User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 61
  2. Negative: 9 out of 61

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    What? Thats it? Just the graphics? Thats the only reason you could put for your 1 score? Total failure, well Blazblue makes fighting games so much more interactive for its gag reels and such so instead of just playing the character, you kinda get to know the characters. It isn't overstocked with characters but the problem I have is that Valkanhayn, Makoto, and Platinum are all charactersWhat? Thats it? Just the graphics? Thats the only reason you could put for your 1 score? Total failure, well Blazblue makes fighting games so much more interactive for its gag reels and such so instead of just playing the character, you kinda get to know the characters. It isn't overstocked with characters but the problem I have is that Valkanhayn, Makoto, and Platinum are all characters you have to buy, and that sucks. The story is great, the background graphics are great (Not that it really matters), and the character gameplay is very diverse. Street Fighter has like 10 characters with all the same bland control Expand
  2. May 26, 2011
    10
    Its not over rated at all... this game deserves all its good reviews from the critics for one simple reason. online mode is PERFECT... i have bad internet and often get lag in fighters when i take them online.. but not with this, i get no lag whatsoever, and not only that but the score boards are VERY good... you can find the people with good win/loss ratios with the characters you use andIts not over rated at all... this game deserves all its good reviews from the critics for one simple reason. online mode is PERFECT... i have bad internet and often get lag in fighters when i take them online.. but not with this, i get no lag whatsoever, and not only that but the score boards are VERY good... you can find the people with good win/loss ratios with the characters you use and download their last played game so you can study how they win. the characters are all pretty well balanced... the menu screen barely fits on the screen because of all the content... ill be honest first impressions were very average. but the more i play this the more i love it. i have 10X more fun on this than street fighter simply because i can play people online with no interruption (quick to find games too) it may not look the best but it definitely WORKS the best. Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Ok, this game is good, I loved Blazblue and this just expands on a game that was near perfect to begin with, overall it's a fun game. The sprites look fantastic, the characters & setting are unique, and generally this is a good game, there are no glaring issues with the game to detract from you're enjoyment of it.
  4. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    this game is good, I loved Blazblue and this just expands on a game that was near perfect to begin with, overall it's a fun game.This game is one of the most overrated fighters of all time
  5. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    I'm very surprised of this game. While it doesn't shine in variety of game modes (No survival, proper tag battles etc.), it does everything it contains very well. The story mode is very fun to play ; it lasts long enough, has brilliant dialogue and the characters are very good. The multiple choices also increase replay value of the mode. The combat is probably the best I have seen when itI'm very surprised of this game. While it doesn't shine in variety of game modes (No survival, proper tag battles etc.), it does everything it contains very well. The story mode is very fun to play ; it lasts long enough, has brilliant dialogue and the characters are very good. The multiple choices also increase replay value of the mode. The combat is probably the best I have seen when it comes to 2D fighting games: it offers delicious movement system (Dashing, super jumps and such) while the characters are fun to use. Other 2D fighting games should take note of this game. Its modes are fun to play, the gameplay is fantastic and it lasts long enough even for single players. Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2012
    9
    It's a long time since I played a fighter, BlazBlue takes the anime stylish with a good combination of pace in the fight which its very nice. I'm not taking to serious the story so I can't judge exactly if it is dumb, interesting or fantastic. But at least Im pleased with the gameplay and the variety of modes it includes yet this will be a minor flaw , but the background could have gottenIt's a long time since I played a fighter, BlazBlue takes the anime stylish with a good combination of pace in the fight which its very nice. I'm not taking to serious the story so I can't judge exactly if it is dumb, interesting or fantastic. But at least Im pleased with the gameplay and the variety of modes it includes yet this will be a minor flaw , but the background could have gotten a much more immersive work , instead of doing it in 2D its in a bad 3D engine meanwhile forget about that and you have here a delightful entertaining game. Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2011
    8
    As a 2D fighting game, this one ranks among the best I've played. All the characters feel distinct, awesome to play, and hard to master. Of course as in all fighting games there's going to be characters you like and characters you hate, but I thought they are all fun. There's tons of different single and multiplayer modes, as well as an online mode. However, the real fun is offlineAs a 2D fighting game, this one ranks among the best I've played. All the characters feel distinct, awesome to play, and hard to master. Of course as in all fighting games there's going to be characters you like and characters you hate, but I thought they are all fun. There's tons of different single and multiplayer modes, as well as an online mode. However, the real fun is offline multiplayer with one other person. The game is distinctly japanese; as such, the art design and music rocks. I thought the story, however, was way too weird and hard to comprehend. Another minus is that the online multiplayer does not have a very robust ranking system; expect to be manhandled quite easily even if you've played for a while and think your "good". However, offline multiplayer where the two players are relatively the same skill level is a blast. One final consideration is that there are several dlc characters to play as as well; however, the PSN is still charging 8 bucks a character (excluding Mu, who is unlockable in the main game). So I have not played as them as of yet, but I've seen videos and they are awesome additions to the gameplay package. This one is a go-to fighting game for me and friends. Expand
