User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 375 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 375

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 6, 2011
    6
    I have always enjoyed games that have a decent story. Not necessarily epic stories complete with plot twists and gasp worthy moments, but just a narrative that helps drive the action forward. Borderlands is a game that completely lacks any sort of decent story, it even goes as far as not even having voice recordings to introduce missions to you, but rather makes you read through a passageI have always enjoyed games that have a decent story. Not necessarily epic stories complete with plot twists and gasp worthy moments, but just a narrative that helps drive the action forward. Borderlands is a game that completely lacks any sort of decent story, it even goes as far as not even having voice recordings to introduce missions to you, but rather makes you read through a passage of text which describes your task and also tries to inject some character development into these passages. This detracts from the experience for me and makes the action feel very repetitive and pointless beyond trying out your new weapon (of which there are thousands).
    Borderlands is a very interesting game in what it tries to become both visually and with regards to it's gameplay. Some will love everything about it including it's very relaxed approach to narrative as well as it's stark visual style. I, however found it tedious and lacking in direction but slightly redeemed when playing with friends either online or locally.
    Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    this game reminds me alot of phantasy star online but bigger in the world you get to explore , a ton of wepons , 4 player co op , and fun boss fights. the game has a intresting graphics desighn . a kind of gritty cel shadded look. there are alot of quests to do and the game is pretty long at arounf 40-50 hours to complete . there is alot of DLC that gives you much more to do. the game overthis game reminds me alot of phantasy star online but bigger in the world you get to explore , a ton of wepons , 4 player co op , and fun boss fights. the game has a intresting graphics desighn . a kind of gritty cel shadded look. there are alot of quests to do and the game is pretty long at arounf 40-50 hours to complete . there is alot of DLC that gives you much more to do. the game over all is great even single player is kinda fun but this game is best played online with some friends . the only thing about this game that wasnt done well was the story was very dull and the ending felt lame . i hope gear box does a another borderlands game. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    Really fun first person FPS that has a unique artstyle and a quirky feel. The storyline is poor but the extensive range of weaponry (I'm talking hundreds of thousands of randomly generated loot) really keep you engrossed as you search for the next best weapon. Overall its fun and occasionally challenging but not frustrating. Quality DLC really keeps the game fresh.
  4. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    i absolutely love borderlands celshading style and charm, skags are rather ruthless and capping crazed axe wielding midgets is a blast. hanging with my buddies completeing missions is fun...awesome game
  5. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    I LOVE this game. It is the only game i have played 5 times and unlocked everything and got a platinum trophy and the simple reason why is that its just really really a blast to play especially with a friend. I love the presentation overall and the addictive levelling system is indeed addictive. Really hoping for a borderlands 2.
  6. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    If you love RPGs and FPS and you like collecting things in game.. then this game is a gift from heaven for you! Right now you can get the game and all the DLC (which are superb) in the GOTY version. Definitely a good deal right there.
  7. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    Probably the best PS3 game I have played. Only downsides are the loading times and the lack of things to buy with the money you get. The weapons you find are better than the ones you can buy so you end up never using the cash you earn.
  8. Aug 6, 2011
    0
    This game is even more boring than Diablo. In Diablo, you get bored 10 minutes in. In Borderlands, you're immediately bored! This game made me want to repeatedly slam my head against a car door. It's that boring. Think of watching two walls dry, then going outside on a 90 degree day to watch the grass grow.
  9. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Borderlands is without a doubt my favorite game for the PS3.
    It's an innovative first-person-shooter role-playing game with strong emphasis on questing and looting.
    The visuals and humor are very original, the controls are well-nigh perfect and the difficulty level is just right unless you try to rush through quests too quickly. What I like most about it is the fact that you can play the
    Borderlands is without a doubt my favorite game for the PS3.
    It's an innovative first-person-shooter role-playing game with strong emphasis on questing and looting.
    The visuals and humor are very original, the controls are well-nigh perfect and the difficulty level is just right unless you try to rush through quests too quickly.
    What I like most about it is the fact that you can play the whole campaign mode with a friend in offline split-screen co-op mode. Fighting bandits and monsters cooperatively is really twice as much fun.
