User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 755 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 755

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    Masterpiece is just the word too use, there has been so few with innovation, beauty and perfection. Bioshock is no doubt one of the greatest games of all time and other's should appreciate and be inspired by what it accomplished for gaming.
  2. EvanS
    May 28, 2009
    7
    The demo got me really excited for this game. The atmosphere is by far the bast part of Bioshock. The story was pretty good. However the combat just wasn't really fun. The guns just dont feel right, and the plasmids never really give satisfying results after the first time you use them. This is a good game worth a playthrough, but I dont know how it got so many 100's.
  3. JesseB
    Oct 13, 2009
    8
    The creepy atmosphere of this game is unrivaled. However, I must say I didn't enjoy it that much and the ending sort of came out of no where. I would of also liked to have the option to play through again with my upgraded weapons. Overall a great game but still somewhat overrated in my opinion.
  4. EricW
    May 5, 2009
    7
    This game was very pretty and seemed to have a very enticing story. When I played the demo I was absolutely blown away. This seemed like the first true next gen fps. However once I actually bought the game the amazement wore off fast. The game becomes extremely repetitive (hop in the elevator, take photos, save/kill little sisters, repeat), and about halfway through I lost motivation to This game was very pretty and seemed to have a very enticing story. When I played the demo I was absolutely blown away. This seemed like the first true next gen fps. However once I actually bought the game the amazement wore off fast. The game becomes extremely repetitive (hop in the elevator, take photos, save/kill little sisters, repeat), and about halfway through I lost motivation to do anything at all. I really wanted to like this game. I would keep returning to it hoping that maybe this time I would get back into the game, but after 5 minutes turn the game right back off again. The game is well made and very good looking, but the game really loses its fun after the first couple of hours. Hopefully the pacing is fixed in the sequel, but I'll rent it first this time. Expand
  5. aspentitan
    Jan 21, 2010
    7
    I enjoyed Bioshock but it is overrated at 94. When it first came out I think it may have deserved this score but since then many games have come out with lower ratings that are better than this game. Bioshock was just ahead of the curve so to speak and this game is fortunate to get high ratings just for being one of the first games out that was actually a good next generation console I enjoyed Bioshock but it is overrated at 94. When it first came out I think it may have deserved this score but since then many games have come out with lower ratings that are better than this game. Bioshock was just ahead of the curve so to speak and this game is fortunate to get high ratings just for being one of the first games out that was actually a good next generation console game/port. After browsing the PS3 lineup now, this game gets pushed way back. Bioshock had a real nice atmosphere and some great sound and cinematics but I was annoyed by many things in this game. The first is an outdated game called pipedream that is really (now in 2010) a cell phone application game which acts as a puzzle to various items to hack. I didn Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    What needs to be said about this game has already been said a million times over. There's nothing left to say. The game is damn near perfect. If you don't like this game, you're probably a tard
  7. Feb 5, 2012
    8
    Bioshock es la muestra de los nuevos juegos de 1st Person Shooter de esta generacion, seguro que mas adelante veremos clones o secuelas de esta saga, Rapture una ciudad ambientada en los 50's bajo el agua por distintas razones entre politica y caos mental, con un personaje protagonico que interesa la forma en la que se deshace de sus enemigos a traves de plasmidos y balas, buena tramaBioshock es la muestra de los nuevos juegos de 1st Person Shooter de esta generacion, seguro que mas adelante veremos clones o secuelas de esta saga, Rapture una ciudad ambientada en los 50's bajo el agua por distintas razones entre politica y caos mental, con un personaje protagonico que interesa la forma en la que se deshace de sus enemigos a traves de plasmidos y balas, buena trama excelentes graficos, atmosfera como de clinica mental y una musica que hace que quieras estar con alaguien al lado por eso del suspenso in extremis, recomendado como un must de esta generacion Expand
  8. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    Best inmersive experience I have ever seen on videogames.

    Great story, it keeps your attention all along the game. The crazy word and characters, the art-decó style, the music.... everything helps into the inmersive experience
  9. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Uno de los mejores juegos a los que he jugado. El argumento es genial, la historia de Rapture es muy curiosa e interesante. La jugabilidad es muy buena, muy dinámica porque cuando mueres reapareces en prácticamente en el mismo sitio y con el daño que le hayas hecho al malo o malos que te hayan matado acumulado, de forma que aunque te quedes casi sin munición,Uno de los mejores juegos a los que he jugado. El argumento es genial, la historia de Rapture es muy curiosa e interesante. La jugabilidad es muy buena, muy dinámica porque cuando mueres reapareces en prácticamente en el mismo sitio y con el daño que le hayas hecho al malo o malos que te hayan matado acumulado, de forma que aunque te quedes casi sin munición, siempre puedes luchar hasta matarlo, lo que hace el juego más dinámico en mi opinión. Permite una amplia personalización de las armas. La ambientación y los escenarios son lo mejor, recrea la América de los años 50 con un toque gótico añadido. El juego tiene sus dosis de terror y de sustos, pero es acción pura. Expand
  10. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Bioshock exceeds in every expectation you ever had in a first person shooter.It simply starts with one of the greatest introductions I've ever seen, showing the ravaged city of Rapture, and although it may seem strange the protagonist in the beginning, the more you venture through this world, the more you realize how great the story is.It simply goes beyond every kind of action fueled FPSBioshock exceeds in every expectation you ever had in a first person shooter.It simply starts with one of the greatest introductions I've ever seen, showing the ravaged city of Rapture, and although it may seem strange the protagonist in the beginning, the more you venture through this world, the more you realize how great the story is.It simply goes beyond every kind of action fueled FPS and dives into an amazing single player experience that I'm sure many people can't ever forget.

    This all the way without even mentioning the great gameplay, which is a mix of the Plasmids you'll find throughout the world, great set of guns and tonics, altogether with great challenges of environment that has also been amazingly created filled with many items to scavenge and enemies from simple Splicers to Big Daddies.
    In the end the experience goes beyond anything you might expect, achieving an unforgettable experience with unique characters.
    Expand
  11. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    This game is easily among the greatest FPS games of all time, and it's certainly my favorite. The concept is intriguing, the atmosphere is spot on, the gunplay is unique with the addition of Gene Tonics and Plasmids, the voice acting is brilliant, the characters are well-developed, the setting has a very well-thought-out backstory, and the plot is superb. Although the game does have itsThis game is easily among the greatest FPS games of all time, and it's certainly my favorite. The concept is intriguing, the atmosphere is spot on, the gunplay is unique with the addition of Gene Tonics and Plasmids, the voice acting is brilliant, the characters are well-developed, the setting has a very well-thought-out backstory, and the plot is superb. Although the game does have its framerate tanks and backtracking, the plot more than makes up for that with spectacular plot turns and twists. I won't spoil the game for you, but BioShock has the best plot twist of any game... Ever. That alone would put the game on my top ten, but the rest of the game's great qualities puts it at my #1 spot. Expand
  12. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    one of the best games out there to date the story is great combat is good and the use of eve and plasmids mixes things up the atmosphere is so creepy youll be looking around at every noise perfect game perfect score
  13. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    I love Bioshock. It has to be my favorite PS3 game I've played yet. The story captured me and kept my attention, something that very rarely happens to me. I never had any lag, combat was smooth, there are plenty of power-ups and abilities....... I just really, REALLY like this game.
  14. Dec 29, 2014
    10
    Bioshock is a masterpiece in every sense of the word. The gameplay is fun, the environment is terrifying, the story is gripping, and there are lots of horrors to be had. This game is true perfection.
