BioShock PlayStation 3

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 777 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 777

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EvanS
    May 28, 2009
    7
    The demo got me really excited for this game. The atmosphere is by far the bast part of Bioshock. The story was pretty good. However the combat just wasn't really fun. The guns just dont feel right, and the plasmids never really give satisfying results after the first time you use them. This is a good game worth a playthrough, but I dont know how it got so many 100's.
  2. EricW
    May 5, 2009
    7
    This game was very pretty and seemed to have a very enticing story. When I played the demo I was absolutely blown away. This seemed like the first true next gen fps. However once I actually bought the game the amazement wore off fast. The game becomes extremely repetitive (hop in the elevator, take photos, save/kill little sisters, repeat), and about halfway through I lost motivation to This game was very pretty and seemed to have a very enticing story. When I played the demo I was absolutely blown away. This seemed like the first true next gen fps. However once I actually bought the game the amazement wore off fast. The game becomes extremely repetitive (hop in the elevator, take photos, save/kill little sisters, repeat), and about halfway through I lost motivation to do anything at all. I really wanted to like this game. I would keep returning to it hoping that maybe this time I would get back into the game, but after 5 minutes turn the game right back off again. The game is well made and very good looking, but the game really loses its fun after the first couple of hours. Hopefully the pacing is fixed in the sequel, but I'll rent it first this time. Expand
  3. aspentitan
    Jan 21, 2010
    7
    I enjoyed Bioshock but it is overrated at 94. When it first came out I think it may have deserved this score but since then many games have come out with lower ratings that are better than this game. Bioshock was just ahead of the curve so to speak and this game is fortunate to get high ratings just for being one of the first games out that was actually a good next generation console I enjoyed Bioshock but it is overrated at 94. When it first came out I think it may have deserved this score but since then many games have come out with lower ratings that are better than this game. Bioshock was just ahead of the curve so to speak and this game is fortunate to get high ratings just for being one of the first games out that was actually a good next generation console game/port. After browsing the PS3 lineup now, this game gets pushed way back. Bioshock had a real nice atmosphere and some great sound and cinematics but I was annoyed by many things in this game. The first is an outdated game called pipedream that is really (now in 2010) a cell phone application game which acts as a puzzle to various items to hack. I didn Expand
  4. Feb 14, 2011
    5
    I can sum up the gameplay of this game in one word - BORING. I played about halfway through the game and was too bored to continue, so I just gave up. The atmosphere and concept behind this game are interesting...but the gameplay (the most important part of any game) is repetitive and dull....very repetitive: walk into a room, shoot some enemies...walk into another room, shoot someI can sum up the gameplay of this game in one word - BORING. I played about halfway through the game and was too bored to continue, so I just gave up. The atmosphere and concept behind this game are interesting...but the gameplay (the most important part of any game) is repetitive and dull....very repetitive: walk into a room, shoot some enemies...walk into another room, shoot some enemies....there's no problem solving and no thinking required for this game...No strategy, no freedom...just walk into rooms and shoot the same enemies over and over and over and over. This type of stale gameplay is what makes me really appreciate games like Half Life 2, or GTA - those games really tried to make the gameplay something special. They required you to think and gave you freedom to do missions how you like. Bioshock just felt like I was walking through one scripted scenario after another...they even had arrows telling you where to go half the time. So many games these days get inflated scores - I suspect that reviewers want to appease the game companies so the game companies will keep giving the reviewers exclusive previews and info....as a result, you have a bunch of mediocre games getting scores in the 9-10 range, when an honest reviewer would give them a 5 or 6. Bioshock is yet another game that seems to get high scores solely for it's graphics and storyline...once again reviewers failed to factor the stale, repetitive gameplay into their scores. Expand