    Expand
  10. Aug 25, 2011
    8
    I really liked the style of Borderlands right of the bat. So many games are trying to have realistic graphics and a stylistic art style is really appreciated in these times. I only played as the soldier/assault class so I can't really speak to the other characters. The game is a pretty straightforward shooter with some RPG elements which can be rearranged at several locations. The sellingI really liked the style of Borderlands right of the bat. So many games are trying to have realistic graphics and a stylistic art style is really appreciated in these times. I only played as the soldier/assault class so I can't really speak to the other characters. The game is a pretty straightforward shooter with some RPG elements which can be rearranged at several locations. The selling point of this game was the amount of guns in it, and they were right, there's a ton of guns due to having them with generated stats. Definitely a fun game, the story was interesting in waves, not really hooked into the story of the game personally. Lot of going places, shooting badguys, picking up things and bringing things back to the person who gave you the mission. Driving around was pretty fun though, running bad guys over was definitely fun. Character and enemy designs were really good and original. Expand
  11. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    Honestly my favorite PS3 game. I love the split screen campaign and the character development system. A few minor bugs, but nothing distracting from gameplay. Great art style and soundscape. Overall lots of fun and very diverse game. There is a little bit of grinding in the middle, which does get tedious, not nothing unexpected for an FPS/RPG style game. Lots of stuff to do and explore ifHonestly my favorite PS3 game. I love the split screen campaign and the character development system. A few minor bugs, but nothing distracting from gameplay. Great art style and soundscape. Overall lots of fun and very diverse game. There is a little bit of grinding in the middle, which does get tedious, not nothing unexpected for an FPS/RPG style game. Lots of stuff to do and explore if you're willing to look around. Expand
  12. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    One of the best PS3 games. Countless hours of pure fun and one of the best cooperative online experiences so far. Millions of weapons and gear to collect. Cant wait for Borderlands 2
  13. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    This game is INCREDIBLE... ok! This is how games should be like. Everything is perfect... the gameplay style, the graphics, the story and all that **** But 1 thing is missing :( There are so few dialogs. You feel lonely in the game. You want someone to talk sometimes. Hearing gun shots or other sounds is good but you barely hear someone talk in the game. That's the only thing. Or else IThis game is INCREDIBLE... ok! This is how games should be like. Everything is perfect... the gameplay style, the graphics, the story and all that **** But 1 thing is missing :( There are so few dialogs. You feel lonely in the game. You want someone to talk sometimes. Hearing gun shots or other sounds is good but you barely hear someone talk in the game. That's the only thing. Or else I would give it a 10. Expand
  14. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    This is a brilliant first-person rpg, it takes place on a planet called Pandora, a world filled with dangerous creatures and bandits. It is a hazardous wildlife with agressive monsters and homidical maniacs. You play as one of the four vault hunters with each their special abilities and efficiency, you set out to find the The Vault, a legendary place that is said to contain alienThis is a brilliant first-person rpg, it takes place on a planet called Pandora, a world filled with dangerous creatures and bandits. It is a hazardous wildlife with agressive monsters and homidical maniacs. You play as one of the four vault hunters with each their special abilities and efficiency, you set out to find the The Vault, a legendary place that is said to contain alien technology and riches beyond your wildest dreams. But to unlock The Vault you will have to travel across the land and kill enemies that has the missing key pieces. The game has over 17,750,000 weapons with variation of firing speed, reload speed, damage type and rarity. The weapons has elemental effects which means some can ignite enemies, electrocute them, blow them into pieces and melt them with acid. The characters also have their own skill tree where you can upgrade their powers so they get different playstiles. On your journey you will meet interesting characters and find chests containing weapons and ammunition. Though the ending was a bit of a misfire and the online has some problems hosting a game this is a game you shouldn't miss out on. Expand
  15. May 31, 2013
    5
    At first I liked it, but after completing the first chapter (which I did enjoy) I got extremely bored just walking around and waiting for an enemy to try and kill me. The boss fight looked fun at first, but I quickly realized that they to are boring, just a bunch of braindead enemies running at you, completely unaware that you have a shotgun pointing at their face. I get the fact thatAt first I liked it, but after completing the first chapter (which I did enjoy) I got extremely bored just walking around and waiting for an enemy to try and kill me. The boss fight looked fun at first, but I quickly realized that they to are boring, just a bunch of braindead enemies running at you, completely unaware that you have a shotgun pointing at their face. I get the fact that they're psychos but shouldn't they at least have common sense, at least a little. I just wish there couldv'e been more "fun" in this game, 'cause there ain't any to have here in the Borderlands. Expand
  16. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    I think Borderlands is a very good game with a great difficulty curve and customized weapons (Corrosive, Incendiary, Explosive and Shock are the elements) and different kinds of enemies. The only things I would change about Borderlands are:

    - I would put a minimap in the corner. - I would make it so that you can customize weapons at New-U Stations for a price. - I would make it so that if
    I think Borderlands is a very good game with a great difficulty curve and customized weapons (Corrosive, Incendiary, Explosive and Shock are the elements) and different kinds of enemies. The only things I would change about Borderlands are:

    - I would put a minimap in the corner.
    - I would make it so that you can customize weapons at New-U Stations for a price.
    - I would make it so that if you crash into a corrosive barrel, it doesn't do as much damage to your vehicle.

    But all in all, Borderlands is a very good game and I am enjoying it so far.
    Expand
  17. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    I just went and bought the Borderlands expansion pack. I tried to add the token code and it said its invalid and has errors. I go back to the store they give me a new token card and it still wont accept the code. Apparently this is happening everywhere ? anyone else running into this problem ?
  18. Oct 17, 2010
    7
    For me, Borderlands was one of those games that you play through a one time, and then you stop playing it, because it really gets repeative and boring.That doesnt mean that Borderlands is a bad game.I liked the FPS combined with RP gameplay, and of course,I loved the guns, because there were so many of them.The plot of this game was really stupid, but that doesnt really matter, because theFor me, Borderlands was one of those games that you play through a one time, and then you stop playing it, because it really gets repeative and boring.That doesnt mean that Borderlands is a bad game.I liked the FPS combined with RP gameplay, and of course,I loved the guns, because there were so many of them.The plot of this game was really stupid, but that doesnt really matter, because the gameplay is fun. I have to say that for me, the best thing about Borderlands was the co-op gameplay.I just had so much fun playing co-op with my friends.Overall Borderlands was a pretty good game. Expand
  19. Oct 27, 2010
    8
    Most games as limited as this one would get a lower score. But the game is fricking addictive and fun. Great shooter, great controls, lots (LOTS!) of weapons. The animated feel of it is a welcome change also. It gives the whole game more of an arcade comic book feel.
    However, the story telling of the game is zip. Is there an actual story to anything? There is no voice acting, all missions
    Most games as limited as this one would get a lower score. But the game is fricking addictive and fun. Great shooter, great controls, lots (LOTS!) of weapons. The animated feel of it is a welcome change also. It gives the whole game more of an arcade comic book feel.
