BioShock Infinite PlayStation 3

Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1704 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia has been dispatched to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a brand new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the cityOnce conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia has been dispatched to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a brand new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soon disappears into the clouds to whereabouts unknown. The player assumes the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, sent to the lost city to rescue Elizabeth, a young woman imprisoned there since childhood. He develops a relationship with Elizabeth, augmenting his abilities with hers so the pair may escape from a city that is literally falling from the sky. DeWitt must learn to fight foes in high-speed Sky-Line battles, engage in combat both indoors and amongst the clouds, and engage the power of dozens of new weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    100
    When it comes down to it though Bioshock Infinite is a labour of love, a staggeringly impressive achievement and an example of the invention and singularity of vision that so many big budget games lack. I
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    BioShock Infinite is state of the of art. Irrational Games exceeds expectations and revolutionizes the FPS genre with an exceptionally outstanding story and gameplay. Definitely one of the best games of the generation.
  3. 100
    As near perfect as a game can get and should not be missed.
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    95
    BioShock: Infinite is a marvelous masterpiece, a must have, a unique and beautiful game and maybe the best game of recent years. Everything about this game just makes sense. It offers a beautiful world, a good balance between action, exploration and story. And my god, what a story! Do yourself a favor and get this game as soon as you can, because this is a title that will be spoken of for a good while to come.
  5. 95
    BioShock Infinite is a master class in storytelling. With exceedingly fun gameplay and combat, a beautifully intriguing world to explore, and an extremely impressive cast of characters, BioShock Infinite stands as one of the best first-person shooters ever made.
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    90
    BioShock Infinite is a sublime shooter set in a magical world. While the campaign’s final third never quite lives up to its breathtaking opening, there’s more than enough intrigue imprisoned within Columbia’s curious suspended districts to keep you compelled from the beginning right through to the very end.
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    The plot and combat could’ve been better, but its mode of storytelling demands your attention nonetheless as there’s no other experience like it and, for a good many, that means a lot of return trips to come.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 357
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    It's so different to the first Bioshock, yet so similar at the same time. It does everything right, great story, amazing graphics and combat,It's so different to the first Bioshock, yet so similar at the same time. It does everything right, great story, amazing graphics and combat, and if anybody's having second thoughts about buying it because they're worried about Elizabeth being annoying, that's not an issue at all. She adds so much to an already fantastic game. Just buy it already! Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2015
    10
    i love this great game in the world. More combat, more things that make the people stupid of why they want to kill you lol. Best game in years!!!!!!!!
  3. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    This game is so god damn good in every way and the once that giving it 4/10 but wanted to give 6/10 just to take the score down and thenThis game is so god damn good in every way and the once that giving it 4/10 but wanted to give 6/10 just to take the score down and then calling the once that giving the game 10/10 dumb on non know-ers wtf? This game is a masterpiece, and it deserves the score it's getting really! The one that is saying that there is to little weapons and plasma wtf to you too, should there be 20 guns and 50 plasma to get approved it just shows that you like the game that much that you wanted more Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    BioShock Infinite is a great example of how delaying a game for more development time isn't a bad idea at all. This allowed Irrational GamesBioShock Infinite is a great example of how delaying a game for more development time isn't a bad idea at all. This allowed Irrational Games to make an absolutely beautiful experience full of great characters and good gameplay paired with an amazing story. Booker's and Elizabeth's characters are brought together by not only the great writing, but also awesome voice acting by veteran voice actor Troy Baker and Courtnee Draper.

    The game is set in 1912, during the American exceptionalism and has you play as Booker DeWitt, a former Pinkerton agent who is sent to the floating city of Columbia to rescue a young woman named Elizabeth and bring her back to his employers in New York City. Soon after his arrival in the city above the coast of Maine, he finds that this slice of heaven in the skies is in a state of decay with two different factions battling for the future of Columbia, one side trying to keep the city as pure as possible and the other, called Vox Populi, acting as a group of rebels trying to fight for civil rights for all. This internal conflict sends Booker and Elizabeth flying through the middle of it all, on their way down to the ground and back to New York.

