Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1437 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia has been dispatched to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a brand new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soon disappears into the clouds to whereabouts unknown. The player assumes the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, sent to the lost city to rescue Elizabeth, a young woman imprisoned there since childhood. He develops a relationship with Elizabeth, augmenting his abilities with hers so the pair may escape from a city that is literally falling from the sky. DeWitt must learn to fight foes in high-speed Sky-Line battles, engage in combat both indoors and amongst the clouds, and engage the power of dozens of new weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    100
    When it comes down to it though Bioshock Infinite is a labour of love, a staggeringly impressive achievement and an example of the invention and singularity of vision that so many big budget games lack. I
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    BioShock Infinite is state of the of art. Irrational Games exceeds expectations and revolutionizes the FPS genre with an exceptionally outstanding story and gameplay. Definitely one of the best games of the generation.
  3. 100
    As near perfect as a game can get and should not be missed.
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    95
    BioShock: Infinite is a marvelous masterpiece, a must have, a unique and beautiful game and maybe the best game of recent years. Everything about this game just makes sense. It offers a beautiful world, a good balance between action, exploration and story. And my god, what a story! Do yourself a favor and get this game as soon as you can, because this is a title that will be spoken of for a good while to come.
  5. 95
    BioShock Infinite is a master class in storytelling. With exceedingly fun gameplay and combat, a beautifully intriguing world to explore, and an extremely impressive cast of characters, BioShock Infinite stands as one of the best first-person shooters ever made.
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    90
    BioShock Infinite is a sublime shooter set in a magical world. While the campaign’s final third never quite lives up to its breathtaking opening, there’s more than enough intrigue imprisoned within Columbia’s curious suspended districts to keep you compelled from the beginning right through to the very end.
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    The plot and combat could’ve been better, but its mode of storytelling demands your attention nonetheless as there’s no other experience like it and, for a good many, that means a lot of return trips to come.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 331
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    It's so different to the first Bioshock, yet so similar at the same time. It does everything right, great story, amazing graphics and combat, and if anybody's having second thoughts about buying it because they're worried about Elizabeth being annoying, that's not an issue at all. She adds so much to an already fantastic game. Just buy it already! Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok lets start with the fact that this game is one of the best games that I have ever played. This game is so strange and unusual that it makes you want explore the world you are playing in. mix that with a brilliant storyline and exceptional gameplay.well you certainty will be hooked Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    Combat is solid and the skylines make for a great amount of fun. The animations, voice acting and sound might be the best overall we have ever seen in a game before. The story is sound and interesting. Must buy. Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    First off, I have to say that the ending *SPOILERS* was great and the way it worked by rear-ending itself killing the loop of DeWitt turning into Comstock was brilliant, but I think the gameplay shone through more for me than just the ending.

    The Skyrail system was AWESOME, the vigors/gear were a welcome addition (especially the gear, go the 70% Electric Melee 3 x Melee reach FTW!!) Melee was an integral part of my combat rotation, and it felt so clean and natural it's hard to put into words how good it felt raining death from above, charging, melee then shotgunning (very Mass Effect Vanguard-esque).

    Overall I give it a 9.5 out of 10 would have got a full 10/10 if it was a tad' longer.. but 10 hours is pretty good none-the-less.

    Pretty,
    Pretty,
    Pretty,
    Pretty Good!
    Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    when i first bought this game i was a bit sceptic at first but what i bought was one of the best games ever the game lays in the genre i like to call story driven fps where the game uses amazing visuals and a deep and gripping story dont get me wrong the game has tromenduos action scenes leaving me in aww you play as booker dewit a man who is sent to collect a girl in the floating city of colombia where you unravel the secrets of the city the truth about elizibeth the gameplay is is amazing but can feel repetitive and predictible and the ending if you play this game to the end you will be left shocked and i almost forgot the sky hook system is superb but i feel as if the melee attacking on the scy hook was tacked on to try to ad a combat element for people who stay on these hooks all in all the game took me a little over 10 hours and that was on easy listen quick tip use the konami code to unlock 1999 mode where it is nvery hard this game is a blast and other than a few minorly small hicups in combat this game is a must buy Expand
  6. Aug 8, 2013
    8
    This bioshock is ten times better than the overrated original. It is actually a fun shooter with more fluid controls and a great story with a huge twist that you won't want to miss. Although I enjoyed it very much it isn't as amazing as most say and if you don't care too much about story or characters then I can name ten shooters way better. Overall a good game. Expand
  7. May 5, 2013
    0
    When I first started playing Bioshock Infinite, I felt like it was the greatest game ever like I did with the first Bioshock. Then I realized that this isn't the first Bioshock. Don't get me wrong, this game is still really fun and has a good story like the first, but it just didn't give me that same feeling that I got from the first game. The gameplay is radically different from the first game, and not in a good way. The first game was nearly perfect as a mix of FPS, RPG, and survival horror, this is just a straight up FPS. Even though it's a straight up FPS, it's still a really fun game to play. I liked using all of the different weapons and seeing what I could do with them and it helps make the game not be repetitive. Vigors and Elizabeth's ability to open tears also make the game not repetitive. I do have an issue with the vigors though, there just aren't enough of them. In the first Bioshock I loved all of the different plasmids that I could get, but there just aren't very many vigors in Bioshock Infinite. I loved Elizabeth's ability to open tears, it made combat a little better because she can bring many different things into battle. She can bring in things like weapons, turrets, patriots(giant robotic George Washington with a big gun), mosquitos(floating turrets), cover, and puddles(so you can shock people standing in it). Opening tears is great because it varies combat a lot. My main issue with gameplay is that it's a bit too easy, if you run out of ammo, Elizabeth will just give you more. It's the same thing with salts(vigors). The game was made a lot easier because Elizabeth can just give you a lot of things that you could use without you actually trying to find it. Almost every time that my health got low, Elizabeth gave me a health pack, which honestly, made the game too easy. The only really difficult part of the game is the handyman fights. I hated how they got rid of most of the RPG and survival horror elements. I would like to say that I thought that the story was just okay, not great. It really didn't get interesting until it was nearing the end, the rest just felt like filler to make the game longer. Which is weird because the game really isn't that long, it took me about eight hours to finish it. My biggest issue with the game overall is the ending, I'm not going to spoil anything but it doesn't make sense and it doesn't answer any questions. Most people who played the game say that it has a phenomenal ending, but I really don't see it. Instead of tying up all of the loose ends like an ending to a story is supposed to do it just brought up more questions. I wasn't satisfied with the ending one little bit. In conclusion, Bioshock Infinite is a good, fun game that has issues and is radically different from the first game but in a negative way. My score would actually be a lot lower but the game is still really, really fun and I played it from beginning to end in a couple days. It's not the best game ever, and it's definitely not as good as the first Bioshock, which was one of the greatest games of this generation and of all time. This game is kind of hard to recommend because it's just too short and it lacks replay value and the story is just not that great. Expand

See all 331 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.