User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 106
  2. Negative: 9 out of 106

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrianC
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    A truly magnificent labor of love by Arc System Works that will be remembered as a defining time in video game history.
  2. AndrewN
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    For all of its depth, the game is surprisingly easy to pick up. I bought this on Black Friday this year, and in less than a month I'm winning over half of my battles online. I'm not a regular to the fighting genre either, having just dabbled in Street Fighter a bit over the years. The story mode is actually a very nice addition that was only a drag to play when I needed to play For all of its depth, the game is surprisingly easy to pick up. I bought this on Black Friday this year, and in less than a month I'm winning over half of my battles online. I'm not a regular to the fighting genre either, having just dabbled in Street Fighter a bit over the years. The story mode is actually a very nice addition that was only a drag to play when I needed to play through with characters I didn't like too much. The story mode gives a lot of depth to each character, and the visual novel style is kind of fun. The online is almost flawless as well. Only a few times have I experienced input lag, and it wasn't very bad input lag. It wasn't anything that caused the game the be unplayable. In all, I've put probably 50 hours into the game in less than a month, and I'm probably going to get another 100 out of it before the sequel comes out, which I am definitely looking forward to. Expand
  3. AaronH
    Jul 4, 2009
    9
    Amazing fighter with depth that will take a long time to truly achieve. If you dig anime, metal, and a whole lot've character this is surely the fighter for you. I didn't give it a ten because in the process of making this game more accessible to the masses, people starting out that actually WANT to do more than mash a single button will get frustrated. Get past that though and Amazing fighter with depth that will take a long time to truly achieve. If you dig anime, metal, and a whole lot've character this is surely the fighter for you. I didn't give it a ten because in the process of making this game more accessible to the masses, people starting out that actually WANT to do more than mash a single button will get frustrated. Get past that though and learn your way around the controller and this is a brilliant masterpiece. Expand
  4. GarrettM.
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    One of the best fighters out there. I can't gush over this game enough. The fighting system is easily accessible but incredibly deep for those who want to put the effort in to learning it. The characters are all very unique (no two characters are anything alike) and the special features disk has some VERY useful tutorials to get new players acclimated to both the fighting system and One of the best fighters out there. I can't gush over this game enough. The fighting system is easily accessible but incredibly deep for those who want to put the effort in to learning it. The characters are all very unique (no two characters are anything alike) and the special features disk has some VERY useful tutorials to get new players acclimated to both the fighting system and each character's moves and combos. All-in-all, a fantastic fighting game. Expand
  5. ChristopherP
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    Phenomenally fun and deserves a rock-solid perfect 10 for it. Deep yet accessible, beautiful, attractive character designs, lengthy story mode, flawless network play with zero lag and a variety of options to play with, and technically wonderful. Aside from some negligible balance issues (which are vastly more minor than other new fighters and arguably not issues for "pros"), there's Phenomenally fun and deserves a rock-solid perfect 10 for it. Deep yet accessible, beautiful, attractive character designs, lengthy story mode, flawless network play with zero lag and a variety of options to play with, and technically wonderful. Aside from some negligible balance issues (which are vastly more minor than other new fighters and arguably not issues for "pros"), there's nothing wrong with it, and a very surprising amount to love. A wet dream for 2D fighter fans. Expand
