Borderlands PlayStation 3

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 426 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 426
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TimL
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    The game ive been wanting all my life. Unadulterated fun, totally addictive. A blast on single player and truly awesome on multiplayer. Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.
  2. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    i absolutely love borderlands celshading style and charm, skags are rather ruthless and capping crazed axe wielding midgets is a blast. hanging with my buddies completeing missions is fun...awesome game
  3. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    I LOVE this game. It is the only game i have played 5 times and unlocked everything and got a platinum trophy and the simple reason why is that its just really really a blast to play especially with a friend. I love the presentation overall and the addictive levelling system is indeed addictive. Really hoping for a borderlands 2.
  4. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    If you love RPGs and FPS and you like collecting things in game.. then this game is a gift from heaven for you! Right now you can get the game and all the DLC (which are superb) in the GOTY version. Definitely a good deal right there.
  5. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    Probably the best PS3 game I have played. Only downsides are the loading times and the lack of things to buy with the money you get. The weapons you find are better than the ones you can buy so you end up never using the cash you earn.
  6. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Borderlands is without a doubt my favorite game for the PS3.
    It's an innovative first-person-shooter role-playing game with strong emphasis on questing and looting.
    The visuals and humor are very original, the controls are well-nigh perfect and the difficulty level is just right unless you try to rush through quests too quickly. What I like most about it is the fact that you can play the
    Borderlands is without a doubt my favorite game for the PS3.
    It's an innovative first-person-shooter role-playing game with strong emphasis on questing and looting.
    The visuals and humor are very original, the controls are well-nigh perfect and the difficulty level is just right unless you try to rush through quests too quickly.
    What I like most about it is the fact that you can play the whole campaign mode with a friend in offline split-screen co-op mode. Fighting bandits and monsters cooperatively is really twice as much fun.
    Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2011
    8
    I really liked the style of Borderlands right of the bat. So many games are trying to have realistic graphics and a stylistic art style is really appreciated in these times. I only played as the soldier/assault class so I can't really speak to the other characters. The game is a pretty straightforward shooter with some RPG elements which can be rearranged at several locations. The sellingI really liked the style of Borderlands right of the bat. So many games are trying to have realistic graphics and a stylistic art style is really appreciated in these times. I only played as the soldier/assault class so I can't really speak to the other characters. The game is a pretty straightforward shooter with some RPG elements which can be rearranged at several locations. The selling point of this game was the amount of guns in it, and they were right, there's a ton of guns due to having them with generated stats. Definitely a fun game, the story was interesting in waves, not really hooked into the story of the game personally. Lot of going places, shooting badguys, picking up things and bringing things back to the person who gave you the mission. Driving around was pretty fun though, running bad guys over was definitely fun. Character and enemy designs were really good and original. Expand
  8. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    Honestly my favorite PS3 game. I love the split screen campaign and the character development system. A few minor bugs, but nothing distracting from gameplay. Great art style and soundscape. Overall lots of fun and very diverse game. There is a little bit of grinding in the middle, which does get tedious, not nothing unexpected for an FPS/RPG style game. Lots of stuff to do and explore ifHonestly my favorite PS3 game. I love the split screen campaign and the character development system. A few minor bugs, but nothing distracting from gameplay. Great art style and soundscape. Overall lots of fun and very diverse game. There is a little bit of grinding in the middle, which does get tedious, not nothing unexpected for an FPS/RPG style game. Lots of stuff to do and explore if you're willing to look around. Expand
  9. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    One of the best PS3 games. Countless hours of pure fun and one of the best cooperative online experiences so far. Millions of weapons and gear to collect. Cant wait for Borderlands 2
  10. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    This game is INCREDIBLE... ok! This is how games should be like. Everything is perfect... the gameplay style, the graphics, the story and all that **** But 1 thing is missing :( There are so few dialogs. You feel lonely in the game. You want someone to talk sometimes. Hearing gun shots or other sounds is good but you barely hear someone talk in the game. That's the only thing. Or else IThis game is INCREDIBLE... ok! This is how games should be like. Everything is perfect... the gameplay style, the graphics, the story and all that **** But 1 thing is missing :( There are so few dialogs. You feel lonely in the game. You want someone to talk sometimes. Hearing gun shots or other sounds is good but you barely hear someone talk in the game. That's the only thing. Or else I would give it a 10. Expand
  11. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    this game reminds me alot of phantasy star online but bigger in the world you get to explore , a ton of wepons , 4 player co op , and fun boss fights. the game has a intresting graphics desighn . a kind of gritty cel shadded look. there are alot of quests to do and the game is pretty long at arounf 40-50 hours to complete . there is alot of DLC that gives you much more to do. the game overthis game reminds me alot of phantasy star online but bigger in the world you get to explore , a ton of wepons , 4 player co op , and fun boss fights. the game has a intresting graphics desighn . a kind of gritty cel shadded look. there are alot of quests to do and the game is pretty long at arounf 40-50 hours to complete . there is alot of DLC that gives you much more to do. the game over all is great even single player is kinda fun but this game is best played online with some friends . the only thing about this game that wasnt done well was the story was very dull and the ending felt lame . i hope gear box does a another borderlands game. Expand
  12. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    Really fun first person FPS that has a unique artstyle and a quirky feel. The storyline is poor but the extensive range of weaponry (I'm talking hundreds of thousands of randomly generated loot) really keep you engrossed as you search for the next best weapon. Overall its fun and occasionally challenging but not frustrating. Quality DLC really keeps the game fresh.
  13. Dave
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Awesome hybrid Fps. I can't to thinking about it. I'm hooked. The guns are amazing and I love how it effects enemys. If you enjoy rpgs comics and fps this game IS for you!
