Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. If you're looking for a ground-breaking experience or a robust selection of multiplayer modes- Blacksite's don't offer much more than a weekend distraction--this isn't it. However, if you find the idea of fighting aliens in your own backyard appealing, you won't do better than Blacksite's relatable, the-truth-is-out-there experience.
  2. I can see FPS fans having fun with BlackSite since it provides all the standard FPS rollercoaster thrills, but most of us have been up and down those hills a few too many times.
  3. 75
    The controls are silky smooth and responsive, the visuals are fantastic, and the multi-player is certainly proficient, but nothing really makes it stand out from the herd.
  4. 72
    BlackSite has its ups and downs from the start. The story is interesting and the graphics are very nicely detailed. The technical hitches of the slowdown were rather sad.
  5. 62
    Just like every other run-of-the-mill FPS out there. You can find better multiplayer in Resistance, you can find a better storyline in The Orange Box, and you can find a livelier environment in just about anything. The game underperforms in every aspect.
  6. A rushed-for-the-holidays by-the-numbers first person shooter that does almost nothing new worth mentioning.
  7. A little overpriced for 7 hours of light entertainment that will end up sitting on a shelf or in a drawer when you have completed it.
  8. 60
    BlackSite, which evolved from a light-gun coin-op game in the late 1990s, does its best to shadow "Halo 1"'s story in many respects, but regularly comes up short.
  9. With the sole exception of its occasionally genre-elevating aliens-invade-middle-America presentation, Blacksite is a servicable, unremarkable shooter; not bad, just excessively average. [Mar 2008, p.82]
  10. There really is a decent game in here somewhere - it's just such a shame that it is hidden beneath some awful glitches and some clearly unfinished gameplay mechanics.
  11. Blacksite's biggest issues aren't in the controls, but the lack of what you can do with them, not to mention the horrible enemy A.I.
  12. BlackSite on PS3 will suffer the same fate as the Xbox 360 version, being a game made without enthusiasm, and crammed with problems that seriously hurt its ambitions.
  13. BlackSite: Area 51 features a handful of fun moments blasting giant aliens, but there’s too much time spent in forgettable shootouts, the story fails to engage, and it’s so riddled with bugs that not even the Orkin Man can feel safe purchasing it.
  14. It has some great ideas, but ruins them with mediocre shooting and a truly shocking frame-rate. [Apr 2008, p.76]
  15. Not that we were expecting something big from this game. But something like this, unfinished and with no personality whatsoever, will quickly drown in a highly competitive industry... even more so if it’s an FPS. [Jan 2008]
  16. From the AI to generic gameplay and shoddy presentation values there are several things that keep this game from being as fun as it had the possibility to be. In the end this title is little more than a weekend rental for FPS fans looking for something to pass some time with.
  17. The shooting at the core of the game is pretty solid, but that doesn't count for much when every complex set-piece cripples its engine. [Apr 2008, p.102]
  18. What could have been a decent shooter is crippled by big technical problems. [Apr 2008, p.103]
  19. Although the game in concept is not itself rotten to the core, unless Blacksite: Area 51's developer can repair the technical disaster that is the PS3 version — I suspect this would require a substantial, cost-prohibitive reworking of the core software — I cannot under any circumstances recommend this title.
  20. Nothing more than an awful game, with horrific visuals, arguably the worst framerate this generation has seen, poor audio, and cookie-cutter gameplay that'll bore you to tears. As a torture device, Blacksite works extremely well, so if you're into masochism, this'll do the trick.
  21. 43
    Congratulations on a massive failure, this one is going in the history books. [Issue#163, p.90]
  22. Blacksite is a thoroughly unexceptional title for which unrealistic promises were made, and one that is further let down by a wide assortment of bugs and design issues. [Jan 2008, p.83]
  23. The combat is very predictable and lacks any notiable originality.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    5
    Normally a 5 is a terrible rating but despite giving a 5 to this game its a fairly decent game. The game has numerous problems and seemsNormally a 5 is a terrible rating but despite giving a 5 to this game its a fairly decent game. The game has numerous problems and seems incomplete yet it is still fully playable and easily finished so I guess if you can pick it up dirt cheap it still may be worth your time. I paid $3 and I'd say this game is ok for maybe $8 or less then throw away, give away, use as a coaster? Basically this game feels largely unfinished or as a beta but at least there are areas of great science fiction and some good areas of combat. The game is extremely easy, probably the easiest shooter I've ever played. I guess I'd recommend it to those who have problems with other shooters. It is very short and easily finishable, maybe about a 4 hr game on hard. I encountered audio drops and load stalls but these were mostly annoying. As much as i butchered the rating on this game i'd still say at least i had fun for my $3 purchase. Full Review »
  2. Feb 13, 2015
    6
    Standard just standard! Nothing special or new. You can get for a couple bucks so that is good! If you like FPS you could give it a try butStandard just standard! Nothing special or new. You can get for a couple bucks so that is good! If you like FPS you could give it a try but don´t except anything special. And i experienced some framerate issues! Full Review »
  3. Aug 26, 2013
    5
    another boring repetitive and full of glitches FPS shooter it is so repetitive terrible graphics and boring story development and theanother boring repetitive and full of glitches FPS shooter it is so repetitive terrible graphics and boring story development and the enemy's as well are not good Full Review »