  6. KJ.
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    I don't know what these guys are talking about this game being horrible. About the story mode: nobody expects a good story from fighters! But for what it's worth, the story to me is a slight step above other fighters. And about the whole 2D/3D thing...well there are some of us who still prefer the 2D fighter. Just because it's not 3D doesn't mean it sucks. Anyway, if I don't know what these guys are talking about this game being horrible. About the story mode: nobody expects a good story from fighters! But for what it's worth, the story to me is a slight step above other fighters. And about the whole 2D/3D thing...well there are some of us who still prefer the 2D fighter. Just because it's not 3D doesn't mean it sucks. Anyway, if you're even remotely into the fighting genre, then buy this game! It's way better than SF4 in my opinion. The graphics are magnificent, and the character designs are so over the top (in a good way). U'll definately find someone u like in roster because of sheer personality that everyone exerts. Again: buy this game! Expand
  7. RockmanX20
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    So far this game has been amazing. I am a big fan of Capcom and Namco fighting games and was a so so fan of Guilty Gear. I had no intention of buying this game, but based on reviews, I decided to give it a try and I have found this to be one of the best games of the year. I play SFiV competitively, but this game has so much more to offer than the stiff Street Fighter. I am happy that I So far this game has been amazing. I am a big fan of Capcom and Namco fighting games and was a so so fan of Guilty Gear. I had no intention of buying this game, but based on reviews, I decided to give it a try and I have found this to be one of the best games of the year. I play SFiV competitively, but this game has so much more to offer than the stiff Street Fighter. I am happy that I invested to buy this game. Expand
  8. AnonymousMC
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    Simply one of the best fighting games ever made, with a deep system that gives you a lot to learn but a system that allows new players and people that struggle in fighting games still pull off some impressive moves. The art style is pretty odd, and I'm not an anime fan but spend some time with this game and you quickly see why people are going nuts for this.
  9. You'reRetarded
    Jul 12, 2009
    9
    So I couldn't help but notice how RETARDED a few of you are. Giving a 0 because Team BB intentionally made using Astral Heats, an INSTANT KILL ATTACK, incredibly unlikely to use in a match? The game doesn't encourage button mashing unless you're a braindead scrub, and even then, I can't see how you could defent SF4, where lots of scrubs nonsensically mash in online So I couldn't help but notice how RETARDED a few of you are. Giving a 0 because Team BB intentionally made using Astral Heats, an INSTANT KILL ATTACK, incredibly unlikely to use in a match? The game doesn't encourage button mashing unless you're a braindead scrub, and even then, I can't see how you could defent SF4, where lots of scrubs nonsensically mash in online play. This is a solid 2D fighter with an excellent, competitive scene. My only problem with it is the slightly over the top emphasis on offensive play, but it's a fantastic and well-balanced fighter with beautiful graphics. Expand
  10. NickC
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    Don't listen to the low voters, if you are reading this page at all it is because you are interested in fighting games. This game deserves all the attention it is getting. Every character has a very unique style of fighting and they're all very balanced. The netcode (post-patch) is amazing and is lag free even if it says I have a terrible connection. A must have for fighting game fans.
  11. JustinB.
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    Really a 9.6 for me i loved this game the level of depth in just one character is amazing I've had the game scince release and i still have yet to play as all the characters this is because they are all unique and have their own fighting style. I'll be playing this for a long time cant wait for the dlc.
  12. SeanM
    Jul 16, 2009
    9
    Probably my favorite fighter I've played, and yes that includes Street Fighter. All the characters are incredibly unique and very well-balanced. The graphics are nothing short of amazing and a somewhat decent story mode is great to have in a fighter, not that many people will play it for that, it's just nice to have. The online play is great as well.
  13. NikolaosP.
    Jul 21, 2009
    9
    One of the best games i've played this year, truly a fighting gem. Great roster of original characters, very good story(for this genre, thats a first) and quite possibly the best online in a fighting game yet. I think some people believe that 2d is inferior to games like SC or SF4 but once they give it some time, they'll fall in love with it.
  14. reecee
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    Blazblue calamity trigger is certainly a refreashing game to play. while there are only 12 characters, each character has COMPLETELY different play styles from each other, meaning that you can be a master with one character and a complete noob on another, this is great because we dont see repeated play styles with the characters unlike shotos in street fighter IV (which is still an Blazblue calamity trigger is certainly a refreashing game to play. while there are only 12 characters, each character has COMPLETELY different play styles from each other, meaning that you can be a master with one character and a complete noob on another, this is great because we dont see repeated play styles with the characters unlike shotos in street fighter IV (which is still an awesome game). what really makes me love this game however is it severely punishes turtle gamers. i dont know how many times ive gotten frustrated on turtle players on other fighting systems, but with blazblue with the guard break as well as every character being able to string combos quickly together enough to not give time for a "lucky" counter attack (by that i mean your blocking and mashing say light bunch and that light punch comes out when the opponent takes a break to go to the next combo) makes it so both players are on the edge of their seats both PLAYING and not waiting for the win. the only weakness i see with blazblue is that although one of its greatest strengths is the differences between characters, its also one of its biggest weaknessess. i know ive played nu alot and ive got ok with her but if i wanna try someone else its like starting over from scratch, which is a little annoying, but hardley annoying enough to make this game worse than awesome! Expand
