Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Blades of Time, players don the persona of the gorgeous gunsword-wielding treasure hunter, Ayumi. Blessed with beauty and a trigger happy finger, she's on a mission to find lost bounties in a mysterious and dangerous island. Quickly, she learns this island isn't just trees, berries and gold – but something more sinister lies beneath the surface. As the wonderment of the island becomes to reveal itself, she learns this land can gift her powers man can only dream of, but also she's not alone on this island! Thank goodness she brought her own weapons. Ayumi then proceeds to battle against menacing villains on the island by destroying them and everything in her path while looking to acquire magical powers that only the strongest warrior can possess. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    72
    Simply put, Blades of Time is well worth your consideration if you enjoy third person action/adventure games.
  2. Mar 15, 2012
    68
    It's a step in the right direction, but the sequel to X-Blades still is not up to date. The graphics fall between Wii and PS3 standard (closer to Wii), the sounds are annoying and the gameplay still isn't satisfying. There is an online multiplayer and the time feature is a big advantage. Still, considering the low price, it could be interesting for hardcore hack'n'slay fans out of things to do (in).
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    60
    It's a pity that Eastern European developers are usually on a budget to tight to transform their often great ideas into games that can be praised for something more than potential. The time rewind/character cloning feature of Blades of Time is very cool but the rest of the game is just not on par with it. [May 2012, p.70]
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    58
    A disappointing game which promised much more, but has fallen midway. Its story is not inspiring enough, gameplay is just average and it also has important flaws in its very basic mechanics. Only for hardcore hack and slash fans.
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    55
    This updated version of X-Blades has some interesting twists and a new mechanics that work well. But even leaving alone the awful multiplayer mode, a lumpish control scheme and major graphical issues (bad collision over all) spoil the global experience.
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    50
    An average action-adventure, but with a little bonus for being likeable in an odd sort of way. That may not be much, but in some way a decent combat-system and a lovely lisp has to be rewarded.
  7. Mar 26, 2012
    30
    Blades of Time is a decidely below-average game that tries to make up for it's generic nature by invoking the "sexy card". The treasure hunter Ayumi, is promoted in and out-of game as 'the sexy, gorgeous treasure hunter', but even her bare midriff can't hide the flaws in this action platformer. With a story and characters that are as thin and predictable as game manuals these days, there isn't much to appreciate in Blades of Time.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    It has an interesting use of time and space concepts for combat and puzzle solving.
    The combat is kinda simple but is entertaining.
    The
    enviroments are beautiful , the character model are pretty decent.
    I liked this games, its like a Prince of Persia game with better battle system.
    For a low budget game i totally enjoyed it.
    Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    It's really a great game! The first thing I want to note - an excellent dynamic combat system. The effects of magic, attack animation and motion of heroine is very good. Nice variety of landscapes, new types of enemies in each level and difficult bosses. The story is not bad for slashers. The game is really fun and interesting to play. In the end, this is the first good Russian game in the last five years. Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    Blades of Time is an overall good game, it's very minus could be only the lack of pumped graphics which instead is now and then slightly outdated, apart from that is really fun to play and this is what I search in a game, have fun, for this only reason I'd really like to give this title a 10 'cuz it deserves any less by my point of view, I play mainly to have fun, not to see only boring stunning graphics...a friend pointed me out, this game has no option to invert y-axis, but so far I found that PS3 version HAS the option to do it unless the 360 version. I find myself in the need to reestablish the score at a 9 for this reason, it could have been a 10 if only graphics and some storytelling things could have been more polished, however it's still a pretty enjoyable game. Expand
  4. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    Hello, I know what you are thinking when you see the name Blades of Time, but I am happy to assure you that Blades of Time is much better than its predecessor X-Blades. The game makes up for being a budget title with offering a game with both a story mode, and outbreak (multi-player) modes. The story is not deep or witty, yet playing through the game it didn't really bother me that the story was weak because the gameplay more than makes up for the lack of a weak story. The game is truly easy on the eyes, and several of the later levels are truly designed well. The game is one of my favorite console games, with little to no loading between loading levels segments. The combat is fast paced, and has many special abilities to offer the player. None of the special abilities are truly unique outside of time rewinding (which is phenomenal), but the other abilities are still fun to utilize nevertheless. My biggest complaint with the title is the lack of post developer support as this title really has grown on me, and the lack of more than 3 multi-player based levels. The 3 multi-player levels are excellent, but many more would have been hugely welcome. In contrast:

    Pros: excellent time rewind mechanics, gorgeous inspired levels, deep rune based multi-player offering, and fast loading times without a disc based install
    Cons: terrible story, lack of quantity of multi-player maps, and no unlockable outfits?
    ?: Why couldn't the developers allow the user to keep the flying ability once they learn it?
    Collapse
  5. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    Well, Blades of Time is an OK game. It's even way better than that horrible X-Blades with a bikini-clad Xena Warrior Princess ripoff on the box art. But thank god this isn't X-Blades 2. In the game, Ayumi is young and physically tough as you travel to a mysterious island where danger sets ashore as she prepares for what could be her only fate to save the world. Here's are my Pros and Cons for the game. The Pros: Intense fluid system and a handful of arsenal combat attacks where you create magic spells, punishing enemies with your sword including a set of moves, combos, and special abilities. And Time Rewind (although it seems looked different than Bayonetta's "Witch Time" fluid system) lets you clone thyself in its entirety by solving puzzles and take down boss after boss. The Cons: I wonder if they have any bug problems in the game because when I first downloaded the demo, something just isn't quite right. The controls were too clunky and the camera angles feels an outdated attempt to please the audience what action and story might take place. Multiplayer is far from disaster, it's beyond bad. You can't mix 2 to 4 people at the same time battling monsters in an online slugfest. It has the power without the "Girl" in it. Back in 2008, Sega releases Golden Axe: Beast Rider and it was eventually too soon to make a comeback of the franchise that define beat 'em up action. Well, "Blades of Time" is a flawless but decent hack n' slash game, maybe you could rent it. Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2012
    4
    I must say I really wanted to like this game. It has nice graphics, interesting setting and entertaining gameplay (when it's not broken, I must say). Problem is the developers did not want us to enjoy this game. Battling in Blades of Time is a chore. It's clear they wanted to mimic God of War's style, but they totally forgot a simple thing: to make it simple. God of War is incredibly fun because it's fluid, simple, intuitive. In Blades of Time there are just so many things you have to keep in mind while fighting enemies that you lose track of fun just to try to get the job done. And the whole time rewind gimmick is a broken mess as well; it's just confusing and not helpful at all. Put in some enemies that can kill you with one hit and you are in for a "rage quit festival". Almost broken game, just for those who have absolutely nothing else to play. Also, DON'T PAY FULL RETAIL PRICE. Not worth it. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    1
    There's very little to like about this game. Combat's clunky and monotonous boss fights are especially tedious and there's nothing enjoyable about the time manipulation mechanics and their associated puzzles. Ayumi also talks a lot without actually saying anything worthwhile; endless statements of the obvious stream from her mouth, and her banal remarks and observations fail to make either the world or her character ever seem more compelling. The writing is genuinely atrocious. When things can get this bad, it's almost possible to understand why the mediocre writers at BioWare or the incompetents at Ninja theory have developed the notion that they have talent. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews