BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger PlayStation 3


Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
Buy On
  1. 94
    This has become one of my favorite fighters of all time and the level of polish and detail this 2D wonder has is amazing. The character designs are excellent, the fighting mechanics are top-notch and there are even extra animated scenes that feature chibi (super adorable) versions of the characters talking about the BlazBlue universe.
  2. BlazBlue is a worthy successor to Guilty Gear. It's also a fast-paced, colorful fighting game with a lot to offer.
  3. Who would have thought a 2D side-scrolling fighter could look this amazing on a next-gen system. Well, obviously ARC did and they delivered with the heir apparent to the Guilty Gear franchise.
  4. In the hands of an expert fighter this game is stunning, but joystick jockeys who are out of shape might want to start an intense training regimen. [July 2009, p.83]
  5. The fighting system in BlazBlue is the deepest I have seen this generation, and the level of exploration that is possible within the combat is something that is rare indeed.
  6. BlazBlue's online system puts titles like Street Fighter IV to shame, and the overall beauty of high-def 2D sprites put it at the top of the graphics department as well.
  7. 90
    It's at once entirely expected and a crying shame that this game won't catch on in the same way that, say, Street Fighter IV did, as BlazBlue packs what may be the best online play ever seen in a 2D fighting game (it is -- at worst -- neck-and-neck with the amazing Super Street Fighter II Turbo HD Remix in this category, though the option to replay ranked matches certainly gives it a tantalizing edge).
  8. The actual gameplay; in BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger; is relentlessly crazy, to the point where even two complete novices flailing away at one another will be entertained by the ridiculous crap they're able to pull off.
  9. I can think of only a few instances where a new fighting game has broken onto the genre as such a strong contender, but with the Drive system in place BlazBlue is a genuine challenger for any fight fan's time.
  10. GamePro
    But if you're looking for a unique fighting experience with tons of charm and wit then look no further than BlazBlue. [Aug 2009, p.80]
  11. While BlazBlue is unabashedly brutal online, there's more than enough offline content to keep beginners busy until they feel skilled enough to brave online play. BlazBlue doesn't apologize for its complexity, but it does make everyone feel welcome.
  12. BlazBlue is delightful for a fighting game fan.
  13. 100
    Their work deserves attention -- and praise -- because it exceeds expectations and delivers a thoroughly well-thought out, pragmatic, and enjoyable online experience. I can say without hesitation that BlazBlue raises the barometer on which all fighters should be judged.
  14. 92
    BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger is the type of game fans usually get only once a generation. The sheer amount of passion and care that was taken to ensure balance, accessibility, and enjoyment is nearly unmatched.
  15. BlazBlue is a highly evolved 2D Fighting game, in the same line of Guilty Gear. Great art, fluid animations and a deep, complex and hysterical gameplay are the main virtues of Calamity Trigger.
  16. The fact that BlazBlue's combat system feels so original is quite an achievement. Add a high level of accessibility, solid online play, and beautifully detailed animation, and you have a must buy for any fans of hand drawn, 2D fighters.
  17. games(TM)
    BlazBlue is an outstanding fighter that we pray blossoms into the successful series it deserves. [Oct 2009, p.124]
  18. BlazBlue is a new franchise that calls back to the cabinet. It's what you'd expect out of, and it's what you want in, a new 2D fighting game.
  19. With sharp execution, uncounted hours of gameplay, and gorgeous sound and video, you'll be hard pressed to beat this game.
  20. BlazBlue does, however, make a case for 2D sprites, much more so than King Of Fighters XII because the graphics are a lot smoother and they don't go all pixelated if you get too close to the screen.
  21. BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger is an awesome game, with a fantastic 2D HD graphic and a deep gameplay. The combat system is quite similar to the Guilty Gear one, and it's perfect for who is looking for a fast paced beat'em up.
  22. Fire is the new dust, and BlazBlue is the new hotness of the fighting game world. Still a bit hard to fully grasp at first for newbies, but don't let that scare you off.
  23. The new 2D fighter from the creators of Guilty Gear trails a blaze of innovative and accessible glory.
  24. Hardcore Gamer
    It will take at least another year for the game's full depth to be discovered. [Issue#35, p.44]
  25. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    It actually works quite beautifully. [Feb 2010, p.112]
  26. The story is lengthy and surprisingly well-written, and the voice acting is stellar. The combat mechanics are a solid combination of combo and tactical options, with a dash of insane supermoves for good measure. While there's a nice variety of gameplay modes and unlockables, the online multiplayer is what will keep you coming back long after you've gotten through everything. The presentation sets a new standard for 2D fighting games; no other fighter can pull it off with the same kind of style.
  27. BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger is at the moment one of the best fighting games, and the unique that can be considered to the height of Street Fighter IV. Sprites in high definition, amazing backgrounds, fast and intense play system... The best game than Arc System Works never has created.
  28. With BlazBlue - Calamity Trigger, Arc System Works has developed a real surprise hit. Although the fans would have preferred a new Guilty Gear, this game is a great title on its own.
  29. A true champion for the masses. Its over the top, vibrant style is a true spectacle in HD, and its strokes of fighting innovation trickle down into every one of its bells and whistles. If you're looking for an extremely smooth fighter with pomp and panache, BlazBlue is a sure bet.
  30. Play UK
    The combo system is so rich and ridiculously deep that just learning one character will take you months. [Issue#183, p.79]
  31. At the end of the day, BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger is an outrageous fighter that breaks away from Western norms and gives the player something uniquely different and more importantly, entertaining.
