparent from the opening mission right throughout the entire game. But when you strip away those visuals, well its really just another shooter. And in my opinion just a decent shooter at that. The rail system running throughout Colombia however makes a what would otherwise a dull shooter, a much much better one.
    A good game, but not a great game.
    Bioshock Infinate is visually incredible, apparent from the opening mission right throughout the entire game. But when you strip away those visuals, well its really just another shooter. And in my opinion just a decent shooter at that. The rail system running throughout Colombia however makes a what would otherwise a dull shooter, a much much better one. And I did have fun using it for a while.
    I was disappointed to find that a lot of the stuff we were shown in the year running up to the games release, never actually made it into the game. Having played and loved Bioshock I was also a little disappointed with the games setting Colombia. While it looked incredible it just felt too empty and desolate. Time between gunfights was mostly spent rooting in bins for ammo with little in the way of exploration and unlike Bioshocks underwater Rapture it never felt 'real'.
    Am not going to spoil the story for anyone. My opinion is that it was good. But nothing like some would have you believe.
    Expand
  54. Jul 24, 2013
    9
    Would give this game a 8.8/10...
    A brilliant game that will certainly go down as a classic of our generation however, it is not without its flaws. The game has a strong story with a great ending and twist that even few movies could say are better and the characters are stellar and well written. The voice acting is sublime and the core game play is relatively good.
    The issues do however
    Would give this game a 8.8/10...
    A brilliant game that will certainly go down as a classic of our generation however, it is not without its flaws. The game has a strong story with a great ending and twist that even few movies could say are better and the characters are stellar and well written. The voice acting is sublime and the core game play is relatively good.
    The issues do however stick out, especially if playing the game is played for long periods. The combat can be repetitive and tedious and their is far too much back tracking for a game of this scope. I played the game on medium and it was far too easy but suddenly the last battle on the ship was almost impossible without a tip from the net. The inclusion of Elizabeth's tears made combat bit more varied yet the same things kept being rehashed and a bit more variety and creativity would have been nice. Another minor gripe for me is the power ups/plasmids. They aren't explained at all like in the first game and don't seem to belong along with being relatively useless for most of the game as guns just seem to be a better option throughout.
    The game does have beautiful visuals however, and the world is very well thought out and made. The music is sublime and it creates a brilliant and intriguing atmosphere at the start and becomes eerie and creepy towards the end.
    I have to confess that this is not the best Bioshock game as that crown is definitely still with the first one, but this is still a game that you should definitely not miss and is worth playing even though there are minor issues I pointed out.
    Expand
  55. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    The Bioshock franchise has always been praised and loved for its epic settings,excellent storytelling and groundbreaking gameplay.Bioshock Infinite takes that old and great formula and cranks it up in the best aspects.Bioshock Infinite takes place in the gorgeous city of Columbia following a quest by a man named Booker Dewitt trying to find a girl named Elizabeth to repay a debt.I knowThe Bioshock franchise has always been praised and loved for its epic settings,excellent storytelling and groundbreaking gameplay.Bioshock Infinite takes that old and great formula and cranks it up in the best aspects.Bioshock Infinite takes place in the gorgeous city of Columbia following a quest by a man named Booker Dewitt trying to find a girl named Elizabeth to repay a debt.I know what you are thinking,a game about a flying city,that the protagonist is trying to escape from with his/her companion while using a big arsenal of guns and skyhooks has already been done before (take Ratchet and Clank).Dont be fooled,Bioshock Infinite is one of the most original and best story driven games out there.any talk saying that this game is overated,stupid,etc,etc.thats just well.....****.ALTHOUGH im not saying this is a perfect game,any gameplay/walkthrough you have seen has shown this game's magesticly beautiful graphics in which i kid you not,i played this game like if it were a movie trying to walk as slow as possible while enjoying the beautiful detailing and......AMBIENCE of it all.If games like Journey or Flower,hooked you and favored it for its visuals then i URGE you to get Infinite KNOW.but know the last aspect you might want to know about....the gameplay.Personally........I really am not fond of the gameplay,i am not saying its bad its just that........like all Bioshocks,the whole game feels like you are just shooting some cardboard enemies in a cakewalk difficult game.The Plasmid feature of the first games including this one know called vigors was a fantastic experience and also know with the addition of the skyhook,it is even more fun BUT the combat it self is stiff and feels way too un-rewarding when you actually get to kill someone,although it still is fun bashing dudes in the face with skyhooks and bullets while swarming them with crows.As in the difficulty,its hard (when played on hard).the game has a fantastic/beautiful soundtrack and although it is a day-short game,IT HAS (no pun intended) INFINITE REPLAY VALUE.The biggest downside of the game for me besides the combat for me is that the fact that thesongbird character is under developed for how awesome he is.So on conclusion,Bioshock Infinite is a masterpiece experience that could only be experienced by playing it.It may not be industry changing game people proclaim it to be but,i still oblige you to buy it or atleast DEFINETLY rent it.Btw I THINK RAPTURE IS WAY BETTER THAN COLUMBIA. Expand
  56. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite contains everything a game should have; good gameplay, a great story, admirable characters- this game got it all. Hyped up since the announcing of it, Bioshock Infinite was surely in for a ride. I preordered a copy and waited. Finally, the game was starting up. The gameplay was amazing. They clearly fixed the shooting problems that was from the first game, and added a lotBioshock Infinite contains everything a game should have; good gameplay, a great story, admirable characters- this game got it all. Hyped up since the announcing of it, Bioshock Infinite was surely in for a ride. I preordered a copy and waited. Finally, the game was starting up. The gameplay was amazing. They clearly fixed the shooting problems that was from the first game, and added a lot more weapons. The story was mind-blowing, and there is a HUUUUGEE twist that comes out of this. You become attached to the characters with the snap of your finger, and you meet many more along the way. The voice acting is incredible, ranging from teary song lyrics sung by Elizabeth to heart-breaking tales told by Booker. I highly recommend this game- and if you played the first two games like I did, you will like it ever more. Expand
  57. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    Well to preface this review, I have never finished the first Bioshock and haven't even played (although I have access to it through Playstation Plus) the second game. I have tried on several occasions to finish the first one but it never grabbed me enough to keep me going through. Fortunately not playing the first two games did not diminish my enjoyment of this one. Although I will sayWell to preface this review, I have never finished the first Bioshock and haven't even played (although I have access to it through Playstation Plus) the second game. I have tried on several occasions to finish the first one but it never grabbed me enough to keep me going through. Fortunately not playing the first two games did not diminish my enjoyment of this one. Although I will say that having played through the opening sequence of the first game did provide me with a great "aha!" moment in Infinite.