  8. Jul 3, 2014
    8
    A significant improvement to Calamity Trigger. Bigger and better character roster, better story and writing, more emotional depth to the characters (Ragna, Lambda); the game is just bigger and better in every way compared to Calamity. The soundtrack is still a joy to listen to, the characters remain just as good if not better than Calamity, the new additions to the roster mean a lot to theA significant improvement to Calamity Trigger. Bigger and better character roster, better story and writing, more emotional depth to the characters (Ragna, Lambda); the game is just bigger and better in every way compared to Calamity. The soundtrack is still a joy to listen to, the characters remain just as good if not better than Calamity, the new additions to the roster mean a lot to the story and the scale is bigger overall. A sequel that does it's job as well. If you love anime fighters and liked Calamity Trigger, there is no reason not to get this game. Expand
  9. Sep 14, 2010
    7
    This game is very good, but I think that the critics are over-rating it just a bit. Its worth buying for sure, but don't expect a fighter worthy of a 9 or 10 score here. There are some issues, bugs and control issues to be specific, that keep this from getting a perfect score. Also deduct a little because despite the many game modes, things get a bit stale after a while. There are manyThis game is very good, but I think that the critics are over-rating it just a bit. Its worth buying for sure, but don't expect a fighter worthy of a 9 or 10 score here. There are some issues, bugs and control issues to be specific, that keep this from getting a perfect score. Also deduct a little because despite the many game modes, things get a bit stale after a while. There are many modes, but most are too similar to warrant entirely new modes so why bother? But it's still a fun game that plays well and entertains through most of it. Expand
  10. Sep 25, 2010
    1
    This game is one of the most overrated fighters of all time. I would rather play Street Fighter on my Super NES. The graphics are some of the worst you will ever see in a next gen game. There are much better games or even much better fighters you could be playing.
  11. Jun 25, 2012
    1
    What should of been a high score for the best new fighting game series in years is unfortunately overshadowed by high priced DLC and 3 games that offer so little extra content, It can only be considered a rip off.
    This is actually the second game (4th if you count Calamity Trigger but it is basically the same thing as the other 3 games in the series) to be released.
    I have been ripped
    What should of been a high score for the best new fighting game series in years is unfortunately overshadowed by high priced DLC and 3 games that offer so little extra content, It can only be considered a rip off.
    This is actually the second game (4th if you count Calamity Trigger but it is basically the same thing as the other 3 games in the series) to be released.
    I have been ripped off by several games as of late, but after buying this and seeing nothing new from the previous game and then getting online and finding out 3 extra characters was gonna cost me almost twenty more dollars? I can safely say I will never buy another Blazblue game again and will be trading this one in.
    Expand
  12. Jun 25, 2012
    0
    Do not buy this game. The high priced DLC is ridiculous and Aksys Games has already released another version of the game.
    As for the game itself it a a 2D fighter that is a work of art and unique. AN absolutely beautiful work of art that is being scarred by terrible business practices that only hurts the consumer they are selling the product to. It is a shame such a great game cannot be
    Do not buy this game. The high priced DLC is ridiculous and Aksys Games has already released another version of the game.
    As for the game itself it a a 2D fighter that is a work of art and unique. AN absolutely beautiful work of art that is being scarred by terrible business practices that only hurts the consumer they are selling the product to. It is a shame such a great game cannot be recommended to purchase because of a companies greed and lack of respect to the fans of their product.
    Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Feb 23, 2011
    80
    If you're looking for a slightly different fighting game and don't want to refer to yourself as mainstream, then Blazblue: Continuum Shift is an excellent option. It's got good graphics, challenging gameplay and well-crafted offline and online modes, with plenty of content.
  2. Unlike Super Street Fighter IV each character here is truly unique; no two fighters are the same as each other so you're guaranteed of an interesting battle, and also longevity. This just feels like a better game all round, and while it feels great it's not for everyone. The flavour is distinctly Japanese, so if you've weaned yourself on countless anime and manga, and don't mind some Engrish, then Continuum Shift should be on your shelf right now [December 2010 p81]
  3. Jan 10, 2011
    91
    Continuum Shift shows all the great experience of Arc System Works in the beat'em'up genre. New fighters in a well designed roster, new modes, new locations and useful options for beginners add new weapon to a brand with solid, deep and satisfiing gameplay. One of the best bidimensional beat'em'up of all times.