  15. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    This game is perfect, the story is probably the best part, if you don't care for story in video games and go straight to multiplayer then your wasting your time thinking of buying this game
  16. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    Epic. I was completely immersed in this game and the world Levine and co. created. This game had a great balance of story telling within the game (to the point where I actually cared about the Little Sisters) and guilty pleasure (mowing down Splicer never got old). The soundtrack and beautifully detailed environment really enriched the experience. Redefines the genre and shoots the mediumEpic. I was completely immersed in this game and the world Levine and co. created. This game had a great balance of story telling within the game (to the point where I actually cared about the Little Sisters) and guilty pleasure (mowing down Splicer never got old). The soundtrack and beautifully detailed environment really enriched the experience. Redefines the genre and shoots the medium to new heights. You have to play this game. Expand
  17. YermakirumY.
    Sep 6, 2008
    10
    Very good game.
  18. PaVi_nl
    Jan 8, 2009
    10
    I own Bioshock on PS3, and it was the first experience i had with it other the reading about it. I had some hard times at first because i approached the game like a normal 1st person shooter. But when you play the game like its supposed to, with thought and care, then its one of most intense gaming experciences you ever have. For me its up there with Half-life 2. Which i considerd the bestI own Bioshock on PS3, and it was the first experience i had with it other the reading about it. I had some hard times at first because i approached the game like a normal 1st person shooter. But when you play the game like its supposed to, with thought and care, then its one of most intense gaming experciences you ever have. For me its up there with Half-life 2. Which i considerd the best game i played before encountering Bioshock. Expand
  19. AJ
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    What an amazing game! I've only played for a few hours, but that's enough to realise the quality. Graphics, gameplay, story and AI are all great, very interactive environment, old school yet cool weapons that can use different ammo, with the addition of Plasmids, your arsenal is so widespread, there's many ways to defeat your foes.
  20. GeorgeM
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    Easily one of the best looking, story-rich first person shooters ever to grace a console...now its on ps3. Having played this on 360 already i can assure you this is one of the definitive gaming experiences of THIS generation, everything about this game is just top notch and screams high production values. I currently own the 360 version, but from what i've heard...the ps3 version Easily one of the best looking, story-rich first person shooters ever to grace a console...now its on ps3. Having played this on 360 already i can assure you this is one of the definitive gaming experiences of THIS generation, everything about this game is just top notch and screams high production values. I currently own the 360 version, but from what i've heard...the ps3 version will be getting exclusive content, that alone is enough to warrant a Bioshock 360 trade-in for a Bioshock ps3 upgrade. Expand
  21. LarsF.
    Jan 15, 2009
    9
    Love this game. Narrative is excellently suspenseful and the pacing is just right. It seems to get hard at some points to find yourself around the maps and into the different areas of the levels- but once you figure the maps out, you will be fine. I wish it lasted longer even, but I still have a lot of trophies still to get on a second playthrough. Great game, cannot wait for the second. Love this game. Narrative is excellently suspenseful and the pacing is just right. It seems to get hard at some points to find yourself around the maps and into the different areas of the levels- but once you figure the maps out, you will be fine. I wish it lasted longer even, but I still have a lot of trophies still to get on a second playthrough. Great game, cannot wait for the second. I felt you run out of ammo and plasmas too fast though..especially since you need to kill the Big Daddies with them! Expand
  22. EuanF
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    this game has got it all: incredible graphics, amazing storyline, great gameplay, tons of atmosphere, ingenius originality, fascinating and tough enemies and you can play the game and 'customize' your main man to the way you see fit. the game is so in-depth, so involving, and with the massive plot twist, so affecting. apart from the stupidly annoying hack system and the stupid this game has got it all: incredible graphics, amazing storyline, great gameplay, tons of atmosphere, ingenius originality, fascinating and tough enemies and you can play the game and 'customize' your main man to the way you see fit. the game is so in-depth, so involving, and with the massive plot twist, so affecting. apart from the stupidly annoying hack system and the stupid noise the camera's make when you get into their sights, there isn't anything i don't like about this game. Expand
  23. TyeS
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    One things that games struggle to accomplish where their cinematic brethren achieve is a sense immersion. Bioshock's city of Rapture has such deep atmosphere, backstory, and life that you get sucked into its eerie world and don't want to leave until the credits roll. The gameplay is new and refreshing and also its sense of choice made me want to explore every nook and cranny of One things that games struggle to accomplish where their cinematic brethren achieve is a sense immersion. Bioshock's city of Rapture has such deep atmosphere, backstory, and life that you get sucked into its eerie world and don't want to leave until the credits roll. The gameplay is new and refreshing and also its sense of choice made me want to explore every nook and cranny of Rapture's world. Even if there was a Big Daddy waiting around the corner to make me piss my pants. Expand
  24. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Best fps game ever IMO. Enjoyed it from the start, the slow pace and the free roaming expects of the game. Graphics are quite impressive, and handling of weapons is so awesome. Epic is the word best to describe Bioshock.
  25. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This game renewed my love in gaming and showed me that video games can be smart and beautiful at the same time. Anyone stuck in a rut these days with lackluster CoD games or even newer releases, be sure to look for this game somewhere. You won't regret it one bit!
  26. MattH
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    This game is just brilliant no probs with it it diserves to be 4th or even 1st place on metacritic compered to COD4, LBP or even GTA IV this game is the best the grafics are brilliant, but my only problem with this game of the year contender is that I played thru it all and it took me about 17 hours and i thought there was a bit of repitition in it and it could of been a bit longer butThis game is just brilliant no probs with it it diserves to be 4th or even 1st place on metacritic compered to COD4, LBP or even GTA IV this game is the best the grafics are brilliant, but my only problem with this game of the year contender is that I played thru it all and it took me about 17 hours and i thought there was a bit of repitition in it and it could of been a bit longer but that is my only problem by far this is the best game i've played, you'll play and anyone will play! ( i cant wait for the sequel ) one of the best bits i found was the challenge rooms wich you can buy from the playstation store for £6.99 the best challenge was the worlds of hurt excellent game it deserves 10/10 !!! od 5*/5 !!! Expand
  27. Feb 14, 2011
    5
    I can sum up the gameplay of this game in one word - BORING. I played about halfway through the game and was too bored to continue, so I just gave up. The atmosphere and concept behind this game are interesting...but the gameplay (the most important part of any game) is repetitive and dull....very repetitive: walk into a room, shoot some enemies...walk into another room, shoot someI can sum up the gameplay of this game in one word - BORING. I played about halfway through the game and was too bored to continue, so I just gave up. The atmosphere and concept behind this game are interesting...but the gameplay (the most important part of any game) is repetitive and dull....very repetitive: walk into a room, shoot some enemies...walk into another room, shoot some enemies....there's no problem solving and no thinking required for this game...No strategy, no freedom...just walk into rooms and shoot the same enemies over and over and over and over. This type of stale gameplay is what makes me really appreciate games like Half Life 2, or GTA - those games really tried to make the gameplay something special. They required you to think and gave you freedom to do missions how you like. Bioshock just felt like I was walking through one scripted scenario after another...they even had arrows telling you where to go half the time. So many games these days get inflated scores - I suspect that reviewers want to appease the game companies so the game companies will keep giving the reviewers exclusive previews and info....as a result, you have a bunch of mediocre games getting scores in the 9-10 range, when an honest reviewer would give them a 5 or 6. Bioshock is yet another game that seems to get high scores solely for it's graphics and storyline...once again reviewers failed to factor the stale, repetitive gameplay into their scores. Expand
  28. ChadH
    Aug 3, 2009
    6
    You know, I never understood why the guys at the magazines love this game so much. I rented it and played through it once, but it was more of a job to finish this game than a leisure activity. I only did it out of sheer boredom. The games graphics aren't very good, the fps is very unrefined, and the story is sub-par at best. The enemies are probably the best thing the game has. I You know, I never understood why the guys at the magazines love this game so much. I rented it and played through it once, but it was more of a job to finish this game than a leisure activity. I only did it out of sheer boredom. The games graphics aren't very good, the fps is very unrefined, and the story is sub-par at best. The enemies are probably the best thing the game has. I just couldn't get into it. The fighting was just kinda lame and inaccurate. They could've sharpened this up and it would've made up for the unremarkable story. The idea is great, and I'm just disappointed by the combat system. It just seemed too blocky and inaccurate. Hard to explain, but it reminded me of playing like a N64 shooter when expecting the precision and accuracy of say CoD4 Modern Warfare without jeopradizing the theme and elements that make bioshock bioshock. Should be an easy fix, and I hope to see it improved in Bioshock 2. Expand
  29. GaryWaite
    Jan 19, 2009
    5
    I can't believe what i've just read, bioshock is a disgrace to modern day FPS, it is no where near as good as it has been rated and im am dissapointed in the critics reviews. I believe that it doesn't even match up to the PS2s greatest FPS Timesplitters 3. How Bioshock earned its place in the top 10 games of 2008 i'll never know.
