User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 718 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 718

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    This game is perfect, the story is probably the best part, if you don't care for story in video games and go straight to multiplayer then your wasting your time thinking of buying this game
  2. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    Epic. I was completely immersed in this game and the world Levine and co. created. This game had a great balance of story telling within the game (to the point where I actually cared about the Little Sisters) and guilty pleasure (mowing down Splicer never got old). The soundtrack and beautifully detailed environment really enriched the experience. Redefines the genre and shoots the medium to new heights. You have to play this game. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    Masterpiece is just the word too use, there has been so few with innovation, beauty and perfection. Bioshock is no doubt one of the greatest games of all time and other's should appreciate and be inspired by what it accomplished for gaming.
  4. Feb 14, 2011
    5
    I can sum up the gameplay of this game in one word - BORING. I played about halfway through the game and was too bored to continue, so I just gave up. The atmosphere and concept behind this game are interesting...but the gameplay (the most important part of any game) is repetitive and dull....very repetitive: walk into a room, shoot some enemies...walk into another room, shoot some enemies....there's no problem solving and no thinking required for this game...No strategy, no freedom...just walk into rooms and shoot the same enemies over and over and over and over. This type of stale gameplay is what makes me really appreciate games like Half Life 2, or GTA - those games really tried to make the gameplay something special. They required you to think and gave you freedom to do missions how you like. Bioshock just felt like I was walking through one scripted scenario after another...they even had arrows telling you where to go half the time. So many games these days get inflated scores - I suspect that reviewers want to appease the game companies so the game companies will keep giving the reviewers exclusive previews and info....as a result, you have a bunch of mediocre games getting scores in the 9-10 range, when an honest reviewer would give them a 5 or 6. Bioshock is yet another game that seems to get high scores solely for it's graphics and storyline...once again reviewers failed to factor the stale, repetitive gameplay into their scores. Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2011
    3
    i could not play this game it was too creepy and there is no way of knowing where you are supposed to go and i endded up getting lost so sorry to say but this game fell short and i soon traded it in after i bought it
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    What needs to be said about this game has already been said a million times over. There's nothing left to say. The game is damn near perfect. If you don't like this game, you're probably a tard
  7. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Best fps game ever IMO. Enjoyed it from the start, the slow pace and the free roaming expects of the game. Graphics are quite impressive, and handling of weapons is so awesome. Epic is the word best to describe Bioshock.
  8. Feb 5, 2012
    8
    Bioshock es la muestra de los nuevos juegos de 1st Person Shooter de esta generacion, seguro que mas adelante veremos clones o secuelas de esta saga, Rapture una ciudad ambientada en los 50's bajo el agua por distintas razones entre politica y caos mental, con un personaje protagonico que interesa la forma en la que se deshace de sus enemigos a traves de plasmidos y balas, buena trama excelentes graficos, atmosfera como de clinica mental y una musica que hace que quieras estar con alaguien al lado por eso del suspenso in extremis, recomendado como un must de esta generacion Expand
  9. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    Best inmersive experience I have ever seen on videogames.

    Great story, it keeps your attention all along the game. The crazy word and characters, the art-decó style, the music.... everything helps into the inmersive experience
  10. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Uno de los mejores juegos a los que he jugado. El argumento es genial, la historia de Rapture es muy curiosa e interesante. La jugabilidad es muy buena, muy dinámica porque cuando mueres reapareces en prácticamente en el mismo sitio y con el daño que le hayas hecho al malo o malos que te hayan matado acumulado, de forma que aunque te quedes casi sin munición, siempre puedes luchar hasta matarlo, lo que hace el juego más dinámico en mi opinión. Permite una amplia personalización de las armas. La ambientación y los escenarios son lo mejor, recrea la América de los años 50 con un toque gótico añadido. El juego tiene sus dosis de terror y de sustos, pero es acción pura. Expand
  11. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Bioshock exceeds in every expectation you ever had in a first person shooter.It simply starts with one of the greatest introductions I've ever seen, showing the ravaged city of Rapture, and although it may seem strange the protagonist in the beginning, the more you venture through this world, the more you realize how great the story is.It simply goes beyond every kind of action fueled FPS and dives into an amazing single player experience that I'm sure many people can't ever forget.

    This all the way without even mentioning the great gameplay, which is a mix of the Plasmids you'll find throughout the world, great set of guns and tonics, altogether with great challenges of environment that has also been amazingly created filled with many items to scavenge and enemies from simple Splicers to Big Daddies.
    In the end the experience goes beyond anything you might expect, achieving an unforgettable experience with unique characters.
    Expand
  12. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    This game is easily among the greatest FPS games of all time, and it's certainly my favorite. The concept is intriguing, the atmosphere is spot on, the gunplay is unique with the addition of Gene Tonics and Plasmids, the voice acting is brilliant, the characters are well-developed, the setting has a very well-thought-out backstory, and the plot is superb. Although the game does have its framerate tanks and backtracking, the plot more than makes up for that with spectacular plot turns and twists. I won't spoil the game for you, but BioShock has the best plot twist of any game... Ever. That alone would put the game on my top ten, but the rest of the game's great qualities puts it at my #1 spot. Expand
  13. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    I love Bioshock. It has to be my favorite PS3 game I've played yet. The story captured me and kept my attention, something that very rarely happens to me. I never had any lag, combat was smooth, there are plenty of power-ups and abilities....... I just really, REALLY like this game.