    However, the story telling of the game is zip. Is there an actual story to anything? There is no voice acting, all missions are read in the mission screen. This gives the game a bland feel to it and I had trouble connecting with anything I did with a feeling of importance. Follow the waypoint on the radar and kill anything that moves. That's the story. But it's fun. Remember to plug in an ipod. There little to no music.
    Fut seriously, it's fun.
    Expand
  20. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    excellent designed game, enjoyed it through the entire game.... word of warning, use a usb flash drive and make a copy of your saved games....... would recommend this game.....
  21. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    Fast-paced action, brilliant comedy, great characters, and a beautifully designed world. It's first-person Diablo 2 with guns!! What's not to love?!? Gearbox is my new favourite developer!
  22. Dec 19, 2010
    8
    I normally suck at fps but this game allowed me to get better at them and the same time enjoy them the thing that ade me get this game was the rpg elements and I have to say they work pretty well but when you play with people who have modded guns (like me) and you don't it is a little frustating and it's because of that, that I realized I was tired of the game; after playing as everyI normally suck at fps but this game allowed me to get better at them and the same time enjoy them the thing that ade me get this game was the rpg elements and I have to say they work pretty well but when you play with people who have modded guns (like me) and you don't it is a little frustating and it's because of that, that I realized I was tired of the game; after playing as every character and defeating the game on hard a couple of times I realized there wasn't much else to the game to keep me entertained. after that it was only about helping some newbies get levels fast and trying to get rare weapons. I really wish they make a sequel and they put a better competitive mp and fix the vehicules and also more variety of enemies and weapons and maybe the possibility to change to third person view so u can see ur own looks Expand
  23. Dec 21, 2010
    8
    A highly enjoyable FPS/RPG hybrid full of addictive looting of weaponry. It wouldn't be a remarkable FPS or a memorable RPG but as a combination of both, it turns into something quite fresh and unique, its identity further bolstered by a pleasing, distinctive art style and great humor. With a deeper story and less linear missions, it'd be an instant classic but even as-is, it's definitelyA highly enjoyable FPS/RPG hybrid full of addictive looting of weaponry. It wouldn't be a remarkable FPS or a memorable RPG but as a combination of both, it turns into something quite fresh and unique, its identity further bolstered by a pleasing, distinctive art style and great humor. With a deeper story and less linear missions, it'd be an instant classic but even as-is, it's definitely worth experiencing! Expand
  24. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    Great game. You pick 1 of 4 characters with a special action ability and 3 trees of mostly passive stat increasing talents and its a FPS. There are literally a Billion guns because of the Random Stat Generator for the guns so you'll always be able to find something you like. The game is at its best during Split Screen Co-op or Online with 3 other players. Playing solo is harder and slowerGreat game. You pick 1 of 4 characters with a special action ability and 3 trees of mostly passive stat increasing talents and its a FPS. There are literally a Billion guns because of the Random Stat Generator for the guns so you'll always be able to find something you like. The game is at its best during Split Screen Co-op or Online with 3 other players. Playing solo is harder and slower and boring when you don't have someone to play with. I would get the Game of The Year Edition because it has the 4 DLCs that are well worth it and add hours onto the game. Expand
  25. Jan 25, 2011
    8
    Borderlands was well received, garnering accolades from both the industry press and the gaming public at large. For me, it's been an exercise in schizophrenic frustration. I liked the game, and had fun playing it but ultimately it scores poorly on my scale because of some flaws I couldn't overlook. Borderlands certainly isnâ
  26. Jan 30, 2011
    9
    Borderlands could have something for any shooter fan. For those who just want to shoot up bandits and creatures around the desolated world, then it can deliver. For those who want to explore this new land and find new areas and items, it has that in bundles. To experience the true feel of this game, you want to have both, and then you can truly appreciate this game. Graphics are veryBorderlands could have something for any shooter fan. For those who just want to shoot up bandits and creatures around the desolated world, then it can deliver. For those who want to explore this new land and find new areas and items, it has that in bundles. To experience the true feel of this game, you want to have both, and then you can truly appreciate this game. Graphics are very unique, Gearbox called it the 'box art' style, and it looks amazing. Though looking up close, the textures can look bland and unattractive, the world itself is can either make u sit in awe or make you cringe from its grotesque look. You have four different players to choose from, but the overall experience wont change depending on who you play as. Soldiers can deploy turrets, Hunters have a hawk that hurts enemies and drops extra loot, Beserker has an extra strong melee, and the Siren can turn invisible. These special abilities can be fun, but the main gameplay is the for all of them. Story here is pretty strait-forward, you are a fortune hunter looking for "The Vault" and there are a lot of people who don't want u to find it or just don't like your face at all.The story isn't what is so great though and isn't why you play Borderlands, its the massive amount of guns and enemies, there is said to be over 100,000 guns, enough to make any collector drool. The enemies can seem standard at first, just some mutated dogs and birds with some bandits, but when these simple bad guys branch out into stronger or more deadly opponents, that's when you really have some fun. It is always enjoyable to have a small bandit screaming at you with an ax and you blow his head off. The vehicles in this game will need some getting used to, but once you do its alot of fun. The best aspect of this game is the co-op, either local or online. Getting online co-op can be very rewarding. If you were stuck on a mission and couldn't figure it out, then you would get online and find a party that is on the same mission and have up to three other people figure it out with you. When you got offline and back to your game, all of the stats, weapons, and experience you got with then transfers to your game. Though, be careful, i was hit with a glitch by doing this. I got online and played for a while with a group who was farther ahead than me, though i had already beaten the game and was on my second play though. Because we finished missions after the one i was on, that means all of the missions i finished were done but i hadnt done the mission to get to those yet, so my game didn't know what to do and didn't let me finish my mission anymore, meaning i could go on anymore. That said, Borderlands is extremely fun and addictive and deserves your time. It might be too long to some or may be too RPG like for their taste, but to most this game is a blast and can give you a good laugh once in a while as well. Expand
  27. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    This is a great open world game with a great look to it. I am really happy that they decided to go and do their own look than trying to make everything "real" or whatever. Great colors, great atmosphere and music. Really well put together on the presentation end. The weapon choice is MASSIVE. However, if you are like me, you will find 4 to 6 guns that you will use through almost the wholeThis is a great open world game with a great look to it. I am really happy that they decided to go and do their own look than trying to make everything "real" or whatever. Great colors, great atmosphere and music. Really well put together on the presentation end. The weapon choice is MASSIVE. However, if you are like me, you will find 4 to 6 guns that you will use through almost the whole game. The one "issue" (if it can be called that) is that you can't really buy good guns. I bought a gun once from the vending machines, then found a similar gun 3x better on the ground. If I could leave any advice, never buy guns from the store. The best guns are found by killing. Save your money...