  30. andrewL
    Jan 14, 2009
    4
    Honestly, its only rental worthy - first of all, i cant imagine wanting to play the story mode (not sure why i specified that there was a story mode, as theres no multiplayer mode for me to confuse anyone with.. whats with that?..) again without my items, of course you can but that involves paying $12.50 off the PSN store so 'F' that. the game has charm at first but once you Honestly, its only rental worthy - first of all, i cant imagine wanting to play the story mode (not sure why i specified that there was a story mode, as theres no multiplayer mode for me to confuse anyone with.. whats with that?..) again without my items, of course you can but that involves paying $12.50 off the PSN store so 'F' that. the game has charm at first but once you find you felt you spent more time watching the game install than you have playing it its become an annoyance. its almost impossible to hit enemies without spraying your weapons at them wasting precious ammo. then when you need ammo you talk to that hideous clown machine to spend your life savings on 12 pistol bullets. it becomes horrendous saving the girls after youve seen the same bloody animation 30 times (you know.. "NO... NO... *harmonious music*) and the damn hacking puzzles are so tedious and insanely annoying. some start in an impossible direction leading you straight to a trap, sucking your entire life bar just for not being quick enough. not forgetting how amazing the graphics are it was actually a good game, great game actually... but its definitely not something i want to own anymore especially without any enticing replay value. Expand
  31. OleT
    Dec 11, 2009
    0
    Hate the controlls, and there is no alternative one. Hate the aim sensitivity, kind of similar to Half Hife 2 ps3(The Orange Box). Dont know about story, since this game was unplayable for me, using a ps3 controller. No doubt this was ment playing on a computer.
  32. Mar 17, 2011
    3
    i could not play this game it was too creepy and there is no way of knowing where you are supposed to go and i endded up getting lost so sorry to say but this game fell short and i soon traded it in after i bought it
  33. alexr
    Apr 18, 2009
    8
    Good. Really good, but not an outright classic. the first half is pretty much flawless, but the later half has a bit too much repetition and 'collecting'. End boss was WAY too easy!
  34. DaveL
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    Great game. Love how the controls fit so nicely to the PS3 version. Definitely a must play. The only problem I have is that you have to buy the add-on to get all the trophies. From what Ive heard the add-on is good, but not fully worth the $10. Still, extremely fun game.
  35. Nuno
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    Best game that i ever play, after Footbal Manager. :)Nice scenarious, creepy atmosphere, Big guns, the plasmids, some enemys are great and difficult to beat, some parts of the game we need to think what to do. And starting play in the Normal level is a quite difficult to istued at the beginning. Very good game i recomend a lot.
  36. LamL.
    Nov 5, 2008
    6
    I have only played the demo. I do not like powers in games unless it is coherently woven into the story and adds to the gameplay while staying true to the narrative. I don't like powers that just exist for you to have "another gun." I put Bioshock in this category of nonsensical reasoning. Everybody praises the story but how good can it be when the premise is so cornball and hokey. I have only played the demo. I do not like powers in games unless it is coherently woven into the story and adds to the gameplay while staying true to the narrative. I don't like powers that just exist for you to have "another gun." I put Bioshock in this category of nonsensical reasoning. Everybody praises the story but how good can it be when the premise is so cornball and hokey. Think! A Utopian society where scientists, artists and talented citizens are given free reign and what these people come up with is super powers in vending machines?!!!!?? What The Fuck!! What NERDY wet dream is this? I cannot even hold a straight face when thinking about this premise. That kills it for me right there! Why doesn't someone just create a game where you are God!! and can have any power imagined- like the power to fart and the concussion knocks things back and the odor induces vomiting distracting your enemies momentarily. This is cool and humorous. Or how about you can shoot a rayfrom your hand that can grab a person's heart and slow it down or speed it up causing extreme pain and horror. Do you see what I mean why stop there? Let's have bees come out of our ass and attack things- yeah! The story of Bioshock is just outrageous and nonsensical- stupid- to be exact. Enough Said! If I am wrong about the story please someone enlighten me. Someone forward this to the nerds that created this game so they can try to prove me wrong. This rant is directed at all games that add "powers" for no reason other than to have "another gun." Thanks for the creativity you nerds. Expand
  37. MARKPAGE
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    this is without a doubt the coolest first person shooter that I own. This game is so addictive, I've played nothing else until I finished it. Then of course, I had to start a new game at the difficult setting. I can't say enough about this game, if you buy it, you won't be disappointed. This game rocks!!