  14. May 19, 2011
    9
    For once, an FPS that poses a challenge.

    But calling BioShock merely an FPS would be a disservice to the video gaming geniuses behind this. The stellar atmosphere and fabulous immersion in the city of Rapture. The graphics have gotten a little aged over the years, but this is still a phenomenal game that everyone must have. Seriously. If you don't have BioShock, but have a good gaming PC
    or a console, then you barely qualify as human. Expand
  15. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    What makes BioShock such a great game? Well...It's probably the presentation and story, because the shooting doesn't differ from any other FPS out there, although it is perfect. The graphics haven't aged too well, but that could just be the art design. What makes the presentation and story so good is how original and well written it is. It all takes place in a run down underwater city called Rapture run by the capitalist nutcase Andrew Ryan. Here you face its viscous citizens, specifically the splicers and the monstrous big daddies. The story is full of big twists and turns and actually gives you a feeling of despair, despite not really having that kind of survival horror design. BioShock is an amazing game that gives an experience so sublime, none of Call of Duty's setpieces can hold a candle to it. Expand
  16. Aug 22, 2010
    7
    While I didnt love this game, Its a solid shooter none the less which allows you to complete the game with alot more choice compared to other FPS game out there
    The main thing I found amazing about the game is just how emersive the world is, almost everything is interective, sinks, pans, vending machines, you name it
    Guns are very good aswell with a great uniqueness to them, but even
    better are the Plasmids and gene tonics, which can be bought at different places throughout the world, this will give you the chance to buy certain ones on your first playthrough and others on your next, giving you more choice in how you complete the game. You could try completing the game predominantly with the wrench and pistol, or you could use just Plasmids
    The AI is great aswell, and it seemed to me like each enemy had their own personality.
    On the other hand the game does have its drawbacks
    The main one is simply that while you can complete the game in different combat ways, each playthrough basically works the same, the same path to the end, and the same bosses.
    Along the way you find little sisters, who contain ADAM, a currency in the game, you can choose to kill them and get lots of ADAM, or save them and get less ADAM. The problem is that even if you dont kill them, you will still get enough ADAM to make it through the game with lots of accessories
    I didnt like the endings either, and while they had moral messages within them, they were too short and left me confused until I looked on Wikipedia later
    Bioshock is hard to rate in my opinion
    While on one side it is an exelently innovative and emersive game that gives you plenty of things to do and find, it is very linear.
    But if your thinking of getting Bioshock 2, I would definatly consider getting this game as it will help you understand the game alot more
    Expand
  17. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    This game is FANTASTIC if you are capable of enjoying atmosphere and a deep/compelling story. It is not a game for twitch gamers. The FPS mechanics are a bit sluggish, especially by current standards, but combat is not the central focus of the game (though it is a major part). This game is all about surviving as the story unfolds, and it is really a great story. The citizens of Rapture are so crazy/funny, and the atmosphere of the city itself is amazing. Definitely will go down as one of the classic games of this generation. Expand
  18. Oct 6, 2010
    9
    Pound for pound the best game of the current generation. The gameplay is sublime, in terms of the challenges it presents, the RPG-like feeling of development and progression that comes the plasmid and tonic upgrade system, and the general tidiness of the controls. Atmospherically, I can't think of a game (at least in the current generation) that comes close to what Bioshock achieves. Story-wise, it's fantastic; as a philosophy post-grad I loved the Ayn Rand influence and theme, but there's also something in it for those who are less pretentious than I am.

    Why not a 10/10? Well, for one, the final boss battle is a little anti-climatic given how strong and powerful you get by the end of the game. It was probably one of the easiest boss fights I've played. I also have a problem with 'choice' that you are presented with throughout the game (trying to avoid a spiler here!) as given that one choice ultimately yields the same reward as the other choice, only later on, then it all seems a bit superficial. But nevertheless, Bioshock is terrific.
    Expand
  19. Sep 6, 2010
    9
    BioShock is a really good game. The fiction world that BioShock is set in, Rapture, is very well designed. The atmosphere is really cool; kinda like a horror game when you hear the echoing voices of Splicers around you, the game play is fine and the audio and voice acting is spot on. The plasmids are interesting to experiment with (there loads of things to grab and hurl at enemies with the telekinesis plasmid) and the guns are nice with 3 different ammo types to choose from like electric buck for the shotgun and proximity mines for the Grenade Launcher. Enemy design is perfect as well. Lots of things to collect too: audio diaries, gene tonics and plasmids. The game can be easy due to the vita chamber resprawn system every time you die. The enemies don't respawn after you die or regain health either so you can wittle away at their health and die then repeat. BioShock is a well made game and a must have for FPS fans. Expand
  20. Sep 28, 2010
    9
    This game is truly incredible, the graphics is not fantastic, but it doesnt need to be. The gameplay is completely engaging, and there is so much to do it deserves the bafta it won. The storyline is shocking and brilliantly cleaver. The only thing that lets me down is that it needs online gameplay to make the wonderful experince last longer, i would kill to play a free-for-all with the guns in this game. Outstanding. Expand
  21. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    What an amazing game, what an amazing experience. Please do yourself a favor and pick this game up if you haven't. The story, the graphics, the gameplay it's all top notch.