  5. ChadH
    Aug 3, 2009
    6
    You know, I never understood why the guys at the magazines love this game so much. I rented it and played through it once, but it was more of a job to finish this game than a leisure activity. I only did it out of sheer boredom. The games graphics aren't very good, the fps is very unrefined, and the story is sub-par at best. The enemies are probably the best thing the game has. I You know, I never understood why the guys at the magazines love this game so much. I rented it and played through it once, but it was more of a job to finish this game than a leisure activity. I only did it out of sheer boredom. The games graphics aren't very good, the fps is very unrefined, and the story is sub-par at best. The enemies are probably the best thing the game has. I just couldn't get into it. The fighting was just kinda lame and inaccurate. They could've sharpened this up and it would've made up for the unremarkable story. The idea is great, and I'm just disappointed by the combat system. It just seemed too blocky and inaccurate. Hard to explain, but it reminded me of playing like a N64 shooter when expecting the precision and accuracy of say CoD4 Modern Warfare without jeopradizing the theme and elements that make bioshock bioshock. Should be an easy fix, and I hope to see it improved in Bioshock 2. Expand
  6. GaryWaite
    Jan 19, 2009
    5
    I can't believe what i've just read, bioshock is a disgrace to modern day FPS, it is no where near as good as it has been rated and im am dissapointed in the critics reviews. I believe that it doesn't even match up to the PS2s greatest FPS Timesplitters 3. How Bioshock earned its place in the top 10 games of 2008 i'll never know.
  7. LamL.
    Nov 5, 2008
    6
    I have only played the demo. I do not like powers in games unless it is coherently woven into the story and adds to the gameplay while staying true to the narrative. I don't like powers that just exist for you to have "another gun." I put Bioshock in this category of nonsensical reasoning. Everybody praises the story but how good can it be when the premise is so cornball and hokey. I have only played the demo. I do not like powers in games unless it is coherently woven into the story and adds to the gameplay while staying true to the narrative. I don't like powers that just exist for you to have "another gun." I put Bioshock in this category of nonsensical reasoning. Everybody praises the story but how good can it be when the premise is so cornball and hokey. Think! A Utopian society where scientists, artists and talented citizens are given free reign and what these people come up with is super powers in vending machines?!!!!?? What The Fuck!! What NERDY wet dream is this? I cannot even hold a straight face when thinking about this premise. That kills it for me right there! Why doesn't someone just create a game where you are God!! and can have any power imagined- like the power to fart and the concussion knocks things back and the odor induces vomiting distracting your enemies momentarily. This is cool and humorous. Or how about you can shoot a rayfrom your hand that can grab a person's heart and slow it down or speed it up causing extreme pain and horror. Do you see what I mean why stop there? Let's have bees come out of our ass and attack things- yeah! The story of Bioshock is just outrageous and nonsensical- stupid- to be exact. Enough Said! If I am wrong about the story please someone enlighten me. Someone forward this to the nerds that created this game so they can try to prove me wrong. This rant is directed at all games that add "powers" for no reason other than to have "another gun." Thanks for the creativity you nerds. Expand
  8. Mar 7, 2013
    5
    Not that impressed. It was a game i beat. I was kind of annoyed by the whole thing by the end. I did love the opening scene leading in to the mid way plot twist. But the game play was just dragging along.
  9. lykon
    Nov 20, 2008
    7
    I really do not understand what all the fuss is about, this a miserable little game, i was expecting a city, something special, it is just a linear shooter with lots of mad irritating enemies in bunny rabbit masks. It is well put together for what it is, but people have been comparing this to fallout 3. fallout 3 urinates all over this game then turns around and parts its muscular hairyI really do not understand what all the fuss is about, this a miserable little game, i was expecting a city, something special, it is just a linear shooter with lots of mad irritating enemies in bunny rabbit masks. It is well put together for what it is, but people have been comparing this to fallout 3. fallout 3 urinates all over this game then turns around and parts its muscular hairy man buttocks and does big steaming poos on it. As for all the hype about moral choices, it has 0.0001 % of the depth of choice and emotional imersion as fallout 3. maybe 7 is a bit harsh ok but im marking it down due to the hype and my waste of money. this is a weekend play through rental game. Expand