  32. One of the best 2D fighters to come out in the past decade. Not since Street Fighter III have we been given something this quick, accessible, intense, fluid, deep, and so well done overall.
  33. The word hardcore works for and against the game. On the positive side, BlazBlue features complex stories for each of its 12 fighters, magnificent art, special moves mapped to the right analog stick and lag free online play with detailed stat tracking. If you love anime, this is an essential purchase. On the negative side, however, BlazBlue's narratives make little sense, characters talk over one another before fights, others have long-winded dialogue and a steep learning curve will frustrate a lot of casual fighting fans hoping to button mash their way to victory; you just can't walk into this game expecting to unleash insane combos ala Marvel Vs. Capcom 2.
  34. BlazBlue is a wonderfully presented game which should appeal to the more casual audience thanks to its easy and accessible control system. It also looks absolutely fantastic and is a blast to play. If you’re after a 2D fighter then you will certainly not go wrong with this one. Outstanding stuff.
  35. It's not often that a fighting game has so much to offer both for fans and newbies, but Blazblue should please everyone. The characters are great and the fights varied and fun.
  36. Handsome, intricate brawler is worth an import for 2D fight fans. [Sept 2009, p.74]
  37. A terrific fighter in every sense of the word, BlazBlue is a game that you should be playing, whether fighting games are your thing or not. Do not miss it.
  38. Blazblue is quite frankly the best 2D-fighting game of the moment!
  39. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Where Street Fighter IV feels like a measured and calculated game of chess, BlazBlue feels more like a game of basketball: it’s easy to get the basics, but once you’ve got to grips with its intricacies you’ll feel be slam-dunking and showing off. [Apr 2010, p.74]
  40. I'm still rather amazed that this year have given us so many great fighting games, but none of them were as surprising and welcome as BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger, which stays true to the old school while bringing something fresh that mixes it up.
  41. BlazBlue is a finely crafted fighting game with some real depth to it. Polished art, great character designs and some solid mechanics make this addictive once it gets under your skin.
  42. BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger is probably a game best suited for people who have been playing fighting games for a long time, but even then, its style seems to be deliberately divisive. It's certainly worth trying out if you're a fan of the genre, but it's entirely possible that you'll find the whole thing to be a big, loud mess.
  43. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    BlazBlue has the moves and goods to back it up. [Aug 2009, p.71]
  44. An amazing fighting game that ever fan should own.
  45. Today is your lucky day, because you, dear Sir, have found a valuable advice: Don't miss this excellent Beat 'em Up! Maybe the anime style and the poor presentation of the story may scare you. But beyond that there lies a game with polished 2D optics, a deep fighting system and characters that feel unique and special.
  46. Staggeringly beautiful and with a surprisingly gentle learning curve, Blazblue has much going for it, but its delayed release means it is unlikely to generate anywhere near the sales it arguably deserves.
  47. 89
    The release of BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger in Europe is a bit late, but besides that it’s one hell of a fighter. The game got easy pick-up gameplay but can go very deep. The graphics are at a high level and the audio is a bit strange for these kind of games, but still very cool. If you are looking for a fighter besides Street Fighter IV for example, than BlazBlue is a must have!
  48. Overall, for all its bizarre dialogue, crazy stories and weird looking characters with strange voiceovers it works this game is amazingly entertaining and slightly addictive!
  49. BlazBlue Calamity Trigger nearly didn't make it out here - which would have been a tragedy. It is one of the most entertaining, bunny boiling insane 2D fighters I've played, though it does have a distinctly Japanese feel to it which may not appeal to all - I'll be there for another round.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. AndrewN
    Dec 30, 2009
    For all of its depth, the game is surprisingly easy to pick up. I bought this on Black Friday this year, and in less than a month I'm For all of its depth, the game is surprisingly easy to pick up. I bought this on Black Friday this year, and in less than a month I'm winning over half of my battles online. I'm not a regular to the fighting genre either, having just dabbled in Street Fighter a bit over the years. The story mode is actually a very nice addition that was only a drag to play when I needed to play through with characters I didn't like too much. The story mode gives a lot of depth to each character, and the visual novel style is kind of fun. The online is almost flawless as well. Only a few times have I experienced input lag, and it wasn't very bad input lag. It wasn't anything that caused the game the be unplayable. In all, I've put probably 50 hours into the game in less than a month, and I'm probably going to get another 100 out of it before the sequel comes out, which I am definitely looking forward to. Full Review »
  2. BrianC
    Jun 30, 2009
    A truly magnificent labor of love by Arc System Works that will be remembered as a defining time in video game history.
  3. May 3, 2016
    ne of the best games I have ever played in my life. It's not a lie that it's the same with the other 2 blazblue games but that doesn't matterne of the best games I have ever played in my life. It's not a lie that it's the same with the other 2 blazblue games but that doesn't matter at all. Blazblue has an amazing story and an interesting fighting system I manage to put 130 hours in all three of them and I enjoyed every single minute of it. The cons are that you have to play the other 2 blazblue games to understand the story and that the end of blazblue is not yet revealed so if you love the story just like me you will have to buy the next blazblue when it is out. All in all I think blazblue is a great game and a god damn cheep one if you ask me all three of them cost 60$ so if you should go out and buy this game now even if you don't like fighting games the story is more than enough for you Full Review »