  38. TomM.
    Apr 29, 2009
    10
    Probably the most stylish and interesting game i've ever played. Is it perfect? probably not. many people here have been complaining about the "way too easy" end boss fight, but does that detract from the overall package? no ways! the eerily decrepit art deco environment and interesting characters that inhabit the world of rapture is truly fascinating. you will see the difference in Probably the most stylish and interesting game i've ever played. Is it perfect? probably not. many people here have been complaining about the "way too easy" end boss fight, but does that detract from the overall package? no ways! the eerily decrepit art deco environment and interesting characters that inhabit the world of rapture is truly fascinating. you will see the difference in class after playing the game compared to other generic shooters on consoles. are the shooting mechanics as good as call of duty 4 or halo? probably not, but the attention to style, story and characters will eclipse anything seen in those other shooters. oh and did i mention plasmids are freakin awesome? The little nuances visible in rapture is truly outstanding and quite frankly mind boggling, provided you actually spend time exploring and learning all you can about this defunct utopia, you'll really get an idea of how much time and love was put into 2k Marin's lovechild. I'm a little tentative that the sequel isn't being developed by the original creators, but i still have high hopes for it. Enough gushing, buy this game. if you enjoy exploring a genuinely creepy world inhabited by plausible interesting charcters as opposed to contrived 'scary' set pieces (AHEM Fear, dead space) then go pick this game up. Expand
  39. ScottP
    May 28, 2009
    10
    Story and character developement in videogames have become so easily passed on by developers that it almost seems strange to see one come out that has a storyline that does not seem either familiar or clicheic. I'll be honest however the game is certainly not perfect (but what game is...? *cough* Ocarina of Time *cough*) The game can seem a bit linear and repetitive at times, and the Story and character developement in videogames have become so easily passed on by developers that it almost seems strange to see one come out that has a storyline that does not seem either familiar or clicheic. I'll be honest however the game is certainly not perfect (but what game is...? *cough* Ocarina of Time *cough*) The game can seem a bit linear and repetitive at times, and the idea of the Vita Chamber system was an incredibly bad idea (which makes dying in the game have little consequence unless you want to get a specific trophy). However, that those are my only qualms with the game, this is cinematic storytelling at the top of its class and will become the landmark game that future pretenders are compared to. This game's controls and combat are spot-on and absolutely fantastic (especially the awesomeness that are the plasmids). The game's length is also noteworthy, your first playthru should be about 15-20 hours (that is if you're not just rushing thru everything). All in all, this is not just a game of the year contender, it is more than a game, it is more like an experience that makes that idea that games will never fully be respected as a noteable medium in storytelling, completely crash and burn. In other words, this is a classic in every sense of the word. Bring on the sequel!! Expand
  40. Jordan
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Not much that I can say that hasn't already been said before, but I'll try anyway. This is an amazing game, with a great narrative and graphics. Bioshock also knows when to bow before getting old, the curse that ruins so many other great games. In a side note for those of you who complain that this is just a port, so what it's a port of a fantastic game, nobody said you hadNot much that I can say that hasn't already been said before, but I'll try anyway. This is an amazing game, with a great narrative and graphics. Bioshock also knows when to bow before getting old, the curse that ruins so many other great games. In a side note for those of you who complain that this is just a port, so what it's a port of a fantastic game, nobody said you had to buy it again. Expand
  41. DantehSparda
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    LOL. Lam L. you must be one of the dumbest people on earth, I'm amused. You see, this "powers" you say are nonsense have in fact more "base" than any other science fiction game. The powers are called plasmids, which, if you knew sh!t about genetics like I do, then you would see "plasmids" are pieces of DNA which give new properties to the receiver (bacteria...). So obviously nowadaysLOL. Lam L. you must be one of the dumbest people on earth, I'm amused. You see, this "powers" you say are nonsense have in fact more "base" than any other science fiction game. The powers are called plasmids, which, if you knew sh!t about genetics like I do, then you would see "plasmids" are pieces of DNA which give new properties to the receiver (bacteria...). So obviously nowadays we don't have powers but it is a very acceptable "pseudocience". Nerd go study more and stop whining in metacritic. Expand
  42. DarrenWard
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    This game is atmospheric, exciting and near perfect!!
    The powers are carefully balanced so as not to be too powerful and the weapons are meaty enough to make it a tough decision whether to use them or the powers.
    The choice of whether to attack the Big Daddy's is fantastic and lets you advance at your own pace. Also the customisation lets you play the way you want! The overall
    This game is atmospheric, exciting and near perfect!!
    The powers are carefully balanced so as not to be too powerful and the weapons are meaty enough to make it a tough decision whether to use them or the powers.
    The choice of whether to attack the Big Daddy's is fantastic and lets you advance at your own pace. Also the customisation lets you play the way you want!
    The overall story is very well written and the setting is believable, the world feels like a real living breathing city that has gone wrong!

    I cannot find fault with this game and it does not show its one age at all.
    Expand
  43. EmilS
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    This has to be one of my favorite games of all time. I have gotten all achievements for it and have replayed it 10 times since. The story is unforgettable. Yes, if you are a CoD fanatic then save yourself the trouble and don't buy it, since you are going to complain about it not being the greatest shooter. This game excels in its environment, story and its unique plasmid system.
  44. MagicK.
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    Sorry, but anyone giving this game - really, more an exciting work of art than "game" - less than a "9" doesn't know a turd from a gold bar. The graphics are unbelievably beautiful. The environment claustrophobic, yet open. Creative little touches like the corny plasmid "commercials" create a very real, very beautiful world. And the storyline? Unmatched. If you take the story alone Sorry, but anyone giving this game - really, more an exciting work of art than "game" - less than a "9" doesn't know a turd from a gold bar. The graphics are unbelievably beautiful. The environment claustrophobic, yet open. Creative little touches like the corny plasmid "commercials" create a very real, very beautiful world. And the storyline? Unmatched. If you take the story alone apart, you'll be entertained. Plus, there are moral choices to make with consequences, and a stunning revelation about 2/3 through the game that knocked my socks off. Bioshock is the best all-around game I've ever played. Expand
  45. FuzzyM
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    This game was amazing. Sure the gameplay was a little boring, not the best FPS ever made, but the story! Oh, the story. It was just amazing.
  46. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    This game is FANTASTIC if you are capable of enjoying atmosphere and a deep/compelling story. It is not a game for twitch gamers. The FPS mechanics are a bit sluggish, especially by current standards, but combat is not the central focus of the game (though it is a major part). This game is all about surviving as the story unfolds, and it is really a great story. The citizens of RaptureThis game is FANTASTIC if you are capable of enjoying atmosphere and a deep/compelling story. It is not a game for twitch gamers. The FPS mechanics are a bit sluggish, especially by current standards, but combat is not the central focus of the game (though it is a major part). This game is all about surviving as the story unfolds, and it is really a great story. The citizens of Rapture are so crazy/funny, and the atmosphere of the city itself is amazing. Definitely will go down as one of the classic games of this generation. Expand
  47. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    This game came out of no where and really impressed me. This game had a unique ambiance and setting, and the story was fantastic. One of the most unique FPS games out there to say the least. This may not be the game for everyone but as a long time gamer I found this to be refreshingly "different" than anything else I had ever played. It is definitely somewhat dark and twisted butThis game came out of no where and really impressed me. This game had a unique ambiance and setting, and the story was fantastic. One of the most unique FPS games out there to say the least. This may not be the game for everyone but as a long time gamer I found this to be refreshingly "different" than anything else I had ever played. It is definitely somewhat dark and twisted but entertaining and definitely a game to try if you missed it and are looking to try something off the beaten path. I'd give this one 92 out of 100 Expand
  48. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    A game so brilliant has never been created before Bioshock. Story telling at it's finest in ANY artistic medium. Bioshock questions the very philosophy of linearity in video games, the pursuit of power, the ongoing struggle between governments and their people, and the very essence of human nature. If the story's many twists and turns don't have your jaw on the floor. The mind blowinglyA game so brilliant has never been created before Bioshock. Story telling at it's finest in ANY artistic medium. Bioshock questions the very philosophy of linearity in video games, the pursuit of power, the ongoing struggle between governments and their people, and the very essence of human nature. If the story's many twists and turns don't have your jaw on the floor. The mind blowingly impressive artistic direction and level design are sure to do the trick. Add on creative and original combat that has you combining the elements of nature with your environment to outsmart and out muscle your enemy, and you have an instant classic. The best game of 2007 and one of my top 10 of all time Expand
  49. Mar 7, 2013
    5
    Not that impressed. It was a game i beat. I was kind of annoyed by the whole thing by the end. I did love the opening scene leading in to the mid way plot twist. But the game play was just dragging along.
  50. Jan 27, 2014
    1
    I'm truly not a hater of any game but I really don't understand the reason for the high scores, to me this game was boring, the story somehow original, and the horrible controls, that didn't help.