    Which leads me to the next point. Money is almost worthless. You find so many guns, which you can sell back, enemies drop money, and leave money laying around that it is almost an unnecessary thing. I am sitting at 1.5 million credits easy and climbing. If you die it takes a percentage of your cash to "pay" for your respawn, but if you don't die a lot there is no limit to your wealth.

    The Co-op works really well and the resource sharing works really well to not leave anyone out or falling behind. Find some people close to your rank and have at it. My only complaint, and why it gets a 9 and not a 10, is the loading between areas of the world. Its not that big of a deal but I wish they could have set it up in someway so that it would stream load or something. I am sure this was the best way for them to do it, as I am not a designer, but kind of a pain when you have to do a lot of traveling without warping. Great game.
    Expand
  28. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This Cartoony, lootfest offers the best of so many worlds. A FPS with a touch of RPG oozing fun. While the storyline isn't elaborate or groundbreaking (let's face it Im not expecting "The Godfather" movie in a game), the journey sure is a blast. With a co-op experience second to none, it is the perfect party, relaxing game. Great characters, unique skills, gazillions of chest and guns,This Cartoony, lootfest offers the best of so many worlds. A FPS with a touch of RPG oozing fun. While the storyline isn't elaborate or groundbreaking (let's face it Im not expecting "The Godfather" movie in a game), the journey sure is a blast. With a co-op experience second to none, it is the perfect party, relaxing game. Great characters, unique skills, gazillions of chest and guns, entertaining enemies make Borderlands almost impossible to turn off. It's map is as big as Red Dead's, and the FPS controls have the fluidity of any COD title. If this game had a competitive multiplayer, Im not sure I would have a need for any other FPS. Expand
  29. May 1, 2011
    6
    This is a fairly decent multiplayer FPS-RPG hybrid with a random loot gimmick for weapons. If you've ever played the diablo series you should understand how the loot mechanic works. The level up system is a simple multi-tree skill layout like many RPGs today have. The sound was mediocre and in many places it felt barren or lacking. The art style is similar to something you might find in aThis is a fairly decent multiplayer FPS-RPG hybrid with a random loot gimmick for weapons. If you've ever played the diablo series you should understand how the loot mechanic works. The level up system is a simple multi-tree skill layout like many RPGs today have. The sound was mediocre and in many places it felt barren or lacking. The art style is similar to something you might find in a comic book, but expect to see a lot of brown rocks. Most of the terrain in this game is just bland brown rocks. The gameplay is solid enough for a console shooter, each character has their own special ability in combat and a couple "favored" weapon types. The random loot system is alright, but encourages the dreaded grind, or saving & reloading to re-loot a town's treasure chests in an attempt to get a better weapon. On a personal note, I would have found this title more compelling if the various parts of the weapons (every weapon modifier has a different graphical part on a weapon) could have been removed, replaced and swapped freely between guns. Sadly this is not the case, and as such it is a fairly enjoyable, but not very inventive game. (This review is based on the core game itself and none of it's expansion packs) Expand
  30. May 19, 2011
    6
    An average FPS with a unique storyline and visual style. However, this game can get too difficult at times, throwing insane enemies at you when you're still at a low level. It's impossible while playing single player to beat some of the enemies, and still very difficult while playing co-op, which is what I did for most of my time with this game. I can understand why people may like this,An average FPS with a unique storyline and visual style. However, this game can get too difficult at times, throwing insane enemies at you when you're still at a low level. It's impossible while playing single player to beat some of the enemies, and still very difficult while playing co-op, which is what I did for most of my time with this game. I can understand why people may like this, but I, for one, didn't. Expand
  31. Jun 1, 2011
    4
    i dont like this game plain and simple. the graphics are top notch and the comedy is funny added with an origanal story but i didnt like it for multiple reasons. first off i would like to point out that when you first start out the game throws extreamly hard to kill ennemies at you and they will hunt you down until you are deadwhich is not fun as well as when you finally kill them theyi dont like this game plain and simple. the graphics are top notch and the comedy is funny added with an origanal story but i didnt like it for multiple reasons. first off i would like to point out that when you first start out the game throws extreamly hard to kill ennemies at you and they will hunt you down until you are deadwhich is not fun as well as when you finally kill them they respawn. i constantly found myself in the situation of trying to kill one group of ennemies on one side of me then have ennemies i already killed come at me from behind and then get attacked from all sides and the fact thet they are always tough to kill does not add to the fun but only decreases. i also could not stand the bugs as they kept me from actually playing the game and i kept getting frustrated with it. i had no idea of this games existance until recently when i heard from a friend of mine that it was great but i wish i had never heard of it and i saved my money. i can see how some people would like the challenges with this game but for me it was just too much work to get through so bewarned that this game is not for everyone Expand
  32. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    i'd give this game a 9 if it weren't for frame rate and lag issues. even offline there was a significant lag between when i fired and impact. even when i was right next to someone. i recommend this game to anyone on pc but not for ps3.