  10. JackH
    Oct 16, 2008
    7
    We've Already played this...on PC...and it's old. Granted yes, the game is still good...but it's not "that" good. There is no sense of pride in the weapons you discover throughout the game...all of the ones that shoot bullets are crappier than any other bullet-shooting weapon i've ever used in any other game...all you need is your wrench and your magic hand powers, the We've Already played this...on PC...and it's old. Granted yes, the game is still good...but it's not "that" good. There is no sense of pride in the weapons you discover throughout the game...all of the ones that shoot bullets are crappier than any other bullet-shooting weapon i've ever used in any other game...all you need is your wrench and your magic hand powers, the guns don't do the job. The story is good, has cool twists, and saving the girls is pretty awesome. But let's face it, other games have come out sense then that are more deserving of this score. Dead Space for instance, i enjoyed quite a bit more than this game. Expand
  11. Aug 22, 2010
    7
    While I didnt love this game, Its a solid shooter none the less which allows you to complete the game with alot more choice compared to other FPS game out there
    The main thing I found amazing about the game is just how emersive the world is, almost everything is interective, sinks, pans, vending machines, you name it
    Guns are very good aswell with a great uniqueness to them, but even
    While I didnt love this game, Its a solid shooter none the less which allows you to complete the game with alot more choice compared to other FPS game out there
    The main thing I found amazing about the game is just how emersive the world is, almost everything is interective, sinks, pans, vending machines, you name it
    Guns are very good aswell with a great uniqueness to them, but even better are the Plasmids and gene tonics, which can be bought at different places throughout the world, this will give you the chance to buy certain ones on your first playthrough and others on your next, giving you more choice in how you complete the game. You could try completing the game predominantly with the wrench and pistol, or you could use just Plasmids
    The AI is great aswell, and it seemed to me like each enemy had their own personality.
    On the other hand the game does have its drawbacks
    The main one is simply that while you can complete the game in different combat ways, each playthrough basically works the same, the same path to the end, and the same bosses.
    Along the way you find little sisters, who contain ADAM, a currency in the game, you can choose to kill them and get lots of ADAM, or save them and get less ADAM. The problem is that even if you dont kill them, you will still get enough ADAM to make it through the game with lots of accessories
    I didnt like the endings either, and while they had moral messages within them, they were too short and left me confused until I looked on Wikipedia later
    Bioshock is hard to rate in my opinion
    While on one side it is an exelently innovative and emersive game that gives you plenty of things to do and find, it is very linear.
    But if your thinking of getting Bioshock 2, I would definatly consider getting this game as it will help you understand the game alot more
    Expand
  12. Aug 31, 2013
    7
    Ok, in my eyes this is not as good as a game as everyone says it is. The game itself is good, I liked the story, I liked the location and I liked the weapons and the characters. So why do this game get a 7/10 while others are giving it 9s and 10s.
    Well, there are a few reasons why I don't think it is "perfect" like people have said it is. First off, the weapons are good but a little bit
    Ok, in my eyes this is not as good as a game as everyone says it is. The game itself is good, I liked the story, I liked the location and I liked the weapons and the characters. So why do this game get a 7/10 while others are giving it 9s and 10s.
    Well, there are a few reasons why I don't think it is "perfect" like people have said it is. First off, the weapons are good but a little bit too consistent, by which I mean you get the wrench, machine gun, revolver and shotgun about ten minutes after you start the game, which kind of makes you a bit overpowered early on and don't get a long time to get used to them.
    Then, when getting attacked by enemies, they either are able to beat in two hits with your wrench or you have to waste all your ammo on taking one down and then scrounge for replacement ammo.