  51. JULIOM.
    Feb 20, 2009
    9
    I am plying now this game and I'm enjoying a lot. Mi wife is going to kill me, all days going to bed at 2 o'clock :-) . It's not only about killing your enemys, you have to think in each moment what plasmid or army you have to use, and how destroy your enemies. I recommend everybody
  52. [Anonymous]
    Jun 7, 2009
    8
    A little too dark and gruesome for me, but overall engaging and fun. Draws you in.
  53. lykon
    Nov 20, 2008
    7
    I really do not understand what all the fuss is about, this a miserable little game, i was expecting a city, something special, it is just a linear shooter with lots of mad irritating enemies in bunny rabbit masks. It is well put together for what it is, but people have been comparing this to fallout 3. fallout 3 urinates all over this game then turns around and parts its muscular hairyI really do not understand what all the fuss is about, this a miserable little game, i was expecting a city, something special, it is just a linear shooter with lots of mad irritating enemies in bunny rabbit masks. It is well put together for what it is, but people have been comparing this to fallout 3. fallout 3 urinates all over this game then turns around and parts its muscular hairy man buttocks and does big steaming poos on it. As for all the hype about moral choices, it has 0.0001 % of the depth of choice and emotional imersion as fallout 3. maybe 7 is a bit harsh ok but im marking it down due to the hype and my waste of money. this is a weekend play through rental game. Expand
  54. ARM
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    An excellent game on almost every level; amazing graphics, incredible atmosphere, and some of the most twisted and insane/evil/compelling characters I've run across... even if most of them are long dead and gone by the time you enter play. The only places I could take off from the score for is the intense uselessness of some plasmids and weapons (Note: magic hands that shoot bees An excellent game on almost every level; amazing graphics, incredible atmosphere, and some of the most twisted and insane/evil/compelling characters I've run across... even if most of them are long dead and gone by the time you enter play. The only places I could take off from the score for is the intense uselessness of some plasmids and weapons (Note: magic hands that shoot bees probably should be more effective, ditto weapons that spew dangerous chemicals) and the unnervingly easy end boss, who barely put up more of a fight than a Big Daddy. All in all, however, this is a game well worth any gamer's time. Makes you think, makes you feel, makes you jump at shadows and set enemies on fire with a snap of your fingers. What more could you really want? Expand
  55. BobJ.
    Aug 30, 2008
    10
    Us 360 owners had our experience with this amazing game, now it's your turn. Not hacking the security cameras and use target dummies and security bulls-eye plasmids instead is one of the many things you can do in Rapture, not to mention using incenerate on booze and use telekenisis to have your own molotove cocktail. The A.I. in this game is over the top as well, injured enemies will Us 360 owners had our experience with this amazing game, now it's your turn. Not hacking the security cameras and use target dummies and security bulls-eye plasmids instead is one of the many things you can do in Rapture, not to mention using incenerate on booze and use telekenisis to have your own molotove cocktail. The A.I. in this game is over the top as well, injured enemies will run to get healed, and even the thuggish splicers (who are the type that "run and try and maul you") hide behind corners where they can ambush you. Ps3 owners, prepare for one helluva game. Expand
  56. SeanP
    Jan 16, 2009
    8
    The graphics are top notch and the story twist was unbelievable. I expected half of it but the other half of the twist was astonishing. Makes you think back to the entire journey and what was said. As far as what Lam says... he has a point. There's a lack of creativity within the creativity regarding the distribution of powers. It's a nice idea but it is essentially "another The graphics are top notch and the story twist was unbelievable. I expected half of it but the other half of the twist was astonishing. Makes you think back to the entire journey and what was said. As far as what Lam says... he has a point. There's a lack of creativity within the creativity regarding the distribution of powers. It's a nice idea but it is essentially "another gun". Either way, the game is not as great as scores indicate. There's a little too much chaos and I find the health system to be a lil poor. Expand
  57. johnG
    Mar 17, 2009
    9
    Bioshock is special, special because the Bioshock world emerses you in mysry and wonder. Yea other games do the same but the difference the colours the animation the story the special effect all combine to keep you hooked in a true rewardin experiance like no other game on the playstation 3 (yet).
  58. CodyB.
    May 12, 2009
    8
    Some people either don't like this game or are just don't understand what this masterpiece has to offer, or maybe they just didn't take the time to get deep into it. These graphics are so fucking beautiful and the whole game is like going through a haunted mansion or a six flags roller coaster ride! The ONLY problem in this game is the repetition at certian points, Some people either don't like this game or are just don't understand what this masterpiece has to offer, or maybe they just didn't take the time to get deep into it. These graphics are so fucking beautiful and the whole game is like going through a haunted mansion or a six flags roller coaster ride! The ONLY problem in this game is the repetition at certian points, otherwise this game is worthy of a perfect score (remember, game informer is always right). This graphical bonanza can't be missed (just remember to SAVE the little sisters)! Expand
  59. MysticStrummer
    Jun 16, 2009
    9
    Wow... how could this game have a user review score of 7.9 (at the time I post this)??? This game is one of the greatest of all time, unless you just hate shooters. I guess linear, color by numbers FPS are what you people want. Bioshock has great atmosphere, cool story, fun gameplay that's full of options, and some nice eye candy. I'm very burned out on FPS in general, but Wow... how could this game have a user review score of 7.9 (at the time I post this)??? This game is one of the greatest of all time, unless you just hate shooters. I guess linear, color by numbers FPS are what you people want. Bioshock has great atmosphere, cool story, fun gameplay that's full of options, and some nice eye candy. I'm very burned out on FPS in general, but Bioshock is one that I still hold in high regard. It's not perfect so can't give it a 10, but I'd rather give it a 9.5 than a 9. Expand
  60. JackH
    Oct 16, 2008
    7
    We've Already played this...on PC...and it's old. Granted yes, the game is still good...but it's not "that" good. There is no sense of pride in the weapons you discover throughout the game...all of the ones that shoot bullets are crappier than any other bullet-shooting weapon i've ever used in any other game...all you need is your wrench and your magic hand powers, the We've Already played this...on PC...and it's old. Granted yes, the game is still good...but it's not "that" good. There is no sense of pride in the weapons you discover throughout the game...all of the ones that shoot bullets are crappier than any other bullet-shooting weapon i've ever used in any other game...all you need is your wrench and your magic hand powers, the guns don't do the job. The story is good, has cool twists, and saving the girls is pretty awesome. But let's face it, other games have come out sense then that are more deserving of this score. Dead Space for instance, i enjoyed quite a bit more than this game. Expand
  61. AndrewO.
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    Jack H., you probably used the wrong ammo type against the wrong enemies. Either that, or your aim stinks. Anyway, I never played this for Playstation, but I have for Xbox. One Word. Amazing. Great atmosphere, flexibility, story. Yes, it's a little too much like System Shock 2, and just a handful of extras for the PS3 doesn't sound like enough, but Sony diehards who haven't Jack H., you probably used the wrong ammo type against the wrong enemies. Either that, or your aim stinks. Anyway, I never played this for Playstation, but I have for Xbox. One Word. Amazing. Great atmosphere, flexibility, story. Yes, it's a little too much like System Shock 2, and just a handful of extras for the PS3 doesn't sound like enough, but Sony diehards who haven't yet gotten the chance to expierience this masterpiece should immeadiatly get off their butts and buy it right now. Expand
  62. TomP.
    Jan 28, 2009
    9
    I'm sorry Lam, but that was probably the most idiotic piece I have ever read. I can truly say that I feel less intelligent now, so thank you for that. You are a truly stupid individual.