  15. JamesD.
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    As a long-time fan of Guilty Gear, and a gamer with a lack of PS3 games, I was immediately hooked the first time I got my hands on this game. Although complicated at times, the gameplay is very solid and each of the twelve characters handles differently from the others. Instant Kills have been tuned down into the harder-to-perform Astral Heats, but ending a match with a spectacular finish As a long-time fan of Guilty Gear, and a gamer with a lack of PS3 games, I was immediately hooked the first time I got my hands on this game. Although complicated at times, the gameplay is very solid and each of the twelve characters handles differently from the others. Instant Kills have been tuned down into the harder-to-perform Astral Heats, but ending a match with a spectacular finish is just all the more rewarding for it. Expand
  16. AudreyU
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    I'm not really into fighters but this one is actually pretty fun to play! It's pretty easy to pick up but hard to master (especially since every character is completely different) so you might end up using only one. The gameplay is solid an the fighters are all balanced to the point where there are only a few characters that you might have trouble with and it has great online I'm not really into fighters but this one is actually pretty fun to play! It's pretty easy to pick up but hard to master (especially since every character is completely different) so you might end up using only one. The gameplay is solid an the fighters are all balanced to the point where there are only a few characters that you might have trouble with and it has great online battles since there's hardly any lag if you're interested in that. This should be given a chance even if you don't like fighting games. The anime style might turn some people off which is understandable but it wouldn't hurt to rent it if you're still unsure. Oh and if you're worried about people "turtling" (going into defense mode the whole time or going to one side of the screen and staying there the rest of the match) don't worry about it. They'll get a penalty for defending (you can break their guard) too much and running away (they get a penalty) which makes the matches more exciting in my opinion. Expand
  17. SethB.
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger is one of the funnest, deepest fighters I have ever played, and they even go as far as to make it HD. Everything in this game is beautiful, the music is superb, the voice acting is excellent (though with repeating moves, it can be cheesy) and the gameplay is solid. I've yet to encounter some glitch in the game, but I have been sitting there playing this BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger is one of the funnest, deepest fighters I have ever played, and they even go as far as to make it HD. Everything in this game is beautiful, the music is superb, the voice acting is excellent (though with repeating moves, it can be cheesy) and the gameplay is solid. I've yet to encounter some glitch in the game, but I have been sitting there playing this game with my friend shouting obscenities at the screen because of technicalities. Another point is that, though there are only 12 characters, they are all so vastly different in how they are handled and how you would fight against them that it hardly makes a difference. If you're a fan of competitive gaming, you should already have this game. Expand
  18. JackH
    Jul 1, 2009
    9
    When i first popped in this disk and started playing, i could immediately see why i enjoyed this so much more than the over-hyped and disappointing Street Fighter IV...which somehow managed to score a cummulative 94...SIGH. Anyway. the presentation, the graphics, the gameplay, ease of use, story (often lacking or noteworthy in most other fighters), quirkiness, cleverness, and sheer depth, When i first popped in this disk and started playing, i could immediately see why i enjoyed this so much more than the over-hyped and disappointing Street Fighter IV...which somehow managed to score a cummulative 94...SIGH. Anyway. the presentation, the graphics, the gameplay, ease of use, story (often lacking or noteworthy in most other fighters), quirkiness, cleverness, and sheer depth, all help to make this one of the most impressioned fighters in my mind. Granted, i'm not a hardcore fighting gamer, but there is something to be said there. I've heard this game is super complex to master, but for someone like me who doesn't care to necessarily "Master" fighting games and is more casual, to be able to pick this up, learn some moves here and their, yet not feel overwhelmed, that's saying something. Get this game even if you only have an average interest in fighting games. Way better than Street Fighter IV, and has more going on for it. Expand
  19. HectorC
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    This game is magnificent. From the jaw-dropping visuals, to the unique characters, to the branching story, to the seamless online mode, BlazBlue raises the bar on what a 2D fighter can be. Highly recommended.