  14. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    This is a brilliant first-person rpg, it takes place on a planet called Pandora, a world filled with dangerous creatures and bandits. It is a hazardous wildlife with agressive monsters and homidical maniacs. You play as one of the four vault hunters with each their special abilities and efficiency, you set out to find the The Vault, a legendary place that is said to contain alienThis is a brilliant first-person rpg, it takes place on a planet called Pandora, a world filled with dangerous creatures and bandits. It is a hazardous wildlife with agressive monsters and homidical maniacs. You play as one of the four vault hunters with each their special abilities and efficiency, you set out to find the The Vault, a legendary place that is said to contain alien technology and riches beyond your wildest dreams. But to unlock The Vault you will have to travel across the land and kill enemies that has the missing key pieces. The game has over 17,750,000 weapons with variation of firing speed, reload speed, damage type and rarity. The weapons has elemental effects which means some can ignite enemies, electrocute them, blow them into pieces and melt them with acid. The characters also have their own skill tree where you can upgrade their powers so they get different playstiles. On your journey you will meet interesting characters and find chests containing weapons and ammunition. Though the ending was a bit of a misfire and the online has some problems hosting a game this is a game you shouldn't miss out on. Expand
  15. RalphC
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Being a fan of both FPS and RPG genres, and having a strong bias toward games I can play cooperatively with my friends, Borderlands is something I've been waiting for ever since I purchased my PS3. The single player experience is great, and I know that playing with my friends this weekend, (with a new character of course), is only going to multiply the joy!
  16. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    I just went and bought the Borderlands expansion pack. I tried to add the token code and it said its invalid and has errors. I go back to the store they give me a new token card and it still wont accept the code. Apparently this is happening everywhere ? anyone else running into this problem ?
  17. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    Fast-paced action, brilliant comedy, great characters, and a beautifully designed world. It's first-person Diablo 2 with guns!! What's not to love?!? Gearbox is my new favourite developer!
  18. Dec 19, 2010
    8
    I normally suck at fps but this game allowed me to get better at them and the same time enjoy them the thing that ade me get this game was the rpg elements and I have to say they work pretty well but when you play with people who have modded guns (like me) and you don't it is a little frustating and it's because of that, that I realized I was tired of the game; after playing as everyI normally suck at fps but this game allowed me to get better at them and the same time enjoy them the thing that ade me get this game was the rpg elements and I have to say they work pretty well but when you play with people who have modded guns (like me) and you don't it is a little frustating and it's because of that, that I realized I was tired of the game; after playing as every character and defeating the game on hard a couple of times I realized there wasn't much else to the game to keep me entertained. after that it was only about helping some newbies get levels fast and trying to get rare weapons. I really wish they make a sequel and they put a better competitive mp and fix the vehicules and also more variety of enemies and weapons and maybe the possibility to change to third person view so u can see ur own looks Expand
  19. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    Great game. You pick 1 of 4 characters with a special action ability and 3 trees of mostly passive stat increasing talents and its a FPS. There are literally a Billion guns because of the Random Stat Generator for the guns so you'll always be able to find something you like. The game is at its best during Split Screen Co-op or Online with 3 other players. Playing solo is harder and slowerGreat game. You pick 1 of 4 characters with a special action ability and 3 trees of mostly passive stat increasing talents and its a FPS. There are literally a Billion guns because of the Random Stat Generator for the guns so you'll always be able to find something you like. The game is at its best during Split Screen Co-op or Online with 3 other players. Playing solo is harder and slower and boring when you don't have someone to play with. I would get the Game of The Year Edition because it has the 4 DLCs that are well worth it and add hours onto the game. Expand
  20. Mar 4, 2012
    8
    this is very fun game shooting things and leveling up is blast with hundreds of guns to choose from this game is very diverse you also get classes or roles to help out your team or by yourself the online is fun and the game is very addicting my only problems with it is there is barely any storyline and and alot of the guns even though called different feel exactly like the other guns butthis is very fun game shooting things and leveling up is blast with hundreds of guns to choose from this game is very diverse you also get classes or roles to help out your team or by yourself the online is fun and the game is very addicting my only problems with it is there is barely any storyline and and alot of the guns even though called different feel exactly like the other guns but all in all great game Expand
  21. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played! Why you ask?
    The element of fps, adventure, and rpg are mixed all into one and it works!! it works so well, that it kept me playing and playing. I found the game extermerly hard at times. Yet very rewarding. The open world is great to explore, the missions are fun. Cant wait for the sequel!!!!
  22. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    What is there not to like about Borderlands?? This is a great 1st person shooter that manages to intergrate a traditional RPG skill system in a very cool way. The characters all have unique abilities and specialties, there is vehicular combat as well, and of course a lot of humor thanks to a great cast of side characters. One can argue that the environment feels repetitive, and what iWhat is there not to like about Borderlands?? This is a great 1st person shooter that manages to intergrate a traditional RPG skill system in a very cool way. The characters all have unique abilities and specialties, there is vehicular combat as well, and of course a lot of humor thanks to a great cast of side characters. One can argue that the environment feels repetitive, and what i really dont like about the game was the ending, but i can ignore these flaws thanks to the fun i had while playing. And best of all, 4 player coop!! Expand
  23. Jul 7, 2016
    8
    This is an unusual game. You really need to be patient and gain an understanding of the game's limitations, and play in a way that is unlike most games. Borderlands drove me crazy enough to quit at one point, but then after seeing some responses to my complaints (and the same complaints made by many others), I decided to try it again and heed the advice of others who pointed out that,This is an unusual game. You really need to be patient and gain an understanding of the game's limitations, and play in a way that is unlike most games. Borderlands drove me crazy enough to quit at one point, but then after seeing some responses to my complaints (and the same complaints made by many others), I decided to try it again and heed the advice of others who pointed out that, while the game did not make it clear at all, you cannot get ahead of yourself in this game or it can be brutal. You are free to advance quickly into certain areas of the game from the start, but you will be punished if you are not at a certain level with the right weapons.