    The second caveat to this review is that this is a game I would typically have played on my PC as that is where I play most of my shooters, or any game that is available there for that matter. However Infinite fit into the style of game that my wife enjoys watching me play so I picked it up on PS3 so it would be a "couch game" that I only played when we sat down together. So I went in expecting to miss my mouse and keyboard...

    So onto my actual thoughts on the game:

    Graphics
    The game looks beautiful, but I can't say that I'm surprised. For whatever the reason may be that I didn't finish the first game it wasn't the look of it as I really enjoy the visual styling of this series. The sense of place and the atmosphere they are creating comes through extremely well in the graphical style. Character models are easily identifiable and have personality. The lighting, contrast, and color palette all serve the greater purpose of drawing you into the world of Columbia. And the empathy I had for Elizabeth was aided greatly by the attention to detail in her model and the emotion she was able to convey through her animation. I must add though that they could have toned down the sexualization of her model as it wasn't necessary.

    Gameplay
    Well here is where I thought the game might fall short, if only because of my own failings. As I said I am primarily a PC gamer and whether it is my age or too many years of doing it with a mouse and keyboard...my ability to play FPS style games on a gamepad quite frankly sucks. However I really didn't find myself struggling as I thought I might. There seemed to be enough forgiveness in the shooting that I managed quite handily. Keep in mind I played on normal difficulty as well. This was probably helped by the vigors which didn't necessarily require pinpoint accuracy.

    On the subject of vigors, I largely ignored most of them and kept to the two I had gotten used to without really trying the rest too much. By the end I felt that maybe this was a weakness in the game, but I went and watched several other gameplay videos after the fact and everybody was doing mostly the same except they had chosen different ones thinking they had found the perfect pairing. That right there got me excited to maybe go through the game again trying different methods.

    I will say though that I was disappointed in the decision to limit the gamer to two weapons. I never felt I had all of the right tools for the job and wish I was allowed three. I went through most of the game with a close in weapon (in my case a burstgun) and a sniper rifle. I wished I had a third slot for a heavy weapon such as an RPG.

    For my skill level, normal difficulty was about perfect. I steadily progressed and I can only recall one time where I was actually frustrated as I failed a segment three times before I was able to get it right. And there was one point in the game where I didn't know where to go next and the guide arrow wasn't helping... But over the course of many hours one section that didn't quite hit and one where I got lost is more than understandable.