  22. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    Amazing game, with great graphics and immersive environment. And above all, a tremendous story that leaves many questions out for discussion. One of my favourite games till today, and i´ve played a lot on ps3.
  23. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    Started out slow and introduced new weapons and plasmids, decent storyline with the ability to upgrade weapons and plasmids.........worth purchasing, it held my interest to the end
  24. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    This game came out of no where and really impressed me. This game had a unique ambiance and setting, and the story was fantastic. One of the most unique FPS games out there to say the least. This may not be the game for everyone but as a long time gamer I found this to be refreshingly "different" than anything else I had ever played. It is definitely somewhat dark and twisted but entertaining and definitely a game to try if you missed it and are looking to try something off the beaten path. I'd give this one 92 out of 100 Expand
  25. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    I played this a while back on the Xbox 360 and I can say that PS3 owners are getting the exact same game. BioShock is one of the best first person shooters ever created. It makes FPSs feel fresh again with it's unique take on the classic formula. It's mix of gunplay with powers called Plasmids keep the experience feeling fresh until the credits roll. But the real highlight of the game isn't the gameplay, but rather the setting and story. The world of Rapture is a dark, mysterious, and sometimes scary place that will have you gripping your controller and searching every nook and cranny of its world. The story is filled with mystery, and throughout the world you will find audiotapes that will tell you more about Raptures dark past. Admittedly this being my 3rd trip to Rapture some of it's magic was lost to me, but that didn't keep me from having fun. When a game can keep you enthralled with its story even after you've seen its twists and turns, and keep you interested in its dark world even after you've explored it before you know you have a fantastic and groundbreaking experience. BioShock is a must play for any and all gamers. Expand
  26. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    Bioshock is a great story driven FPS with science fiction overtones. It reminds me a lot of Half Life. Just like that untouchable classic, Bioshock has a fantastic, brooding atmosphere. The underwater metropolis of Rapture, which makes for the game's locale, is a fantastic creation. It's old art-deco design is both beautiful and very creepy. The story is descent, if a bit predictable, and entertains throughout. The combat is tight and fun, getting intense at all the right moments. Using all the different plasmid powers is a riot, too. Sting a guy to death with bees! Great! There isn't much to say about Bioshock in the negative. I would say that it does overstay it's welcome a little bit. It's a touch too long and the ending chapters aren't nearly as satisfying as those that came earlier in the game. This blemish aside, Bioshock is an excellent game. Expand
  27. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    A game so brilliant has never been created before Bioshock. Story telling at it's finest in ANY artistic medium. Bioshock questions the very philosophy of linearity in video games, the pursuit of power, the ongoing struggle between governments and their people, and the very essence of human nature. If the story's many twists and turns don't have your jaw on the floor. The mind blowingly impressive artistic direction and level design are sure to do the trick. Add on creative and original combat that has you combining the elements of nature with your environment to outsmart and out muscle your enemy, and you have an instant classic. The best game of 2007 and one of my top 10 of all time Expand
  28. May 8, 2011
    10
    Bioshock is, with out a doubt, one of the best games ever released. With strong influences off Ayn Rand's works the game offers a sophisticated plot set in the incredibly immersive underwater city of Rapture. It's graphics and particularly it's voice acting a some of the best I've experienced and it's play time can be over twenty hours, if you explore every area there is to see.

    It
    doesn't rely heavily on online multiplayer to increase it's playtime, or make people forget about it's so-so campaign (like CoD MW2 to current), because it doesn't have one. Bioshock is pretty much perfect in all aspects, an amazing accomplishment based solely off it's campaign. Few others come close to comparing with it in any aspect and I consider it the best game I own and, overall, the best game I've ever played. Expand
  29. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    Bioshock changes the way players look at the choices they make. Every in-game character's personality is delightfully crafted to serve a purpose and evoke an emotion, and every choice lays forth stakes high enough to make choosing between two options your true responsibility, rather than a path to choose in order to get Item X or Y. You won't forget the story for a long time, either. It will truly make your jaw drop and your hair stand on end. The only thing I have to say further is that you need to play this game, whether you end up liking it or not. Expand
  30. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    A great game. The atmosphere is very high and Rapture is a great city. It's fun to explore and search for all the hidden things. The characters and character models are absolutely stunning. The weapons and plasmids are good and hacking the security is fun. I highly recommend this mix of adventure and FPS.