    As I progressed through Borderlands and better understood how to play the game, I grew to like it more and more, and by the time I was done I really liked the game. However, the game certainly is not without it's flaws. The re-spawning AI can be really annoying and detract from your immersion into the game. While there are supposed to be gazillions of weapon combinations in the game, there's really not that many that are actually different, other than in name and appearance. The graphics take some getting used to, but much like the game itself, grow on you. As I understand it, this game has an excellent multi-player, and a lot of people base their high score of the game heavily on that aspect of the game. My review is for the single player alone because I have not played the multi-player component.
    Expand
  24. DanA.
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Those harping on the single-player campaign are off-base. Many players, like myself, play ONLY single-player titles, or in that mode when available. I am completely enjoying Borderlands, especially as Mordecai. Guns, roaming, cars, loot, and chaos. Borderlands is a place in which I'd thrive, were it only real...
  25. JasonC
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    Gearbox Software pulled it off! For FPS fans this is a new genre for us. If you liked Diablo, or Guild Wars, this is very similar but with 87 Bazilion guns. Countless hours of fun. Way to go Gearbox.
  26. EricK
    Oct 23, 2009
    9
    As much as I wish to give the game a 10, it would be favoritism. The only legitimate detracting feature of this game are all , would be the interface could use some minor reworking, the handling on vehicles is a bit clunky, and an absence of a real story. These qualms will not, even in the least, deter anyone with a love for any of the following: Loot, shooting, leveling. Do not compare As much as I wish to give the game a 10, it would be favoritism. The only legitimate detracting feature of this game are all , would be the interface could use some minor reworking, the handling on vehicles is a bit clunky, and an absence of a real story. These qualms will not, even in the least, deter anyone with a love for any of the following: Loot, shooting, leveling. Do not compare this game to your favorite shooter, or RPG. It is truly a new and unique experience that everyone should try. Expand
  27. AndrewL
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    Wow.. really, the game is just SO MUCH FUN. Some annoying characters aside, and the bit of a slow refresh rate at times, you'll fall in love with it very quickly. You find out very fast that in the open world, the number of guns is absurd, you're always replacing your weapon with ones noticably better, which gives you the feeling like you're constantly improving, which is Wow.. really, the game is just SO MUCH FUN. Some annoying characters aside, and the bit of a slow refresh rate at times, you'll fall in love with it very quickly. You find out very fast that in the open world, the number of guns is absurd, you're always replacing your weapon with ones noticably better, which gives you the feeling like you're constantly improving, which is what you want in an RPG. Also, the fact that damage pops up when you shoot lets you know if the weapon switch was such a great idea. You tend to pick up a LOT of things, it's only confusing in split-screen but even then the game seems to have a system of "finders keepers" where if player 2 uses a sniper, his kills or containers that he opens will provide him with sniper ammo. It's a very fun, crazy game and I can't help but feel that its been robbed with the score of 84, it deserves to be in the 90's for sure, it's got a very memorable single player mode, and the game experience doubles in fun with a person right next to you, to help you get through the harder bits in Co-op. Borderlands comes off as a copy of Fallout 3, and yet it manages to become everything that Fallout 3 wasn't, and I loved Fallout. Strongly suggest you get it, it'll make you popular mainly because of the co-op and replayability of the game (when you finish it, you start again with all your equips and stronger enemies). 10/10 game for sure. Expand
  28. MichaelS
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    This game is one in a million, not to mention the 87 Bazillions uns theat in habi the game. I think the gun DO NOT get old because the weapon types, Scopes, and AHHH!!!! this game is AWESOME.
  29. DaleC.
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Bland visuals? That reviewer must be playing on it a 1959 Philco. The game is huge fun with plenty of heart-pounding moments (don't get caught in the middle of raging spiderants with a weak gun). Admittedly, it does take a little while to get going, but once it does - and the incredible weapons and loot start pouring in - you won't want to stop.
  30. johnnys
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    I've only leveled up to 13 but judging from my limited play, the game is gearbox's gift to gun-totting scavengers everywhere. Whether you prefer the frenetic firefights, the WoW type co-op teamwork, the Diablo like loot grinding or the deep character customization in terms of your weapons attributes, this title has a lot going for it. Chances are you'll forget about the I've only leveled up to 13 but judging from my limited play, the game is gearbox's gift to gun-totting scavengers everywhere. Whether you prefer the frenetic firefights, the WoW type co-op teamwork, the Diablo like loot grinding or the deep character customization in terms of your weapons attributes, this title has a lot going for it. Chances are you'll forget about the threadbare "story," the sometimes awkward controls especially driving a vehicle, or the annoying ADD loading screens. Once in game, it's more about gun porn than Black was on the PS2, and it delivers. A fun, addictive game that rewards your continued investment in it. Expand
  31. TravisR
    Oct 29, 2009
    8
    Im on my second play though of Borderlands. Ive enjoyed the experience very much. I am not a FPS fan in any way, yet Borderlands was a blast to play. This is a true first person shooter with RPG elements thrown in for good measure. The gunfights are strategic, and the most fun Ive had in any FPS Ive ever played. I'd love to give this game a 10 however it does have some problems. Load Im on my second play though of Borderlands. Ive enjoyed the experience very much. I am not a FPS fan in any way, yet Borderlands was a blast to play. This is a true first person shooter with RPG elements thrown in for good measure. The gunfights are strategic, and the most fun Ive had in any FPS Ive ever played. I'd love to give this game a 10 however it does have some problems. Load times between zones are lengthy, averaging about 40 seconds to a whole minute. This can get very annoying as you will be traveling between zones often. The story is very thin, although it didnt hamper my enjoyment. The ending was particularly lacking. Aim zoom with weapons, especially those without a scope, seems to make the whole screen blurry and undefined. However, these problems seem easily ignorable when you are having this much fun. Taking on missions, while running and gunning through them is a blast, and the mission variety is fair enough. I didnt try multiplayer, but the single player alone is worth the purchase. Expand
  32. DoYonK
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    The story could have been stronger and the game could run a little bit smoother (important for a FPS), however these annoyances are outweighed by the overall gameplay. I really dig the weapons, AI, the graphics, and the leveling system. It's highly addictive and does not get dull easily.
