Brink PlayStation 3

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 168 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 168
  2. Negative: 56 out of 168
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 27, 2012
    6
    this is not what i was expecting from bethesda at all which makes mostly story based games. this is an alright game but is ment to be enjoyed in small doses. there is a story but it feels non existant and like it is getting in the way of you playing the game. the whole game feels is ment to be played online and it has bots to fill in for actual people if you are playing offline. thethis is not what i was expecting from bethesda at all which makes mostly story based games. this is an alright game but is ment to be enjoyed in small doses. there is a story but it feels non existant and like it is getting in the way of you playing the game. the whole game feels is ment to be played online and it has bots to fill in for actual people if you are playing offline. the objectives you need to do in each map is exactly the same all the time you pick a mission to play and it is always the same map and the same objectives, there isnt anything wrong with this it just gets dull after a while. there is also challenges set up for you to do that can help you to learn to better play the game but are pretty dull and boring. the best thing i think about this game is the infinate amount of customization options for you to choose from there are so many peices of clothing and hair styles and accesories that no 2 peoples characters will be the same. over all this game is pretty dull and is not for everyone so my warning is try before you buy Expand
  2. May 11, 2011
    7
    If your a story driven gamer like myself, you will be disappointed. However, This game as a whole is pretty good. I can imagine with the PSN back online, it will be even better. It naturally feels like a Multi-Player game. it requires team work and strategy. Using the different Classes to get the job done. I suggest you keep it, unlock all the weapons and attachments, and when PSN comeIf your a story driven gamer like myself, you will be disappointed. However, This game as a whole is pretty good. I can imagine with the PSN back online, it will be even better. It naturally feels like a Multi-Player game. it requires team work and strategy. Using the different Classes to get the job done. I suggest you keep it, unlock all the weapons and attachments, and when PSN come back online, experience it the way the game was meant to be played! Expand
  3. May 15, 2011
    7
    My online has been limited obviously you know why so I won't speak about that. From the campaign I have played it has been an enjoyable experience. The parkour is fluent and the customization superb. The color matching is easy and looks great. The weapons look nice for both security and resistance respectively. They definitely defined each side specifically with the resistance your rag tagMy online has been limited obviously you know why so I won't speak about that. From the campaign I have played it has been an enjoyable experience. The parkour is fluent and the customization superb. The color matching is easy and looks great. The weapons look nice for both security and resistance respectively. They definitely defined each side specifically with the resistance your rag tag gang of rebels and the security being the uptight clean sophisticated police force. Both feel very natural and I find myself relating to the side I choose. The combat is decent and the shooting manageable. The HUD is nicely laid out nicely and easy to understand. The classes are nice but I sense some definite inbalance.

    Only few problems I have is some of the parkour, combat and missions. With the parkour sometimes it feels like I have to hit a railing straight on because sometimes you get a bit stuck. With vaulting up ledges it is animated weirdly sometimes hands not really near the ledge. Sometimes I feel like I am bouncing around in the wrong direction because the SMART will get confused with where I want to go. The combat sometimes feel like hip firing is better then aiming down the sights. Some of the guns seem underpowered and the pistol knife hard to execute. The sniping seems like it is obsolete because of such rapid movement. I wish that you could be light or heavy right of the bat because you start with medium. You shouldn't have to wait to unlock them in my opinion. The missions sometimes seem too difficult or too easy. Cheesy most of the time but still enjoyable. Some missions have points where the enemies just rush and it is difficult to retaliate as the computers seem sluggish (again cannot say with multiplayer how it would be). All in all Brink is customization masterpiece. Each character feels unique and each gun looks superb. The attachments available seem realistic and souping up my guns feels oh so right. The combat needs a definite update and balance would be nice. Some of the missions need to be toned down and vice versa. Brink is entertaining but I feel like there should be more. It is incomplete.
    Expand
  4. May 18, 2011
    7
    When i first saw this game on the GamesMaster preview i was estatic; another game by the amazing splashdamage and published by Bethesda, which in my opinion are the best publishers in the world. Lets start with the campaign. To be honest when you get in the game and select the first mission you are quite excited but as you play you realise the missions seem to take a vast amount of time.When i first saw this game on the GamesMaster preview i was estatic; another game by the amazing splashdamage and published by Bethesda, which in my opinion are the best publishers in the world. Lets start with the campaign. To be honest when you get in the game and select the first mission you are quite excited but as you play you realise the missions seem to take a vast amount of time. When you compare it to the length of missions in other fps' s you realise its the same but tiresome. However, the missions are very good in co-op.
    The main feature was the customisation and i admit the options are stunning but there aren't too many but enough to be unique. Overall i believe that the game is good with some great features.
    Expand
  5. Aug 2, 2011
    6
    Have Internet and friends to play with? Buy it. Have not? Do not waste your precious time and/or money. Well... It's a fun game. You have a great customization menu. You have lots of guns and etc. The maps are well built and things like that, but you can only enjoy it if you go online, because the singleplayer is boring, even having two options of history. Brink is a game made for onlineHave Internet and friends to play with? Buy it. Have not? Do not waste your precious time and/or money. Well... It's a fun game. You have a great customization menu. You have lots of guns and etc. The maps are well built and things like that, but you can only enjoy it if you go online, because the singleplayer is boring, even having two options of history. Brink is a game made for online battles and nothing more, nothing less. Expand
  6. May 13, 2011
    7
    Brink is a pretty good game worthy of buying. But be prepared that there are some flaws, the campaign is absolutely frustrating with overtime BS, your teammate's AI is comparable to that of a monkey. But I will give credit where it is due, the freedom of movement is amazing, the customization is fantastic, and the weapons are very cool. Hopefully updates to the teammate AI will be made andBrink is a pretty good game worthy of buying. But be prepared that there are some flaws, the campaign is absolutely frustrating with overtime BS, your teammate's AI is comparable to that of a monkey. But I will give credit where it is due, the freedom of movement is amazing, the customization is fantastic, and the weapons are very cool. Hopefully updates to the teammate AI will be made and my opinion will change, but as it stands now this game is only a moderate success Expand
  7. May 12, 2011
    6
    Brink is a class-based first-person shooter that attempts to change the established formula of shooters by introducing class-specific objectives, vast character customization and a parkour-like maneuverability system. While these ideas sound great on paper, they are much less enjoyable in practice.