  31. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    A very immersive game with an interesting story, fun gameplay and great presentation. A little scary, at first but you get used to it. The backstory is very interesting. I enjoyed the science and psychology of Rapture, Andrew Ryan, Atlas, Tenenbaum, Big daddies and Little Sisters... the list goes on.
  32. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    Best game i've ever played very impressed with 2k games IGNORE: Your review must be at least 150 characters long. Your review must be at least 150 characters long. Your review must be at least 150 characters long. Your review must be at least 150 characters long. Your review must be at least 150 characters long. Your review must be at least 150 characters long. Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
    Expand
  33. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    BioShock has gone a path no game has ever done, or claim to have. The atmosphere is mysterious, interesting and has you not wanting to put the controller down. With a amazing story, incredible visuals, tight yet fun gameplay in a diverse environment (underwater) BioShock is one of the best games on all the platforms it released on.
  34. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Bioshock is an amazing FPS game with a thrilling mystical story. You will be immersed into the world of Rapture while learning more of the backstory through audio dialogs scattered around the city. Atmosphere is fantastic as you are really feeling the misery of the fallen, corrupted city. It's also a fresh entry as a plain shooter. You have plasmid powers at your disposal which adds some nice variety along with tonic and gene boosts. Only some bugs, lack of enemy variety and the inability to dual wield create some frustrating or let-down moments, but those are insignificant compared to the overall polishness and mystic touch of this game. A must-own. Expand
  35. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Re bought this game for the ps3. Yes, it is that damn good. As good as the Xbox 360 version on a technical level, but adds a new difficulty level giving it a bit better value.
  36. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    One of the few games I would actually give a perfect 10, sure it shows its age now but it is still one of the best games to come this generation. An absolute must buy for anyone with a console this gen.
  37. Mar 7, 2013
    5
    Not that impressed. It was a game i beat. I was kind of annoyed by the whole thing by the end. I did love the opening scene leading in to the mid way plot twist. But the game play was just dragging along.
  38. May 12, 2012
    10
    Very good. Excellent setting, plot was great, gameplay was unique and just all around fun to play. If you've just gotten into gaming then this is a solid choice and cheap now.
  39. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    Story: 9 out of 10
    Graphics: 9 out of 10
    Gameplay: 10 out of 10
    Fun: 9 out of 10 (depending on difficulty)
    Controls: 9 out of 10
    Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10
    Length: 9 out of 10
    Re-play: 6 out of 10
    Audio: 10 out of 10
  40. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    This game provides such quality, but its not as good as bioshock infinite. It has really solid gameplay, and one of the best stories. This game is also pretty cheap now which is always a plus. 9.6/10
  41. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Probably the best story ever told. It was my first Ps3 game and an incredible experience, I really felt immersed into the game, and still looks really good after four years. A definitely must have
  42. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    This game was an instant classic when it was released in 2008. A unique, gorgeous world, a gripping and well-paced story, an eerie vibe, and a great old jazzy soundtrack.Gunplay isn't great and there's not a lot of replay value, but this is a game everyone has to experience.
  43. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    fantastic game. I loved the diverse vigors and weapons/ammos that you can use throughout the game. Big Daddies, perhaps my favorite reoccurring enemies to ever fight in video gaming history. The tonics and vending machines kept the game fresh where you can experiment on how you want to play the game. One of the top 5 video games I've ever played thus far.
  44. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    Really nice game. I liked how they drive the story through radio diaries and not through cut scense. Thrilling and breath taking. I'm currently in the middle of it and so far enjoying the gameplay and the story.
    The controllers is little bit confusing when changing plasmids and weapons. Also Big Daddies are ridiculously hard on survivor mode. Same thing when flooding with enmies in some
    areas.
    Over all it's a great game.
    Expand
  45. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    I completed this game 3 years ago and yet it still leaves a resounding impact upon me as it will you. This game is quite simply, a masterpiece. You truly believe you are in Rapture and that Rapture truly exists. The story, the characters, the pacing, the music, the gameplay, Everything about this game is a masterpiece. This has to be the game of the generation and maybe even the best game ever created. This game is more than just game, it is a work of art. Expand
  46. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    This truly is, the best game of all time. There are no faults to this game. As a well-balanced gamer, I have plenty of experience when it comes to gaming, and recognizing flaws. There are no bugs to be found, zero balancing issues, and the story? Well if you play you'll understand why its so remarkable. I've never been impacted by a video game as much as the world of Rapture has affected me. I am genuinely sad i will never be able to play this for the first time again. Expand
  47. Oct 25, 2012
    8
    This was a game that i've tried really hard not to like but deep down he was calling me like a siren and i ended up not resisting his charm. Bioshock is all about the environment, it's all about Rapture. The underwater city is the main character. Once you enter in that mini-sub you are automatically drawed in and Rapture becomes your reality. Amazing.
  48. Jan 27, 2014
    1
    I'm truly not a hater of any game but I really don't understand the reason for the high scores, to me this game was boring, the story somehow original, and the horrible controls, that didn't help.