    The fictional floating city is bright and vivid in colour and is just generally a sight for sore eyes, although it is hiding some dark secrets. This is good, because BioShock Infinite forces you to loot and scavenge for ammo, money and salts that power your vigors. Elizabeth will often find these things and will then toss them to you in an attempt to help you during your time of need. In general, Elizabeth is one of the best characters in video gaming. She is well written and her character model is superb, as is her AI. She will always take cover from incoming fire, although the enemies will never go after her. Irrational has done all they can to make Infinite not just a long escort mission which shows, as you never feel like you have to care for Elizabeth. She can take care of herself, which is good.

    All in all, BioShock Infinite is a stunningly beautiful experience, but it has its flaws as most games do. You can and should pick it up for the PS3, Xbox 360 and PC.
    Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2015
    9
    This game is excellent for FPS fans who're not into the chaos of warfare that CoD provides.

    The pros: 1- beautiful atmosphere. 2- Well
    This game is excellent for FPS fans who're not into the chaos of warfare that CoD provides.

    The pros:
    1- beautiful atmosphere.
    2- Well set battles, Smooth game mechanics and a Varied play style
    3- Voice acting, Characterization and Story line

    The cons:
    1- The way Bioshock Infinite lays down its story.
    2- No actual Boss battles.

    I am a big fan of this game, only played this edition and its episodes, the downside is that the story really comes together if one finds and listens carefully to 90% of the Voxophones and listens to all of Elizabeth's conversations, which are interesting but as FPS goes I got absorbed in scavenging and shooting to actually care about all of that, when the final stage arrived I found out that I had imagined many parts of the story that cannot be true, so I read explanations that spoiled the real story for me.

    Nevertheless I played it on 1999 mode and observed how the story came together again, who were the important characters and what were their roles, so replay-ability made up for my bad experience with its ending.

    Story line is mind blowing, it's along with The Last of Us as best story telling for me, only it was more compelling to explore and marvel at its absurd premises and conclusions, the voice acting is top notch and Elizabeth implies this 3rd person aspect to the game where she's always moving and interacting with my surroundings, along with the interesting Booker Dewitt I never felt like I'm driving floating arms in a FPS, it felt more engaging than some 3rd person shooters actually.

    The atmosphere especially in the first stage is absorbing, I felt that the game is daring to some of my deepest beliefs and concepts and provides characters with more background behind their motives, it's dark and it almost felt like pinching me in the sides and bringing my eyes closer as I played tentatively, that's where the magic of Bioshock is, more imaginative designs and more surprises and mysteries that kept me wandering at its shores wondering if I really should dare move forward before I did, unlike even The last of us which had a great story but in many occasions I couldn't wait to get to the finish because it's all predictable, this game was anything but predictable to me.

    Some people complained that the boss battles are recycled, well apart from the Handyman whom appears 4 times during the game, there are no bosses, there are super soldiers who have no sign atop them but are in fact more lethal than even the Patriot, so there isn't a standard for bosses in this game aside from the somewhat recycled handyman.

    Game mechanics flow blissfully, unlike Dishonored where you could save game at any instant you desire (in order to replay any situation) this game only has checkpoints, but when the player dies he's revived almost instantly, he loses some of his cash and all the characters he's defeated stay dead and the ones he's wounded heal, which makes every encounter counts because there's basically no going back in some situations yet that doesn't stop or hinder one's game because one can always beat the enemy no matter the many tries it takes (unless one's out of cash).