  33. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    + The addictveness of finding upgrades to your weapons, class mods, shields etc.
    + The different skills unlocked when leveling up.
    + The easy to get into co-op
    + Great DLC
    - Loading screens (this seems to affect me more than my friends as I always load up each area 30 seconds or so after them)
  34. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    Great FPS game containing RPG elements (you gain levels and skill points). Takes many hours to complete and everything is playable in 4 player coop mode. One con is that game environments are kinda boring. All grayish and not much change. Other con is that skills dont make difference as much as would be possible.
  35. Aug 8, 2011
    6
    A game that tries to be Fallout 3 but misses by a mile. The good: Unique graphics look, sound, and weapons. The bad: game play (we ve seen this before), storytelling, voice overs and repetitiveness. In short this game is cross between a Fallout game that lacks a bunch of features like true open world game play and first person shooter (pick one). This game tries hard to have an identityA game that tries to be Fallout 3 but misses by a mile. The good: Unique graphics look, sound, and weapons. The bad: game play (we ve seen this before), storytelling, voice overs and repetitiveness. In short this game is cross between a Fallout game that lacks a bunch of features like true open world game play and first person shooter (pick one). This game tries hard to have an identity but not sure what I can call this possibly a FPS (boring). This is another FPS that follows instead of leads. Expand
  36. Dec 26, 2011
    4
    I really don't understand all the positive reviews this game got. I find this game incredibly unplesant to play. First of all the frame rate is terrible the entire time I'm playing it was giving me a headache because of the slow frame rate. I don't know if this was a problem exclusively on my ps3 or if anyone else experienced it. The game play is reduandant as it's just basically getI really don't understand all the positive reviews this game got. I find this game incredibly unplesant to play. First of all the frame rate is terrible the entire time I'm playing it was giving me a headache because of the slow frame rate. I don't know if this was a problem exclusively on my ps3 or if anyone else experienced it. The game play is reduandant as it's just basically get mission, kill a bunch of dumb AI's that can spot you a mile away and just run and shoot at you, than repeat onto the next mission. I don't know if I'm doing something wrong but the enemies become increasingly harder as the story progress to a point where I need to spend hours leveling up just to be in par with the enemies. This game was a pain to play. Expand
  37. Jan 13, 2012
    0
    Tried the Full Game 1hour demo, a waste of my time downloading. This game is a bad-cartoony version of Fallout and sadly if you bought this i would recomened burning it an going to buy Fallout 3
  38. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    My personal favorite game of this console generation. So much replay value! I've probably put in 200 hours and still get the itch to play it! The only other thing to say is I want more! Can't wait for the sequel!!
  39. Mar 4, 2012
    8
    this is very fun game shooting things and leveling up is blast with hundreds of guns to choose from this game is very diverse you also get classes or roles to help out your team or by yourself the online is fun and the game is very addicting my only problems with it is there is barely any storyline and and alot of the guns even though called different feel exactly like the other guns butthis is very fun game shooting things and leveling up is blast with hundreds of guns to choose from this game is very diverse you also get classes or roles to help out your team or by yourself the online is fun and the game is very addicting my only problems with it is there is barely any storyline and and alot of the guns even though called different feel exactly like the other guns but all in all great game Expand
  40. Mar 19, 2012
    0
    Alright. This game is not a game for RPG fans, it's for first person shooter fans. Speaking from an RPG perspective, everything about this game absolutely sucks. The split screen doesn't split the screen properly if you play with friends (in the menus), all the quests are fetch quests (kill this 7 of these monsters), there is no character development, the story is horrendous, and theAlright. This game is not a game for RPG fans, it's for first person shooter fans. Speaking from an RPG perspective, everything about this game absolutely sucks. The split screen doesn't split the screen properly if you play with friends (in the menus), all the quests are fetch quests (kill this 7 of these monsters), there is no character development, the story is horrendous, and the ending contains no closure. Expand
  41. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    Played this game when it came out for about an hour on my mate's 360 and couldn't stand it. Picked it up for about £4 for ps3 cos a mate was selling it. Me and the missus are hooked. Great artistic direction. Fun co-op play. More guns than I know what to do with and midget shotgunners. IMO better than COD and Battlefield which I own and enjoy (mw3 &bf3). Can't wait for thePlayed this game when it came out for about an hour on my mate's 360 and couldn't stand it. Picked it up for about £4 for ps3 cos a mate was selling it. Me and the missus are hooked. Great artistic direction. Fun co-op play. More guns than I know what to do with and midget shotgunners. IMO better than COD and Battlefield which I own and enjoy (mw3 &bf3). Can't wait for the second. I hope they sort out the minor issues like frame rate. Expand
  42. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    It's very addictive, has LOADS of guns and other equipment, but the world is pretty boring and the quests are often tedious. Co-op is fun, RPG elements work well, and it has some great DLC. Check this out if you want a different type of shooter.