  49. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    As i affirmed in the PC version review, this is one of my favorite game ever because of the choices, interactivity and long range of weapons and plasmids. The story narrated by audio logs were fantastic and it was one of the best gaming experiences i ever add.
  50. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This game is single handily the greatest 7th generation game I have played which is only challenged by the recent Dishonoured. The gameplay is superb. Probably the 2nd greatest strength of this game is the notion of evolution, and the fact is, you DO have to adapt to Rapture, you have to alter your body to survive in the once great city of Rapture. The greatest feature of this masterpiece is the story. This game has the 2nd best story in a videogame only behind Catherine. This story will consume you and make you want to play every day. I wish I knew of this game in 2008, it would have changed my mind on video games. Even in 2012, it's still a game worth playing. Expand
  51. Apr 15, 2013
    8
    This was a very good game. It doesn't feel linear and the atmosphere is just great. I think the gameplay was sort of tricky at first, because the controls are slightly different from a classical FPS shooters. What's a very fresh aspect of the game is innovation. If you play on Hard or Survivor difficulty, your skills are definitely going to be put in test. There is a lot of ways how you can approach the battle either if you want to charge enemies with your wrench, shoot them in the head with your tommy gun or just burn them to death. You can also set up various traps especially for big daddies. Definitely play this game. Expand
  52. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Behold! The best FPS of this generation! The game that revolutionized both shooters and storytelling in video games! The game that introduced the concepts of morality into the genre! The return of soon-god game designer Ken Levine. Behold, Bioshock.
    GOOSEBUMPS! I remember playing this game as soon as it came out and being absolutely stunned at the jaw-dropping graphics of the time. Glad
    to say the game still looks good, and although it was a benchmark for the generation at the time of its release, it still has lots of graphical punch.
    You are Jack, and your plane has crashed in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean (How unlucky you!). The crash makes you discover Rapture, a city underwater where man rules above all, no government or religion, just science as art, a perfect utopia...or not. As you uncover the city's dark secrets, you will discover the astonishing truth behind Rapture, and yourself.
    The infamous twist, the variety of options, the amazing ambiance...Everything in BioShock is so perfect. This is the game that introduced the "Find diaries" narrative with the famous Audio Logs. And after playing it for a third time, I still discover things to it, little messages and easter eggs. The gameplay is fluid, much more better than in Infinite, and it has some of the most mind-blowing battles I have ever seen, with Big Daddies and an amazing final showdown. It is also one of the creepiest games...The little sisters, the pitchy violin music, the somber tone and the dark hallways. Make sure your bladder is empty.
    I can spend all day talking about how great BioShock is. But I am not stupid, you know how good it is. If you didn't buy it yet, then YOU are stupid. What the hell? Go buy it now!
    Expand
  53. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Bioshock what else do I have to say the greatest story of all time so many twists and loops that people dont even know half the facts of the characters and the audio logs just add a whole other dimension to the storytelling its flawless the graphics were proof that games are an art form the underwater city was just so dark and mysterious Rapture was without a doubt the greatest setting ever created the gunplay hell the gameplay was just a bonus I could watch a friend play and still enjoy this game and when a game can make you feel betrayed they have truly done there job this is without a doubt the greatest game of all time I get goosebumps every time I enter Rapture this is a must buy for anyone Expand
  54. Aug 31, 2013
    7
    Ok, in my eyes this is not as good as a game as everyone says it is. The game itself is good, I liked the story, I liked the location and I liked the weapons and the characters. So why do this game get a 7/10 while others are giving it 9s and 10s.
    Well, there are a few reasons why I don't think it is "perfect" like people have said it is. First off, the weapons are good but a little bit
    too consistent, by which I mean you get the wrench, machine gun, revolver and shotgun about ten minutes after you start the game, which kind of makes you a bit overpowered early on and don't get a long time to get used to them.
    Then, when getting attacked by enemies, they either are able to beat in two hits with your wrench or you have to waste all your ammo on taking one down and then scrounge for replacement ammo.
    The thrill of fighting a Big Daddy wares away after you've fought one of the types once and saving the little sister also gives you ADAM which helps you throughout the way, but come on, at least ad some verity to saving or harvesting them. Oh and don't get me started on those security cameras.
    The plasmids are sort of forgettable except for incinerate and shock, while the others I used when the game required me too.
    Plus the lighting also gets me, one room is bright and full of colours and the next is dark and dingy, I wish they could of kept this constant. Also, I didn't get scared once in this game.
    In all Bioshock is a good game, but not as good as the "perfect" status people give it
    Expand
  55. May 19, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bio Shock is a Hyped-up game. Yeah, i know that everyone likes to say that in this days, but i am not saying this game is bad, it´s actually a great game. The problems i had with this game where:
    1.- Everyone told me that this game was "The best game ever" so i believed them. My expectations where very high.
    2.-2k sells you this game as a FPS. This is not a "F" FPS. This game actually reminds me more to a Zelda game to any other FPS I have ever played.