    Oh, great game by the way.
    (Slightly better on the 360, but what else is new?)
  63. johne
    Jul 27, 2009
    9
    I really enjoyed this game as it had a really good strong,gripping story line that had a unique twist:) overall it was a very good game as the the graphics and setting where fantastic and as memorable as cyrodil from oblivion.
  64. May 19, 2011
    9
    For once, an FPS that poses a challenge.

    But calling BioShock merely an FPS would be a disservice to the video gaming geniuses behind this. The stellar atmosphere and fabulous immersion in the city of Rapture. The graphics have gotten a little aged over the years, but this is still a phenomenal game that everyone must have. Seriously. If you don't have BioShock, but have a good gaming PC
    For once, an FPS that poses a challenge.

    But calling BioShock merely an FPS would be a disservice to the video gaming geniuses behind this. The stellar atmosphere and fabulous immersion in the city of Rapture. The graphics have gotten a little aged over the years, but this is still a phenomenal game that everyone must have. Seriously. If you don't have BioShock, but have a good gaming PC or a console, then you barely qualify as human.
    Expand
  65. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    What makes BioShock such a great game? Well...It's probably the presentation and story, because the shooting doesn't differ from any other FPS out there, although it is perfect. The graphics haven't aged too well, but that could just be the art design. What makes the presentation and story so good is how original and well written it is. It all takes place in a run down underwater cityWhat makes BioShock such a great game? Well...It's probably the presentation and story, because the shooting doesn't differ from any other FPS out there, although it is perfect. The graphics haven't aged too well, but that could just be the art design. What makes the presentation and story so good is how original and well written it is. It all takes place in a run down underwater city called Rapture run by the capitalist nutcase Andrew Ryan. Here you face its viscous citizens, specifically the splicers and the monstrous big daddies. The story is full of big twists and turns and actually gives you a feeling of despair, despite not really having that kind of survival horror design. BioShock is an amazing game that gives an experience so sublime, none of Call of Duty's setpieces can hold a candle to it. Expand
  66. Aug 22, 2010
    7
    While I didnt love this game, Its a solid shooter none the less which allows you to complete the game with alot more choice compared to other FPS game out there
    The main thing I found amazing about the game is just how emersive the world is, almost everything is interective, sinks, pans, vending machines, you name it
    Guns are very good aswell with a great uniqueness to them, but even
    While I didnt love this game, Its a solid shooter none the less which allows you to complete the game with alot more choice compared to other FPS game out there
    The main thing I found amazing about the game is just how emersive the world is, almost everything is interective, sinks, pans, vending machines, you name it
    Guns are very good aswell with a great uniqueness to them, but even better are the Plasmids and gene tonics, which can be bought at different places throughout the world, this will give you the chance to buy certain ones on your first playthrough and others on your next, giving you more choice in how you complete the game. You could try completing the game predominantly with the wrench and pistol, or you could use just Plasmids
    The AI is great aswell, and it seemed to me like each enemy had their own personality.
    On the other hand the game does have its drawbacks
    The main one is simply that while you can complete the game in different combat ways, each playthrough basically works the same, the same path to the end, and the same bosses.
    Along the way you find little sisters, who contain ADAM, a currency in the game, you can choose to kill them and get lots of ADAM, or save them and get less ADAM. The problem is that even if you dont kill them, you will still get enough ADAM to make it through the game with lots of accessories
    I didnt like the endings either, and while they had moral messages within them, they were too short and left me confused until I looked on Wikipedia later
    Bioshock is hard to rate in my opinion
    While on one side it is an exelently innovative and emersive game that gives you plenty of things to do and find, it is very linear.
    But if your thinking of getting Bioshock 2, I would definatly consider getting this game as it will help you understand the game alot more
    Expand
  67. Oct 6, 2010
    9
    Pound for pound the best game of the current generation. The gameplay is sublime, in terms of the challenges it presents, the RPG-like feeling of development and progression that comes the plasmid and tonic upgrade system, and the general tidiness of the controls. Atmospherically, I can't think of a game (at least in the current generation) that comes close to what Bioshock achieves.Pound for pound the best game of the current generation. The gameplay is sublime, in terms of the challenges it presents, the RPG-like feeling of development and progression that comes the plasmid and tonic upgrade system, and the general tidiness of the controls. Atmospherically, I can't think of a game (at least in the current generation) that comes close to what Bioshock achieves. Story-wise, it's fantastic; as a philosophy post-grad I loved the Ayn Rand influence and theme, but there's also something in it for those who are less pretentious than I am.

    Why not a 10/10? Well, for one, the final boss battle is a little anti-climatic given how strong and powerful you get by the end of the game. It was probably one of the easiest boss fights I've played. I also have a problem with 'choice' that you are presented with throughout the game (trying to avoid a spiler here!) as given that one choice ultimately yields the same reward as the other choice, only later on, then it all seems a bit superficial. But nevertheless, Bioshock is terrific.
    Expand
  68. Sep 6, 2010
    9
    BioShock is a really good game. The fiction world that BioShock is set in, Rapture, is very well designed. The atmosphere is really cool; kinda like a horror game when you hear the echoing voices of Splicers around you, the game play is fine and the audio and voice acting is spot on. The plasmids are interesting to experiment with (there loads of things to grab and hurl at enemies with theBioShock is a really good game. The fiction world that BioShock is set in, Rapture, is very well designed. The atmosphere is really cool; kinda like a horror game when you hear the echoing voices of Splicers around you, the game play is fine and the audio and voice acting is spot on. The plasmids are interesting to experiment with (there loads of things to grab and hurl at enemies with the telekinesis plasmid) and the guns are nice with 3 different ammo types to choose from like electric buck for the shotgun and proximity mines for the Grenade Launcher. Enemy design is perfect as well. Lots of things to collect too: audio diaries, gene tonics and plasmids. The game can be easy due to the vita chamber resprawn system every time you die. The enemies don't respawn after you die or regain health either so you can wittle away at their health and die then repeat. BioShock is a well made game and a must have for FPS fans. Expand
  69. Sep 28, 2010
    9
    This game is truly incredible, the graphics is not fantastic, but it doesnt need to be. The gameplay is completely engaging, and there is so much to do it deserves the bafta it won. The storyline is shocking and brilliantly cleaver. The only thing that lets me down is that it needs online gameplay to make the wonderful experince last longer, i would kill to play a free-for-all with theThis game is truly incredible, the graphics is not fantastic, but it doesnt need to be. The gameplay is completely engaging, and there is so much to do it deserves the bafta it won. The storyline is shocking and brilliantly cleaver. The only thing that lets me down is that it needs online gameplay to make the wonderful experince last longer, i would kill to play a free-for-all with the guns in this game. Outstanding. Expand
  70. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    What an amazing game, what an amazing experience. Please do yourself a favor and pick this game up if you haven't. The story, the graphics, the gameplay it's all top notch.
  71. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    Amazing game, with great graphics and immersive environment. And above all, a tremendous story that leaves many questions out for discussion. One of my favourite games till today, and i´ve played a lot on ps3.