    I only mourn the scarcity of boss battles in this game and the fact that it never explains how crucial are its voxophones or random conversations, aside from that it could have been better (which applies to all games) but its still my most enjoyable experience on a PS3.
    Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    Very pretty, very fun. However, when you a game tries so many new things you can't help but see the Vigors are essentially useless in thisVery pretty, very fun. However, when you a game tries so many new things you can't help but see the Vigors are essentially useless in this game, not very effective and unnecessary. The two gun carry limit severely hinders the game by causing players to stay with guns that are well rounded rather than specialized weapons. When your player is afraid to carry around an RPG for an enemy that may or may not show up, you've up. I steered clear from big guns and precision weapons because of how much of a risk they were to carry. The story flip flops everywhere but eventually ties up pretty nicely, save for a few major plot holes that will most likely go ignored because of the suspension of disbelief the game maintains quite excellently. Most of the difficulty is cheap and does not allow for much strategic implementation of tools, (see above), most fights consist of hiding behind cover to recharge shield and out lasting enemies in a battle consisting of constantly giving out and soaking up damage. There was no real smart way to defeat enemies. Enemies are not specialized, they are brutes, bigger brutes, and even bigger brutes. There was no special way to deal with enemies you just kind of shot at them until they died. Story and characters are where this game puts most of it's focus, and it's... kinda underwhelming. Booker is a stereotypical anti-hero with a dark past and Elizabeth is kind of bland. Comstock is not a devilishly smart villain, he's just a racist religious nut with an army of thick headed brutes that are also racist. The only interesting characters are the Lutece twins; their quirkiness and obscure goals really made a lot of the game for me. Yet, with all of these boring characters the game makes them seem special, it makes you care about these characters, and that is quite a feat. The ending is heart wrenching and will leave you feeling empty inside for a few days. This game is quite a milestone for the nature of games as art but we still have quite our ways to go. Overall, worth it's price tag. The thing this game does well is fun. Some of the difficulty is I would recommend medium for optimal enjoyment, but yet it finds a way to be loads of fun. Expand
  7. May 5, 2013
    0
    When I first started playing Bioshock Infinite, I felt like it was the greatest game ever like I did with the first Bioshock. Then I realizedWhen I first started playing Bioshock Infinite, I felt like it was the greatest game ever like I did with the first Bioshock. Then I realized that this isn't the first Bioshock. Don't get me wrong, this game is still really fun and has a good story like the first, but it just didn't give me that same feeling that I got from the first game. The gameplay is radically different from the first game, and not in a good way. The first game was nearly perfect as a mix of FPS, RPG, and survival horror, this is just a straight up FPS. Even though it's a straight up FPS, it's still a really fun game to play. I liked using all of the different weapons and seeing what I could do with them and it helps make the game not be repetitive. Vigors and Elizabeth's ability to open tears also make the game not repetitive. I do have an issue with the vigors though, there just aren't enough of them. In the first Bioshock I loved all of the different plasmids that I could get, but there just aren't very many vigors in Bioshock Infinite. I loved Elizabeth's ability to open tears, it made combat a little better because she can bring many different things into battle. She can bring in things like weapons, turrets, patriots(giant robotic George Washington with a big gun), mosquitos(floating turrets), cover, and puddles(so you can shock people standing in it). Opening tears is great because it varies combat a lot. My main issue with gameplay is that it's a bit too easy, if you run out of ammo, Elizabeth will just give you more. It's the same thing with salts(vigors). The game was made a lot easier because Elizabeth can just give you a lot of things that you could use without you actually trying to find it. Almost every time that my health got low, Elizabeth gave me a health pack, which honestly, made the game too easy. The only really difficult part of the game is the handyman fights. I hated how they got rid of most of the RPG and survival horror elements. I would like to say that I thought that the story was just okay, not great. It really didn't get interesting until it was nearing the end, the rest just felt like filler to make the game longer. Which is weird because the game really isn't that long, it took me about eight hours to finish it. My biggest issue with the game overall is the ending, I'm not going to spoil anything but it doesn't make sense and it doesn't answer any questions. Most people who played the game say that it has a phenomenal ending, but I really don't see it. Instead of tying up all of the loose ends like an ending to a story is supposed to do it just brought up more questions. I wasn't satisfied with the ending one little bit. In conclusion, Bioshock Infinite is a good, fun game that has issues and is radically different from the first game but in a negative way. My score would actually be a lot lower but the game is still really, really fun and I played it from beginning to end in a couple days. It's not the best game ever, and it's definitely not as good as the first Bioshock, which was one of the greatest games of this generation and of all time. This game is kind of hard to recommend because it's just too short and it lacks replay value and the story is just not that great. Expand

See all 357 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.