    3.- The reason beacuse this game is not an FPS its that AIMING SUCKS. Firing from the hip is satisfying, but very innacurate, and the sight was either very innaccurate or too slow.
    4.- People also told me that this game had one of the better stories ever. This is not true. A guy ends up at the sea, reveals the truth behind a hidden utopia and "Would you kindly?" Thats everything! The only things I like in the history is the Good Ending, beacuse it actually made cry. All The Little sisters, with you until the day you die, and the Little Sisters Big Daddys story. But not everything in this game is bad. Except for the Aiming the gameplay is excellent, the hacking minigames are entertaining, plasmids are very fun to use and exploration it´s also very cool. It´s the most immersive game i´ve ever played after Far Cry 3. So in conclusion this game isn´t terrible, but it is really hyped up.
    Expand
  56. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    Bioshock is an awesome game with a great story, great graphics, great characters and a great atmostphere!! I can't wait to see where Irrational is gonna take this series next!
  57. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This game renewed my love in gaming and showed me that video games can be smart and beautiful at the same time. Anyone stuck in a rut these days with lackluster CoD games or even newer releases, be sure to look for this game somewhere. You won't regret it one bit!
  58. Mar 25, 2013
    6
    Well... let me begin by saying I enjoyed this game for what it was however I've always thought this one to be overrated by both critics and gamers: it's not that great a shooter, it doesn't have that great of a story and overall not that impressive of a video-game, I could tackle every aspect but I wan't to focus on what I liked, Rapture itself, the place it's a marvel of design in games no doubt... but I think that's it for me... I say it's good on it's own merits... Expand
  59. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    Amazing, stunning, a masterpiece... Words can´t describe what i just experienced. An engaging story, new and fresh gameplay and choices that will hunt me in my dreams... Bioshock is perfect.
  60. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    There is no other game that is like this. Every game that has come out since this I compare to BioShock. It has gotten to a point where my girlfriend and I point out places in games and movies ad TV shows parts and things that happen that are "very BioShock". I really don't know another way to describe it other than it is as perfect as any video game could be.
  61. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    This is a brilliant game, from the story, to the graphics, to the weapons, to the vigors, to the enemies. Everything is fresh and doesn't feel like a generic fps shooter
  62. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    one of the best games out there to date the story is great combat is good and the use of eve and plasmids mixes things up the atmosphere is so creepy youll be looking around at every noise perfect game perfect score
  63. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    What can I say about Bioshock? Well... the game is amazing and is an experience that you should not miss. The setting and environment in Bioshock is amazing and breathtaking. I here people say that this game does not live up to today standards, but i disagree. The graphics are amazing for a game that came out in 2007. The gameplay interesting and fun, and does not get repetitive. All these plasmids you collect can change the way you face your enemies and interact with the environment. The story is interesting and very enjoyable. The story is told through audio logs and radio messages between the characters and your character. Some people may find that as a turn off, but once you get use to it, i won't bother you. Overall, Bioshock is an amazing game and one of the best games of this generation. Expand
  64. Aug 8, 2013
    7
    Not a bad game, but now and again the atmosphere felt a bit borrowed from Fall out 3, but obviously the gameplay is more linear. The Action and the story were both good, I just felt it lacked something, but I can't put my finger on what it is.
  65. Jan 11, 2014
    9
    Amazing game. I got around to playing this game when I bought Bioshock Infinite, and I have to say, this game was really good. First the visuals. They look great. Sound effects, brilliant. You can locate where enemies may be much like with the early Resident Evil games. The set pieces help to make Rapture (One of the greatest places in gaming) feel claustrophobic and alone. Gameplay is very unique. You'll be switching between using standard gun weaponry and a wrench with plasmids, types of weapons that give unique powers such as fire, electricity and the bees. Gameplay also includes hacking sections which can make purchasable items cheaper and make turrets obey you. One interesting aspect is that you don't die in this game. You get partially healed and you lose some of your money. It's interesting and it helps save backtracking. Now for the plot. It is one of the most unique one's ever. You end up crash landing into the sea where you discover a lighthouse that takes you to Rapture, a city free from political ideals, royalty and where everyone man woman and child are entitled to everything they work for. You discover that the city is undergoing an uprising, led by a man named Fontaine to take down Andrew Ryan, the creator of Rapture. You're guided by a man named Atlas, and you start your journey to find Ryan and escape from Rapture. Overall, it is a fantastic game, sure the endings can be a little meh, but everything lead up to it is amazing, and the plot twist near the end is amazing. 9.2/10 Expand
  66. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    Even though this game is an action FPS, it really doesn't seem like it. It goes beyond the expectations of the genre, adding so much in terms of RPG elements, ability combinations, and skill building that it becomes more like an RPG than an FPS, but not as much as games like Borderlands of Fallout 3. The custom engine that this game runs on takes a lot to get used to, which makes the beginning half of the game pretty frustrating, but the extremely original and immersive world and the good storytelling is enough to keep you invested.