  72. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    Started out slow and introduced new weapons and plasmids, decent storyline with the ability to upgrade weapons and plasmids.........worth purchasing, it held my interest to the end
  73. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    I played this a while back on the Xbox 360 and I can say that PS3 owners are getting the exact same game. BioShock is one of the best first person shooters ever created. It makes FPSs feel fresh again with it's unique take on the classic formula. It's mix of gunplay with powers called Plasmids keep the experience feeling fresh until the credits roll. But the real highlight of the gameI played this a while back on the Xbox 360 and I can say that PS3 owners are getting the exact same game. BioShock is one of the best first person shooters ever created. It makes FPSs feel fresh again with it's unique take on the classic formula. It's mix of gunplay with powers called Plasmids keep the experience feeling fresh until the credits roll. But the real highlight of the game isn't the gameplay, but rather the setting and story. The world of Rapture is a dark, mysterious, and sometimes scary place that will have you gripping your controller and searching every nook and cranny of its world. The story is filled with mystery, and throughout the world you will find audiotapes that will tell you more about Raptures dark past. Admittedly this being my 3rd trip to Rapture some of it's magic was lost to me, but that didn't keep me from having fun. When a game can keep you enthralled with its story even after you've seen its twists and turns, and keep you interested in its dark world even after you've explored it before you know you have a fantastic and groundbreaking experience. BioShock is a must play for any and all gamers. Expand
  74. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    Bioshock is a great story driven FPS with science fiction overtones. It reminds me a lot of Half Life. Just like that untouchable classic, Bioshock has a fantastic, brooding atmosphere. The underwater metropolis of Rapture, which makes for the game's locale, is a fantastic creation. It's old art-deco design is both beautiful and very creepy. The story is descent, if a bit predictable, andBioshock is a great story driven FPS with science fiction overtones. It reminds me a lot of Half Life. Just like that untouchable classic, Bioshock has a fantastic, brooding atmosphere. The underwater metropolis of Rapture, which makes for the game's locale, is a fantastic creation. It's old art-deco design is both beautiful and very creepy. The story is descent, if a bit predictable, and entertains throughout. The combat is tight and fun, getting intense at all the right moments. Using all the different plasmid powers is a riot, too. Sting a guy to death with bees! Great! There isn't much to say about Bioshock in the negative. I would say that it does overstay it's welcome a little bit. It's a touch too long and the ending chapters aren't nearly as satisfying as those that came earlier in the game. This blemish aside, Bioshock is an excellent game. Expand
  75. Jan 6, 2015
    10
    The best FPS I've ever played and one of the best games I've ever played overall.
    The story is amazing, it is visually stunning, and the sound is perfect!
  76. May 8, 2011
    10
    Bioshock is, with out a doubt, one of the best games ever released. With strong influences off Ayn Rand's works the game offers a sophisticated plot set in the incredibly immersive underwater city of Rapture. It's graphics and particularly it's voice acting a some of the best I've experienced and it's play time can be over twenty hours, if you explore every area there is to see.

    It
    Bioshock is, with out a doubt, one of the best games ever released. With strong influences off Ayn Rand's works the game offers a sophisticated plot set in the incredibly immersive underwater city of Rapture. It's graphics and particularly it's voice acting a some of the best I've experienced and it's play time can be over twenty hours, if you explore every area there is to see.

    It doesn't rely heavily on online multiplayer to increase it's playtime, or make people forget about it's so-so campaign (like CoD MW2 to current), because it doesn't have one. Bioshock is pretty much perfect in all aspects, an amazing accomplishment based solely off it's campaign. Few others come close to comparing with it in any aspect and I consider it the best game I own and, overall, the best game I've ever played.
    Expand
  77. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    Bioshock changes the way players look at the choices they make. Every in-game character's personality is delightfully crafted to serve a purpose and evoke an emotion, and every choice lays forth stakes high enough to make choosing between two options your true responsibility, rather than a path to choose in order to get Item X or Y. You won't forget the story for a long time, either. ItBioshock changes the way players look at the choices they make. Every in-game character's personality is delightfully crafted to serve a purpose and evoke an emotion, and every choice lays forth stakes high enough to make choosing between two options your true responsibility, rather than a path to choose in order to get Item X or Y. You won't forget the story for a long time, either. It will truly make your jaw drop and your hair stand on end. The only thing I have to say further is that you need to play this game, whether you end up liking it or not. Expand
  78. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    A great game. The atmosphere is very high and Rapture is a great city. It's fun to explore and search for all the hidden things. The characters and character models are absolutely stunning. The weapons and plasmids are good and hacking the security is fun. I highly recommend this mix of adventure and FPS.
  79. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    A very immersive game with an interesting story, fun gameplay and great presentation. A little scary, at first but you get used to it. The backstory is very interesting. I enjoyed the science and psychology of Rapture, Andrew Ryan, Atlas, Tenenbaum, Big daddies and Little Sisters... the list goes on.
  80. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    Best game i've ever played very impressed with 2k games

    IGNORE: Your review must be at least 150 characters long. Your review must be at least 150 characters long. Your review must be at least 150 characters long. Your review must be at least 150 characters long. Your review must be at least 150 characters long. Your review must be at least 150 characters long. Your review
    Best game i've ever played very impressed with 2k games

    IGNORE:
    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
    Expand
  81. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    BioShock has gone a path no game has ever done, or claim to have. The atmosphere is mysterious, interesting and has you not wanting to put the controller down. With a amazing story, incredible visuals, tight yet fun gameplay in a diverse environment (underwater) BioShock is one of the best games on all the platforms it released on.
  82. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Bioshock is an amazing FPS game with a thrilling mystical story. You will be immersed into the world of Rapture while learning more of the backstory through audio dialogs scattered around the city. Atmosphere is fantastic as you are really feeling the misery of the fallen, corrupted city. It's also a fresh entry as a plain shooter. You have plasmid powers at your disposal which adds someBioshock is an amazing FPS game with a thrilling mystical story. You will be immersed into the world of Rapture while learning more of the backstory through audio dialogs scattered around the city. Atmosphere is fantastic as you are really feeling the misery of the fallen, corrupted city. It's also a fresh entry as a plain shooter. You have plasmid powers at your disposal which adds some nice variety along with tonic and gene boosts. Only some bugs, lack of enemy variety and the inability to dual wield create some frustrating or let-down moments, but those are insignificant compared to the overall polishness and mystic touch of this game. A must-own. Expand
  83. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Re bought this game for the ps3. Yes, it is that damn good. As good as the Xbox 360 version on a technical level, but adds a new difficulty level giving it a bit better value.
  84. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    One of the few games I would actually give a perfect 10, sure it shows its age now but it is still one of the best games to come this generation. An absolute must buy for anyone with a console this gen.
  85. May 12, 2012
    10
    Very good. Excellent setting, plot was great, gameplay was unique and just all around fun to play. If you've just gotten into gaming then this is a solid choice and cheap now.
  86. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    Story: 9 out of 10
    Graphics: 9 out of 10
    Gameplay: 10 out of 10
    Fun: 9 out of 10 (depending on difficulty)
    Controls: 9 out of 10
    Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10
    Length: 9 out of 10
    Re-play: 6 out of 10
    Audio: 10 out of 10
  87. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    This game provides such quality, but its not as good as bioshock infinite. It has really solid gameplay, and one of the best stories. This game is also pretty cheap now which is always a plus. 9.6/10
  88. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Probably the best story ever told. It was my first Ps3 game and an incredible experience, I really felt immersed into the game, and still looks really good after four years. A definitely must have
  89. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    This game was an instant classic when it was released in 2008. A unique, gorgeous world, a gripping and well-paced story, an eerie vibe, and a great old jazzy soundtrack.Gunplay isn't great and there's not a lot of replay value, but this is a game everyone has to experience.