  43. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    So replaying this game for the fourth or fifth time, I'm not sure, in anticipation of the second one coming out this year! This game is just as fun as ever. One of the most fun games to just play ever! I love all the guns and the looting and just running around shooting everything. So many different guns and the four classes are very diverse so I don't feel it ever gets dull. The storySo replaying this game for the fourth or fifth time, I'm not sure, in anticipation of the second one coming out this year! This game is just as fun as ever. One of the most fun games to just play ever! I love all the guns and the looting and just running around shooting everything. So many different guns and the four classes are very diverse so I don't feel it ever gets dull. The story does but that's just a side note. This game is more of a FPS Game. and by that i mean it's just fun to play and that's all a game really needs to be. the areas and the enemies are as diverse as the guns. and now with all the patches and the DLC this is a huge game worth every penny I have sunk into it. All the DLCs are a ton of fun and just add more content to such an awesome game! if you like huge adventures and FPS and changing up guns all the time this is a must have game. and i mentioned the patches, this game did have huge load times and frame rate issues but on this play through which is long past the release of the game it performs much better, and while the load times are not instant they are very short for the huge areas they load up. The art style I personally love, it's a great change of pace from all the photorealistic games out there. the cartoonish style allows these huge areas to load with minimal texture pop in. usually I notice some texture pop in when you load into a new area but after a few seconds the whole area runs smooth and it is never a distraction. Overall one of the best games in my library and I just counted the other day, i own 85 ps3 titles on disk and about 30 downloadable games (estimate cuz most i have since deleted off my HD) seriously this game is so fun and is only multiplied if you play with a friend or three other friends online! Expand
  44. Jun 20, 2012
    7
    I am going to stay outta using spoilers as best as I can...Borderlands could of been better...period its boringly average. Sometimes the mission board says you have the level to do it but then you go do it and get your **** ass HANDED TO YOU by enemy that is a level way above you. In the end I like this game but online play can glitch your missions to never complete and **** up yourI am going to stay outta using spoilers as best as I can...Borderlands could of been better...period its boringly average. Sometimes the mission board says you have the level to do it but then you go do it and get your **** ass HANDED TO YOU by enemy that is a level way above you. In the end I like this game but online play can glitch your missions to never complete and **** up your progression. The game only looks good on HD as it then looks cartoon good. This game preforms good on split screen but is small...wish they had simul view back then...I say buy at 20 bucks at highest, beat the game, get to highest level, then buy the DLC if you can...other then that it repeats with no decision Expand
  45. Jul 18, 2012
    4
    Boringlands is what this game should be called. Not a big fan of the art direction, hated character animations, and was not satisfied with the shooting mechanics at all....boring!
  46. Jan 16, 2013
    7
    Welcome to Borderlands, a game which tells a different tale of the apocalyptic future we are soon to get. With more guns than dead hookers in Charlie Sheens house, the game instantly impressed me. The character/enemy types are brilliant in their own individual ways. So how is this game different from other FPS games apart from the graphics you say? Simple, the game mainly resolves aroundWelcome to Borderlands, a game which tells a different tale of the apocalyptic future we are soon to get. With more guns than dead hookers in Charlie Sheens house, the game instantly impressed me. The character/enemy types are brilliant in their own individual ways. So how is this game different from other FPS games apart from the graphics you say? Simple, the game mainly resolves around loot. Loot is anything from guns to money. But there's so many guns, so much choice, so much fun to be had that you'll never be bored. The only issue is the empty world. While its huge, it lacks depth. I prefer my open worlds small and full then large and empty. Enemys are all unique with their own weapons, rank/level e.t.c it makes most other FPS developers look lazy. Call of Duty, in particular, should have stopped being the number one FPS and been replaced by Borderlands. If you believe that all FPS games are like call of duty, I truly recommend you buy this game A.S.A.P. Expand
  47. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played! Why you ask?
    The element of fps, adventure, and rpg are mixed all into one and it works!! it works so well, that it kept me playing and playing. I found the game extermerly hard at times. Yet very rewarding. The open world is great to explore, the missions are fun. Cant wait for the sequel!!!!
  48. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    I've lost count of how many hours I've invested in this rare gem. I never knew i could have so much fun questing and looting and shooting. Although after the second playthrough and all of the DLC, the fun wear's right off once you've done it all. Regardless, i'm pumped to get the sequel and see all the improvements to an already kicka** forumla.
  49. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    Borderlands is that kind of game that causes you scepticism at first. It looks like it's going to be senseless shooting and a stupid or forgetable storyline. And in a way it is all that but what makes it good then?
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Borderlands makes a strong point to a gamer. Don't take it to serious. Neither the storyline nor the characters. If you manage to do that you'll get a
    Borderlands is that kind of game that causes you scepticism at first. It looks like it's going to be senseless shooting and a stupid or forgetable storyline. And in a way it is all that but what makes it good then?
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Borderlands makes a strong point to a gamer. Don't take it to serious. Neither the storyline nor the characters. If you manage to do that you'll get a kick playing it. I manage to do it.
    PRESENTATION: Original to the FPS genre. The cell shading look gave it charisma and the post-apocalyptic wasteland worked to perfection. The creatures are a bit lame though. A missed shot here.
    GAMEPLAY: FPS based there's really not much to say how the controls feel. But we can speak about the weapons. They are Borderlands finest quality. They are of all sizes and shapes. Literally there are hundreds of them and each and every one of them a treat to use. Easy to get (don't need to buy them because there are chests everywhere and each time you kill a foe is weapon is yours to pick up) and satisfying to use.