  33. JasonB
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    This is a must own. I hope we see more games like this in the future. Easily the best shooter i have ever played because of the RPG aspect.
  34. DLord
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    almost a 10 just let down by slow loading, poor verchile controls and some annoying glitches that didnt allow completing a few missions so far. good points, great involving, addictive game play. lots of fun and so many great guns!
  35. PaulO
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    If you liked Diablo and Diablo 2 and you like FPS games, this (so far) has been the perfect combination of the two. Absolutely great game with fantastic 4 player coop. Right now the in game chat is a little buggy (sometimes it's impossible to hear, especially if you mute then unmute), but maybe that's a ps3 issue.
  36. SAMA
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    A powerful game to unwind from a day's stress on. Nothing beats having an insane variety of weapons to choose from to take down a crazy lineup of enemies. Also, if you suspect you may enjoy watching those inferior pixelated enemies get burned to ash, electrocuted to death, turned into a puddle of acidic ooze or have their heads explode, this game has all those sweet possibilities.
  37. MetalheadM
    Nov 18, 2009
    9
    This game does liv up to the hype. I am a mutiplayer type of guy...I initially held off on buying this becaue it is only 4 people....ut the way it is done does not disappoint. Fun as hell, a challenge and incredibly addicive.
  38. KimberleyB
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    I love this game. Its a great mix or genres.
  39. JasonK
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    This game is not perfect, but it is probably in my top 5 games of all time. This is more fun than I've had in years. This is the only game I have ever seriously playing through twice. This is the best console coop I've ever seen, though not really due to player interaction. Biggest flaws: worthless story; fun over anything else (lacks immersion or any sense of "reality"); This game is not perfect, but it is probably in my top 5 games of all time. This is more fun than I've had in years. This is the only game I have ever seriously playing through twice. This is the best console coop I've ever seen, though not really due to player interaction. Biggest flaws: worthless story; fun over anything else (lacks immersion or any sense of "reality"); enemies obviously respawn the same way every time. But the gameplay is perfectly tuned and TOTALLY addictive. Characters are distinct and fun. And, surprise!, the voice acting is GREAT. Expand
  40. JohnR
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    Awesome game for FPS types that like a little RPG on the side. I love it and wanted more once I finished it. I had to go out an buy-back the game after I sold it to get the Dr. Ned expansion :-)
  41. OleT
    Dec 11, 2009
    8
    This game is repeatedly, it has no story whatsoever, the missions is uncreative, the enemys are retarded (AI) and little variated in look. And yet, for some reason i can't explain, I really really love this game! Maybe becouse of the 4 player co-op, the cool graphics, the tons of loots, the constant search of better guns, the fun in watching you're character grow in strenght,and This game is repeatedly, it has no story whatsoever, the missions is uncreative, the enemys are retarded (AI) and little variated in look. And yet, for some reason i can't explain, I really really love this game! Maybe becouse of the 4 player co-op, the cool graphics, the tons of loots, the constant search of better guns, the fun in watching you're character grow in strenght,and the option to choose between 4 characters with diffrent abilitys, and the good controllers, I dont know. But simpel as it is, this is very enjoyable game. Expand
  42. FourForty
    Dec 14, 2009
    9
    Borderlands is a weird mix between Fallout 3, Diablo, and World of Warcraft. Yet, it works together seamlessly. Split screen Co-Op is the most fun i've had in that mode in any game. Single player is a blast as well. A plethora of weapons to compare and tones of quests and areas to explore makes this game feel like a large MMO is size. but still has the Console game feel. Well done Borderlands is a weird mix between Fallout 3, Diablo, and World of Warcraft. Yet, it works together seamlessly. Split screen Co-Op is the most fun i've had in that mode in any game. Single player is a blast as well. A plethora of weapons to compare and tones of quests and areas to explore makes this game feel like a large MMO is size. but still has the Console game feel. Well done and a well deserved buy in my mind. Expand
  43. JP
    Dec 15, 2009
    9
    i would give this a 9.4 but i'll stick with 9. this game has stunning graphics, great co-op, nice characters and alot of guns which is great!! this game is definetly in my top 5 games!!!
  44. KevinW
    Dec 22, 2009
    8
    Borderlands is unique, but still a pretty good game. The biggest thing going for this game is the combat, the variety of weapons, and skills. Even though most of the enemies are recycled, there are enough of them to keep you occupied. The problem I had with this game is I never felt like the battles were as satisfying as I would of liked them to be. Especially the boss battles which are Borderlands is unique, but still a pretty good game. The biggest thing going for this game is the combat, the variety of weapons, and skills. Even though most of the enemies are recycled, there are enough of them to keep you occupied. The problem I had with this game is I never felt like the battles were as satisfying as I would of liked them to be. Especially the boss battles which are mostly far too easy. The loot and variety weapons you can get is great. The weapons are randomized and the elemental effects are well done. The problem with getting loot is your inventory; it starts off pretty small, but grows during special missions. The problem is that it never grows very large, and there's no place to store weapons (at least without the DLC). This becomes a problem if you want to save some weapons for later because you have to constantly carry them around. Most of the levels are well detailed and expansive though in some parts, if you don't have a car, it can get rather tedious to travel through. The online modes are ok at best, and there is no real way to share or trade loot with another player (except for dropping it on the ground). My only other complaint without any spoilers is the story is a little weak, and the ending was, to me, pretty disappointing and replaying the game a second time, for me, quickly became boring. Is it worth the $50 price tag? Maybe. Is it a very entertaining game? Yes. Expand
  45. D
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    Great game, finished it twice. Good shooter mixed with lightweight RPG. The Good: - humour - graphics - good gameplay - good reply value - plenty of guns, guns, guns The Bad: - Too easy. - enemies respawn to quickly The Ugly: - It ends - Bugs: some patched, others don't.
  46. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    I think Borderlands is a very good game with a great difficulty curve and customized weapons (Corrosive, Incendiary, Explosive and Shock are the elements) and different kinds of enemies. The only things I would change about Borderlands are:

    - I would put a minimap in the corner. - I would make it so that you can customize weapons at New-U Stations for a price. - I would make it so that if
    I think Borderlands is a very good game with a great difficulty curve and customized weapons (Corrosive, Incendiary, Explosive and Shock are the elements) and different kinds of enemies. The only things I would change about Borderlands are:

    - I would put a minimap in the corner.
    - I would make it so that you can customize weapons at New-U Stations for a price.
    - I would make it so that if you crash into a corrosive barrel, it doesn't do as much damage to your vehicle.

    But all in all, Borderlands is a very good game and I am enjoying it so far.
    Expand
  47. Oct 27, 2010
    8
    Most games as limited as this one would get a lower score. But the game is fricking addictive and fun. Great shooter, great controls, lots (LOTS!) of weapons. The animated feel of it is a welcome change also. It gives the whole game more of an arcade comic book feel.
    However, the story telling of the game is zip. Is there an actual story to anything? There is no voice acting, all missions
    Most games as limited as this one would get a lower score. But the game is fricking addictive and fun. Great shooter, great controls, lots (LOTS!) of weapons. The animated feel of it is a welcome change also. It gives the whole game more of an arcade comic book feel.
    However, the story telling of the game is zip. Is there an actual story to anything? There is no voice acting, all missions are read in the mission screen. This gives the game a bland feel to it and I had trouble connecting with anything I did with a feeling of importance. Follow the waypoint on the radar and kill anything that moves. That's the story. But it's fun. Remember to plug in an ipod. There little to no music.
    Fut seriously, it's fun.
    Expand
  48. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    excellent designed game, enjoyed it through the entire game.... word of warning, use a usb flash drive and make a copy of your saved games....... would recommend this game.....
  49. Dec 21, 2010
    8
    A highly enjoyable FPS/RPG hybrid full of addictive looting of weaponry. It wouldn't be a remarkable FPS or a memorable RPG but as a combination of both, it turns into something quite fresh and unique, its identity further bolstered by a pleasing, distinctive art style and great humor. With a deeper story and less linear missions, it'd be an instant classic but even as-is, it's definitelyA highly enjoyable FPS/RPG hybrid full of addictive looting of weaponry. It wouldn't be a remarkable FPS or a memorable RPG but as a combination of both, it turns into something quite fresh and unique, its identity further bolstered by a pleasing, distinctive art style and great humor. With a deeper story and less linear missions, it'd be an instant classic but even as-is, it's definitely worth experiencing! Expand
  50. Jan 25, 2011
    8
    Borderlands was well received, garnering accolades from both the industry press and the gaming public at large. For me, it's been an exercise in schizophrenic frustration. I liked the game, and had fun playing it but ultimately it scores poorly on my scale because of some flaws I couldn't overlook. Borderlands certainly isnâ
  51. Jan 30, 2011
    9
    Borderlands could have something for any shooter fan. For those who just want to shoot up bandits and creatures around the desolated world, then it can deliver. For those who want to explore this new land and find new areas and items, it has that in bundles. To experience the true feel of this game, you want to have both, and then you can truly appreciate this game. Graphics are veryBorderlands could have something for any shooter fan. For those who just want to shoot up bandits and creatures around the desolated world, then it can deliver. For those who want to explore this new land and find new areas and items, it has that in bundles. To experience the true feel of this game, you want to have both, and then you can truly appreciate this game. Graphics are very unique, Gearbox called it the 'box art' style, and it looks amazing. Though looking up close, the textures can look bland and unattractive, the world itself is can either make u sit in awe or make you cringe from its grotesque look. You have four different players to choose from, but the overall experience wont change depending on who you play as. Soldiers can deploy turrets, Hunters have a hawk that hurts enemies and drops extra loot, Beserker has an extra strong melee, and the Siren can turn invisible. These special abilities can be fun, but the main gameplay is the for all of them. Story here is pretty strait-forward, you are a fortune hunter looking for "The Vault" and there are a lot of people who don't want u to find it or just don't like your face at all.The story isn't what is so great though and isn't why you play Borderlands, its the massive amount of guns and enemies, there is said to be over 100,000 guns, enough to make any collector drool. The enemies can seem standard at first, just some mutated dogs and birds with some bandits, but when these simple bad guys branch out into stronger or more deadly opponents, that's when you really have some fun. It is always enjoyable to have a small bandit screaming at you with an ax and you blow his head off. The vehicles in this game will need some getting used to, but once you do its alot of fun. The best aspect of this game is the co-op, either local or online. Getting online co-op can be very rewarding. If you were stuck on a mission and couldn't figure it out, then you would get online and find a party that is on the same mission and have up to three other people figure it out with you. When you got offline and back to your game, all of the stats, weapons, and experience you got with then transfers to your game. Though, be careful, i was hit with a glitch by doing this. I got online and played for a while with a group who was farther ahead than me, though i had already beaten the game and was on my second play though. Because we finished missions after the one i was on, that means all of the missions i finished were done but i hadnt done the mission to get to those yet, so my game didn't know what to do and didn't let me finish my mission anymore, meaning i could go on anymore. That said, Borderlands is extremely fun and addictive and deserves your time. It might be too long to some or may be too RPG like for their taste, but to most this game is a blast and can give you a good laugh once in a while as well. Expand
  52. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    This is a great open world game with a great look to it. I am really happy that they decided to go and do their own look than trying to make everything "real" or whatever. Great colors, great atmosphere and music. Really well put together on the presentation end. The weapon choice is MASSIVE. However, if you are like me, you will find 4 to 6 guns that you will use through almost the wholeThis is a great open world game with a great look to it. I am really happy that they decided to go and do their own look than trying to make everything "real" or whatever. Great colors, great atmosphere and music. Really well put together on the presentation end. The weapon choice is MASSIVE. However, if you are like me, you will find 4 to 6 guns that you will use through almost the whole game. The one "issue" (if it can be called that) is that you can't really buy good guns. I bought a gun once from the vending machines, then found a similar gun 3x better on the ground. If I could leave any advice, never buy guns from the store. The best guns are found by killing. Save your money...