  90. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    fantastic game. I loved the diverse vigors and weapons/ammos that you can use throughout the game. Big Daddies, perhaps my favorite reoccurring enemies to ever fight in video gaming history. The tonics and vending machines kept the game fresh where you can experiment on how you want to play the game. One of the top 5 video games I've ever played thus far.
  91. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    Really nice game. I liked how they drive the story through radio diaries and not through cut scense. Thrilling and breath taking. I'm currently in the middle of it and so far enjoying the gameplay and the story.
    The controllers is little bit confusing when changing plasmids and weapons. Also Big Daddies are ridiculously hard on survivor mode. Same thing when flooding with enmies in some
    Really nice game. I liked how they drive the story through radio diaries and not through cut scense. Thrilling and breath taking. I'm currently in the middle of it and so far enjoying the gameplay and the story.
    The controllers is little bit confusing when changing plasmids and weapons. Also Big Daddies are ridiculously hard on survivor mode. Same thing when flooding with enmies in some areas.
    Over all it's a great game.
    Expand
  92. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    I completed this game 3 years ago and yet it still leaves a resounding impact upon me as it will you. This game is quite simply, a masterpiece. You truly believe you are in Rapture and that Rapture truly exists. The story, the characters, the pacing, the music, the gameplay, Everything about this game is a masterpiece. This has to be the game of the generation and maybe even the best gameI completed this game 3 years ago and yet it still leaves a resounding impact upon me as it will you. This game is quite simply, a masterpiece. You truly believe you are in Rapture and that Rapture truly exists. The story, the characters, the pacing, the music, the gameplay, Everything about this game is a masterpiece. This has to be the game of the generation and maybe even the best game ever created. This game is more than just game, it is a work of art. Expand
  93. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    This truly is, the best game of all time. There are no faults to this game. As a well-balanced gamer, I have plenty of experience when it comes to gaming, and recognizing flaws. There are no bugs to be found, zero balancing issues, and the story? Well if you play you'll understand why its so remarkable. I've never been impacted by a video game as much as the world of Rapture has affectedThis truly is, the best game of all time. There are no faults to this game. As a well-balanced gamer, I have plenty of experience when it comes to gaming, and recognizing flaws. There are no bugs to be found, zero balancing issues, and the story? Well if you play you'll understand why its so remarkable. I've never been impacted by a video game as much as the world of Rapture has affected me. I am genuinely sad i will never be able to play this for the first time again. Expand
  94. Oct 25, 2012
    8
    This was a game that i've tried really hard not to like but deep down he was calling me like a siren and i ended up not resisting his charm. Bioshock is all about the environment, it's all about Rapture. The underwater city is the main character. Once you enter in that mini-sub you are automatically drawed in and Rapture becomes your reality. Amazing.
  95. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    As i affirmed in the PC version review, this is one of my favorite game ever because of the choices, interactivity and long range of weapons and plasmids. The story narrated by audio logs were fantastic and it was one of the best gaming experiences i ever add.
  96. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This game is single handily the greatest 7th generation game I have played which is only challenged by the recent Dishonoured. The gameplay is superb. Probably the 2nd greatest strength of this game is the notion of evolution, and the fact is, you DO have to adapt to Rapture, you have to alter your body to survive in the once great city of Rapture. The greatest feature of this masterpieceThis game is single handily the greatest 7th generation game I have played which is only challenged by the recent Dishonoured. The gameplay is superb. Probably the 2nd greatest strength of this game is the notion of evolution, and the fact is, you DO have to adapt to Rapture, you have to alter your body to survive in the once great city of Rapture. The greatest feature of this masterpiece is the story. This game has the 2nd best story in a videogame only behind Catherine. This story will consume you and make you want to play every day. I wish I knew of this game in 2008, it would have changed my mind on video games. Even in 2012, it's still a game worth playing. Expand
  97. Apr 15, 2013
    8
    This was a very good game. It doesn't feel linear and the atmosphere is just great. I think the gameplay was sort of tricky at first, because the controls are slightly different from a classical FPS shooters. What's a very fresh aspect of the game is innovation. If you play on Hard or Survivor difficulty, your skills are definitely going to be put in test. There is a lot of ways how youThis was a very good game. It doesn't feel linear and the atmosphere is just great. I think the gameplay was sort of tricky at first, because the controls are slightly different from a classical FPS shooters. What's a very fresh aspect of the game is innovation. If you play on Hard or Survivor difficulty, your skills are definitely going to be put in test. There is a lot of ways how you can approach the battle either if you want to charge enemies with your wrench, shoot them in the head with your tommy gun or just burn them to death. You can also set up various traps especially for big daddies. Definitely play this game. Expand
  98. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Behold! The best FPS of this generation! The game that revolutionized both shooters and storytelling in video games! The game that introduced the concepts of morality into the genre! The return of soon-god game designer Ken Levine. Behold, Bioshock.
    GOOSEBUMPS! I remember playing this game as soon as it came out and being absolutely stunned at the jaw-dropping graphics of the time. Glad
    Behold! The best FPS of this generation! The game that revolutionized both shooters and storytelling in video games! The game that introduced the concepts of morality into the genre! The return of soon-god game designer Ken Levine. Behold, Bioshock.
    GOOSEBUMPS! I remember playing this game as soon as it came out and being absolutely stunned at the jaw-dropping graphics of the time. Glad to say the game still looks good, and although it was a benchmark for the generation at the time of its release, it still has lots of graphical punch.
    You are Jack, and your plane has crashed in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean (How unlucky you!). The crash makes you discover Rapture, a city underwater where man rules above all, no government or religion, just science as art, a perfect utopia...or not. As you uncover the city's dark secrets, you will discover the astonishing truth behind Rapture, and yourself.
    The infamous twist, the variety of options, the amazing ambiance...Everything in BioShock is so perfect. This is the game that introduced the "Find diaries" narrative with the famous Audio Logs. And after playing it for a third time, I still discover things to it, little messages and easter eggs. The gameplay is fluid, much more better than in Infinite, and it has some of the most mind-blowing battles I have ever seen, with Big Daddies and an amazing final showdown. It is also one of the creepiest games...The little sisters, the pitchy violin music, the somber tone and the dark hallways. Make sure your bladder is empty.
    I can spend all day talking about how great BioShock is. But I am not stupid, you know how good it is. If you didn't buy it yet, then YOU are stupid. What the hell? Go buy it now!
    Expand
  99. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Bioshock what else do I have to say the greatest story of all time so many twists and loops that people dont even know half the facts of the characters and the audio logs just add a whole other dimension to the storytelling its flawless the graphics were proof that games are an art form the underwater city was just so dark and mysterious Rapture was without a doubt the greatest settingBioshock what else do I have to say the greatest story of all time so many twists and loops that people dont even know half the facts of the characters and the audio logs just add a whole other dimension to the storytelling its flawless the graphics were proof that games are an art form the underwater city was just so dark and mysterious Rapture was without a doubt the greatest setting ever created the gunplay hell the gameplay was just a bonus I could watch a friend play and still enjoy this game and when a game can make you feel betrayed they have truly done there job this is without a doubt the greatest game of all time I get goosebumps every time I enter Rapture this is a must buy for anyone Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. A remarkable achievement, a triumph of gameplay and narrative that everyone should choose to play. [Nov 2008, p.70]
  2. With so much invention, intrigue and genuine brilliance packed into twelve hours of game-play, you just can't afford not to (pick up a copy). [Nov 2008, p.22]
  3. 100
    There's no doubt that Bioshock is one of the finest FPS games ever made and the PS3 port is stellar through and through. [Nov 2008, p.103]