    Story
    Here is where the rubber meets the road in a game such as this and it did not disappoint at all. I was engaged with seeing it through to the end the entire way through and loved how things wrapped up. As the tale reached a fever pitch I found myself so emotionally invested I believe I forgot to blink for a period of time...yup, that's why my eyes looked all watery, they were trying to hydrate...

    I will say that I wish I had played the game in a more compact and quicker way to fully appreciate the story that was told as in the end there were some points I missed that I feel if I had played in a more condensed fashion I would have gotten. Plus there was some side stuff that didn't seem necessary or fully fleshed out, but the main story, the story of Booker and Elizabeth, was more than enough to carry this game.

    Conclusion
    In the end this game reminded me about what I love most about gaming and why as a 40 year old man I continue to use it as my form of relaxation. Engaging storytelling coupled with fun gameplay. I play so many games I rarely finish most of them, but this is one I had to see to the finish.
    Expand
  58. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    I love the game, the shooting mechanics are superb. The level design is really creative and fantastic. The best thing about this game was Elizabeth. She is one of the best companions in video gaming history.
  59. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    Lets just say, this game is truly a masterpiece, The graphics, storyline, combat, and the mindf@#! moments all make this game worth every cent, I certainly will play this again, and again.

    BUY IT!
  60. Jul 31, 2013
    0
    The hype kill me with Bioshock Infinite, I keep thinking about what I'm agree with Meristation analysis. All the time I kept thinking about "what could have been" So many things that came out in 2011 NOT LEAVE trailers.

    For example Elizabeth trying to cure a horse and suddenly I remember doing a tear to help I figured I would get electric horses and real horses they would do some
    The hype kill me with Bioshock Infinite, I keep thinking about what I'm agree with Meristation analysis. All the time I kept thinking about "what could have been" So many things that came out in 2011 NOT LEAVE trailers.

    For example Elizabeth trying to cure a horse and suddenly I remember doing a tear to help I figured I would get electric horses and real horses they would do some empathy with Elizabeth, but no cigar out electrical horses.

    Well, neither helps give Elizabeth beyond ammunition, items or open tears out there. In one of the trailers I remember her into a sort of ball made of objects and water, and then Booker's electrified and thus the throwing. I remember that in fact it toward a kind of storm. None of that happens. In that scene I think it came out well and was one helluva Handy Man. None of that happens at the end.

    Another thing I did not like is that in the trailers of 2011 showed us a much more vivid Elizabeth, talking more, interacting more with expressions for each situation that made her look more realistic. In the final game has passed that I can be frightened by X situation, the Songbird or I know, and right next second have the face expressionless as a doll. In the trailers when startled by Songbird remained scared and then he was passing the shock naturally as you speak. Here it happens all at once, a second is scared and the next like a doll expressionless. It is pretty seedy and the script is quite noticeable, quite contrary to what they showed in the trailers.

    I remember that we saw in the trailers also played with a head like a puppet and was coming down to see different things. The behavior is similar in the final game (without the puppet scene) but quite far from what one imagined with what is shown. In fact sometimes approaching objects and is watching them, or tells you that there is no such object, but it plays with nothing, gets nothing. I also hoped there would be more dialogue. Dialogue with Elizabeth is bad, but I expected much, much more.

    All this was perfectly possible, there was no technical impediments or anything. What I think is that they did not want to spend more time putting more Scripts Scripts put more dialogue or the character to do more things. Because that is what is most required time. Perhaps the intention was to put all that Irrational at first, but a matter of time left him out and in the end we left with a half-Elizabeth.

    At the end I am left with the feeling that it's a mediocre game, artistically not impressed me, but neither is a "God" of games as many people have seen you preach or like myself thought it was coming along all the trailers they were going to launch.

    Bioshock Infinite is mediocre, no NOTHING brings neither in terms of narrative, nor in terms of gameplay, everything has been done before and BEST.

    I'm a big fan of bioshock 1 for me is the masterpiece. On 3 disappointed me for many reasons, one who has completed Hype crushing the AI ​​as I find Elizabeth is just kidding, it's nothing we have not seen before, gives ammunition! that breakthrough. To me it is an empty and dull game, with secondary characters and personality lacking animation, AI talk about Elizabeth, as you will have given it to her for all the other characters are without power, you see the population static and made of porcelain, in the same position all the time, no life, walk into a bar and shoot and no one moves, an AI shameful recently credible around you. All highly mechanized, automated, directed, did not feel at any time the sensations of BioShock 1 a moment if only in the moment you return to Rapture.