    Upon loading the game, players are given a brief introduction to the game world. In the
    Brink is a class-based first-person shooter that attempts to change the established formula of shooters by introducing class-specific objectives, vast character customization and a parkour-like maneuverability system. While these ideas sound great on paper, they are much less enjoyable in practice.

    Upon loading the game, players are given a brief introduction to the game world. In the near future, a man-made island called the Ark has become the last bastion for humanity on Earth. Due to the dwindling resources and ever-growing population, the Ark is in the middle of a civil war between the Security, who seek to maintain peace through order, and the Resistance, a ragtag group of refugees who wish to see power in different hands. The narrative more or less ends there with no continuity from one mission to the next. Characters can play on either the Security or Resistance side online and the appearance of both can be customized. Customization as a whole is Brink's strongest point, offering enough faces, voices, tattoos, scars, body types and clothing options for both factions to provide a unique sense of identity. Guns are also customizable via scopes, extended clips, grips and silencers. A third layer of customization comes in the form of abilities, unlockable skills that augment the game's four classes: the Solider, Engineer, Medic and Operative.

    These classes are the foundation of Brink's gameplay. Instead of allowing any player on a team to accomplish an objective, certain objectives can only be completed by a certain class. For example, only the Operative can hack a terminal and only the Solider can destroy a barricade. This is Brink's greatest downfall, especially when playing offline. Players will undoubtedly become comfortable with one class and prefer it to the other three. This works well when the player's preferred class is the one that is needed to accomplish the objective but when it isn't the player will be regulated to escort duty. If the map being played has no objectives for the Solider, players to invest their unlock points in Soldier abilities will suddenly find themselves a superfluous commodity. Players are free to change classes in the middle of a match but asking them to give up their unlocked abilities and perhaps even change their entire playstyle in order to be an actual participant in the battle seems unfair. Brink does not reward players for trying new things, it practically forces them to.

    Standard gameplay is the same formula we've seen in shooters for years: the triggers aim and shoot, the buttons reload and jump, there's a sprint function and a melee ability. It's kind of hard to screw up such a heavily-used control scheme and Brink incorporates its parkour system into it seamlessly: when sprinting, your character will automatically hurdle low obstacles and a tap of a button causes him to scale nearby ledges or slide into cover. It's a neat trick, but one that is rarely useful. The shockingly stupid AI is worth mentioning to those playing offline but this is forgivable as it is clear that Brink was meant to be played online where other players fill in for the ridiculous bots found when playing alone.

