BioShock PlayStation 3

BioShock Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 846 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Going beyond "run and gun corridors," "monster-closet AIs" and static worlds, BioShock creates a living, unique and unpredictable FPS experience. After your plane crashes into icy uncharted waters, you discover a rusted bathysphere and descend into Rapture, a city hidden beneath the sea.Going beyond "run and gun corridors," "monster-closet AIs" and static worlds, BioShock creates a living, unique and unpredictable FPS experience. After your plane crashes into icy uncharted waters, you discover a rusted bathysphere and descend into Rapture, a city hidden beneath the sea. Constructed as an idealistic society for a hand picked group of scientists, artists and industrialists, the idealism is no more. Now the city is littered with corpses, wildly powerful guardians roam the corridors as little girls loot the dead, and genetically mutated citizens ambush you at every turn. Take control of your world by hacking mechanical devices, commandeering security turrets and crafting unique items critical to your very survival. Upgrade your weapons with ionic gels, explosives and toxins to customize them to the enemy and environment. Genetically modify your body through dozens of Plasmid Stations scattered throughout the city, empowering you with fantastic and often grotesque abilities. Explore a living world powered by Ecological A.I., where the inhabitants have interesting and consequential relationships with one another that impact your gameplay experience. Experience truly next generation graphics that vividly illustrate the forlorn art deco city, highlighted by the most detailed and realistic water effects ever developed in a video game. Make meaningful choices and mature decisions, ultimately culminating in the grand question: do you exploit the innocent survivors of Rapture...or save them? [2K Games] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    100
    An improved version of the blockbuster game can’t get anything else then 10 out of 10. A stylish world, uneasy atmosphere, different options to solve different problems, super-abilities... plus mad and nightmarish opponents. [Dec 2008]
  2. 100
    A classic in every sense of the word.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    A remarkable achievement, a triumph of gameplay and narrative that everyone should choose to play. [Nov 2008, p.70]
  4. Containing all of the downloadable content from the other two versions, as well as a fantastic story to boot, Bioshock is an incredible title.
  5. Bioshock will undoubtedly become one of the classic games that define this generation of gaming.
  6. Really, though, the only glaring weakness we can find in BioShock is that it may be too unusual, too original, too artistic and too genius to be embraced by the general public. Please don't let this game become that forgotten, one-of-a-kind masterpiece. We need sequels. We need more.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    80
    And while 2K make up for this downgrade via added content, this isn't as extensive as we had hoped. [December 2008, p.64]

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 133
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    This game is perfect, the story is probably the best part, if you don't care for story in video games and go straight to multiplayer then yourThis game is perfect, the story is probably the best part, if you don't care for story in video games and go straight to multiplayer then your wasting your time thinking of buying this game Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    In my opinion bioshock is one of the best if not the best video games of this generation. First off you have to consider that for a gameIn my opinion bioshock is one of the best if not the best video games of this generation. First off you have to consider that for a game released in 2007 the graphics were phenominal and were ahead of it's time. The best thing about this game is the world and the story, i have neever been so immersed in the world, story, and characters before. I would also like to point out that the combat and character improvement is perfected here which makes combat in rapture fun and exciting. So with the amazing world of rapture iconic enemies(big daddies) fun combat and memorable story bioshock is a masterpiece. Expand
  3. TyeS
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    One things that games struggle to accomplish where their cinematic brethren achieve is a sense immersion. Bioshock's city of Rapture has One things that games struggle to accomplish where their cinematic brethren achieve is a sense immersion. Bioshock's city of Rapture has such deep atmosphere, backstory, and life that you get sucked into its eerie world and don't want to leave until the credits roll. The gameplay is new and refreshing and also its sense of choice made me want to explore every nook and cranny of Rapture's world. Even if there was a Big Daddy waiting around the corner to make me piss my pants. Expand
  4. AndrewO.
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    Jack H., you probably used the wrong ammo type against the wrong enemies. Either that, or your aim stinks. Anyway, I never played this for Jack H., you probably used the wrong ammo type against the wrong enemies. Either that, or your aim stinks. Anyway, I never played this for Playstation, but I have for Xbox. One Word. Amazing. Great atmosphere, flexibility, story. Yes, it's a little too much like System Shock 2, and just a handful of extras for the PS3 doesn't sound like enough, but Sony diehards who haven't yet gotten the chance to expierience this masterpiece should immeadiatly get off their butts and buy it right now. Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    BioShock has gone a path no game has ever done, or claim to have. The atmosphere is mysterious, interesting and has you not wanting to put theBioShock has gone a path no game has ever done, or claim to have. The atmosphere is mysterious, interesting and has you not wanting to put the controller down. With a amazing story, incredible visuals, tight yet fun gameplay in a diverse environment (underwater) BioShock is one of the best games on all the platforms it released on. Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    A great game. The atmosphere is very high and Rapture is a great city. It's fun to explore and search for all the hidden things. TheA great game. The atmosphere is very high and Rapture is a great city. It's fun to explore and search for all the hidden things. The characters and character models are absolutely stunning. The weapons and plasmids are good and hacking the security is fun. I highly recommend this mix of adventure and FPS. Expand
  7. OleT
    Dec 11, 2009
    0
    Hate the controlls, and there is no alternative one. Hate the aim sensitivity, kind of similar to Half Hife 2 ps3(The Orange Box). Dont know Hate the controlls, and there is no alternative one. Hate the aim sensitivity, kind of similar to Half Hife 2 ps3(The Orange Box). Dont know about story, since this game was unplayable for me, using a ps3 controller. No doubt this was ment playing on a computer. Expand

See all 133 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.