    There are a few things that drag this game down though, such as the weird custom engine that I mentioned, and also a few other things. The system of vita chambers and having no penalty for dying, plus the hard difficulty when trying to kill a big daddy seems very odd, especially when trying to kill a big daddy. I've never played a game where you can basically go though the entire game on the hardest difficulty, without building any skills or learning how to play the game properly, and still make it to the end.
    Expand
  67. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    Simply fantastic. Only just come to this game years after it was originally released but its still fantastic. Kind of reminds me of half life in that respect. Epic story, fantastical location, simply amazing.
  68. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    It is very good at being SystemShock2 revamped. I love the atmosphere and the graphics. The story is very well done. Few control issues for this version, it is very awkward and there is no way to change them. I easily fixed this with a third-party Nyko controller so it wasn't a big deal for me, if you have some extra cash to spare I would recommend dropping it on a Nyko Raver controller to make up for the games wack controls, (turns out other games do the same using the trigger flippers for shooting and that proves very difficult for what most grew up with on Playstation). The moral system isn't very challenging, moral choices should be hard choices to make. Here everyone will choose to rescue the little sisters. Overall worth a play, better than most fps games. It has its issues but this installment in this franchise will prove revolutionary for games in the future. Expand
  69. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Story: 9 out of 10
    Graphics: 10 out of 10
    Fun: 10 out of 10
    Controls: 9 out of 10
    Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10
    Length: 9 out of 10
    Re-play: 6 out of 10
    Value: 10 out of 10
  70. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    In my opinion bioshock is one of the best if not the best video games of this generation. First off you have to consider that for a game released in 2007 the graphics were phenominal and were ahead of it's time. The best thing about this game is the world and the story, i have neever been so immersed in the world, story, and characters before. I would also like to point out that the combat and character improvement is perfected here which makes combat in rapture fun and exciting. So with the amazing world of rapture iconic enemies(big daddies) fun combat and memorable story bioshock is a masterpiece. Expand
  71. Apr 24, 2014
    8
    You can see its age. The enemies are copies of varied templates and you have to shoot them. They can appear as rather mindless. Repetitive shoot and progress. Hell, the way the gameplay, enemies, controls and all appeared to be of the previous generation. And yeah there is a boss fight at the end. Sorry, but thanks to The Last of Us boss fights are overrated. But it was only one and it appeared to be a befitting way to end the game. Still, for an FPS it was impressive. They proved that you can still work a story with it. I never thought I would bother with an FPS again but this gave me pause for thought. What I admired was the way it worked the philosophy of objectivism into it. It actually got me thinking 'what if'. I wish the protagonist wasn't so lifeless. Apart from progressing forward it didn't feel that Jack had a role to play in the story. I wouldn't place Bioshock among the more recent games I've enjoyed, but I do think it was a classic worth playing and shouldn't be missed. Generally I still won't try FPS games as I don't like the gameplay, but I am looking forward to play Bioshock Infinity as an exception. Expand
  72. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Is a good game, but personally, is an overrated game. The game offers multiple combat options, where we can combine the items in many ways. The game have a good history (but isn´t great), the history is told through the radios, that wen can find along the adventure. I bought the game because all the trade press talked very good of the game, but I was a bit disappointed, although it is true, that I´m especially fan the FPS games. Expand
  73. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    I think that this videogame has done history. Its amazing and I love it. The characters are so funny, for example, Little Sisters and Big Daddy . Purchase this game
  74. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    I am very late but after playing Infinite and loving it and wanting to play the DLC content I was urged to play the original game for the DLC to make sense. Well I played it and LOVED IT! As much as Infinite. As soon as I stepped into the dark world of Rapture I was hooked. The art deco style in ruins was weirdly beautiful. I started feeling sorry for the Splicers and Big Daddies and adored the Little Sisters. I was shocked that I loved it this much. I was never a big FPS fan but after playing these Bioshock games they are really starting to grow on me. This game is a must have!! The ending was amazing and quite shocking. I will get more than one play through out of this even if it is just to collect all the audio diaries! I officially am a Bioshock fan Expand
  75. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    THE BEST GAME OF 2007, seriously, the part of the game it's the story, and the characters too, this game deserves a place in your collection , seriously.
  76. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    This is by far one of the greatest achievements in gaming history. I actually prefer the original bioshock over infinite mainly because the setting and atmosphere appeal to me personally. This is one of the only shooters I have ever played that can hold its own against the gaming powerhouse that is half-life 2 and that should speak for itself.