    The thrill of fighting a Big Daddy wares away after you've fought one of the types once and saving the little sister also gives you ADAM which helps you throughout the way, but come on, at least ad some verity to saving or harvesting them. Oh and don't get me started on those security cameras.
    The plasmids are sort of forgettable except for incinerate and shock, while the others I used when the game required me too.
    Plus the lighting also gets me, one room is bright and full of colours and the next is dark and dingy, I wish they could of kept this constant. Also, I didn't get scared once in this game.
    In all Bioshock is a good game, but not as good as the "perfect" status people give it
    Expand
  13. May 19, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bio Shock is a Hyped-up game. Yeah, i know that everyone likes to say that in this days, but i am not saying this game is bad, it´s actually a great game. The problems i had with this game where:
    1.- Everyone told me that this game was "The best game ever" so i believed them. My expectations where very high.
    2.-2k sells you this game as a FPS. This is not a "F" FPS. This game actually reminds me more to a Zelda game to any other FPS I have ever played.
    3.- The reason beacuse this game is not an FPS its that AIMING SUCKS. Firing from the hip is satisfying, but very innacurate, and the sight was either very innaccurate or too slow.
    4.- People also told me that this game had one of the better stories ever. This is not true. A guy ends up at the sea, reveals the truth behind a hidden utopia and "Would you kindly?" Thats everything! The only things I like in the history is the Good Ending, beacuse it actually made cry. All The Little sisters, with you until the day you die, and the Little Sisters Big Daddys story. But not everything in this game is bad. Except for the Aiming the gameplay is excellent, the hacking minigames are entertaining, plasmids are very fun to use and exploration it´s also very cool. It´s the most immersive game i´ve ever played after Far Cry 3. So in conclusion this game isn´t terrible, but it is really hyped up.
    Expand
  14. Mar 25, 2013
    6
    Well... let me begin by saying I enjoyed this game for what it was however I've always thought this one to be overrated by both critics and gamers: it's not that great a shooter, it doesn't have that great of a story and overall not that impressive of a video-game, I could tackle every aspect but I wan't to focus on what I liked, Rapture itself, the place it's a marvel of design in gamesWell... let me begin by saying I enjoyed this game for what it was however I've always thought this one to be overrated by both critics and gamers: it's not that great a shooter, it doesn't have that great of a story and overall not that impressive of a video-game, I could tackle every aspect but I wan't to focus on what I liked, Rapture itself, the place it's a marvel of design in games no doubt... but I think that's it for me... I say it's good on it's own merits... Expand
  15. Aug 8, 2013
    7
    Not a bad game, but now and again the atmosphere felt a bit borrowed from Fall out 3, but obviously the gameplay is more linear. The Action and the story were both good, I just felt it lacked something, but I can't put my finger on what it is.
  16. Oct 28, 2014
    7
    BioShock

    Game-play:This game is clearly made for pc the shooting is not very good but the plasmids are very good to use,and i see a wasted opportunity of dual attacks. Story:The story is the best part of the game the atmosphere is great the under water city is awesome the only bad thing is the ending all 3 endings suck.the story is about 11 hours long. Graphics:The gam looks
    BioShock

    Game-play:This game is clearly made for pc the shooting is not very good but the plasmids are very good to use,and i see a wasted opportunity of dual attacks.

    Story:The story is the best part of the game the atmosphere is great the under water city is awesome the only bad thing is the ending all 3 endings suck.the story is about 11 hours long.

    Graphics:The gam looks amazing.

    Notes:The game have great weapons and great characters,but the last boss fight it is easy and boring i hate the last boss fight one of the worst i have ever played,a good game i recommend to buy it at price drop.
    Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. A remarkable achievement, a triumph of gameplay and narrative that everyone should choose to play. [Nov 2008, p.70]
  2. With so much invention, intrigue and genuine brilliance packed into twelve hours of game-play, you just can't afford not to (pick up a copy). [Nov 2008, p.22]
  3. 100
    There's no doubt that Bioshock is one of the finest FPS games ever made and the PS3 port is stellar through and through. [Nov 2008, p.103]