    Presentation-wise, Brink is right in the middle of average. The graphics are not especially noteworthy one way or another and the presence of custom character models in the cutscenes is a nice touch. The sound is weak overall, with guns feeling weak and underpowered. The multiple voices available to characters are all fairly well done but are undermined by poor dialog that consists almost entirely of status updates from teammates (â
    Expand
  8. May 13, 2011
    5
    Whilst it started ok.It ended getting tiresome and boring,run kill,run get killed,oh unlock a safe,oh blow up a door...Camera issues & what seems to be general chaos ends a brief encounter with this game for me.
    MUST TRY HARDER...
  9. May 13, 2011
    5
    Unfortunately with the lack of the PSN, I don't think any reviewer can give a just review of Brink. Based on the single player experience, Brink just hasn't lived up to the hype. It's 8 maps are quite linear and after a couple of play-throughs of each, they become very repetitive. Originally the marketing of the game was focused strongly on the free-running aspect (SMART movement), whichUnfortunately with the lack of the PSN, I don't think any reviewer can give a just review of Brink. Based on the single player experience, Brink just hasn't lived up to the hype. It's 8 maps are quite linear and after a couple of play-throughs of each, they become very repetitive. Originally the marketing of the game was focused strongly on the free-running aspect (SMART movement), which is completely un-noticable when you're playing. Some of the game's positives include the massive armoury which you can load up from and the ability to add attachments to nearly every weapon without having to spend days leveling up (akin to the COD series).

    While it looks like a great gaming formula on paper, Brink is unfortunately a very mediocre game.
    Expand
  10. May 14, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Obviously, the game had lots of potential, and of course, with the end result, many things that would have made this game a benchmark upon FPS's are missing. In all though, the game is decent from an entertainment standpoint, which all games should focus on, but lacks in narrative, storytelling, and other key things that would have perfected Splash Damage's first mainstream release title (Other than modding or add-on/multiplayer). With customization, hectic multiplayer gameplay, and great level design, this game will keep you busy for weeks. But with Single Player, the overpowered enemy bots and the lacking intelligence of your own teammates will immediately downgrade your experience. But since this game is in par with multiplayer standards, the quick movement and fast-pace of parkour-blending-gunslinging stylization will immerse you in the dog-eat-dog gameplay. Objectives are simple, and though wishing that there could be even more objectives, 16v16 multiplayer, and larger map designs, the game is a winning formula that is sure to make an explosive sequel. On to customization, there are literally guns-a-plenty; customize away, and get addicted to making your perfect weapon of destruction. Character customization also allows unique capabilities, allowing you to create a military force, or a resistance fighter of choosing for battle. There are also body types, disguises, and classes to affect your gameplay style, where on-the-fly class changing is key, though that could have been implemented more into the fast-pace fluidity of the gameplay. In all, the game is a disapointment in terms of expectations, but is still a nice entry into the cliche world of FPS titles. Expand
  11. May 14, 2011
    6
    I made an account just to say this: Please, oh please, don't give games a really high rating just because you are in love with it! "It's not CoD, 10!!" "The colors are so bright!! (Oh yeah, the bots sorta stink, and I really can't stomach the single-player.) 8!!! Save those scores for really nicely done, beautiful, smooth, complete games. It really throws off people who don't have loads ofI made an account just to say this: Please, oh please, don't give games a really high rating just because you are in love with it! "It's not CoD, 10!!" "The colors are so bright!! (Oh yeah, the bots sorta stink, and I really can't stomach the single-player.) 8!!! Save those scores for really nicely done, beautiful, smooth, complete games. It really throws off people who don't have loads of cash to spend on something they might not like. Say that you like it, you recommend it, but then give it a fair score. The end. Expand
  12. Sep 3, 2011
    6
    brink is some thing alittle bit differnt to the FPs market . team based objective matches with classes and leveling up along with abilities to unlock. sounds great doesnt it? well its abit of a mixed bag with this game . first off the graphics style is rediculas looking and just looks stupid.. well the charicter models do atleast. there is a decent amount of wepons but problem is therebrink is some thing alittle bit differnt to the FPs market . team based objective matches with classes and leveling up along with abilities to unlock. sounds great doesnt it? well its abit of a mixed bag with this game . first off the graphics style is rediculas looking and just looks stupid.. well the charicter models do atleast. there is a decent amount of wepons but problem is there doesnt feel like they have any varity they almost all feel the same. the customisation of your charicter just feels bland . some of the missions are fun and there are one or two that can be frustrating and unbalanced if your playing by your self. that also becomes part of the games problem the online community is pretty much dead . ive only had a few games where i actaully played with a few people. the story i found unintresting and basically skipped most of it . the AI bots are rediculasly retarded and i mean REALLY retarded. your team for the most part is usless outside of cannon fodder and occasionally reviving you. the enimy AI is just laughable most of the time . you can easily stand off to there side and just lay into 2 or 3 of them and some times they wont even respond to your attacks . there only mainly dangerous as a group . another thing that would have really helped would be a team command to make the bots follow you, cause believe me they will do alot of stupid things . like run off and do other objectives and gaurd crap you dont care about and just want them to follow you to the main objective . brink isnt a bad game if it had a decent online community i could probubly give it a score of 7. as it sits i cant recommond more then a rental or if you have some friends to play with get it if you can pick it up for under $20 . thats all i paid for it and wouldnt pay no more. Expand
  13. Nov 18, 2012
    5
    Could be better.
    I mean few aspects of this game have been good but they **** up many other things.
    Dissapointning after so many promises made for this game prerelease
  14. Dec 7, 2011
    7
    Buy this game, for it's price it definitly a good game.
    Nice CO-OP missions. The free play sucks, don't do that.
    The graphics aren't the best,
    Gameplay = good, bit laggy,
    Missions are great,
    Weapons are good, except the shotguns.
    Nice attachements also.