    But the trailer for 2011 has killed the end game, because that was pure interactive show which nothing remains in the final game. In my judgment, that is to trick players.
    Expand
  61. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    Few games can be as engaging and imaginative. Bioshock Infinite's setting is unmatched as far as world building is concerned. The story and characters are diverse and allegorical. The gameplay is fun and innovative. I laughed, I cried and I kept thinking about this game long after the credits rolled. A must buy.
  62. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    If you are of those people who are looking to play a commercial fps, please be away from this game, it has a complicated story, different mechanics compared to other shooters, and it has no multi-player, but if you are looking for great solo experience, intriguing story, incredible game design, funny game-play mechanics, beautiful visuals, in short, a excellent game experience; well thisIf you are of those people who are looking to play a commercial fps, please be away from this game, it has a complicated story, different mechanics compared to other shooters, and it has no multi-player, but if you are looking for great solo experience, intriguing story, incredible game design, funny game-play mechanics, beautiful visuals, in short, a excellent game experience; well this is the game you wanna play. Expand
  63. Dec 25, 2013
    0
    I have finished the first bioshock and the second. i found the first game to be a great concept that was realised immaculately. There was very little to fault and i played it through several times on different platforms. The second bioshock gave me the novelty of playing as a an all powerful big daddy, and although at times you felt a bit over powered it was still a great game. I have beenI have finished the first bioshock and the second. i found the first game to be a great concept that was realised immaculately. There was very little to fault and i played it through several times on different platforms. The second bioshock gave me the novelty of playing as a an all powerful big daddy, and although at times you felt a bit over powered it was still a great game. I have been waiting for 3 or 4 years for infinite, excited about what the dev team would come up with this time round, expecting greatness. Well i have to say I'm glad i didn't buy the game straight away and decided to wait till it was cheaper because this game is awful.

    To say I'm disappointed would be an understatement, this cookie cutter, glossy shooter is no better than a retarded cousin of bioshock one. Excuse me if that sounds politically incorrect. I can relate the disappointment infinite has brought to the appointment i felt playing Fable 2, after having played fable 1 many times over growing up thinking fable 2 could only make the franchise better; how wrong i was.