    Which leads me to the next point. Money is almost worthless. You find so many guns, which you can sell back, enemies drop money, and leave money laying around that it is almost an unnecessary thing. I am sitting at 1.5 million credits easy and climbing. If you die it takes a percentage of your cash to "pay" for your respawn, but if you don't die a lot there is no limit to your wealth.

    The Co-op works really well and the resource sharing works really well to not leave anyone out or falling behind. Find some people close to your rank and have at it. My only complaint, and why it gets a 9 and not a 10, is the loading between areas of the world. Its not that big of a deal but I wish they could have set it up in someway so that it would stream load or something. I am sure this was the best way for them to do it, as I am not a designer, but kind of a pain when you have to do a lot of traveling without warping. Great game.
    Expand
  53. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This Cartoony, lootfest offers the best of so many worlds. A FPS with a touch of RPG oozing fun. While the storyline isn't elaborate or groundbreaking (let's face it Im not expecting "The Godfather" movie in a game), the journey sure is a blast. With a co-op experience second to none, it is the perfect party, relaxing game. Great characters, unique skills, gazillions of chest and guns,This Cartoony, lootfest offers the best of so many worlds. A FPS with a touch of RPG oozing fun. While the storyline isn't elaborate or groundbreaking (let's face it Im not expecting "The Godfather" movie in a game), the journey sure is a blast. With a co-op experience second to none, it is the perfect party, relaxing game. Great characters, unique skills, gazillions of chest and guns, entertaining enemies make Borderlands almost impossible to turn off. It's map is as big as Red Dead's, and the FPS controls have the fluidity of any COD title. If this game had a competitive multiplayer, Im not sure I would have a need for any other FPS. Collapse
  54. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    + The addictveness of finding upgrades to your weapons, class mods, shields etc.
    + The different skills unlocked when leveling up.
    + The easy to get into co-op
    + Great DLC
    - Loading screens (this seems to affect me more than my friends as I always load up each area 30 seconds or so after them)
  55. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    Great FPS game containing RPG elements (you gain levels and skill points). Takes many hours to complete and everything is playable in 4 player coop mode. One con is that game environments are kinda boring. All grayish and not much change. Other con is that skills dont make difference as much as would be possible.
  56. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    My personal favorite game of this console generation. So much replay value! I've probably put in 200 hours and still get the itch to play it! The only other thing to say is I want more! Can't wait for the sequel!!
  57. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    Played this game when it came out for about an hour on my mate's 360 and couldn't stand it. Picked it up for about £4 for ps3 cos a mate was selling it. Me and the missus are hooked. Great artistic direction. Fun co-op play. More guns than I know what to do with and midget shotgunners. IMO better than COD and Battlefield which I own and enjoy (mw3 &bf3). Can't wait for thePlayed this game when it came out for about an hour on my mate's 360 and couldn't stand it. Picked it up for about £4 for ps3 cos a mate was selling it. Me and the missus are hooked. Great artistic direction. Fun co-op play. More guns than I know what to do with and midget shotgunners. IMO better than COD and Battlefield which I own and enjoy (mw3 &bf3). Can't wait for the second. I hope they sort out the minor issues like frame rate. Expand
  58. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    So replaying this game for the fourth or fifth time, I'm not sure, in anticipation of the second one coming out this year! This game is just as fun as ever. One of the most fun games to just play ever! I love all the guns and the looting and just running around shooting everything. So many different guns and the four classes are very diverse so I don't feel it ever gets dull. The storySo replaying this game for the fourth or fifth time, I'm not sure, in anticipation of the second one coming out this year! This game is just as fun as ever. One of the most fun games to just play ever! I love all the guns and the looting and just running around shooting everything. So many different guns and the four classes are very diverse so I don't feel it ever gets dull. The story does but that's just a side note. This game is more of a FPS Game. and by that i mean it's just fun to play and that's all a game really needs to be. the areas and the enemies are as diverse as the guns. and now with all the patches and the DLC this is a huge game worth every penny I have sunk into it. All the DLCs are a ton of fun and just add more content to such an awesome game! if you like huge adventures and FPS and changing up guns all the time this is a must have game. and i mentioned the patches, this game did have huge load times and frame rate issues but on this play through which is long past the release of the game it performs much better, and while the load times are not instant they are very short for the huge areas they load up. The art style I personally love, it's a great change of pace from all the photorealistic games out there. the cartoonish style allows these huge areas to load with minimal texture pop in. usually I notice some texture pop in when you load into a new area but after a few seconds the whole area runs smooth and it is never a distraction. Overall one of the best games in my library and I just counted the other day, i own 85 ps3 titles on disk and about 30 downloadable games (estimate cuz most i have since deleted off my HD) seriously this game is so fun and is only multiplied if you play with a friend or three other friends online! Expand
  59. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    I've lost count of how many hours I've invested in this rare gem. I never knew i could have so much fun questing and looting and shooting. Although after the second playthrough and all of the DLC, the fun wear's right off once you've done it all. Regardless, i'm pumped to get the sequel and see all the improvements to an already kicka** forumla.