    My time to finish carreer : 12 houres

    I definitly enjoyed the game. Want a good game but don't got much money.
    This is what U wont .
  15. Jan 28, 2013
    7
    This game has something that I've missed for quite sometime:
    BOTS! YES! You can use BOTS like in Red Faction 2.
    The gameplay is a bit slow, but the overall build of the game makes up for it.
    I'd say pick it up if its 10 to 20 dollars (which it probably is by now).
    The character customization is a little cool feature as well (though it makes gameplay confusing as hell at times).
  16. Apr 2, 2013
    6
    Brink has an interesting concept on paper, But fails gameplay-wise.

    Gameplay 6/10 The Idea of the SMART system seems really interesting. It was supposed to bring Mirrors Edge into the world of FPS. But when they came to implement it, it kind of failed. What we got was a clunky climbing mechanic which feels more like Duke Nukem Forever than Mirrors Edge. The Campaign Missions feel
    Brink has an interesting concept on paper, But fails gameplay-wise.

    Gameplay 6/10 The Idea of the SMART system seems really interesting. It was supposed to bring Mirrors Edge into the world of FPS. But when they came to implement it, it kind of failed. What we got was a clunky climbing mechanic which feels more like Duke Nukem Forever than Mirrors Edge.
    The Campaign Missions feel alot like Unreal Tournament 3's Story mode, by that I mean, basically its just the games online mode but instead of other players they are replaced with bots.

    Story 4/10 The story in this game is basically non-existent, the main focus of the development of the game was the Customization and Online mode so the story mode was just tacked on. There is nothing I can really say about this other than, if your after a story driven game... look elsewhere.

    Presentation and Extras The Customization clearly took a page out of Army of Two's book. It is in-depth and you can clearly spend hour swapping and changing your characters clothes, skills, weapons and abilities. The Presentation of this game was pretty well done, I fell in love with the menu's and the way everything was presented, the way you snap to different body parts when you are in the customization mode and the way you swing through the different sections.

    Final Verdict 6/10 Not what I was expecting when I got the game but the customization is enough to bring me back. If you are looking to buy the game buy it pre-owned or cheap.

    Thanks to Grainger Games for providing this game for review.
    Expand
  17. Aug 20, 2013
    6
    Brink has many good ideas and much wasted potential.
    The campaign is not existent, it´s just multiplayer with bots.
    The movement feels great but does not offer many opportunities for the player. The gun customization is good but there are many useless attachments. You might have fun with this game with some friends, you shouldn´t try online mode alone because missing players get
    Brink has many good ideas and much wasted potential.
    The campaign is not existent, it´s just multiplayer with bots.
    The movement feels great but does not offer many opportunities for the player.
    The gun customization is good but there are many useless attachments.
    You might have fun with this game with some friends, you shouldn´t try online mode alone because missing players get removed by bots. This completely destroys the online gameplay.
    Expand
  18. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    The game has it's flaws and it is not perfect but the fact that it is one of the most unique shooters out there makes it an overall good game.
    The SMART system is very interesting to use and the classes are all very well balanced. The weapon and character customization is good and gives you the opportunity to make a very unique character and depending on your style an awesome-looking and
    The game has it's flaws and it is not perfect but the fact that it is one of the most unique shooters out there makes it an overall good game.
    The SMART system is very interesting to use and the classes are all very well balanced. The weapon and character customization is good and gives you the opportunity to make a very unique character and depending on your style an awesome-looking and effective weapons.
    There might not be many maps but the ones that the games has to offer are very well thought of and are fun to play on.
    The game has to be a bit polished though. There are some glitches and from time to time the texture popping is vague. The graphics are good and I like them but the only thing they need is more maps to play on and a better story since the story has some interesting character which we have no idea who they are.
    I hope that helps.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jul 1, 2011
    60
    Brink is essentially a mess of interesting ideas that fail to amount to anything larger. [Aug 2011, p.86]
  2. Play UK
    Jun 26, 2011
    67
    You can get a sense of the minute-to-minute gunplay being something special with the right group of friends. [Issue#206, p.87]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jun 19, 2011
    80
    Get/bribe some mates and there's a great game here. [July 2011, p.92]