    Anyway, whats specifically wrong with bioshock infinite is the confused storyline, and the terrible gameplay. The AI is stupid enough to leave you sighing at every battle, there's rarely a challenge, the guns are boring and combat feels clunky. This game is literally grinding through boring uninspired battles, and things start to get repetitive all too quickly. I stopped half way through my first play through as i could actually feel my life being wasted by dumbed down game play. I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone and i want my money back.
    Expand
  64. Jan 18, 2014
    5
    Very disappointed. Vigors were boring, weapons the same. I liked having a sniper, but otherwise boring combat. Apparently, I was the only one that saw the "surprise" twist at the end, but doing so made it that much worse. I mean Comstock alludes to Booker's secret, and Booker's reaction enforces it. I still can't fathom why people like this game. I beat it, and I feel sad that I wastedVery disappointed. Vigors were boring, weapons the same. I liked having a sniper, but otherwise boring combat. Apparently, I was the only one that saw the "surprise" twist at the end, but doing so made it that much worse. I mean Comstock alludes to Booker's secret, and Booker's reaction enforces it. I still can't fathom why people like this game. I beat it, and I feel sad that I wasted time doing so. Of course, some people didn't like bioshock 1, and I loved that game, so I suppose everyone's different. Expand
  65. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    The original BioShock is a true masterpiece. I did not think that it could be topped in any way. BioShock 2 gave me some hope, though it did not satisfy me the same way that the original did. But, with Infinite, Irrational has truly given an equal to the original. This game truly has next to no flaws. The gameplay is so smooth, with the 8 Vigors and the different guns mixing seamlessly toThe original BioShock is a true masterpiece. I did not think that it could be topped in any way. BioShock 2 gave me some hope, though it did not satisfy me the same way that the original did. But, with Infinite, Irrational has truly given an equal to the original. This game truly has next to no flaws. The gameplay is so smooth, with the 8 Vigors and the different guns mixing seamlessly to provide combat that is as satisfying as you would expect from an Triple-A game. The story, though a bit confusing near the end, still drew me deeper into Columbia, a city that, just like Rapture, feels as though it is reality. The issues of racism and exploitation of the working man are drawn in a sharp picture, that leaves you thinking for hours after the credits roll. Ken Levine and Irrational Games have done yet another video-gaming masterpiece, that, along with the original, can be shown as prime-example of video games being more than just 'shooting people'. Expand
  66. May 13, 2014
    10
    This is by far one of my most favorite games in the PS3. Playing through the game was like taking a plunge to a gripping novel. It hits all of the high notes and fits into my standards of being a great game. It has a beautiful atmosphere and great setting. It is set in bright Columbia, where it is full of references relating to such heavy issues like religion and racism, yet it has thatThis is by far one of my most favorite games in the PS3. Playing through the game was like taking a plunge to a gripping novel. It hits all of the high notes and fits into my standards of being a great game. It has a beautiful atmosphere and great setting. It is set in bright Columbia, where it is full of references relating to such heavy issues like religion and racism, yet it has that sense of enjoyment like a carnival. It is also set in the skies. The story is confusingly great. Although it does not have a surprising twist like in Bioshock, it is still an amazing story that will leave your jaws dropping with alternate dimensions and head-spinning revelations. The characters are memorable and fantastic, especially Elizabeth. Booker DeWitt is also a great protagonist. He portrays as a depressed cop (or detective) who has nothing left to lose and has to pay all of his debts for one last mission. Even better is that at least he is not one-dimensional. He is not too depressed that he stays his pitch low but actually conveys emotions to the current situation and even makes decisions that is tough to even make as that specific character. Elizabeth is by far the best side character in a video game ever. She possesses traits that no other partner possesses. She is emotional yet does not seem one-dimensional. When I mean she is emotional, she expresses true expressions to the current situation of the game that will make the story more realistic like watching a 3D movie. I even just look at her when she says a dialogue. You don't have to protect her for she can protect herself. It is even mentioned in the game that you don't have to save her. She is ACTUALLY USEFUL by giving you health kits, salt and ammo. She is also a very memorable and enjoyable character. You would wish that she was not gone in your missions. Before its launch, they were afraid that she was that character that you have to escort to places and will just be an annoyance throughout the game, but surprisingly, she turned out to be one of your best partners ever in a video game. Other characters were portrayed well like Comstock, the Vox Populi and etc. Even the NPCs were portrayed well throughout the game. The gameplay was amazing. The added game mechanics were actually great game mechanics, even though there were only 2 (or 3 if you add carrying 2 weapons only). The tears were used in order to add more strategies in your gameplay. The skylines are my favorite. Not only it is a great and epic way to evade against your enemies, but you can also us Sky-Line Strike or Smash, where you can punch your enemies away from the freaking ground or even just punch them while riding the skyline. How awesome does that sound. The change of maximum weapons you can carry from 6 to 2 was actually kind of disappointing since I had to sacrifice most of my weapons and make decisions in which I will regret later, but there was something I realized about this new mechanic. This was actually a sacrifice to the developers of the game because since Elizabeth will give you ammo in the game, if they added no maximum weapon carriage amount, it will end up as she was giving you ammo to another ammo even though it was unnecessary. This is to make Elizabeth not an annoying character. Bottom line, buy this game. This is like Bioshock so if you like that game, buy this game. It will truly blow your mind. 10/10 Expand
  67. Jun 14, 2014
    9
    I thought it was a brilliant game. I found the game play intuitive and the plot compelling. I was constantly wondering what was coming next and they often had incentives to explore the area and it is a beautiful world they created. Many people have problems with the ending and I must admit I was rather confused so I looked up potential solutions online and found one that made a lot ofI thought it was a brilliant game. I found the game play intuitive and the plot compelling. I was constantly wondering what was coming next and they often had incentives to explore the area and it is a beautiful world they created. Many people have problems with the ending and I must admit I was rather confused so I looked up potential solutions online and found one that made a lot of sense to me. I think most people didn't like it because it wasn't what they were expecting and they didn't want to give it too much thought. But I think it actually works. In any case I would definitely recommend renting the game or borrowing from a friend if not purchasing it yourself. Expand
  68. Aug 10, 2015
    9
    Very good graphic,good storyline,smart companion(Elisabeth),wonderfull World design,unique shooter games not bored like COD. But the game Is too easy not challenging
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. May 27, 2013
    90
    In an infinite universe, anything can happen, but in Infinite's, the specifics are what get you.
  2. Play UK
    Apr 23, 2013
    97
    One of those rare games that speaks to the player on a personal, emotional level with a thought-provoking, mature storyline set in one of the most amazing worlds conceived in a game. Plus, it's a wonderful FPS with deep, tactical combat. Essential. [Issue#230, p.66]
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Apr 22, 2013
    87
    Multiple dimensions and a clever scenario with a surprise around every corner make it difficult for us to explain our enthusiasm without spoiling the story. Only the extended ghost chase (literally) halfway through the game drags on a bit too long. [April 2013, p.74]