  60. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    Borderlands is that kind of game that causes you scepticism at first. It looks like it's going to be senseless shooting and a stupid or forgetable storyline. And in a way it is all that but what makes it good then?
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Borderlands makes a strong point to a gamer. Don't take it to serious. Neither the storyline nor the characters. If you manage to do that you'll get a
    Borderlands is that kind of game that causes you scepticism at first. It looks like it's going to be senseless shooting and a stupid or forgetable storyline. And in a way it is all that but what makes it good then?
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Borderlands makes a strong point to a gamer. Don't take it to serious. Neither the storyline nor the characters. If you manage to do that you'll get a kick playing it. I manage to do it.
    PRESENTATION: Original to the FPS genre. The cell shading look gave it charisma and the post-apocalyptic wasteland worked to perfection. The creatures are a bit lame though. A missed shot here.
    GAMEPLAY: FPS based there's really not much to say how the controls feel. But we can speak about the weapons. They are Borderlands finest quality. They are of all sizes and shapes. Literally there are hundreds of them and each and every one of them a treat to use. Easy to get (don't need to buy them because there are chests everywhere and each time you kill a foe is weapon is yours to pick up) and satisfying to use.
    PROGRESSION: It's potentially endless because you can replay the story over and over and since there are so many weapons and gadgets around you can customize your character in a variety of ways. Less appealing is the fact that they give so many guns but none are customizable. A pitty.
    ONLINE: I'm not a fan of cooperative based games and that's the only online experience you'll have in Borderlands. The games gives you battle arenas but the competitive multiplayer is unexisting. Why?
    These minor issues aside Borderlands is an original and unique experience. Thums up.
    Expand
  61. Nov 12, 2012
    8
    If World of Warcraft had a WoW Lite version, this one would be the WoW Ultra Lite version. And that is a very good thing. You get the satisfaction of leveling characters and playing with friends, without the lifetime commitment. The way guns are created is genius. In a nutshell, the guns are designed so that you will rarely see the exact same gun twice unless it is a quest reward (evenIf World of Warcraft had a WoW Lite version, this one would be the WoW Ultra Lite version. And that is a very good thing. You get the satisfaction of leveling characters and playing with friends, without the lifetime commitment. The way guns are created is genius. In a nutshell, the guns are designed so that you will rarely see the exact same gun twice unless it is a quest reward (even identical quest reward items are different from player to player). Grenades and shields are also like this. Makes for many hours of gear-hunting aside from the tens of hours of story gameplay. The story and side missions are worth the price of the game alone. Several characters to choose from with many different skills available make the game re-playable with each character. Expand
  62. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    This is a very fun game, even if it is lacking in story (it shows how weapon generation technology is used)
    It is a good challenge, and insanely to play with friends. The humor is hilarious, and the bosses are pretty good. The cell shaded design gives it a unique feel, and I had a great 2.5 PTs with this game
  63. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    I have had a lot of fun playing borderlands, so much in fact that I started a one hour trial and played through the first part then bought the game and played it again with my brother through co-op he quit halfway through so I just continued on and beat it, which this is a long game, and then recently played it again with my brother and beat it again, and then had my game deleted I don'tI have had a lot of fun playing borderlands, so much in fact that I started a one hour trial and played through the first part then bought the game and played it again with my brother through co-op he quit halfway through so I just continued on and beat it, which this is a long game, and then recently played it again with my brother and beat it again, and then had my game deleted I don't know how many times but, this is a fun addictive game, and is best experiences with coop. The game can be kind of slow and the presentation did start out really good especially how the new characters were introduced and the new bosses but that quit halfway through the game it seemed, of course by that time you were addicted and just wanted to continue playing. Of course it could have been a lot better had the presentation been beefed up. Actually I originally had this game for a "9" but after thinking how it started and how the presentation lacked toward to second half, the cities and towns felt empty, I don't know what happend but decided to change it to an 8. Another issue was the challenge. It started off really good, but toward the end if you had been completing everything the challenge started to drop off and it just felt more like a chore. Expand
  64. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    An immensely fun FPS with a unique art and character design that is overall enjoyable. I especially enjoyed the local co-op feature, the leveling system and the endless amounts of loot to be found.
  65. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    One of the best innovative first person shooters. I'm not a huge fan of loot, but in this game, they did it so fantastically, it made it very fun. The game has a great and unique look. The overall atmosphere of the game is great too and I love the witty humor, especially claptrap. I was late to play this game, but I'm glad I tried it out. It's a great introduction to a franchise.
  66. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    8.9 out of 10 (rounded off to 9).

