Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 7 out of 11
  1. Feb 21, 2011
    30
    Blood Drive is like a radioactive element - admired from a distance, but never to be touched.
  2. Dec 26, 2010
    55
    Blood Drive is the Carmageddon of this generation. However, this game does not have the same quality as Carmageddon once had. After a few hours of zombie-racing madness, you'll want to play another game.
  3. Dec 12, 2010
    29
    This game is pure crap. The physics are bad, you have to find the zombies instead that they are everywhere, the gameplay is repetitive and doesn't always work to well. One of the games that you must not buy.
  4. Nov 28, 2010
    40
    Some games, like Blood Drive, "don't take themselves so seriously". They should. This is a mess.
  5. Nov 23, 2010
    40
    Still, it's not the worst thing on shelves right now, but its $49.99 price tag isn't doing the game any favors, either. Maybe as a deep discount title or even a digital download with some of the game's more frustrating modes stripped out (let me run over zombies for ten bucks!) Blood Drive might have been a more attractive proposition.
  6. Nov 21, 2010
    45
    Just be patient and wait for Twisted Metal.
  7. Nov 18, 2010
    30
    Even the multiplayer comes up short by supporting just four players, though we assume the game would likely collapse upon itself if tasked with anything more. It's a shame to see such a sloppy effort from a stellar independent studio.
  8. Nov 17, 2010
    45
    Anyone looking for a quick car combat fix before next year's Twisted Metal might be able to waste a few hours on this title, but they won't be wholly enjoyable hours. Since you can't save in the middle of a tournament, and some the later cups last a couple hours, the game eventually tests your endurance. I'd rather give bone marrow than sit through this Blood Drive again.
  9. Nov 12, 2010
    56
    Blood Drive gets some things right in its attempt to combine two older vehicular mayhem games, but it ultimately falls well short of being great. That said, if you love SCEA's Twisted Metal series, this may be worth a rental.
  10. Nov 9, 2010
    55
    Just some generic cars running over some ho-hum zombies. The controls could be tighter and no one seems to be playing online, but the game succeeds at giving you a license to run over the undead. It just isn't that exciting.
  11. There is, perhaps, no better group to mark for wholesale slaughter than zombies. [Jan 2010, p.84]
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    Twisted Metal style game? Check. Zombies? Check. Violence and blood? Check and check. If these are things you enjoy then pick this game up. If you enjoying having fun then pick this game up. The only problem with this game is that it is published by the evil empire Activision but Sidhe did an amazing job. For some reason I get a much more Vigilante 8 feeling from Blood Drive rather than Twisted Metal, but for people who didn't play those games religiously you probably won't notice a difference...or there is the possibility that I am crazy. The bottom line for this game is I am happy I picked it up day 1 and after spending some time spilling zombie blood I can easily give this game a glowing review. Thank you Sidhe! Activision go to hell. Full Review »
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    8
    I grew up on Vigilante 8 and I really enjoy car combat. However, when I initially played this game I found it to be frustratingly difficult and I wasn't having much fun. I played the game a few more times and got the hang of it. I was surprised to find that once I changed the control settings a bit and learned some strategy that this is a really fun game.

    My only major issue is that there is no local multiplayer. I miss the days where most games allowed friends to play head-to-head in the same room.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 14, 2010
    7
    not a bad game, for quick and easy violence. kind of neat integration of zombie fun. it's car combat, and may whet your appetite for the new Twisted Metal next year. but there are some flaws.

    my PS3 does not recognize the trophies for the game, and therefore do not add them to my GamerLevel or post them to Facebook. The physics of the cars are a bit dodgy at times. some weapons appear to be useless and its hard to line up a shot without a cross-hair.

    having said that, writing this now, i feel a distinct pull to fire up the PS3 and let loose with more blood drive violence. wait if you can for a price drop, but $50 isn't too bad i guess
    Full Review »