  20. KyleT.
    Jul 12, 2009
    9
    The games style is superb, and the replay value is through the roof. There are not many characters compared to most fighters, but the ones that are here have a lot of depth. It could take months of dedication to master one of the games vibrant personalities.
  21. MarkC
    Jul 23, 2009
    9
    Great 2D fighter that is the best around. Great graphics and characters that all feel completely different make it the best fighter out there right now.
  22. DaveZ
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    Really great game overall. If you enjoy fighters then you'll fall in love with BlazBlue. The spiritual successor to Guilty Gear, it has fast paced fighting action, gorgeous High Defninition graphics and an absolutely rocking soundtrack. The gameplay is as deep as you'd expect, with each character having a unique "drive" that dictates how they play, with distortion drives, Really great game overall. If you enjoy fighters then you'll fall in love with BlazBlue. The spiritual successor to Guilty Gear, it has fast paced fighting action, gorgeous High Defninition graphics and an absolutely rocking soundtrack. The gameplay is as deep as you'd expect, with each character having a unique "drive" that dictates how they play, with distortion drives, instant guard, barrier, instant barrier, rapid cancels and clashes there is a huge array of defensive and offensive techniques to learn and will keep you engrossed and learning your character for months. With fantastic netcode letting you go online and get good matches in against anyone in the world there will be enough opponents that you can keep playing and master the game even if nobody you know plays it. And even though multiplayer is clearly the focus of the game, Arc System Works have spared no expense on the lengthy story mode which is fully voice acted and has branching story paths. The story mode is not only a great way to introduce yourself to the world of BlazBlue but get familiar with the mechanics as well, so you don't need to spend hours in the training mode just to learn how to play. All up, BlazBlue is one of the best fighters ever made, and one of the best games of 2009. Go on, get out there and grab a copy! The Wheel of Fate is Turning! Expand
  23. KurtH.
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    If you were a fan of the guilty gear series, then this game is for you. If you want to play a game that doesn't have any charge characters who just kite and stand back in a corner, a la Street Fighter, then you will be pleased with what you find here. The combat in this game is incredible. The one thing that may throw some players off is that this game requires a fair amount of If you were a fan of the guilty gear series, then this game is for you. If you want to play a game that doesn't have any charge characters who just kite and stand back in a corner, a la Street Fighter, then you will be pleased with what you find here. The combat in this game is incredible. The one thing that may throw some players off is that this game requires a fair amount of practice. Unlike a lot of other fighters out there, you aren't going to be able to win by button mashing if you are playing against someone who is any good. Learning the moves and the intricasies of the combos is half the fun though, and you always find new and surprising ways to chain your attacks together. The learning curve is steep, but given that the gameplay is so rewarding, its worth the struggle to learn those big combos. Honestly, I have no bias against SFV. In fact, I grew up playing street fighter and loved it. But once I got my hands on this game, I came to a realization. Games like SFV and Tekken don't give you the kind of freedom that Blazblue does. You can really be creative with this game, and that is why I praise it so much. In the end, this game fell short of a 10 by mere inches. A must buy for fighting fans who are looking for a little more freedom and intensity in their fighters. Expand
  24. May 26, 2011
    9
    I played this at an anime convention, and it is easily the best fighting game I have played. Beautiful graphics, ridiculous combos, and a nice selection of characters make this title a blast. As a side note, I'm quite deadly with Taokaka.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Who would have thought a 2D side-scrolling fighter could look this amazing on a next-gen system. Well, obviously ARC did and they delivered with the heir apparent to the Guilty Gear franchise.
  2. 92
    BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger is the type of game fans usually get only once a generation. The sheer amount of passion and care that was taken to ensure balance, accessibility, and enjoyment is nearly unmatched.
  3. 100
    Their work deserves attention -- and praise -- because it exceeds expectations and delivers a thoroughly well-thought out, pragmatic, and enjoyable online experience. I can say without hesitation that BlazBlue raises the barometer on which all fighters should be judged.