    Missions are repetitive, non-playable characters are bland, the story is forgettable and online co-op is frustrating. Now, getting the bad stuff out of the way, leads me into the great stuff and boy, is there a lot of great stuff to this game. The map is huge and fully explorable, the gun-collecting is addicting and awesome, the mechanics are polished,
    8.9 out of 10 (rounded off to 9).

    Missions are repetitive, non-playable characters are bland, the story is forgettable and online co-op is frustrating. Now, getting the bad stuff out of the way, leads me into the great stuff and boy, is there a lot of great stuff to this game. The map is huge and fully explorable, the gun-collecting is addicting and awesome, the mechanics are polished, the rpg-meets-fps idea is fresh and fully needed in the gaming market and not to mention the outstanding gameplay and controls.

    Everything in Borderlands feels fun and it's addicting to find loot and new weapons. Borderlands is a unique and unforgettable experience, recommended to anyone.
    Expand
  67. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    I had low expectations of Borderlands 2. After putting in 300+ hrs on Skyrim including starting again) I didnt expect to see such an awesome free roaming....if ye wish...( I used to be an Adventurer but I took an arrow to the knee.....) Im at Lvl 22 after about 10 days. Gotta say I spend more time checking/ comparing/ changing weapons. Only complaint with BD2 is ''After about a week, II had low expectations of Borderlands 2. After putting in 300+ hrs on Skyrim including starting again) I didnt expect to see such an awesome free roaming....if ye wish...( I used to be an Adventurer but I took an arrow to the knee.....) Im at Lvl 22 after about 10 days. Gotta say I spend more time checking/ comparing/ changing weapons. Only complaint with BD2 is ''After about a week, I thought hmmm New Game....Damn!! It wiped out my game.( A comparison to Skyrim- where you can lots of saved games...)
    Overall---- Borderlands 2 9.72 10. Now back to the game....
    Expand
  68. Sep 23, 2014
    8
    Great humour and stylised cel-shading make Borderlands a unique and unforgettable "RPG FPS". The levelling up and looting system works a treat and working co-operatively online is a blast. Completing the entire game takes 30 hours, even though many missions are laborious.
  69. Sep 9, 2016
    8
    If you love RPGs and FPS and you like collecting things in game.. then this game is a gift from heaven for you! Right now you can get the game and all the DLC (which are superb) in the GOTY version. Definitely a good deal right there.
  70. Nov 11, 2016
    9
    For some time I had been looking for an open world game that could be played cooperatively and have enough gameplay features to keep me and my couch co-op partner fully invested in that experience and for more than 20 hours.

    Borderlands is the answer to that wish, blending fast paced FPS action with RPG gameplay mechanics and multiple open areas to explore with a multitude of quests to
    For some time I had been looking for an open world game that could be played cooperatively and have enough gameplay features to keep me and my couch co-op partner fully invested in that experience and for more than 20 hours.

    Borderlands is the answer to that wish, blending fast paced FPS action with RPG gameplay mechanics and multiple open areas to explore with a multitude of quests to complete. But these elements alone aren't the only thing that sets Borderlands. Whacky, but clever humour and ludicrously OTT characters dominate the spotlight, all set within an awesomely presented cartoon-esque world.

    The loot and randomly generated variety of weapons will keep you organising your backpack, making for space for that next great gun, shield or grenade perk. Dollar signs on your screen are another incentive to keep dropping enemies and looting every 'lootable' container in sight.

    The gunplay is great, with team player revives when you're in trouble, but what's awesome is getting back on your feet with a 'Second Wind'. However, lack of the ability to move while in 'Second Wind' can lead to some frustrating moments (the only low point, besides the tedium of running and gunning).

    The story has it's key moments and unfortunately ends on a bit of an anti-climax, but fills you with anticipation for how the next instalment will play out.

    For the complete Borderlands experience and story, it's best to grab a copy of the Game of the Year Edition that comes with all 4 DLC packs that are worth investing extra time into.

    All in all, Borderlands isn't perfect, but it does bring something that we've always wanted. And that's always a plus when your subconscious wish is granted.
    Expand
  71. Apr 27, 2011
    0
    This Cartoony, lootfest offers the best of so many worlds. A FPS with a touch of RPG oozing fun. While the storyline isn't elaborate or groundbreaking (let's face it Im not expecting "The Godfather" movie in a game), the journey sure is a blast. With a co-op experience second to none, it is the perfect party, relaxing game. Great characters, unique skills, gazillions of chest and guns,This Cartoony, lootfest offers the best of so many worlds. A FPS with a touch of RPG oozing fun. While the storyline isn't elaborate or groundbreaking (let's face it Im not expecting "The Godfather" movie in a game), the journey sure is a blast. With a co-op experience second to none, it is the perfect party, relaxing game. Great characters, unique skills, gazillions of chest and guns, entertaining enemies make Borderlands almost impossible to turn off. It's map is as big as Red Dead's, and the FPS controls have the fluidity of any COD title. If this game had a competitive multiplayer, Im not sure I would have a need for any other FPS. Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. 83
    Call it a first-person Diablo, an evolution of Resistance 2's co-op mode, Monster Hunter for the west, or a party game for FPS gamers. Call it the best example of the transformative power of multiplayer. Whatever you designate it, Borderlands is a decent single-player FPS/RPG that simply becomes great -- when playing with others.
  2. It's also one of those games that's so strong in parts that its shortcomings become almost glaring by comparison. As such, the game's barebones story, lackluster AI, and insufficient player trading options are real disappointments that prevent the game from reaching its full potential. But when you're frantically trying to stay alive while getting swarmed by an angry horde of gigantic spiderants, chances are you won't care much about that other stuff.
  3. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.