    PROGRESSION: It's potentially endless because you can replay the story over and over and since there are so many weapons and gadgets around you can customize your character in a variety of ways. Less appealing is the fact that they give so many guns but none are customizable. A pitty.
    ONLINE: I'm not a fan of cooperative based games and that's the only online experience you'll have in Borderlands. The games gives you battle arenas but the competitive multiplayer is unexisting. Why?
    These minor issues aside Borderlands is an original and unique experience. Thums up.
    Expand
  50. Nov 12, 2012
    8
    If World of Warcraft had a WoW Lite version, this one would be the WoW Ultra Lite version. And that is a very good thing. You get the satisfaction of leveling characters and playing with friends, without the lifetime commitment. The way guns are created is genius. In a nutshell, the guns are designed so that you will rarely see the exact same gun twice unless it is a quest reward (evenIf World of Warcraft had a WoW Lite version, this one would be the WoW Ultra Lite version. And that is a very good thing. You get the satisfaction of leveling characters and playing with friends, without the lifetime commitment. The way guns are created is genius. In a nutshell, the guns are designed so that you will rarely see the exact same gun twice unless it is a quest reward (even identical quest reward items are different from player to player). Grenades and shields are also like this. Makes for many hours of gear-hunting aside from the tens of hours of story gameplay. The story and side missions are worth the price of the game alone. Several characters to choose from with many different skills available make the game re-playable with each character. Expand
  51. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    This is a very fun game, even if it is lacking in story (it shows how weapon generation technology is used)
    It is a good challenge, and insanely to play with friends. The humor is hilarious, and the bosses are pretty good. The cell shaded design gives it a unique feel, and I had a great 2.5 PTs with this game
  52. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    Okay, the graphics are cell-shaded, the audio is sub-par, and the game play is about as repetitive as a paddle ball.The humor of the game is pretty good, and the feel of the game play is okay for about an hour or two. But after about an hour the game gets a little drab and boring, the only thing it leaves you with is the humor. The enemies are just EXP fodder, and the bosses couldn't beOkay, the graphics are cell-shaded, the audio is sub-par, and the game play is about as repetitive as a paddle ball.The humor of the game is pretty good, and the feel of the game play is okay for about an hour or two. But after about an hour the game gets a little drab and boring, the only thing it leaves you with is the humor. The enemies are just EXP fodder, and the bosses couldn't be any easier. Really, it's not worth the hype it gets. Expand
  53. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    I have had a lot of fun playing borderlands, so much in fact that I started a one hour trial and played through the first part then bought the game and played it again with my brother through co-op he quit halfway through so I just continued on and beat it, which this is a long game, and then recently played it again with my brother and beat it again, and then had my game deleted I don'tI have had a lot of fun playing borderlands, so much in fact that I started a one hour trial and played through the first part then bought the game and played it again with my brother through co-op he quit halfway through so I just continued on and beat it, which this is a long game, and then recently played it again with my brother and beat it again, and then had my game deleted I don't know how many times but, this is a fun addictive game, and is best experiences with coop. The game can be kind of slow and the presentation did start out really good especially how the new characters were introduced and the new bosses but that quit halfway through the game it seemed, of course by that time you were addicted and just wanted to continue playing. Of course it could have been a lot better had the presentation been beefed up. Actually I originally had this game for a "9" but after thinking how it started and how the presentation lacked toward to second half, the cities and towns felt empty, I don't know what happend but decided to change it to an 8. Another issue was the challenge. It started off really good, but toward the end if you had been completing everything the challenge started to drop off and it just felt more like a chore. Expand
  54. Jan 21, 2013
    0
    Interesting graphic style, or just lazy programmers I would have to be in favour of the latter. I gave this game a go as I am a big fan of massive open world RPG, but this game is truly awful in every sense. Poor programming, poor controls, poor weaponry, poor scenery, just a truly terrible game and difficult to immerse in not to mention the whopping great chunk of HDD space it takes up.Interesting graphic style, or just lazy programmers I would have to be in favour of the latter. I gave this game a go as I am a big fan of massive open world RPG, but this game is truly awful in every sense. Poor programming, poor controls, poor weaponry, poor scenery, just a truly terrible game and difficult to immerse in not to mention the whopping great chunk of HDD space it takes up. Do yourself a service and leave this one on the bargain table and buy fallout3 instead and you won't be disappointed because if you buy this game you will be sorry, particularly after meeting craptrap the most annoyingly voiced npc in the history of gaming, don't believe me? See for yourself. Expand
  55. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    An immensely fun FPS with a unique art and character design that is overall enjoyable. I especially enjoyed the local co-op feature, the leveling system and the endless amounts of loot to be found.
  56. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    One of the best innovative first person shooters. I'm not a huge fan of loot, but in this game, they did it so fantastically, it made it very fun. The game has a great and unique look. The overall atmosphere of the game is great too and I love the witty humor, especially claptrap. I was late to play this game, but I'm glad I tried it out. It's a great introduction to a franchise.
  57. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    A fun game to play and kill a lot of time with, but there's nothing really spectacular about it. Glad I played it, but I won't really remember much about it in a few months.
  58. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    8.9 out of 10 (rounded off to 9).

    Missions are repetitive, non-playable characters are bland, the story is forgettable and online co-op is frustrating. Now, getting the bad stuff out of the way, leads me into the great stuff and boy, is there a lot of great stuff to this game. The map is huge and fully explorable, the gun-collecting is addicting and awesome, the mechanics are polished,
    8.9 out of 10 (rounded off to 9).

