User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 40
  2. Negative: 6 out of 40

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    This is a brilliant expansion from Gearbox Whole new area of Pandora to explore with another rather amusing little storyline. I got this with the GOTY edition and would wholly recommended
  2. Jan 9, 2012
    6
    No new guns. Barely new enemies. No fast travel. 5 hour DLC. It feels too overpriced. But the art style is awesome adding green to the screen. Tries to be funny and fails.
  3. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    I was supposed to give this DLC a 9, but I accidently gave it a 10(epic fail).Well it´s still an awesome DLC.There is really nothing else I can say about it.
  4. Si
    Jan 31, 2010
    2
    I wasn't impressed by the Zombie Island for the most part. Yes it looks nice and offers a fresh change from the barren landscapes of the original game, but outside of that... its beyond rubbish. The words frustrating, annoying and badly designed come to mind. Once you hit your first wave of Zombies ingame, you soon come to realize the game developers didn't put any real thought I wasn't impressed by the Zombie Island for the most part. Yes it looks nice and offers a fresh change from the barren landscapes of the original game, but outside of that... its beyond rubbish. The words frustrating, annoying and badly designed come to mind. Once you hit your first wave of Zombies ingame, you soon come to realize the game developers didn't put any real thought into the expansion. You kill one zombie and suddenly you are mobbed by what seems like an endless supply of them. The literally spawn out of thin air to help get a kick in. Its fun at first, but after the 20th creature comes at you, and your ammo is running out, and the Zombies are spitting on you (which makes you blind) and grabbing your legs (which makes it hard to move)... it soon gets infuriating. This is obviously an expansion designed to be played online with a group, because as a solo experience its too hard IMO. But not hard in a fun, well worth the hassle kind of way. Its hard for no better reason then endless Zombies being thrown at you. Yes if you die, you can probably come back with a quick gun-shot kill... but your ammo runs out long before then. Even when fully stocked up before hand. I can appreciate that Zombies come in massive packs, as seen in all films, but its as if they considered that... and NOTHING else. They just thought "right... Zombies.. lets have LOTS of them.. that'l be fun". Combine that with being attacked by bats (instead of those bird like things from the original), which are near impossible to actually hit because they move so fast, its just not all that fun. And, as mentioned above, the developers decided to give the Zombies an ability to spit on you which appears to both blind you and make it hard to move. So you contend with all that, by yourself, with ammo running down and you'l be screaming a lot at the TV. Its honestly ruined my enjoyment of a really good game. I could maybe forgive it, if there was level increases as a pay-off, but there isnt. I just hope the next expansion, which offers level increase, is going to be more well designed and balanced. Expand
  5. Rick
    Jan 1, 2010
    8
    Too much at $10? - that's crazy. I loved the DLC. New enemies - lot's of new humor - and Zombies! I spent $20 for a 2 hour movie I enjoyed a lot less than the $10 I spent on Zombie Island (and I got 6 hours of additonal fun).
  6. Alex
    Dec 23, 2009
    9
    Borderlands was an amazing game and The Zombie Island just adds to its element of running around blowing off dude's limbs. It is a fun expansion ans is sooo worth it
  7. DoctorNed
    Dec 15, 2009
    9
    For $10 you get a decent chunk of missions, some new enemies to kill, new trophies to earn, and get a better taste of what the rest of Pandora might look like and how the corporations operate. Only problem I had with it was that its missions are made for lvl 30, so if you've finished the main story, it won't take long at all. If you happen to have a character right at 30, For $10 you get a decent chunk of missions, some new enemies to kill, new trophies to earn, and get a better taste of what the rest of Pandora might look like and how the corporations operate. Only problem I had with it was that its missions are made for lvl 30, so if you've finished the main story, it won't take long at all. If you happen to have a character right at 30, it'll be much more fun and provide 5-6 hrs of entertainment. Expand
  8. Tyler
    Dec 10, 2009
    3
    WAY to short to be $10. It may be worth $1.99 with the amount of material they give you. Its probably in the 2 to 4 hour range of gameplay with no new real challanges and no new weapons. I dont think any boss took over 20 seconds to beat. Very dissapointed in this, it is just a remake of many of the earlier maps with a darker look to them. Like something some of the guys did for Halloween WAY to short to be $10. It may be worth $1.99 with the amount of material they give you. Its probably in the 2 to 4 hour range of gameplay with no new real challanges and no new weapons. I dont think any boss took over 20 seconds to beat. Very dissapointed in this, it is just a remake of many of the earlier maps with a darker look to them. Like something some of the guys did for Halloween and decided to sell it. Do not waste your money. Expand
  9. Luke
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    Amazing DLC. Totally loved it. So much humor, that I even think that it outclassed the first one. A bit short though. 5-6h and almost all of the missions are done, which is quite sad. Worth buying for everybody that enjoyed this game
  10. MilleniumFalcon
    Dec 1, 2009
    3
    Too short and repetitive. 800 points is WAY too much for a 2-3 hour main quest and petty side quests. BORING.
  11. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    This is a brilliant expansion from Gearbox Whole new area of Pandora to explore with another rather amusing little storyline. I got this with the GOTY edition and would wholly recommended
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned is maybe not attractive in terms of new weapons, skills or a higher level cap, but it’s funny, long and surprisingly comical.
  2. If nothing else, it's entirely fitting that a game that's always been brilliantly brainless is now genuinely brain-dead as well. Oh, and I finally got that bloody Mario-themed Achievement. SCORE.
  3. The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned is a solid addition for anyone who wants more Borderlands, but the lack of additional items or further opportunities for character building feel like a missed opportunity that could have given this content a lasting effect.