Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 739 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Going beyond "run and gun corridors," "monster-closet AIs" and static worlds, BioShock creates a living, unique and unpredictable FPS experience. After your plane crashes into icy uncharted waters, you discover a rusted bathysphere and descend into Rapture, a city hidden beneath the sea.Going beyond "run and gun corridors," "monster-closet AIs" and static worlds, BioShock creates a living, unique and unpredictable FPS experience. After your plane crashes into icy uncharted waters, you discover a rusted bathysphere and descend into Rapture, a city hidden beneath the sea. Constructed as an idealistic society for a hand picked group of scientists, artists and industrialists, the idealism is no more. Now the city is littered with corpses, wildly powerful guardians roam the corridors as little girls loot the dead, and genetically mutated citizens ambush you at every turn. Take control of your world by hacking mechanical devices, commandeering security turrets and crafting unique items critical to your very survival. Upgrade your weapons with ionic gels, explosives and toxins to customize them to the enemy and environment. Genetically modify your body through dozens of Plasmid Stations scattered throughout the city, empowering you with fantastic and often grotesque abilities. Explore a living world powered by Ecological A.I., where the inhabitants have interesting and consequential relationships with one another that impact your gameplay experience. Experience truly next generation graphics that vividly illustrate the forlorn art deco city, highlighted by the most detailed and realistic water effects ever developed in a video game. Make meaningful choices and mature decisions, ultimately culminating in the grand question: do you exploit the innocent survivors of Rapture...or save them? [2K Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. An improved version of the blockbuster game can’t get anything else then 10 out of 10. A stylish world, uneasy atmosphere, different options to solve different problems, super-abilities... plus mad and nightmarish opponents. [Dec 2008]
  2. 100
    A classic in every sense of the word.
  3. A remarkable achievement, a triumph of gameplay and narrative that everyone should choose to play. [Nov 2008, p.70]
  4. Containing all of the downloadable content from the other two versions, as well as a fantastic story to boot, Bioshock is an incredible title.
  5. Bioshock will undoubtedly become one of the classic games that define this generation of gaming.
  6. Really, though, the only glaring weakness we can find in BioShock is that it may be too unusual, too original, too artistic and too genius to be embraced by the general public. Please don't let this game become that forgotten, one-of-a-kind masterpiece. We need sequels. We need more.
  7. And while 2K make up for this downgrade via added content, this isn't as extensive as we had hoped. [December 2008, p.64]

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 130
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    This game is perfect, the story is probably the best part, if you don't care for story in video games and go straight to multiplayer then yourThis game is perfect, the story is probably the best part, if you don't care for story in video games and go straight to multiplayer then your wasting your time thinking of buying this game Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    There is no other game that is like this. Every game that has come out since this I compare to BioShock. It has gotten to a point where myThere is no other game that is like this. Every game that has come out since this I compare to BioShock. It has gotten to a point where my girlfriend and I point out places in games and movies ad TV shows parts and things that happen that are "very BioShock". I really don't know another way to describe it other than it is as perfect as any video game could be. Expand
  3. MattH
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    This game is just brilliant no probs with it it diserves to be 4th or even 1st place on metacritic compered to COD4, LBP or even GTA IV thisThis game is just brilliant no probs with it it diserves to be 4th or even 1st place on metacritic compered to COD4, LBP or even GTA IV this game is the best the grafics are brilliant, but my only problem with this game of the year contender is that I played thru it all and it took me about 17 hours and i thought there was a bit of repitition in it and it could of been a bit longer but that is my only problem by far this is the best game i've played, you'll play and anyone will play! ( i cant wait for the sequel ) one of the best bits i found was the challenge rooms wich you can buy from the playstation store for £6.99 the best challenge was the worlds of hurt excellent game it deserves 10/10 !!! od 5*/5 !!! Expand
  4. May 19, 2011
    9
    For once, an FPS that poses a challenge.

    But calling BioShock merely an FPS would be a disservice to the video gaming geniuses behind this.
    For once, an FPS that poses a challenge.

    But calling BioShock merely an FPS would be a disservice to the video gaming geniuses behind this. The stellar atmosphere and fabulous immersion in the city of Rapture. The graphics have gotten a little aged over the years, but this is still a phenomenal game that everyone must have. Seriously. If you don't have BioShock, but have a good gaming PC or a console, then you barely qualify as human.
    Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2014
    9
    I never play FPS, dunno... feel them flat and boring, maybe as kid i digged duke nukem and thats it.
    Then i kept sawing reviews about
    I never play FPS, dunno... feel them flat and boring, maybe as kid i digged duke nukem and thats it.
    Then i kept sawing reviews about Bioshock, how good it was... then bought Bio infinite and thought it was cool, but THEN played the bio1 that came free within the game an VIOLA! The best FPS ive ever played, if you're like me who despises brainwash war games like call of duty and all that crap, try this, the artdesign, music, twisted characters and over all gameplay are a joy to play! The difficulty is just perfect, challenging without being too hard. and has 3 different endings. 100% recommended!
    Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2012
    8
    Bioshock es la muestra de los nuevos juegos de 1st Person Shooter de esta generacion, seguro que mas adelante veremos clones o secuelas deBioshock es la muestra de los nuevos juegos de 1st Person Shooter de esta generacion, seguro que mas adelante veremos clones o secuelas de esta saga, Rapture una ciudad ambientada en los 50's bajo el agua por distintas razones entre politica y caos mental, con un personaje protagonico que interesa la forma en la que se deshace de sus enemigos a traves de plasmidos y balas, buena trama excelentes graficos, atmosfera como de clinica mental y una musica que hace que quieras estar con alaguien al lado por eso del suspenso in extremis, recomendado como un must de esta generacion Expand
  7. OleT
    Dec 11, 2009
    0
    Hate the controlls, and there is no alternative one. Hate the aim sensitivity, kind of similar to Half Hife 2 ps3(The Orange Box). Dont know Hate the controlls, and there is no alternative one. Hate the aim sensitivity, kind of similar to Half Hife 2 ps3(The Orange Box). Dont know about story, since this game was unplayable for me, using a ps3 controller. No doubt this was ment playing on a computer. Expand

See all 130 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.