    Missions are repetitive, non-playable characters are bland, the story is forgettable and online co-op is frustrating. Now, getting the bad stuff out of the way, leads me into the great stuff and boy, is there a lot of great stuff to this game. The map is huge and fully explorable, the gun-collecting is addicting and awesome, the mechanics are polished, the rpg-meets-fps idea is fresh and fully needed in the gaming market and not to mention the outstanding gameplay and controls.

    Everything in Borderlands feels fun and it's addicting to find loot and new weapons. Borderlands is a unique and unforgettable experience, recommended to anyone.
    Expand
  59. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    I had low expectations of Borderlands 2. After putting in 300+ hrs on Skyrim including starting again) I didnt expect to see such an awesome free roaming....if ye wish...( I used to be an Adventurer but I took an arrow to the knee.....) Im at Lvl 22 after about 10 days. Gotta say I spend more time checking/ comparing/ changing weapons. Only complaint with BD2 is ''After about a week, II had low expectations of Borderlands 2. After putting in 300+ hrs on Skyrim including starting again) I didnt expect to see such an awesome free roaming....if ye wish...( I used to be an Adventurer but I took an arrow to the knee.....) Im at Lvl 22 after about 10 days. Gotta say I spend more time checking/ comparing/ changing weapons. Only complaint with BD2 is ''After about a week, I thought hmmm New Game....Damn!! It wiped out my game.( A comparison to Skyrim- where you can lots of saved games...)
    Overall---- Borderlands 2 9.72 10. Now back to the game....
    Expand
  60. Dec 9, 2013
    0
    SERIOUSLY!!!??BEST FPS GAME OF THE YEAR??This game is so boring and hard(should be impossible)i've played through for like 4 hours and it's kinda get more boring and insanely hard.i'm lv 11 and stuck at a mission(slegde:safehouse)the enemies are all lv 15 or 14,takes me respawned 3-6 times to kill one of them.Game is about relax and make you feel like u ownss the enemies not the enemies owns u!!!
  61. Dec 17, 2013
    2
    Online: Just people running into each other, going way to fast, shooting everything, not working together and respawning all the time.
    Offline couch co-op 2 player: One always knows where to go and the other one does not. Using the map all the time one player is constantly waiting for the other. The too large open world without much in it doesn't help either.
    Offline single player:
    Online: Just people running into each other, going way to fast, shooting everything, not working together and respawning all the time.
    Offline couch co-op 2 player: One always knows where to go and the other one does not. Using the map all the time one player is constantly waiting for the other. The too large open world without much in it doesn't help either.
    Offline single player: Constant grinding, grinding grinding, waay toooo long game (50 hours?), no story to speak off, respawning enemies, no humor, an ugly empty world, constant dying and respawning until you've reached a high enough level to beat a certain enemy.

    In short: a terrible game.

    I give this game 2/10 for a couple of reasons: The gameplay and controls aren't bad at all and leveling up and using abilities can be fun. There is potential in the different guns you have and the balance between then is good (like diablo).
    Expand
  62. Dec 26, 2013
    2
    Forced myself to finish this game(43+ hours) ,my save got corrupted n didn't even bother playing it again ,way to much grinding.....I'd say it's only fun if ur playing it with friends ,if you're planning on playing Borderlands single player.. Save your money
  63. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    It's a good game, I've liked playing it since the beginning, but there's only one thing I don't like: The Plot. The game lacks an interesting story.

    The worst thing of the game is the ending, maybe one of the weakest endings I've seen in my life.
  64. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    What is there not to like about Borderlands?? This is a great 1st person shooter that manages to intergrate a traditional RPG skill system in a very cool way. The characters all have unique abilities and specialties, there is vehicular combat as well, and of course a lot of humor thanks to a great cast of side characters. One can argue that the environment feels repetitive, and what iWhat is there not to like about Borderlands?? This is a great 1st person shooter that manages to intergrate a traditional RPG skill system in a very cool way. The characters all have unique abilities and specialties, there is vehicular combat as well, and of course a lot of humor thanks to a great cast of side characters. One can argue that the environment feels repetitive, and what i really dont like about the game was the ending, but i can ignore these flaws thanks to the fun i had while playing. And best of all, 4 player coop!! Expand
  65. Aug 17, 2014
    6
    Slow and kinda boring, the idea of bazillion guns is cool, but IT DOESN’T MATTER BECAUSE HALF THE GUNS LOOK THE SAME or **** AND has a disappointing end to disappointing game. It has its moments, but otherwise is incredibly average.
  66. Sep 23, 2014
    8
    Great humour and stylised cel-shading make Borderlands a unique and unforgettable "RPG FPS". The levelling up and looting system works a treat and working co-operatively online is a blast. Completing the entire game takes 30 hours, even though many missions are laborious.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. 83
    Call it a first-person Diablo, an evolution of Resistance 2's co-op mode, Monster Hunter for the west, or a party game for FPS gamers. Call it the best example of the transformative power of multiplayer. Whatever you designate it, Borderlands is a decent single-player FPS/RPG that simply becomes great -- when playing with others.
  2. It's also one of those games that's so strong in parts that its shortcomings become almost glaring by comparison. As such, the game's barebones story, lackluster AI, and insufficient player trading options are real disappointments that prevent the game from reaching its full potential. But when you're frantically trying to stay alive while getting swarmed by an angry horde of gigantic spiderants, chances are you won't care much about that other stuff.
  3. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.