Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jan 26, 2014
    90
    What the original Borderlands did so well has been grabbed and near perfected with this sequel. The comedy may be hit and miss, but it thrives on its shooting and loot grabbing. Many hours of fun will await you in Pandora.
  2. 100
    Borderlands 2 is huge, intense and addictive.
  3. Oct 19, 2012
    90
    It's a lengthy adventure full of personality, an endless plethora of weapons, and addictive co-op gameplay. Fans of the first game would be foolish to pass up another chance to visit Pandora and plunder the incalculable treasures therein.
  4. Oct 15, 2012
    90
    There is a lot to do in Borderlands 2, and even finishing the main story opens up additional quests, and the possibility to go back and pursue any side-quests that may have been missed the first time around. If there is one thing the game delivers in spades apart from its quantity, it's fun.
  5. Borderlands 2 is smarter, sharper, bigger and funnier than the game it supersedes. Everything that made the 2009 title so memorable has been improved upon, designed for you to sink your life into. These coming months are going to be packed with excellent titles, but Borderlands 2 has enough potential and sheer stuff to keep you going well into 2013. You need this. [November 2012, p62]
  6. Oct 1, 2012
    90
    What I like about Borderlands 2 is that the game can be as complicated or straightforward as you like.
  7. It appears there is more to Pandora than just the monotone dried-out scrapyard we saw three years ago. Not only is there more scrapyard to be explored than ever before, it has also become much more varied. From green grassy meadows to rocky mountain villages and cold snowy fields. [October p.56]
  8. Sep 24, 2012
    90
    A fantastic game everyone should give a try. Be warned, though - you might just end up losing a big part of your social life and spend it (literally) walking around the vast continent of Pandora.
  9. A seriously engrossing game that really, truly blends shooters and RPGs to brilliant effect. [Nov 2012, p.75]
  10. Sep 20, 2012
    95
    Borderlands 2 hits the market like a bullet in the brain, a syringe of adrenaline, a punch in the wall. You'll get caught and won't stop playing for a long time.
  11. Sep 19, 2012
    96
    Borderlands 2 offers a much larger, much more refined version of the original. Even if complaints about the first game bothered you enough that you couldn't properly enjoy it, the second one improves on just about every aspect of the formula. And for hardcore Borderlands fans, there is a near endless amount of fan service here to keep you laughing maniacally while spearheading your own darkly hilarious co-op massacre. I'm going to wager that if you like fun, you're going to adore Borderlands 2. Cheat Code Central (http://s.tt/1nPoA)
  12. Sep 18, 2012
    94
    This is some crazy bang for your buck and you won't regret a second of it.
  13. Sep 18, 2012
    100
    Overall, Borderlands 2 is the sequel we were all hoping for. Gearbox has clung rigorously to what worked the first time around, and fleshed out the experience with refined customisation options, more variety, and a vastly more interesting story. With fantastic co-op support, there's tonnes of longevity on offer here, and no doubt future DLC will sweeten the deal. Looting and shooting doesn't get much better than this.
  14. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    Where Borderlands was 'sent out to die', Borderlands 2 has been sent out to kill. And it does just that. It will easily be one of the best games released all year and the more we dream of that delicious four-player co-op, the more we think it's one of the top games this generation.
  15. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    A joyful experience, full of humour and character. It manages to walk the fine line between silly base humour and a more intelligent wit too, which is something almost unique in videogames. With a narrative that expands on the original storyline in every conceivable way and so many ways to play, different characters to build and so much cooperative fun to be had, it's hard to see a downside.
  16. 95
    Borderlands 2 is by far a giant leap ahead compared to its predecessor, but it's also one of the greatest games to finish off this generation of consoles. You'll get lost under enormous piles of loot, a good-enough story that's surpassed by side missions, and an absolutely hilarious cast of characters. This all comes together in a giant package of joy.
  17. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    Though Borderlands 2 doesn't shoot for the stars, it does more than enough to retain our most awesome recommendation. As long as you have several friends who can join your party, there's no way you will be disappointed.
  18. 90
    The only trouble with Borderlands 2, on a critical level, is that it feels less like a true sequel than a Borderlands 1.5, a redux of the original title that lacks in completely new ideas but still clearly has all-around improvements.
  19. Borderlands 2 is a top-class FPS that perfectly captures that 'shooting things is fun' rush into an endless cycle. The game it most reminds me of is Doom: it recreates that lost-in-the-moment, circle-strafing intensity perfectly, so that you never get bored of it...If you're tired of brown military shooters and crying out for something different, then get involved – this is one of the most imaginative and rewarding blasters of the year.
  20. Sep 13, 2012
    90
    An excellent shooter no one even remotely curious should overlook. Prepare to level. Prepare to loot. Prepare to get lost in the hilarious, bizarre and wonderful world of Pandora.
  21. Sep 12, 2012
    98
    From major bullet points like the story to smaller details like the UI and inventory system, Borderlands 2 surpassed my expectations and stands as a prime example of how to knock a sequel out of the park. [Oct 2012, p.90]
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 729 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 164
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    borderlands 2 is published by 2k games and developed by gearbox. one thing im specially told about this game borderlands 2 is awesome.
    borderlands 2 start with a great hand down cinematic story.Characters from the previous game initiate events that cause the planet to spit out precious minerals. Like any good story.The most significant change Borderlands 2 can boast over its predecessor is a cohesive plot that actually hangs together reasonably well and drives the story missions forward at a decent pace.The other big change in Borderlands 2 comes in the game's playable class structure. The melee-enhanced Berserker has been replaced this time around by a "Gunzerker" class that can briefly dual wield any two weapons, making for some enjoyably over the top combinations (I particularly enjoyed simultaneously using a shotgun in one hand and a rocket launcher in the other, which I can't recall ever doing in a first-person shooter). I also enjoyed the new Assassin class, which comes with the extremely useful ability to escape with the aid of a temporary decoy, and can use skill tree upgrades that make him a quality melee attacker.
    noow the time to tell something about graphics last borderlands using cell shaded engine which mean everything like cartoonist now the game using unreal engine 3.every thing in the game is design very well and work on more then 60 frame per second on xbox 360,ps3 and normal pc.if u like the review plz comment about this review thanks.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 18, 2012
    4
    Let me say this right off the bat: Borderlands 2 is not a bad game. Borderlands 2 is NOT a bad game!