  77. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    one of the most beautiful games I have ever played. BioSchock's Rapture is one of the most dark and fascinating video game worlds ever with so much detail. the plot is complex and mind bending with little to no holes. great original and stylistic mechanics with the use of plasmids and weapons that sound and feel satisfying. enemies are always a challenge, especially the big daddy's, and making the choice between harvesting or saving a little sister always had me weighing the benefits and of each decision even though I personally always chose to save them. This game is holder to one of the greatest mind f**ks of all time and is also one of the most memorable game moments of all time. If you havn't played this game yet, you don't know what your missing. Expand
  78. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    Wow, Bioshock, were to start...I did not play this game until recently, and i regret holding it off for so long. The game's atmosphere and setting are so unique: Mysterious and dangerous, yet beatiful to look at. There is not a single moment i dont feel on edge while playing, since the game manages to feel creepy and even scary, without the use of any jump-scares. Another thing to love about this game are the many tonics and power-ups you collect as you progress through the story, and the great battles you have with the big daddies to buy upgrades. And of course the story, which takes you on a roller coaster through rapture and has an amazing plot twist. Now, would you kindly play this game? Expand
  79. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    This game is a masterpiece and a perfect score 10/10.I like the graphics,story,guns,challenges,tonics and the multiplayer.You can upgrade your weapons,hack machines,find other things and harvest or save little sisters to get some Adam to buy perks but i really enjoyed this game so much on my PS3.

    GameSpot rated this game 9.0/10

    IGN rated this game 9.4/10
  80. Sep 23, 2014
    9
    A phenomenal and unique adventure, rich with atmosphere. The story may drop away in the final third but this is still a riveting tale with a wonderful twist (providing it doesn't get spoiled for you beforehand). The slightly cartoon graphics, akin to say TimeSplitters & dark humour only add to the experience.
  81. Oct 28, 2014
    7
    BioShock Game-play:This game is clearly made for pc the shooting is not very good but the plasmids are very good to use,and i see a wasted opportunity of dual attacks. Story:The story is the best part of the game the atmosphere is great the under water city is awesome the only bad thing is the ending all 3 endings suck.the story is about 11 hours long. Graphics:The gam looks amazing.

    Notes:The game have great weapons and great characters,but the last boss fight it is easy and boring i hate the last boss fight one of the worst i have ever played,a good game i recommend to buy it at price drop.
    Expand
  82. Oct 30, 2014
    10
    Bioshock, is this a perfect game? I admit I entered this game with the token scepticism I always have whenever something is described as "perfect" to me but having just completed the game, I can't describe it with any word but that, perfect.
    Well I suppose it isn't entirely, this game is not a stupid game and expects the same of it's players, this is not a game where you glaze your eyes
    while playing it and have to have something on in the background just to be entertained, this game will keep you in tension almost constantly, it being one of the few games that combine a first person shooter with horror elements without compromising either.
    Speaking of which the gun-play is excellent (after unlocking the frame-rate mind you) and responsive, you will be paranoid, constantly checking and double checking rooms both for ammunition, money, materials and most importantly enemies who can certainly make you jump at times.
    Bioshock is also beautiful, both visually and in how it sounds, the game has aged wonderfully and of course the soundtrack, consisting of either melancholy piano and violin or eerily jolly jazz music that remains out of place for all the right reasons. Rapture (the city you are placed in) is still a treat to look at, despite how rusted and dead it looks.
    I'd feel I'm doing a disservice to the game if I didn't mention the best part about it, the storyline, this is a game which can deliver a compelling story without even using a cut scene, it either makes you hunt out the storyline yourself and allows you to keep playing while the story goes on around you. The game also has a very deep and interesting philosophical musing on the downside of free-market capitalism and the harsh reality of trying to create Utopia. Additionally the game has many twists and turns including perhaps the biggest one in gaming ever and that's not exaggeration. (A man chooses, a slave obeys)
    This game is not for the squeamish either, the enemies are brutally creepy and disfigured and the environment itself is nightmarish and creepy, put simply this is the first person shooter that will shame the other first person shooters and for those who stick around to roughly two thirds in, even makes you think about video games just a little bit differently, perhaps even changing it completely.
    I try to say more about Bioshock, like how well the economy is balanced (ironically enough considering the game's story), how varied the weapons are and how each does a different thing, how awesome the Big Daddies are, how the plasmids are cool but I'd merely be drooling over it at this point, albeit justifiably so, at the end of the day all I have to say about Bioshock is, would you kindly pick it up.
    Expand
  83. Oct 25, 2014
    9
    I never play FPS, dunno... feel them flat and boring, maybe as kid i digged duke nukem and thats it.
    Then i kept sawing reviews about Bioshock, how good it was... then bought Bio infinite and thought it was cool, but THEN played the bio1 that came free within the game an VIOLA! The best FPS ive ever played, if you're like me who despises brainwash war games like call of duty and all that
    crap, try this, the artdesign, music, twisted characters and over all gameplay are a joy to play! The difficulty is just perfect, challenging without being too hard. and has 3 different endings. 100% recommended! Expand
  84. Oct 26, 2014
    8
    Gameplay: 6.0 Graphics: 6.5 History: 10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 :D
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. A remarkable achievement, a triumph of gameplay and narrative that everyone should choose to play. [Nov 2008, p.70]
  2. With so much invention, intrigue and genuine brilliance packed into twelve hours of game-play, you just can't afford not to (pick up a copy). [Nov 2008, p.22]
  3. 100
    There's no doubt that Bioshock is one of the finest FPS games ever made and the PS3 port is stellar through and through. [Nov 2008, p.103]