    On the surface, Borderlands 2 is a
    very good-looking, witty, polished shooter that seems like it would deliver everything the first game had to deliver, and some more. However, beneath that charming exterior lies an extreeeeeemely slow and repetitive shooter that makes anyone with a working gag reflex to put the game down and play with Microsoft Excel instead.

    I loved the first Borderlands, I would play and play before sleep (and then not go to sleep), I loved the gameplay; the RPG and the First Person Shooter combination was unlike anything I ever seen, I remember thinking that Borderlands was everything I wanted Fallout 3 to be. So, what went wrong with the sequel?

    First of all, do you recall the tutorial section of the first Borderlands where Claptrap escorts you around the bandit camp? That section took around 15 minutes and the game threw you into an open world, giving you a few quests to start yourself off. In Borderlands 2, someone thought it would be a marvelous idea to expand that 15 minutes of tutorial into a span of 2 hours, 2 mundane hours of you going through the same, boring, ice environment, listening to that poor excuse of a "funny little robot" called Claptrap yelling in your ear through the whole thing. I don't know about you, but I didn't find any gameplay in Borderlands 2 before reaching Sanctuary fun in any way shape or form.

    Gameplay remains the same as the first Borderlands: Shoot and loot, there are tons of different guns with different stats, you can swap them in and out at any time in your inventory, you can equip different shields and grenade mods too, for those who have played the first game, this will feel familiar to you. Speaking of shoot and loot, the shooting is the main course of the game, it begins to feel repetitive and boring killing the same type of enemy over and over and over, with the occasional "badass" enemy or miniboss thrown in to slow you down, looting remains the same; you go to anything that has a green light and mash the loot button to loot stuff, although, 99% of the time, you won't find anything that's better than what you currently have and you'll end up selling the loot instead, which begs the question of why not just have cash as loot instead in the first place if it's not going to be better items.

    My main complaint about Borderlands 2 is how slow the game feels, quests seems to drag on and on over long stretches of maps that feels longer than they should be, and to make maters worse, the quest rewards don't seem to be ever worth it; let me give you an example: I'm level 25 and I need 15k EXP to reach level 26, I look up some quests on the billboard that are around level 23 to level 25, and how much EXP do they give? 1000 EXP? Are you kidding me? That's not even 10% of what I need to reach the next level! The enemies barely give any EXP worth mentioning, so in the end, it's all just a huge waste of time. In the first game, you would be rewarded EXP for completing challenges, so maybe that's why this game feels so slow in the leveling compared to the first, I don't mind the "Badass Tokens" system they implemented in this one for completing challenges, but why can't we have EXP on top of that?

    My final gripe of this game is the so-called "humor". I'll be honest, I didn't find the humor in the first game funny, but the writing was tolerable, in Borderlands 2, the developers seemed so pleased with themselves that they decided to rub the humor in so hard that it will forever leave a shameful imprint of claptrap on your face. I watched a stream of someone playing the game for the first time and as soon as the "0 as a number" appeared in the intro, about 15 people in the chat went "Lol, that is so clever!"

    ...

    Not... really... It was kind of uncomfortable to witness and I was surprised my brain didn't slip out of my nostrils to escape further humiliation.

    In conclusion, I would say that Borderlands 2 is not worth £40 (I paid £60 for the Collector's Edition...), maybe pick it up at £15 if you really want to, but I say stick with the first game, if you haven't played the first one and you're really aching for a quirky, first person shooter with RPG elements, then I say definitely pick this up.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 18, 2012
    5
    I understand why some people love borderlands 2, however I just couldn't force myself to love it.
    Single player felt a little too difficult
    for certain classes, while I understand the wants of the multiplayer crowd don't ruin single player in the process. Full Review »